Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 02:01 PM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 12:01 AM)
bad student + bad school = many of doctors from 3rd world countries where selection is often based on being able to pay the fees..........including msia/russia/ukraine/india/indonesia etc......
Ahh. Indian students would be pissed if they were to read that. Perhaps you've forgotten about some of the top med schools in India, being one of them is the premier AIIMS. An average of 75,000 students takes the entrance exam annually and the institute ultimately only takes in 50 students ( 5 international inclusive). What's more, it's clinical exposure is unmatched-the hospital treats millions of patients annually.
Besides, all of the top med schools needs its applicants to pass the entrance exam for admission.

Added on August 6, 2008, 2:19 pmFrom the thread "Studying in Australia", I know that you're from Melb U , right? smile.gif

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 6 2008, 02:19 PM
blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 04:47 PM

998 posts

KMC is not in the list i think it's because of the de-recognition issues that happened a few years back. It has caused the uni's reputation to drop quite significantly.

But, the problem has been overcome and the college has now regained full recognition from the IMC. This recognition thing changes all da time. KMC could be listed in the SMC in years to come! MMMC hmm it needs longer time, i guess (i'll be a MMMC student soon:))

Singapore is short of houseman, and a constant supply of fresh-grads from a neighboring country is most certainly welcome. While UM and UKM are the supplier, we cant doubt the quality of the students-they are all 4.0 pointers regardless of the source, if you know what I mean tongue.gif- or can we?
The weird thing is USM is left out.

I wish study med in oz uni but 'not enuf' money ..haihz.. lol
blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 11:13 PM

998 posts

I'm self-sponsored, haha. would love to do PMS twinning to OZ.
couldn't get a place in the public unis (got 4As out of 5 subs in stpm but not a 4 pointer though tongue.gif)

MMMC is not that bad, Melaka GH is a good teaching hospital.

blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 11:19 PM

998 posts

KMC would cost additional 150k. I don't think it's worth it.
blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 11:32 PM

998 posts

yea it cost 135k USD for foreign student. A portion of the fees is used to pay their local student fees. Yea, we could learn more from the rich clinical exposure under KMC but staying there for 6 years, really makes you think twice.
blackrobin
post Aug 6 2008, 11:45 PM

998 posts

Everyone from mmmc said they would rather stay in Manipal than Melaka. haha.
I know him, Dr. Razak. He was one of the three interviewers who interviewed me.
blackrobin
post Aug 7 2008, 12:15 AM

998 posts

wgy589, u must be one hell of a student. I did apply for NUS but got other course. When u'r into medicine, it's hard for u to change your mind, don't you guys think so?

blackrobin
post Aug 9 2008, 11:38 PM

998 posts

please pardon my ignorance, UIA stands for?
blackrobin
post Aug 10 2008, 12:16 AM

998 posts

maybe coz Mr. google gave me differential acronyms
blackrobin
post Aug 12 2008, 01:33 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 11 2008, 11:57 PM)
everybody becomes instant billionaires in zimbabwe.....
why'd you say so? hmmm
the current exchange rate of ringgit against zimbabwe dollar is 3.8(rounded). you need to have like rm30m to become a billionaire of zimbabwe dollar

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 12 2008, 01:33 AM
blackrobin
post Aug 12 2008, 01:42 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Aug 12 2008, 03:03 AM)
where did u get the exchange rate dude?
my zimbabwean batch mate spent 23 or 230 billions just for her hair
i googled it.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 12 2008, 12:21 PM)
hello there..
im new to this topic..

im a student from MMMC...

hi, hypermax...hehe...
what year student are u?
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 12:16 AM

998 posts

Hypermax, MGH is the teaching hospital for MMMC, how is it possible that the MOs and specialists "look down" on the students wo..?
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:31 AM)
if any med students gets in ANY med school satisfying these criteria, i have NO issues.....i know lots in 3rd world schools, including russia......

if you are someone who got ter 85 and your rich parents bought a place for you in an ipts or russia, or whatever.......i will tell you bluntly, you should NOT have been allowed to........the worst i have seen personally was someone with 3,6,7 in spm sciences who went to india.......i kid you not.....but i am told it gets worse in russia.....

please respect people's privacy.......
Which college india accepts spm as entry requirements? JJM medical college? lol
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
yes..it is. but the hospital does not belong to our college...
actually, only few specialists or MOs look down on us...
interestingly, most of them who look down on us are those graduated from UM...
gosh, they must have been living in their own tiny world all this while..
I don't care where they graduate from, it's a no-no for me to look down on ppl..
.and they are called doctors..
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 01:02 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:51 AM)
cut off in imu fluctuates between ter91-95 (and equivalents) in recent batches.....if one has been following my posts, one will know i have been very critical of imu too.....the saving grace is that they apply strict standards in assessments, and dare to fail people.......which is dictated by the requirements of the pms..... that weeds out the low ter's and those who play the fool.........i am not aware of any other ipts with a tough assessment policy.......

finally, almost all students in ipts 'bought' their place......on merit grounds, there are so many people with stpm who would eminently qualify, but have no money/scholarship........

in that sense i am against private medical education....while still cognizant of the fact that they provided a vent for what is happening in ipta......
nah... IMU takes in approximately 220+ students per intake..( many dare-to-fail people really fail )
now MMMC only takes in around 120 students now.. so there's a healthy students to lecturers ratio
the maximum allowed years to complete the MBBS program is 8 years and a student cannot retake a subject more than 3 times
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM

998 posts

recent years, more and more jpa scholars are matriculated into MMMC, now they make up three quarter of the students, Presumably, they are brilliant students, thus, competitive students can be expected.
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 01:32 AM

998 posts

It's surely a better move than to send students to country like Indonesia. Not only it will ensure that they come back to serve for the Government but also to meet the scarcity of doctors Malaysia are facing now. It's a win-win situation.

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 15 2008, 01:33 AM
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 12:02 PM

998 posts

USD500 for MMMC, KMC
EURO1000 for ireland if i'm not mistaken

edit: given as monthly allowance

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 15 2008, 12:04 PM
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 12:37 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 16 2008, 12:28 AM)

If you want learn more about clinical skills, then better stay in the wards longer. My professor from UM told us that he used to stay in the ward till midnight.

"To study medicine without books is like sailing an uncharted sea. To study medicine without seeing patients is like not going to the sea at all."  smile.gif
nice saying rclxms.gif
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 01:07 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 16 2008, 01:03 PM)
are they referring to semi-privatizing a government hospital?
how's that gona happen? who's gona sign their paychecks? haha.
Medical school having its own teaching hospital has been the idea of Ministry of Education. But Ministry of Health always talk them out of it

0.0411sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:30 AM