Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

basSist
post Nov 13 2006, 04:38 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Nov 13 2006, 10:37 AM)
using a e6400 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.25V Vcore.
woah.. 1.25v vcore can run at 3.2Ghz? mine 1.30v vcore not stable also (restart after open 2 folding programs)
cyberion86
post Nov 13 2006, 05:55 PM

36 posts

any forumer here still encounter compatibility problem between D9 RAM & DS3? did the latest bios solve that issue?

Another question, why there is large increment from 1.6 to 1.8 in vcore option@DS3? how im goin to choose voltage like 1.61250 or something like that?
siauann
post Nov 13 2006, 07:11 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Nov 13 2006, 12:16 AM)
Duh... Didn't inform me i just sold my pair.
aiyo~ i dint knw u wanna sell lar cry.gif
cz i see u sell ur team xtreme tot ur using ths D9GKX sad.gif
then ur still on the team xtreme ram now? or using new ram again? brows.gif

QUOTE(MaGicDust @ Nov 13 2006, 12:38 AM)
I think the code is different cause the code I wrote is for the whole RAM module... The code on the RAM chips suppose to be different... Anyway, I went to Hynix website and checked... I think they are the same RAM chips... Btw, what's the Vcore of your proc currently?

Hehehe... Maybe can try to bid rather than using quick grab, then the price can be lowered summore... wink.gif

siauann, will you tell me the speed, timing, vDIMM and the vCore that you are running on atm with ur c4?
im running 24/7 @ 430x7 @ 1.35vcore @ 5-4-5-12 @ 2.0vdimm
vmch and vfsb =0.1v smile.gif

QUOTE(ddww @ Nov 13 2006, 03:13 AM)
yikes... tidak cantik la u... tat time ask u wanna sell or not u ask me go get from mjoe... i need another 2 ba... see... shakehead.gif always don wanna sell your stuff to me... blush.gif  blush.gif

KVR Hynix performs same as OEM Hynix?
i heard some ppl says oem performs better? unsure.gif
im not sure though'..mayb oem using better pcb than the kvr? wink.gif
dunno lar tongue.gif
MaGicDust
post Nov 13 2006, 07:22 PM

Rea|istic DreAmeR
616 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 13 2006, 01:59 PM)
Memory timing is not so important in C2D. Most between 2 extreme timing is around 5%. Also, I don't see much gain after 3Ghz and above. Most likely our Graphic card can't keep up with the procs.
Maybe for our gfx cards. But for most top-end gfx cards in the market especially after GF8800 is released thumbup.gif . Processor speed is always the main issue. Even if you overclock, it is just not fast enough to keep up with the gfx cards. There is always a FPS 'cap' limited by the CPU when benchmarking at lower resolution.

QUOTE(remysix @ Nov 13 2006, 02:39 PM)
that's what i heard as well...that's why for c2d, i'd go for ram with higher fsb, to hit 1:1 with the proc...and yes, for synt benchmarking, might have some improvement with tighter timing especially for SPI...so, my choice of ram: big fat ram (capacity) and high fsb thumbup.gif (even thou i'm waiting for the Crucial 10th Anni...not becoz of the timing but the fsb tongue.gif )
Ya, I do realize this as well, there is no significant difference for me in benchmarking beween running 555-15 or 444-12 in benchmarks. Probably because Intel processors doesn't have intergrated memory controller, there is always a significant latency between the processor and the memory. Just a guess.
gmail
post Nov 13 2006, 11:13 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

i'm going 2 get a e6400 + DS3.
i hav some dilemma in getting ram, plan 2 get a 2x1GB kit.
which ram can oc higher?

here r some of the ram in my mind:
2x1GB Kingston Value Ram DDR2 - 533 (Hynix C4 Chip)
2x1GB Corsair Value Select DDR2 - 667
2x1GB Crucial DDR2 - 667
2x1GB A-DATA DDR2-667

heard that some batches of KVR DDR2 - 533 comes with samsung chipset, dunno can oc high or not?
TStAmp0i
post Nov 14 2006, 12:02 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Nov 13 2006, 05:55 PM)
any forumer here still encounter compatibility problem between D9 RAM & DS3? did the latest bios solve that issue?

Another question, why there is large increment from 1.6 to 1.8 in vcore option@DS3? how im goin to choose voltage like 1.61250 or something like that?
So far as a D9 and DS3 user, i did not encounter any compatibility issue. For the Vcore option between 1.6v to 1.8v that is the way it meant to be so i guess we just have to stick with that...

QUOTE(gmail @ Nov 13 2006, 11:13 PM)
which ram can oc higher?

2x1GB Crucial DDR2 - 667
2x1GB A-DATA DDR2-667

heard that some batches of KVR DDR2 - 533 comes with samsung chipset, dunno can oc high or not?
If budget is not a problem, i suggest you get the Micron. Other than that, Hynix is performing good too but the best is to have a good look at the chip itself... smile.gif
yehlai
post Nov 14 2006, 01:16 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 13 2006, 01:59 PM)
Memory timing is not so important in C2D. Most between 2 extreme timing is around 5%. Also, I don't see much gain after 3Ghz and above. Most likely our Graphic card can't keep up with the procs.
for me.. memory is the most important thing, becos my proc aldy reach the highest limit. So i have to run tighest timing to get good score in Super Pi.
running 1087Mhz @3-4-3-3

ddww
post Nov 14 2006, 04:07 AM

~DoDy~
908 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Nov 13 2006, 11:13 PM)
which ram can oc higher?

2x1GB Crucial DDR2 - 667
2x1GB A-DATA DDR2-667

erm, among your list the highest FSB it can go is the Crucial Ram. Had no idea with the A-Data ram though. I know TMJ is doing the bulk for it, but i don see the packaging of the ram as a high-end ram. if u can afford the crucial, go for the tenth aniversary one rclxms.gif
cyberion86
post Nov 14 2006, 02:37 PM

36 posts

what's goin on?

why is it 3.6G? im using x6 multi

teohwk
post Nov 14 2006, 03:26 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Nov 14 2006, 02:37 PM)
what's goin on?

Only CPU-Z reads multipliers correctly. The others assume your multis are at default and multiply them by FSB.
cyberion86
post Nov 14 2006, 04:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(teohwk @ Nov 14 2006, 03:26 PM)
Only CPU-Z reads multipliers correctly. The others assume your multis are at default and multiply them by FSB.
Even Sisoftware, Everest and Memtest86+ also read wrongly... Thanks for the info man

This post has been edited by cyberion86: Nov 14 2006, 04:33 PM
coolice
post Nov 14 2006, 05:36 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

aiks,now my turn to encounter in the laggy issues when open cpuz after switch to asus board..any solution to solve it?(cant remember is there a solution or not sweat.gif )
siauann
post Nov 14 2006, 06:48 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Nov 14 2006, 02:37 PM)
what's goin on?

im same too...i lower multiplier to x6 but the speed shows in orthos is x7 sweat.gif
cyberion86
post Nov 14 2006, 08:28 PM

36 posts

anyone here mind to share your vcore setting for E6400? i'm not able to do 450 even at 1.6v with vMCH +0.3 and vFSB +0.3. By the way, my ram was capable of that speed.

E6400
Mushkin DDR2-667 2GB
DS3@F7 C2

This post has been edited by cyberion86: Nov 20 2006, 12:34 AM
sup3rfly
post Nov 14 2006, 08:34 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 14 2006, 05:36 PM)
aiks,now my turn to encounter in the laggy issues when open cpuz after switch to asus board..any solution to solve it?(cant remember is there a solution or not sweat.gif )
dun think if there is a way to resolve it ler.... its lag because it getting the information from the sensors.... so that i will show u all the values ... correct me if i m wrong sweat.gif
coolice
post Nov 14 2006, 09:33 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 14 2006, 08:34 PM)
dun think if there is a way to resolve it ler.... its lag because it getting the information from the sensors.... so that i will show u all the values ... correct me if i m wrong sweat.gif
lol..nvm edi..its better after i flash to 0304 bios:D
btw..wat is the TM2 function tat under the same menu with settings of C1E and etc?
sup3rfly
post Nov 14 2006, 09:49 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 14 2006, 09:33 PM)
lol..nvm edi..its better after i flash to 0304 bios:D
btw..wat is the TM2 function tat under the same menu with settings of C1E and etc?
i m not quite sure what is that for also...i disabled everything hahaha
btw y bios 0304??? i m using 0701 liao wo...
mikelanding
post Nov 14 2006, 09:58 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Nov 14 2006, 08:28 PM)
anyone here mind to share your vcore setting for E6400? i'm not able to do 450 even at 1.6v with vMCH +0.3 and vFSB +0.3. By the way, my ram was capable of that speed.

E6400 L626A754
Mushkin DDR2-667 2GB
DS3@F7 C2
wow...U whack yr system till extreme sweat.gif sweat.gif ...hope U had good HSF and active cool yr NB and ram.
Most of DS3 mobo had difficulty in overclock above FSB450. Only few lucky 1 manage to do that. I suspect either yr Proc or mobo chipset had hit the wall.
U might want to try Asus P5B-Deluxe which prove to be more overclockable compare to DS3

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 14 2006, 09:58 PM
axepert
post Nov 14 2006, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(basSist @ Nov 13 2006, 04:38 PM)
woah.. 1.25v vcore can run at 3.2Ghz? mine 1.30v vcore not stable also (restart after open 2 folding programs)
whats ur CPU temp at load (Orthos) using Core Temp, and what's your mobo's ambient temp?
vassalle
post Nov 14 2006, 10:04 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 14 2006, 09:58 PM)
wow...U whack yr system till extreme  sweat.gif  sweat.gif ...hope U had good HSF and active cool yr NB and ram.
Most of DS3 mobo had difficulty in overclock above FSB450. Only few lucky 1 manage to do that. I suspect either yr Proc or mobo chipset had hit the wall.
U might want to try Asus P5B-Deluxe which prove to be more overclockable compare to DS3
just a question, why Asus P5B-Deluxe? Is it different than the cheaper variant, Asus P5B, other than the wifi, etc?

131 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:18 PM