QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 20 2016, 08:35 PM)
Call up or go to Alliance Bank branch and talk to officer or BM on this 4.1% deal. Remember it has to be a large amt. 
Any indication on how 'large' is the amt?Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.14, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Oct 21 2016, 11:45 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Oct 21 2016, 11:48 AM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Latest/revised T&C from Maybank on latest GIA-i campaign
Attached File(s)
Maybank_gia141016_tnc.pdf ( 81.41k )
Number of downloads: 120 |
Oct 21 2016, 12:29 PM
554 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 21 2016, 11:48 AM) after reading this , not so attractive ...4.1% for 12 months ..... why not just go straight forward for conventional 4.1% from the banks that offered .... unless end of 12 months, the return could hit 4.5% and above then it will be different story... any thought on this ... thanks... |
Oct 21 2016, 12:38 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,500 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Oct 21 2016, 12:56 PM
412 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Oct 21 2016, 12:29 PM) after reading this , not so attractive ...4.1% for 12 months ..... why not just go straight forward for conventional 4.1% from the banks that offered .... I dont think the rate will change, u leave it for one year, the effective rate is 4.1%unless end of 12 months, the return could hit 4.5% and above then it will be different story... any thought on this ... thanks... |
Oct 21 2016, 01:24 PM
6,266 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: UEP Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Oct 21 2016, 12:29 PM) after reading this , not so attractive ...4.1% for 12 months ..... why not just go straight forward for conventional 4.1% from the banks that offered .... unless end of 12 months, the return could hit 4.5% and above then it will be different story... any thought on this ... thanks... QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Oct 21 2016, 12:56 PM) GIA pays interest out monthly though, and if you withdraw early you still entitled to 3.6% (most banks clawback is 50% hence 2.05%, and clawback of 100% for <3 months).The monthly interest means effectively get more than 4.1% (redeposit the interest in GIA as well). |
Oct 21 2016, 02:59 PM
363 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Oct 21 2016, 12:29 PM) after reading this , not so attractive ...4.1% for 12 months ..... why not just go straight forward for conventional 4.1% from the banks that offered .... Is there any other banks that offering 4.1%?unless end of 12 months, the return could hit 4.5% and above then it will be different story... any thought on this ... thanks... |
Oct 21 2016, 06:08 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM
1,064 posts Joined: May 2016 |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2016, 06:08 PM) I mentioned before for 1M. What the BM said is 1M. But I guess some branch maybe lower. So with "large" amt, can always try. Alliance Bank, please note. Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. |
Oct 21 2016, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM) Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. Who say I am interested in banks and PIDM ? I have big chunk in BR which is neither. I do have in MBSB but relatively small amt when they have the 4.5% last year Aug. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 21 2016, 07:45 PM |
Oct 21 2016, 08:34 PM
817 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM) Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. how do sifu compare br and mbsb? |
Oct 21 2016, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Oct 21 2016, 08:34 PM) BR is good for payments of monthly interest without requiring a big principal. So I use it as benchmark for step up and other monthly promos.MBSB is my benchmark for FD paying interest on maturity for promos and negotiated rates. Affin is my benchmark for board rates, but I don't layan board rates anymore. All other banks have to beat them some how to be looked at. |
Oct 21 2016, 10:19 PM
1,757 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM) Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. Any thread to follow? I might be interested. |
Oct 22 2016, 12:17 AM
Oct 22 2016, 07:20 AM
817 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 22 2016, 12:17 AM) Where got thread for nego rates above the MBSB promo. But you can nego for more than the current top promo rates without getting anywhere close to RM 1 million. bro, uncle goat is just saying 1m for alliance to get 4.1%. br 50k can nego. other bank maybe 200k, 300k can nego. most banks tak boleh nego. |
Oct 22 2016, 07:25 AM
895 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM) Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 22 2016, 12:17 AM) Where got thread for nego rates above the MBSB promo. But you can nego for more than the current top promo rates without getting anywhere close to RM 1 million. y sifu so against 1mil? no need cynical about it. agreed with below. no 1mil, can go with other banks. y u support mbsb? not all comfortable with mbsb. QUOTE(sandkoh @ Oct 22 2016, 07:20 AM) |
Oct 22 2016, 09:13 AM
5,889 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM) Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB. Nowadays more are going for higher rates. PIDM becomes secondary, as 250k cover just cannot cover enough. QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 09:50 PM) BR is good for payments of monthly interest without requiring a big principal. So I use it as benchmark for step up and other monthly promos. MBSB used to pay monthly last time, now it is paying me 6 monthly.MBSB is my benchmark for FD paying interest on maturity for promos and negotiated rates. Affin is my benchmark for board rates, but I don't layan board rates anymore. All other banks have to beat them some how to be looked at. cannot wait till maturity only take interest, manyak rugi lo. QUOTE(yygo @ Oct 22 2016, 07:25 AM) y sifu so against 1mil? no need cynical about it. can see yygo is right behind bgoat's back every where..agreed with below. no 1mil, can go with other banks. y u support mbsb? not all comfortable with mbsb. but i believe your sifu wont mind MBSB also if 4.7% is still available. |
Oct 22 2016, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 22 2016, 09:13 AM) Yes ! Was talking to CIMB RM. Their retail bond with 5.8% yield is now only 4.8% if buy now, 250k but pay 260k for it. So if can get 4.7% FD, who cares PIDM. My BR stake is already quite high there. Have small amt in MBSB for their 4.5% FD. But I did not go to them when they still have the 4.7% (or higher ?) say last year ? |
Oct 22 2016, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Oct 22 2016, 07:20 AM) bro, uncle goat is just saying 1m for alliance to get 4.1%. br 50k can nego. other bank maybe 200k, 300k can nego. most banks tak boleh nego. Just sharing info on Alliance Bank. Someone comes out with remarks on why go for banks only. Just ignore the info if 1M is out of question. Or that bank is not part of your FD plan due to distance etc. This info can be used by some uncle/aunties here ! This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 22 2016, 10:20 AM |
Oct 22 2016, 11:01 AM
1,055 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
| Change to: | 0.0275sec