Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

j.passing.by
post Sep 23 2016, 08:03 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2016, 05:35 PM)
All right. Let's go. Lai. :bruce:OK?

I don't know what's going on between you and pink, and I don't care either. smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

But I do notice that most of the time, the posts you were posting here were very subtle posts or questions, which subtlety raises the same question "Why people is crazy or stupid enough to invest into normal UT funds when there are EPF and fix priced funds?"

You seemed like a regular poster, both posting and browsing this thread regularly... yet at times, you seemed not to remember some posts on the basic background of investing into UT funds... and make remarks for further clarification... how do you expect another poster to give a respectful and proper reply to you without digging up all the basic background info and not taking up too much of his time to answer, and in his eyes, a troll?

For example, in a previous post, I was going on about the importance of doing DCA... and in the next post, you were trying to say that lumpsum investment could give the same effect or result as DCA. Which I did not reply... because it is all too obvious to a working adult who is just joining the rat race that it would not be easy to save up 100k. But not to you, who is still a student living on allowances. (Or maybe you are alreay working... then, beg your pardon.)

You are talking in theories, and in a vacuum in absence of other things. If you think a bit deeper, you would understand why you would not want to wait till the savings grow to 100k before starting the investment.

If you think a bit deeper on your own, you would also understand what is an 'investment' and why a working adult would want to put part of his savings into riskier normal UT funds too, instead all in FD, EPF or fix priced UT funds.

Is UT funds riskier? Yes. Can UT funds have better returns? Yes.

Does the working adult worry that he may loose his job tomorrow? Yes. Does the working adult worry that his savings is not enough? Yes.

Is he willing to risk some of his savings for better returns to secure his future financially? Yes.

Is UT funds a viable investment option for better returns? Yes.

How much better? 15-18% can or not? Can, no problem. smile.gif

So many yes.... so many good reasons to set up a new investment company...

Welcome to FSM. laugh.gif

(If you think you are the only smart person to predict that all these UT companies will closed shop sooner or later... I don't care, and don't want to discuss it with you. Get lost! tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif )

Avangelice
post Sep 23 2016, 09:13 PM

5,272 posts

Guys. Calm down. Let us not fight eh. After all we are all investing our own money so why take it personally here?
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 23 2016, 09:27 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 23 2016, 08:03 PM)
how do you expect another poster to give a respectful and proper reply to you without digging up all the basic background info and not taking up too much of his time to answer, and in his eyes, a troll?
^
this

Some people deserves help, some people deserves respect, and some deserves the direction to the exit. Period.
pisces88
post Sep 23 2016, 09:54 PM

3,968 posts

very happy didnt give up China equity fund. one of my top performer now at +14.7%, 18months. last top up in July.

india fund +10.48%, 17 months.
Ramjade
post Sep 23 2016, 10:11 PM

24,351 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 23 2016, 08:03 PM)
I don't know what's going on between you and pink, and I don't care either.  smile.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

But I do notice that most of the time, the posts you were posting here were very subtle posts or questions, which subtlety raises the same question "Why people is crazy or stupid enough to invest into normal UT funds when there are EPF and fix priced funds?"

You seemed like a regular poster, both posting and browsing this thread regularly... yet at times, you seemed not to remember some posts on the basic background of investing into UT funds... and make remarks for further clarification... how do you expect another poster to give a respectful and proper reply to you without digging up all the basic background info and not taking up too much of his time to answer, and in his eyes, a troll?

For example, in a previous post, I was going on about the importance of doing DCA... and in the next post, you were trying to say that lumpsum investment could give the same effect or result as DCA. Which I did not reply... because it is all too obvious to a working adult who is just joining the rat race that it would not be easy to save up 100k. But not to you, who is still a student living on allowances. (Or maybe you are alreay working... then, beg your pardon.)

You are talking in theories, and in a vacuum in absence of other things. If you think a bit deeper, you would understand why you would not want to wait till the savings grow to 100k before starting the investment.

If you think a bit deeper on your own, you would also understand what is an 'investment' and why a working adult would want to put part of his savings into riskier normal UT funds too, instead all in FD, EPF or fix priced UT funds.

Is UT funds riskier? Yes. Can UT funds have better returns? Yes.

Does the working adult worry that he may loose his job tomorrow? Yes. Does the working adult worry that his savings is not enough? Yes.

Is he willing to risk some of his savings for better returns to secure his future financially? Yes.

Is UT funds a viable investment option for better returns? Yes.

How much better? 15-18% can or not? Can, no problem.  smile.gif

So many yes.... so many good reasons to set up a new investment company...

Welcome to FSM.  laugh.gif

(If you think you are the only smart person to predict that all these UT companies will closed shop sooner or later... I don't care, and don't want to discuss it with you. Get lost!  tongue.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif )
Hi, Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated it. Cause actually I am looking so see whether I am right or not. Like the DCA vs lumpsum. Both methods work. We have proof from both side. DCA works if you have heart of steel. Lumpsum technique works IF can be done like 3-4x/year (again there's proof) if one refuse to take a loss (from observation - when profit hits a certain self target, run)

Also there's a matter of taking profit. Some said hold. Some said skim profit. But if skimming profit, isn't one taking the principal too which will spoil the effect of compounding interest. All too technical calculations as I don't have any financial background. Anyway, I know already what I want already after reading a bit.

I think you guys must have mistaken me here. I am talking about lumpsum RM100k. My lumpsum is only like RM200/each time. laugh.gif This is what I meant -> Instead of buying the fund now at expensive price say this month (RM100/month - DCA style), keep it in CMF/eGIA-i. For me, I choose eGIA-i as it give the highest interest (don't get me started on this) and when next month comes and opportunity comes, one lump sum RM200 inside. I am thinking more along the way of VA.

When I look at the people's posting of tables of (-), board rates, promo rates FD returns, all make me blink.gif
Because for me personally, I set my own benchmark that a UT MUST beat FD/EPF/ASX FP. Because no point investing so difficult (emotional challenges) when there are simple stuff which get you there too. My teacher used to say why kill a mosquito with a machine gun (making things hard when things are simple) and till this day.

You asked me to forked out lumpsum also I scared sweat.gif From my observation, adults just want their money to be safe (the ones I know and observed)

Hey, I am open to discussion. Sorry if it seems like personal post. lol

Thank you again.
AIYH
post Sep 23 2016, 10:30 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2016, 10:11 PM)
Hi, Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated it. Cause actually I am looking so see whether I am right or not. Like the DCA vs lumpsum. Both methods work. We have proof from both side. DCA works if you have heart of steel. Lumpsum technique works IF can be done like 3-4x/year (again there's proof) if one refuse to take a loss (from observation - when profit hits a certain self target, run)

Also there's a matter of taking profit. Some said hold. Some said skim profit. But if skimming profit, isn't one taking the principal too which will spoil the effect of compounding interest. All too technical calculations as I don't have any financial background. Anyway, I know already what I want already after reading a bit.

I think you guys must have mistaken me here. I am talking about lumpsum RM100k. My lumpsum is only like RM200/each time. laugh.gif This is what I meant -> Instead of buying the fund now at expensive price say this month (RM100/month - DCA style), keep it in CMF/eGIA-i. For me, I choose eGIA-i as it give the highest interest (don't get me started on this) and when next month comes and opportunity comes, one lump sum RM200 inside. I am thinking more along the way of VA.

When I look at the people's posting of tables of (-), board rates, promo rates FD returns, all make me  blink.gif
Because for me personally, I set my own benchmark that a UT MUST beat FD/EPF/ASX FP. Because no point investing so difficult (emotional challenges) when there are simple stuff which get you there too. My teacher used to say why kill a mosquito with a machine gun (making things hard when things are simple) and till this day.

You asked me to forked out lumpsum also I scared sweat.gif From my observation, adults just want their money to be safe (the ones I know and observed)

Thank you again.
Sure if you choose to lump sum and hold it through the ups and downs. you might earn more.

However, by doing that you are giving up the opportunity to take advantage of the down time to pump in to polish your return.

This is the advantage DCA have over one lumpsum, by taking advantage of the volatile market.

Given your risk appetite, there are quite some funds that can easily achieve your target in the long run (according to historical performance anyway)

Instead of putting them in FD/EPF/ASX FP, why not put that small lump sum you can afford to get a head start for it to have a return substantially better then the previous vehicles?

Since you are still a student, you can just start with small capital on one fund, and when you have extra money in the future, explore and invest more.

Don't worry about the market timing since no one can accurately estimate the timing of ups and downs.

Just like other pro here says, invest when u have the capital, and withdraw when u need the money.

Given your age, don't over worried the risk to suppress the potential return you could gain smile.gif
Avangelice
post Sep 23 2016, 10:50 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2016, 10:11 PM)

When I look at the people's posting of tables of (-), board rates, promo rates FD returns, all make me  blink.gif

Thank you again.
Fix deposits, epf, asx or whatever you call them these days have long down periods and FIXED Interests. There's nothing magnificent about it fyi. Just put money in and forget about it and let the banks do it for you.

Again it's comparing apples to oranges as we sacrifice the fixed interest to have more power and understanding on where and how our monies are invested in UTs.

And most of your argument over why your investment over UTs is flawed and baseless. Plus if you don't want to invest in UTs why bother coming in here and causing all the unnecessary drama.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 23 2016, 11:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 23 2016, 10:50 PM)
Fix deposits, epf, asx or whatever you call them these days have long down periods and FIXED Interests. There's nothing magnificent about it fyi. Just put money in and forget about it and let the banks do it for you.

Again it's comparing apples to oranges as we sacrifice the fixed interest to have more power and understanding on where and how our monies are invested in UTs.

And most of your argument over why your investment over UTs is flawed and baseless. Plus if you don't want to invest in UTs why bother coming in here and causing all the unnecessary drama.
just thinking:
1. Fixed Income stuff VS UTs.. big hoo ha - "quantum leap" if learned and kept executing

2. UTs VS direct stocks even ETFs.. another "quantum leap" if learned and kept executing

3. local VS foreign/worldwide stocks - another "quantum leap"if learned and kept executing

4. derivatives on held worldwide stocks OR derivatives on wanted to buy worldwide stocks - another awakening level.. (still stuck here personally)

i guess U are spot-on on the transitions needed for each stage of "awakening" - being happy, contented "staying there"
VS
being happy, contented YET wanting to keep improving/finding more options - these costs $, time, effort and lots of coffee (for me heheh)

Just thinking - no right/wrong, thus dont fatwa me for this ya notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM

8,188 posts

Just back for affinhwang mkts outlook presentation dinner.
Key take away
In the next 12 months, better in
EM (EM in Asia is better than EM of Europe or EM of Lat AM)
Indonesia….govt policies supportive of growth. IF Jokowi managed to win 2nd terms....lagi BAGUS
Thailand….Diminishing political risks
Phillipines….new govt stance supported by mkts

Asean region is still resilience

If wants to invest for very long terms…try INDONESIA

China’s Corporate debt is 170% of GDP……which are 1 of the reasons mentioned most of the time China mkt corrects……currently its mkts is up and up……has the 170% elephant disappeared?

Invest with the beliefs that FED will raise rate this year and next…….amid slowly. Mkts will remains volatile near and after the FED meetings.

Most central banks will keep lower rates and more investment thru infrastructure investment.

"IF" trump wins on 8 Nov......expects few months of mkts volatility that is worst than Brexit.

Early this year, when asked about his opinion on M’sia small cap space….he mentioned of the risks of small cap liquidity issues……I was noob about liquidity till Aug…..
Will I be smarter this time? hmm.gif
Will this punk be lucky this time? brows.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 24 2016, 12:06 AM
xuzen
post Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM

4,436 posts

Since we on the ASX FP topic, I just google it and check its ROI, and found that they are around 6.XX% never touching 7%. The Bumiputera only is slightly higher by 100 basis pts.

I took the liberty and checked out FSM list and found that there are 10 Balanced UTF that have above 10% CAGR.

Who's your daddy now!

Xuzen
Avangelice
post Sep 24 2016, 12:21 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM)
Just back for affinhwang mkts outlook presentation dinner.
Key take away
In the next 12 months, better in
EM (EM in Asia is better than EM of Europe or EM of Lat AM)
Indonesia….govt policies supportive of growth. IF Jokowi managed to win 2nd terms....lagi BAGUS
Thailand….Diminishing political risks
Phillipines….new govt stance supported by mkts

Asean region is still resilience

If wants to invest for very long terms…try INDONESIA

China’s Corporate debt is 170% of GDP……which are 1 of the reasons mentioned most of the time China mkt corrects……currently its mkts is up and up……has the 170% elephant disappeared?

Invest with the beliefs that FED will raise rate this year and next…….amid slowly. Mkts will remains volatile near and after the FED meetings.

Most central banks will keep lower rates and more investment thru infrastructure investment.

"IF" trump wins on 8 Nov......expects few months of mkts volatility that is worst than Brexit.

Early this year, when asked about his opinion on M’sia small cap space….he mentioned of the risks of small cap liquidity issues……I was noob about liquidity till Aug…..
Will I be smarter this time?  hmm.gif
Will this punk be lucky this time?  brows.gif
Thanks for taking time to type it out and sharing with us.

Now what worries me is the Fed increase and Trump winning. Well that's a big IF but it's 2016 where anything crazy can happen. Looks like my plan to stick to Asian regions was worth the portfolio rebalancing

Once again thank you.
MUM
post Sep 24 2016, 01:18 AM

14,882 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 23 2016, 07:26 PM)
There are only about 5 true sifus in this forum and some of them don't post often. No offence intended but some of the forumers here have only invested in unit trusts for less than 3 years and their "knowledge" are solely from the forum or online material. Some are not even investors in FSM!
thanks GOD...there are only so few here,...if majority are SIFUS then with everyone knows what it is and what to expect,....it would be very dry to look in here..... biggrin.gif
dexk
post Sep 24 2016, 03:54 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM)
Since we on the ASX FP topic, I just google it and check its ROI, and found that they are around 6.XX% never touching 7%. The Bumiputera only is slightly higher by 100 basis pts.

I took the liberty and checked out FSM list and found that there are 10 Balanced UTF that have above 10% CAGR.

Who's your daddy now!

Xuzen
I have been following this topic actually. 10 > 10% but how many < 7.XX? To compare apple with apple we should use the median or average isn't it?
river.sand
post Sep 24 2016, 09:15 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM)

Who's your daddy now!

Xuzen
I thought you love to talk about text book topic Standard Deviation?
What are the SD and risk adjusted returns of those funds compared to ASx?

Disclaimer:
I have never invested in ASx. Don't shoot me.
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2016, 09:17 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(dexk @ Sep 24 2016, 03:54 AM)
I have been following this topic actually. 10 > 10% but how many < 7.XX? To compare apple with apple we should use the median or average isn't it?
There are idiots in this world, do u want to stand with the idiots or do u want to compete and compare with the best? wink.gif

Just like there are so many divisions of English football, do u want to compare with the median, or do u want to compare with the Manchesters, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal and co.? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 24 2016, 09:20 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2016, 09:19 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 24 2016, 09:15 AM)
I thought you love to talk about text book topic Standard Deviation?
What are the SD and risk adjusted returns of those funds compared to ASx?

Disclaimer:
I have never invested in ASx. Don't shoot me.
Again, back to the reserves topic.

ASx returns are SMOOTHED.

Almost all records of past returns of ASx is only on its dividends declared, I don't find any that use true returns (PROFIT/LOSS).

I.e.
I earn 10 sen I give u 6 sen
I earn 5 sen I give u 6 sen
I earn 12 sen I give u 7 sen
I earn 2 sen I give u 5 sen
And so on...
T231H
post Sep 24 2016, 09:23 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 24 2016, 09:19 AM)
Again, back to the reserves topic.

ASx returns are SMOOTHED.

Almost all records of past returns of ASx is only on its dividends declared, I don't find any that use true returns (PROFIT/LOSS).

I.e.
I earn 10 sen I give u 6 sen
I earn 5 sen I give u 6 sen
I earn 12 sen I give u 7 sen
I earn 2 sen I give u 5 sen
And so on...
I just loved the way you posted....
so short a post yet they are simple and easy to see the logic
wub.gif

max_cavalera
post Sep 24 2016, 09:23 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Sep 23 2016, 10:54 PM)
very happy didnt give up China equity fund. one of my top performer now at +14.7%, 18months. last top up in July.

india fund +10.48%, 17 months.
Nice.

My kenanga growth fund feel sluggish...😣

I only have 8-10k there but my wife have almost 30k in there...

Hopefully they catch up the return...
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2016, 09:27 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 24 2016, 09:23 AM)
I just loved the way you posted....
so short a post yet they are simple and easy to see the logic
wub.gif
If like that still don't understand, I reserve a place at zoo for u tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2016, 09:38 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 23 2016, 11:47 PM)
I don't buy that, mass media has always been pro-Clinton. Trump is after all, a businessman. He won't wanna risk his empire for the sake of becoming someone that will be recorded in history books as another Hitler or Mussolini tongue.gif

That volatility, if any, would be a golden opportunity

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Sep 24 2016, 09:23 AM)
Nice.

My kenanga growth fund feel sluggish...😣

I only have 8-10k there but my wife have almost 30k in there...

Hopefully they catch up the return...
Annualised returns for
1 yr: 8.94
2 yrs: 6.13
3 yrs: 13.56
5 yrs: 16.66
10 yrs: 17.14

U expect 20% annual returns all the way? Be realistic bro, it is STILL a winner. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 24 2016, 09:41 AM

100 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:24 PM