Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Mar 4 2007, 03:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(noorep @ Mar 4 2007, 11:51 AM)
hi all medical students... pls help me to choose a suitable course...
my father force me to apply any course that related to medical...
i want to know what is the most medical course related to physic... only i know is radiography... are there any than radiography..??
i like physic subject very much... my father didn't give permission to take engineering because nowadays engineering is very hard to get job...
pls help me..
and, is it dentistry easier than medical??
such is the sad state of affair, people studing medicine who are really NOT interested, but forced to by parents.........

maybe you can think about bio-technology..........may be lab work, or mechanical engineering like work, but on medical equipment, etc..........

radiographer are not doctors, but technicians. they operate x-ray machines.....
limeuu
post Mar 24 2007, 11:50 AM

12,290 posts

not many bumis in form 6..............last choice lah...........those better ones already got scholarship to overseas................then those cannot get scholarships, go to matriculasi, or mara, then left those who will go to stpm........
limeuu
post May 21 2007, 07:45 PM

12,290 posts

there is no such thing as the "best".............

you med students here better learn a new concept..........med schools are NOT in the businese of creating "best" student or doctor............but the best cohort of students..........

ie ALL student and newly minted doctors must be ALL well trained, ALL competent, ALL knowledgable, ALL empathic etc.............

therefore careful selection of students is of upmost importance..........

so "best" med school?....those whose selection process is the MOST stringent........
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 03:07 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ May 24 2007, 10:41 PM)
best med school??..
i prefer the question should be best country?
as far as i can say it's definately not in Malaysia...from my point of view.

The chance of getting into Master programme is too slim...and most of the doctors opt for MRCP/MRCS so that they have higher chance of getting a place to do their master...
a master degree overseas will cost you 1 mil...almost impossible to go for it without scholarship or funding from government...
In certain countries such as US, UK...
after students done their housemanship, they can do their masterdegree while working under the teaching hospital. Then sub specialize in their field. The timeframe from a medical student to become a specialist is much more shorter...compare to malaysia's medical system..

you'll need to complete your housemanship and MO, 4 years, and if u lucky...continue with master (3-4years), and serve under supervision of consultant specialist...(maybe another 2-3 years)...then sub specialize again...(3-4 years)...
by the time u get out as a specialist...you're somewhere around 32-35 y/o...
compare to western countries where their can do master and sub specialize at the same time...they can sub specialize before the age of 30...
klifax, you are painting a very confusing and most wrong picture of the postgraduate specialist training systems in the various countries............it is too complex, and at the moment fluid, for me to expalin, but those interested, please follow this link.........

http://forum.malaysianmedicine.com/
limeuu
post Nov 20 2007, 11:00 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM)
matriculate? you're enrolling into medical course no?
matriculate in this usage means 'enroll'........... nod.gif
limeuu
post Nov 22 2007, 09:06 AM

12,290 posts

the entry prerequisites depends on the prestige, and the cost of the particular med school.....the lower rank ones will take in lower, depending on the apllication pool.....even imu have a minimum cutoff of 85, and have taken in people with less than 90 before, although the current cutoff is about 95. pmc will take in people with less than 90, for the 6 year programme.........

basically, if you have money, and reasonable results, you can be a doctor in this country..............
limeuu
post Nov 25 2007, 07:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 25 2007, 01:51 AM)
"Yeah, anyway our hsemanship is extended to 2 years, compulsory services stay as 3 years. however, you can start doing your specialisation after your 2nd year on the compulsory government services d. and right after 2 yer housemanship, your will be getting slightly more on the pay compared to fresh MO coming out from their one year housemanship. lol."

2 years hsemanship 3 yrs compulsory service stay. that is what being reported in the newspaper. abt the specialisation, im not that sure.  it differs depending on what you wanna specialize. i knew someone who took 2.5 yrs to become an anaesthiologist (but she is working in Aus). initially she did her internship in spore, but migrated to Aus. unfortunately, even though she finished her internship in Spore, Australian Medical Council refused to recognise her internship, so she have to repeat her internship in Aus... i believe you can actually start specializing once you finish your hsemanship/ internship, depending on how hardworking/ smart you are... again, i am not that sure, i hope some 1 can clarify this issue
it is NOT possible to specialise as an anaesthesiologist in 2.5 years, anywhere in the world.....

and you appear to be confused between specialisation and internship, which are completely different things.........

as to 'starting' specialising, it depends on which country you are talking about, as the system is different for each country..........
limeuu
post Nov 26 2007, 09:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(ironboots @ Nov 26 2007, 06:13 PM)
after your pre-u provided u have the grades, u will need 5-6 years of undergrad med school and followed by another 6 years (very optimistic and general ball park figure.. usually more) before u get to be a specialist in oz anyway.

different countries different pathways. msia expect longer unless u bumi. in UK very long also due to their system. SG i have no idea.

u can shave 1-2 years off ur med school by going to dundee which is a 4yr program

also medicine is not cheap to study unless u get into local u but since u r taking A levels i guess u r not looking that way.
wrong.......dundee is a normal 5 year programme, but for the purpose of twinning with imu, they admit students after 2 1/2 years at imu into the 4th year for another 2 clinical years, making it 4 1/2 years. Aberdeen is 2 1/2 years making it 5 years, and the rest are 3 years making it 5 1/2 years or more, depending on how you fit into the partner med school timing......some may need to wait 9 months before they can start the 2nd half of the programme at the partner med school............
limeuu
post Dec 7 2007, 06:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 7 2007, 05:57 PM)
hello guys, need suggestions from ya.

if money is not a problem and europe, USA, Australia is one of my migration destination [and to pursue postgraduate specialist ] after having a medical degree, where can i pursue my medical course?

russian degree is not recognised at most of the places....
how about Penang Medical College with ireland degree?
IMU twinning?

enlighten me plzz
what do you mean by that?
limeuu
post Dec 7 2007, 11:27 PM

12,290 posts

if migration is the intention, then go directly to the intended country and study there, if money is no object.......that would be ideal........

however, direct entry into med schools in some countries can be very difficult, due to foreigner restrictions or entry requirements.........

so a backdoor way is via imu......

whether you will be allowed to stay back and work depends on the policy of the country at that time.........this can change with time in some countries...........

generally, the us has the most favourable policies towards foreigners working, but is very restrictive in admitting foreign students......but the way around that is, you can train in any country, and pass at least the umsle step 2 to qualify to be registered to work there........
limeuu
post Dec 9 2007, 09:52 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 9 2007, 09:34 AM)
well, its rather the other way round. for medicine course, it really depends which uni will choose. After my SAM, i applied for Adelaide, UNSW, UWA, Melbourne, Bond Uni, NUS, and lastly IMU. And only IMU accept me -____- though i fulfill all the requirements.
that is exactly what i have been trying to tell everyone, with limited success.....in any other course, you choose where you wanna go................but for medicine (and dentistry) the med schools will choose you, and you go where ever you are chosen.....if you get chosen.....

*caveat*: does not apply to non-reputable med schools where ability to pay overrides any other criteria in the selection process.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Dec 9 2007, 10:07 AM
limeuu
post Dec 10 2007, 04:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Dec 10 2007, 01:06 PM)
Does medical stuff difficult?
in my knowledge i only knew a few medical course.
Biomedical Engineer,Phamarcy,Doctor(include Dentist),Nutritionist.
Anyother considered Pro course?
you need serious work on your english.........

there is only ONE 'medical course', that is Medicine, with awards usually either MBBS, MBChB, or MD depending on which part of the world.......

the rest are NOT 'medical course', but can be loosely classified as health sciences...........

and what on earth is 'pro course'??
limeuu
post Jan 7 2008, 12:36 PM

12,290 posts

you are all very confused about the actual marks you get and the TER scores....you actual marks does NOT equal the ter score, the ter is a percentile score, ie you relative position amongst ALL the year 12 students in oz and other countries sitting for one of oz year 12 programmes......

that means, if you take a difficult subject, the paper was difficult and you get 60 marks....and that is the highest, your ter will be high in the 99's......

on the other hand, if it is an easy subject and paper, you get 95 marks, but many people got 100 and 99 marks, your ter may be 80 only........

mufy should have a system of converting the raw marks into a indicative ter score.....

as for the nominal ter 80 cut off for imu, that is too low, and except for the early years, the cut off should be above 90, it was about 94 last year, and lowered to 91 this year.....
limeuu
post Jan 7 2008, 07:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 7 2008, 02:51 PM)
I'm not sure if Monash uses TER but I know Trinity does not as it utilizes the average of your best 4 marks.
all oz unis use the ter/enter/uai/op for entry purposes......they also accept many other matriculation system results, eg a levels, ib, uca, other uni foundations, etc, where there is an approximate equivalent ter, they are all listed in the respective prospectus....

year 12 students all get their results with the ter calculated.........

foundation students are a bit tricky, the conversion may not be accepted by other unis.......

for in-house foundation, like trinity to melbourne, they have their own internal arrangements...but if you want to apply to another uni, some sort of conversion into an approximate ter will be required......

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 7 2008, 06:23 PM)
i hope i can go into med next yr ^^ having my foundation at perth this yr ^.^
if you are hoping for direct entry into undergraduate medicine as an international student, it's going to be tough......many will eventually return to imu for the backdoor pathway.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 7 2008, 07:03 PM
limeuu
post Feb 9 2008, 12:41 PM

12,290 posts

ucti does not offer medicine.....

when you choose medicine, you do NOT choose the med school......you apply to all, and they will choose you.........if you get chosen........

Added on February 9, 2008, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 6 2008, 11:36 AM)
wondering...which specialty needs ppl the most?
where?

growing countries (eg se asia): reproduction arena eg O&G, paediatrics,

aging countries (eg developed western word, japan): sunset arena eg cardiology, oncology, geriatrics etc........

best lifestyle in oz: probably GP..........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 9 2008, 12:45 PM
limeuu
post Feb 14 2008, 11:12 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(junyetwong @ Feb 14 2008, 09:01 PM)
Errr... I don't know how to quote my previous post. but its on the 9th page..

Anyway, i got the offer IMU twinning programme for feb 2008 intake, and I accepted their offer as well as paid the fees for first semester..

But then, Monash sent me a letter last week and said that my appeal was succesful and they offered me MBBS feb 08 intake too..

Eventually I chose monash because its cheaper compared to IMU twinning programme which need to go overseas.. ^^V

Anybody in Monash doing medic? XD
if cost is a consideration, why didn't you do the imu local programme? don't be fooled, monash mbbs is a msian qualification, not oz....
limeuu
post Feb 16 2008, 08:34 PM

12,290 posts

are you all referring to the TER system? If so, the cut off this feb08 imu intake is 91, and that is considered low, last year it was 94..........and if you don't expect 99 and above, don't bother applying to melbourne (academic now, the last undergraduate batch going in next week, and no intake 09 and 10, next batch graduate entry 2011), and unsw only considers those with 97 and above.......

uwa and monash needs isat (or umat for on shore students), and if you don't make the cut off there, you don't even get to the next stage, ie the interview.......

like i said, many will eventually return to msia, to one of the private med schools, particularly imu.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 16 2008, 08:36 PM
limeuu
post Feb 17 2008, 12:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 16 2008, 11:27 PM)
um.... where else no need ISAT to go into med/ den in aus?
if you are on shore doing year 12, i think you will need to do umat like the aussies......

adelaide.....no isat but pqa, similar test......few places (16)

unsw.....min ter97 to consider, 50 places, but about 30 allocated to their own foundation students.....

utas.......personal statement.......few places only.......(20)

newcastle.........do not take international students directly......but there are some places available through taylor's placement centre.........

remember also you are competing with the rest of the world........including china, india, korea, taiwan, thailand, spore, phillipines, indonesia, south africa, etc...........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 17 2008, 01:33 PM
limeuu
post Feb 17 2008, 02:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(melfariza @ Feb 17 2008, 01:56 PM)
being doctors aint cool. if you're doing it so people can look up to you... don't be stupid.
being doctor requires compassion. lifetime dedication, selflessness, sacrifice. your time, your sleeping time, your weekend, your life, your passion, and most probably your bloody relationship.
well said........and may i add, to avoid the last.......a VERY understanding spouse......preferably not another doctor!!
limeuu
post Feb 17 2008, 03:25 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 17 2008, 02:57 PM)
ah thanks limeuu, so UNSW and utas no need to take any test? um, yeah i know i'm competing with internationals, btw i'm on foundation not yr 12. ^^
if you are onshore, unsw requires you to do the umat.......irrespective of citizen status........minimum cut off for consideration is 97, and minimum cutoff for shortlisting for interview is 98........which basically means, if you are not on target at higher than 98, don't waste you money applying.......there is a fee........

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0650sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:12 AM