Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.14, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

guy3288
post Aug 21 2016, 07:33 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 21 2016, 06:57 PM)
The real winners were those placed the MBSB exclusive 5 before it discontinued, 4.7% for 5 years, even better than most corporate bonds
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif 38pcs in hand.
guy3288
post Aug 22 2016, 10:17 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 22 2016, 09:54 AM)
The best I got is the AmBank 2 yrs 4.6%, Oct/Nov 2015. Never have luck with MBSB's 4.7%.  biggrin.gif
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbsup.gif
you also missed out the 4.7% from BR?
mbsb ones 6 monthly interest. BR ones better, monthly interest.
guy3288
post Aug 24 2016, 10:25 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 22 2016, 10:34 PM)
The longest I have with BR is 2 years 4.55% starting March 2016. Did not go for the 5 years one. BR 5 yrs board rate is now 4.3%.

With MBSB just the 18 mth one of 4.5%.

Probably need to allocate some 5 yrs eggs.
current 5 yr rate too low , not worth to be tied down. that MBSB 4.5% for 18 m must be sometime ago..sure no more now.
guy3288
post Oct 22 2016, 09:13 AM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 07:37 PM)
Why so interested in banks and PIDM? Why don't you try and ask MBSB for higher rates if you have money? No way MBSB try to demand RM 1 million for 4.1% for 12 months. They have been consistently attractive and competitive on the top side - but need to ask. If your cash flow and money is available, the first place is MBSB.
Nowadays more are going for higher rates.
PIDM becomes secondary, as 250k cover just cannot cover enough.

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Oct 21 2016, 09:50 PM)
BR is good for payments of monthly interest without requiring a big principal. So I use it as benchmark for step up and other monthly promos.
MBSB is my benchmark for FD paying interest on maturity for promos and negotiated rates.
Affin is my benchmark for board rates, but I don't layan board rates anymore.
All other banks have to beat them some how to be looked at.
MBSB used to pay monthly last time, now it is paying me 6 monthly.
cannot wait till maturity only take interest, manyak rugi lo.

QUOTE(yygo @ Oct 22 2016, 07:25 AM)
y sifu so against 1mil? no need cynical about it.  rclxs0.gif brows.gif

agreed with below. no 1mil, can go with other banks. y u support mbsb? not all comfortable with mbsb.
can see yygo is right behind bgoat's back every where..

but i believe your sifu wont mind MBSB also if 4.7% is still available.

guy3288
post Nov 4 2016, 12:34 AM

5,868 posts

wah,looks like u guys are sad to 'let go' old FDs........ me too have to take rate cuts,
some more, some less cut, me will suffer the biggest cut.

i called up MBSB i wanna withdraw (park in GIA). it seems dont go also can withdraw. just photocopy SA front page, IC front and back, sign the FD cert , filll up the withdrawal form and despatch boy wil come collect. that save me lots of troubles due to spread out dates. charge RM5 per tt also i think is worth it
guy3288
post Nov 7 2016, 12:46 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(chrisoth80 @ Nov 6 2016, 05:25 PM)
it takes about 20min for each transaction. you need to make exactly 7 transfer x 20min = 140min. This will be the amount of time you gotta spend. Mine is exactly 20min for each successful transaction
i am going to open HLB SA for this.

My money is in MBB , is your multiple FPX payments to HLB from MBB or other bank?
guy3288
post Nov 8 2016, 09:13 AM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(chrisoth80 @ Nov 7 2016, 08:51 PM)
Yes. Total more than 10 transactions from mbb and only 1 single transaction from pbb for testing purpose on same day
Thanks, indeed it was easy and much faster than the time mentioned.

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 7 2016, 10:23 PM)
Yeah my mobile cannot ... Anyway back to FD so far 4.15% is the best...
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 7 2016, 10:25 PM)
Yeah big day for tomorrow who hunt for 4.15%
Yes better go grab quick, much better than my 3.6% parking.
guy3288
post Nov 13 2016, 11:59 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(solarwing @ Nov 13 2016, 11:35 PM)
Hong Leong FD 4.2% for 6 month.
[attachmentid=8019878]
just came out with 4.15% TUE FD promo and now this 4.2% pulak?

HLB need so much cash meh??
guy3288
post Dec 19 2016, 01:58 PM

5,868 posts

received BR notebook, 2 accounts 2 books.
guy3288
post Dec 19 2016, 02:24 PM

5,868 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 19 2016, 02:05 PM)
It should be a diary/planner like what I have shown:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=82901360

They sent it to u or u collected it from BR ?
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Dec 19 2016, 02:17 PM)
I have a feeling there maybe 2 versions, if you are an Xclusive member, you can request for the calendar and organise diary type.
my branch complained this year 'very tight', so that's all can give.
i went to Wd FD and they gave me.

0.0738sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:25 AM