Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 05:56 PM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 16 2008, 05:21 PM)
there are very good medical-legal reasons why teaching hospitals are always public funded hospitals.........and why people going to private hospitals will NOT want med students to experiment on them.....

training hospitals will generally be public funded, and a condition of admission for treatment is the understanding that they cannot determine who treats them, and they can and will be used in teaching of students, and in return they receive heavily subsidised care.......this is the case in both the university hospital, and the moh hospital settings........

on the other hand, if one elects to pay fully for his treatment, he will want to choose his doctors (obviously someone senior and whom one trusts), want to have absolute privacy, and do NOT want any medical students at all......

therefore, it is NOT possible, in the well defined dichotomous way public and private healthcare is delivered in msia, for private hospitals in it's present form to be teaching hospitals.......

even in systems where the public/private divide is blurred, a patient who opted for the private category in the same hospital can choose not to entertain medical students.......

seriously, you all talk about deliveries, which is the HIGHEST MEDICO_LEGAL RISK of all medical disciplines, would you want your/your wife/your sister etc to be experimented upon by students??
Yeap. Patient's decision takes precedence under all circumstances.

LOL if only Mr. Lee was a doctor .

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 16 2008, 06:01 PM
sjr
post Aug 16 2008, 06:13 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 16 2008, 05:21 PM)
there are very good medical-legal reasons why teaching hospitals are always public funded hospitals.........and why people going to private hospitals will NOT want med students to experiment on them.....

training hospitals will generally be public funded, and a condition of admission for treatment is the understanding that they cannot determine who treats them, and they can and will be used in teaching of students, and in return they receive heavily subsidised care.......this is the case in both the university hospital, and the moh hospital settings........

on the other hand, if one elects to pay fully for his treatment, he will want to choose his doctors (obviously someone senior and whom one trusts), want to have absolute privacy, and do NOT want any medical students at all......

therefore, it is NOT possible, in the well defined dichotomous way public and private healthcare is delivered in msia, for private hospitals in it's present form to be teaching hospitals.......

even in systems where the public/private divide is blurred, a patient who opted for the private category in the same hospital can choose not to entertain medical students.......

seriously, you all talk about deliveries, which is the HIGHEST MEDICO_LEGAL RISK of all medical disciplines, would you want your/your wife/your sister etc to be experimented upon by students??
It is true...
Besides, if a patient who is admitted to a government hospital, yet refuses medical student to examine him, no medical student can even touch him.
This is about consent. It happens in any settings. Even in private hospital, if the doctor could not get consent from the patient to do some procedures, the doctor can't do anything.

Added on August 16, 2008, 6:15 pm
QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 16 2008, 05:41 PM)
Very true indeed. Why did i never thought of patient's autonomy in choosing their doctors at private hospitals. Therefore is it impossble to establish a private teaching hospital in Malaysia? Was wondering if UCSI's hospital is funded by the government.

Anyhow, i think med students are allowed to conduct deliveries under close supervision of MOs or specialists in almost every teaching hospitals?
As long as the patient is comfortable, it is ok. But not high risk cases.

This post has been edited by sjr: Aug 16 2008, 06:15 PM
crusnik02
post Aug 17 2008, 05:07 AM

54 posts

But here in Malaysia, some patients seem to think that they have no choice but to get procedures done on them by students. Some cunning and kiasu students even go as far as to withold the fact that they are students to get procedures..the kind yang "alah...just dont tel him that ur a student lah..mesti bagi punya". God..those kind of ppl just make me sick. Those are the kind of students who look down on their peers who refuse to use sick patients as guniea pigs, questioning our interest in doing medicine. Cuba satu hari nanti kena kat dia..

Another thing that irks me about my own peers is that some just dont know when to stop. Especially when performing venous cannulations. Even when the patient is squirming after 3 failed attempts, they just keep going on. Another is when an interesting patient comes into the ward...in severe pain and very tired. Everyone in the posting wants to examine and clerk the patient despite the fact that the patient is like begging to be left alone. I think that its selfish..

Actually specialists and MOs are too busy to supervise med students. Generally nurses do it. Staff nurses or midwives.
zltan
post Aug 17 2008, 07:38 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:07 AM)
But here in Malaysia, some patients seem to think that they have no choice but to get procedures done on them by students. Some cunning and kiasu students even go as far as to withold the fact that they are students to get procedures..the kind yang "alah...just dont tel him that ur a student lah..mesti bagi punya". God..those kind of ppl just make me sick. Those are the kind of students who look down on their peers who refuse to use sick patients as guniea pigs, questioning our interest in doing medicine. Cuba satu hari nanti kena kat dia..

Another thing that irks me about my own peers is that some just dont know when to stop. Especially when performing venous cannulations. Even when the patient is squirming after 3 failed attempts, they just keep going on. Another is when an interesting patient comes into the ward...in severe pain and very tired. Everyone in the posting wants to examine and clerk the patient despite the fact that the patient is like begging to be left alone. I think that its selfish..

Actually specialists and MOs are too busy to supervise med students. Generally nurses do it. Staff nurses or midwives.
Your peers could indeed land themselves in some medico-legal issues. They are not supposed to do anything on a patient unless they have informed consent. Drill some ethics into their brain... This is the kind of attitude that makes patients unwilling to let themselves be examined and treated by students.

I actually rarely see patients who do not allow students to examine them. But, then again, I've only seen like 7...so that could be why. All those who I've seen are actually very happy to see the students and keep asking us questions. laugh.gif

We saw this guy last week, and he was very cooperative including letting learn to do the GI exam on him. He was still smiling after we practiced some palpation and a whole lot of percussion. Nice chap... smile.gif

limeuu
post Aug 17 2008, 08:13 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 17 2008, 07:38 AM)
Your peers could indeed land themselves in some medico-legal issues. They are not supposed to do anything on a patient unless they have informed consent. Drill some ethics into their brain... This is the kind of attitude that makes patients unwilling to let themselves be examined and treated by students.

I actually rarely see patients who do not allow students to examine them. But, then again, I've only seen like 7...so that could be why. All those who I've seen are actually very happy to see the students and keep asking us questions.  laugh.gif

We saw this guy last week, and he was very cooperative including letting learn to do the GI exam on him. He was still smiling after we practiced some palpation and a whole lot of percussion. Nice chap... smile.gif
there is a significant difference between clerking a patient in an elective setting, and doing invasive procedures on them.........

and here lies one of the differences between 1st and 3rd world........the amount of hands on procedures a student can do........in oz for eg, students so very little hands on procedure for obvious reasons, patients will NOT consent, and certainly NO student will be allowed to deliver any babies (you can assist of course).......even at postgraduate level, trainees have few chances of advanced procedures, as the fresh consultants themselves wants to do it........

in that respect, students in the 3rd world have more opportunities at hands on experience, but at the expense of increased morbidity and occasionally mortality to patients........part of this is due to the poor supervision of students, lecturers seldom get involved in this as often these opportunities occur at odd hours, and the ho and mo's are too busy........and the student ends up learning from the nurse......!!
sjr
post Aug 17 2008, 10:20 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:07 AM)

for sure the patient will start cursing your peers...and spread the word among other patients in the ward...
hypermax
post Aug 17 2008, 11:52 AM

2,524 posts

My friend in Aberdeen also complaint of the same issue, little chance to do procedures. Therefore, he's doing his elective in India soon. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 17 2008, 11:59 AM
crusnik02
post Aug 17 2008, 01:28 PM

54 posts

What to do...all they know is the more they do in the ward the better their grades will get so to hell with ethics as long as they pass med school. Sometimes I feel so embarassed when they start doing this cause it reflects badly on med students as a whole..
hocklee
post Aug 17 2008, 04:40 PM

32 posts

hello. Anyone has any idea which microbiology book is good for a medical student?tq

munsheng
post Aug 17 2008, 04:46 PM

134 posts

well..
everyone has their way of doing things..
just have to be nice to patient and do it the right way(eg consent, gentle..)

but im sorry to say sometimes i did go a bit too much... unsure.gif unsure.gif
i think i need to do it coz some cases are hard to come by..
im pretty sure some of u did it before rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
eg...when you stumble upon a very rare case, im pretty sure u are very eager to clerk and examine the patient, right??

but when performing venous cannulations, i will stop after my 2nd try.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
same as drawing blood...if cannot find the vein, i will ask my friend to do it..

Added on August 17, 2008, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(hocklee @ Aug 17 2008, 04:40 PM)
hello. Anyone has any idea which microbiology book is good for a medical student?tq
Lange Microbiology by levinson is good

This post has been edited by munsheng: Aug 17 2008, 04:48 PM
shiki
post Aug 17 2008, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(hocklee @ Aug 17 2008, 04:40 PM)
Another one would be Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Easy.

wgy589
post Aug 17 2008, 06:54 PM

759 posts

i would recommend

1) Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously simple (it's the best book in ridiculously simple series.
CMMRS and ur skol notes are sufficient for most exams ady, eg USMLE...., it's gud if u can c the clinical relevance of microb in infectious disease management, so do consider the following 2 books

2) Problem-orientated Clinical Microbiology and Infection
H Humphreys and WL Irving

3) Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
PH Gilligan, ML Smiley and DS Shapiro

Added on August 17, 2008, 6:56 pmdo take note that it's always best to start any subject from an easy-to-read textbook, and that's the reason y the book i mentioned abv r very user friendly.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Aug 17 2008, 06:56 PM
crusnik02
post Aug 17 2008, 10:15 PM

54 posts

I studied using Medical Microbiology by Mims, Dockrell, Goering, Roitt et al.. very colourful..
csrulez
post Aug 17 2008, 10:22 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

I'd recommend Lange, MIMS or Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple. wink.gif The drawings inside CMMRS is cool. lol.
munsheng
post Aug 18 2008, 07:39 PM

134 posts

mims is not so good in my opinion..
hypermax
post Aug 19 2008, 07:28 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 18 2008, 07:39 PM)
mims is not so good in my opinion..
Yeah, class notes are the best. biggrin.gif
csrulez
post Aug 20 2008, 12:48 AM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

In my uni, my lect says the notes is already sufficient to get 50%. Rest of it, will depends on our own Directed Self Learning (DSL). Mim's de book he said we can refer to for immunology and microbes. But still think dat CMMRS is the better one. Lol.
linkeong
post Aug 20 2008, 01:42 AM

813 posts

So fun.. having notes to study, in my uni no notes are given, sad sad
wgy589
post Aug 20 2008, 06:05 AM

759 posts

If Immuno included, i heard the Levinson, Baby Abbas, and CMMRS are the best combo, but personally i haven tried it yet.

and there are some useful websites out there on these 2 subjects, eg http://pathmicro.med.sc.edu/book/welcome.htm
from USC.

limeuu
post Aug 20 2008, 08:52 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Aug 20 2008, 01:42 AM)
So fun.. having notes to study, in my uni no notes are given, sad sad
that's the difference between spoon feeding and independence.......however, in many good unis, while there is no lecture notes given, the powerpoint presentation of the lecture is available online for download, to act as a skeleton for self study......

you will be glad you are able to self research and study later on in your student and working career.....

127 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:23 AM