Credit Cards Maybank Visa Signature + Barcelona Visa Signature
caesarx
Nov 7 2017, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 7 2017, 12:24 PM) Actually if you want to set maximum spending you should set 5k or something like that, as you don't (have to) pay your bill exactly on statement date, and can continue to build up interest-free spending for the next 20 days.... Don't understand what that mean If spend 5k only get max RM 50 CB = 1%, why ? BTW, received my FCB card today, should be fully used up all the CB next week on SG trip just by paying hotel
cybpsych
Nov 7 2017, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(caesarx @ Nov 7 2017, 12:40 PM) Don't understand what that mean :confused: If spend 5k only get max RM 50 CB = 1%, why ? BTW, received my FCB card today, should be fully used up all the CB next week on SG trip just by paying hotel  no la total possible outstanding would be 2 months x rm2.5k (assuming just spend max for cb) each month. you won't be owing bank more than 2 months without incurring interest to 1st month's statement balance. if u know going to spend more than 2.5k per month, your CL should be higher than 2x, at least.
@secret@
Nov 7 2017, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 7 2017, 08:48 AM) QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 7 2017, 08:52 AM) 1 bank = 1 card issuer = 1 credit limit so all the credit cards issued by Maybank (conventional) will share the same credit limit. Maybank Islamic is another bank. Maybank Islamic and Maybank are two different banks. So if you have Ikhwan series credit card, they share another credit limit from Maybank Islamic. I see I see. Thanks for your clarification. I was like wow, I wished I could have that total credit limit. haha I'm also curious about something tho. Does giving my family member supplementary card helps building up their credit history?
laymank
Nov 7 2017, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(@secret@ @ Nov 7 2017, 01:20 PM) Does giving my family member supplementary card helps building up their credit history? Nope. Supplementary only riding on the principal's credit.
bee993
Nov 7 2017, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 7 2017, 11:19 AM) I received the rejection letter via snail mail. Checked with the agent. She said that letter is sent before CL split. She said will check the status again on the CL split this morning. And this morning, she asked me to supply for supporting document for PTPTN. Wondering why they need that as I'm doing CL split; not asking for CL increase. i too received as a result of failed in m2u.
SUSDavid83
Nov 7 2017, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(bee993 @ Nov 7 2017, 02:06 PM) i too received as a result of failed in m2u. I think I received. First from M2U. Second from application with the bank officer. She said could be easily handled but it's nearing 2 weeks and things are still pending.
bee993
Nov 7 2017, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 7 2017, 02:10 PM) I think I received. First from M2U. Second from application with the bank officer. She said could be easily handled but it's nearing 2 weeks and things are still pending. in the end redeived sms approved and today card show in m2u
LostAndFound
Nov 7 2017, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(caesarx @ Nov 7 2017, 12:40 PM) Don't understand what that mean If spend 5k only get max RM 50 CB = 1%, why ? BTW, received my FCB card today, should be fully used up all the CB next week on SG trip just by paying hotel  Assume your statement date is 1st of the month. So 1st December you have a statement saying "pay RM2500 to Maybank". You can pay immediately or (like most kiasu people) pay 20 days later at 0 interest. If your CL is 2500, you can no longer use your card until you make payment, even though the new spending on 1st December onwards will earn you 2% (new month). Of course, if 20 days of interest-free cash doesn't sound good to you, then maybe 2.5k CL is enough....
ClarenceT
Nov 7 2017, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 7 2017, 03:12 PM) Assume your statement date is 1st of the month. So 1st December you have a statement saying "pay RM2500 to Maybank". You can pay immediately or (like most kiasu people) pay 20 days later at 0 interest. If your CL is 2500, you can no longer use your card until you make payment, even though the new spending on 1st December onwards will earn you 2% (new month). Of course, if 20 days of interest-free cash doesn't sound good to you, then maybe 2.5k CL is enough.... Most of us here are also holding M2 Amex (5% rebate on weekend spends) which share the CL with FC B VS, so CL at RM5,000 is not enough, especially those eyeing for 0% Balance Transfer and reserve for emergency use.
LostAndFound
Nov 7 2017, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 7 2017, 03:44 PM) Most of us here are also holding M2 Amex (5% rebate on weekend spends) which share the CL with FC B VS, so CL at RM5,000 is not enough, especially those eyeing for 0% Balance Transfer and reserve for emergency use. Agreed for all your examples. Especially BT, the higher the better. Although for emergency use I would prefer to use different card, because the amount can be quite large and I'd rather BT to spread the emergency use spending out rather than get some amount of CB/points but have to pay back in a month or so. Of course for those of us who are ALSO holding PBB/AEON.... different case =) In any case I've found MBB to be quite stingy in CL. I'm at <2x monthly salary currently (holding M2Kards, Ikhwan, and Barcelona).
kenlui
Nov 7 2017, 04:02 PM
Annual fee for VS waived, surprised that I achieved the required spending target. Oh well not gonna complain. With the FCB VS I highly doubt I’ll be able to achieve the spending target for VS next year.
caesarx
Nov 7 2017, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 7 2017, 03:12 PM) Assume your statement date is 1st of the month. So 1st December you have a statement saying "pay RM2500 to Maybank". You can pay immediately or (like most kiasu people) pay 20 days later at 0 interest. If your CL is 2500, you can no longer use your card until you make payment, even though the new spending on 1st December onwards will earn you 2% (new month). Of course, if 20 days of interest-free cash doesn't sound good to you, then maybe 2.5k CL is enough.... I see. i thought we are talking about maximum spending, not about CL. I assume everyone have over 5k CL here This post has been edited by caesarx: Nov 7 2017, 05:54 PM
twho
Nov 7 2017, 07:18 PM
Applied for the FCB card this afternoon thru M2U and got an email a few mins later stating application unsuccessful. Got an sms later as well.
Is this common for application on M2U? Any advise on what the best way to apply
cybpsych
Nov 7 2017, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(twho @ Nov 7 2017, 07:18 PM) Applied for the FCB card this afternoon thru M2U and got an email a few mins later stating application unsuccessful. Got an sms later as well. Is this common for application on M2U? Any advise on what the best way to apply Thanks if u read thru previous posts, yes, very common for m2u to reject. either walk in to nearest maybankard centre, call CS to add card (existing mbb card users) or fill in form. search in this thread.
twho
Nov 7 2017, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 7 2017, 07:25 PM) if u read thru previous posts, yes, very common for m2u to reject. either walk in to nearest maybankard centre, call CS to add card (existing mbb card users) or fill in form. search in this thread. Thanks. I already emailed them to add card. But my current M2C is gold. Not sure if they would approve. Hopefully got good news.
LostAndFound
Nov 7 2017, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(caesarx @ Nov 7 2017, 05:54 PM) I see. i thought we are talking about maximum spending, not about CL. I assume everyone have over 5k CL here The topic was CL, hence why it was said that 2.5k CL is 'enough'. Which it isn't, if you're the sort to max every month.
guy3288
Nov 7 2017, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(kart @ Nov 6 2017, 05:21 AM) Is it easy to persuade Maybank CS to transfer BT overpayment in your Maybank Visa Signature Card, to your saving account? Some CS may be reluctant to transfer the BT overpayment, and just say that the BT overpayment will be used to deduct the transactions posted in next statement month. Your Estimated Total Amount of Transactions Debited to Maybank Visa Signature Card = RM 15k + RM 8725.79 = about RM 24k It is still lower than the required spending amount of RM 30k per year, for the automatic annual fee waiver. Or, did you have another BT overpayment in the past few months? Anyway, it is good for you to get annual fee waiver your Maybank Visa Signature Card, for two consecutive years.  MBB the easiest to get refund my 1 year refund is around RM100k.
tonytyk
Nov 7 2017, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(kart @ Nov 6 2017, 05:21 AM) Is it easy to persuade Maybank CS to transfer BT overpayment in your Maybank Visa Signature Card, to your saving account? Some CS may be reluctant to transfer the BT overpayment, and just say that the BT overpayment will be used to deduct the transactions posted in next statement month. Your Estimated Total Amount of Transactions Debited to Maybank Visa Signature Card = RM 15k + RM 8725.79 = about RM 24k It is still lower than the required spending amount of RM 30k per year, for the automatic annual fee waiver. Or, did you have another BT overpayment in the past few months? Anyway, it is good for you to get annual fee waiver your Maybank Visa Signature Card, for two consecutive years.  QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 7 2017, 10:04 PM) MBB the easiest to get refund my 1 year refund is around RM100k. So VS waiver for both years due to BT overpayment debit?
anakMY
Nov 7 2017, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 7 2017, 03:44 PM) Most of us here are also holding M2 Amex (5% rebate on weekend spends) which share the CL with FC B VS, so CL at RM5,000 is not enough, especially those eyeing for 0% Balance Transfer and reserve for emergency use. How to know whether the CL of FCB VS is shared with our m2 Amex ?
fruitie
Nov 7 2017, 10:59 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(anakMY @ Nov 7 2017, 10:55 PM) How to know whether the CL of FCB VS is shared with our m2 Amex ? Confirmed. Conventional all same CL. Just check in M2U.