Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

FrogBlob
post May 30 2025, 03:51 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(kobanpro @ May 30 2025, 02:34 PM)
sorry 5k km, mazda3 with boot.

As per checking, the owner did go for SC for the 3 years follow schedule, then sold to the dealer. So, the car might be at dealer for 1 year without servicing.

Any recommended for pre purchase inspection in KL?
1 year without buyers hmm.gif better beware if this is a red flag or not

as for pre purchase services i'll leave the recommendations to the sifus in f&f icon_question.gif
dogbert_chew
post May 30 2025, 04:21 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ May 30 2025, 03:51 PM)
1 year without buyers  hmm.gif better beware if this is a red flag or not
πŸ‘† 1 year in the hands of unscrupulous racketeers? πŸ™„
Probably their daily drives with odometer disconnected.
subaiku
post May 30 2025, 05:25 PM

445 posts

Hi sifus, am totally not a car guy so am considering these two models basically because I like the design. Looking at budget range of 20-50k. Also old skool so prefer non keyless. Also prefer a hatchback because of the smaller size. Just a single driver, usually daily drive and the occasional outstation. What's important to me is just got AC, got music (lol these 2 should be basic right?) and decent mileage. Oh, and not too crazy maintanence/service costs.

What common problems should I look out for in these 2 models? Also open to other models (but not local brands) within these criteria if you guys can recommend. Thanks in advance!

1. Brand : Mercedes A200 hatchback 1.6 2013-2014
2. Budget : 50k (approx)
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 1.6
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Mileage for this model/age around 70k

1. Brand : Mazda 3 hatchback 2.0 2010
2. Budget : 20k (approx)
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 2.0
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Mileage for this model/age around 80-120k

This post has been edited by subaiku: May 30 2025, 05:50 PM
dogbert_chew
post May 31 2025, 12:48 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 30 2025, 05:25 PM)
totally not a car guy
considering these two models basically because  design.
Looking at budget range of 20-50k.
non keyless
hatchback because of the smaller size.
single driver daily drive occasional outstation.
important got AC, got music, decent mileage.
not too crazy maintanence/service costs.

What common problems should I look out for in these 2 models?

open to other models (but not local brands)
1. Brand : Mercedes A200 hatchback 1.6 2013-2014
2. Budget : 50k (approx)
8. Mileage around 70k

1. Brand : Mazda 3 hatchback 2.0 2010
2. Budget : 20k (approx)
8. Mileage around 80-120k
Buying 12-15 year old used cars requires a lot of knowledge. You might need to spend a lot on hidden repairs that made the previous owner dispose of it. After a few years it approaches 20 years! And parts might not even be available for certain makes/ models.

Mileage listed is mostly fake. Unless you buy from friends or relatives, need to check service history but after 5 years warranty, getting these records also depends on luck and some detailed checks to determine actual mileage, wear & tear, accidents, flooding.

Then there are much more important factors such as engine & gearbox specs, ride & handling, safety systems etc instead of keyless or non keyless entry.

What is your current car?
Jened
post Jun 7 2025, 03:08 PM

128 posts

why not to wait for the new launch of Saga this year then to buy the
discount price obsolete Saga?
dogbert_chew
post Jun 7 2025, 07:41 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Jened @ Jun 7 2025, 03:08 PM)
why not to wait for the new launch of Saga this year then to buy the discount price obsolete Saga?
This question directed to who?

If you have plans to buy a new or used car, do use the standard format so that others can offer feedback and suggestions
subaiku
post Jun 8 2025, 09:14 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 31 2025, 12:48 AM)
Buying 12-15 year old used cars requires a lot of knowledge. You might need to spend a lot on hidden repairs that made the previous owner dispose of it. After a few years it approaches 20 years! And parts might not even be available for certain makes/ models.

Mileage listed is mostly fake. Unless you buy from friends or relatives, need to check service history but after 5 years warranty, getting these records also depends on luck and some detailed checks to determine actual mileage, wear & tear, accidents, flooding.

Then there are much more important factors such as engine & gearbox specs, ride & handling, safety systems etc instead of keyless or non keyless entry.

What is your current car?
Current car is an even older car! Honda City 2006! But it's on it's last legs, so that's why shopping around.

Wah, mileage is fake?? Damn... Is it common practice if you can get your own mechanic to check the used car before final purchase?
ayamxxx
post Jun 9 2025, 08:38 AM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Jun 8 2025, 09:14 PM)
Current car is an even older car! Honda City 2006! But it's on it's last legs, so that's why shopping around.

Wah, mileage is fake?? Damn... Is it common practice if you can get your own mechanic to check the used car before final purchase?
this are norm these day
dogbert_chew
post Jun 9 2025, 02:00 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Jun 8 2025, 09:14 PM)

Understood. If you can put aside your preference for A200, Mazda3 and non keyless, do go test drive new hatchbacks <50K eg Axia, Iriz, Myvi.

As a totally non-car guy, buying a new car will 90% save you a ton of headaches trying to repair a used > 10year continental. Unless you're up to it financially and wish to experience it.

Also 2026, new Myvi D01D and possibly new 1.5NA Saga Hatchback (after new sedan) might be in the picture for your consideration.

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Jun 9 2025, 02:04 PM
FrogBlob
post Jun 9 2025, 02:40 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 30 2025, 05:25 PM)
Hi sifus, am totally not a car guy so am considering these two models basically because I like the design. Looking at budget range of 20-50k. Also old skool so prefer non keyless. Also prefer a hatchback because of the smaller size. Just a single driver, usually daily drive and the occasional outstation. What's important to me is just got AC, got music (lol these 2 should be basic right?) and decent mileage. Oh, and not too crazy maintanence/service costs.

What common problems should I look out for in these 2 models? Also open to other models (but not local brands) within these criteria if you guys can recommend. Thanks in advance!
used Iriz. unless if really really dont want national brand: -

vw polo 1.6. still uses key. but its still vw, heard a few abs sensor issues, gear selector bush, etc.
honda jazz. this one abit more expensive sebab honda. +50% awek points.
kia picanto. heard a lot good things but no personal experience with this aside from grab.

personally i think 2010 mazda3 abit too old. can try see 2015 mazda2. but i think this one is push start la.

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jun 9 2025, 02:00 PM)
Understood. If you can put aside your preference for A200, Mazda3 and non keyless, do go test drive new hatchbacks <50K eg Axia, Iriz, Myvi.

As a totally non-car guy, buying a new car will 90% save you a ton of headaches trying to repair a used > 10year continental. Unless you're up to it financially and wish to experience it.

Also 2026, new Myvi D01D and possibly new 1.5NA Saga Hatchback (after new sedan) might be in the picture for your consideration.
yeah if not a car guy, used car can give you many headaches if unlucky. many small issues will give you aneurysm especially the conti.

so many new launches coming i ingat economy not good maybe only i economy not good sad.gif
Duckies
post Jun 9 2025, 02:44 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

2022 BMW X3 xDrive30i by Sime Darby Auto Selection with warranty can buy? Need bring mechanic to check first although all service record is there?
subaiku
post Jun 9 2025, 09:19 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jun 9 2025, 02:00 PM)

Hey thanks for the suggestions, do you have any that’s non local brand? I don’t mind older cars really. (Maybe not as old as the ones I originally thought of since you guys say will have pots of problems, hahaaaaaa.)
subaiku
post Jun 9 2025, 09:30 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Jun 9 2025, 02:40 PM)
used Iriz. unless if really really dont want national brand: -
Hahaaaa, yeah me got aversion to local brands. Not a status thing mind you. Just don’t like the designs.

vw polo 1.6. still uses key. but its still vw, heard a few abs sensor issues, gear selector bush, etc.
honda jazz. this one abit more expensive sebab honda. +50% awek points.
kia picanto. heard a lot good things but no personal experience with this aside from grab.
Cool, will check these out! What do you think between the Honda HRV and Jazz?

personally i think 2010 mazda3 abit too old. can try see 2015 mazda2. but i think this one is push start la.
yeah if not a car guy, used car can give you many headaches if unlucky. many small issues will give you aneurysm especially the conti.

so many new launches coming i ingat economy not good maybe only i economy not good  sad.gif

My economy also not good, hahaaaaa..

KingArthurVI
post Jun 25 2025, 02:27 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,124 posts

Hand itchy and looking at GR Supra recond... what is the expected maintenance cost like per year at outside workshop? Assuming UMW Toyota won't entertain recond maintenance.
techm
post Jun 30 2025, 08:30 AM

123 posts

Hi..asking for a friend who's on a tight budget for a used car.

Only requirements

1. Below 25k
2. Small & easy to drive
3. Auto transmission
4. Must be reliable & cheap to maintain/fix

Any recommendations?
Thanks!

ayamxxx
post Jun 30 2025, 08:58 AM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(techm @ Jun 30 2025, 08:30 AM)
Hi..asking for a friend who's on a tight budget for a used car.

Only requirements

1. Below 25k
2. Small & easy to drive
3. Auto transmission
4. Must be reliable & cheap to maintain/fix

Any recommendations?
Thanks!
Used Proton as starter cz its RV drop. Iiwu, will search used Iriz, Persona or Saga
techm
post Jun 30 2025, 09:25 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 30 2025, 08:58 AM)
Used Proton as starter cz its RV drop. Iiwu, will search used Iriz, Persona or Saga
Yeah, saw the listing for those cars.
How about Axia? And in terms of reliablity & cost of ownership vs the Protons?

dogbert_chew
post Jun 30 2025, 09:43 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(techm @ Jun 30 2025, 09:25 AM)
https://www.mudah.my/2022-perodua-axia-1-0-...a-111715102.htm

Axia fits your friends requirements for small easy to drive and maintain with generally better feedback on P2 service centers conpared to protons.

As usual, need experience to look for accident and flood free units and to track down actual mileage from service records.

Prepare to also spend a few K for minor repairs.
ayamxxx
post Jun 30 2025, 09:46 AM

4,040 posts

Sure, P2 handles better in FC, especially if it's an Axia, since it's not using a CVT. Axia Rahmah is a good start? Add on later accessories along the run
FrogBlob
post Jun 30 2025, 09:47 AM

457 posts

its cheaper to own and maintain axia
provided didnt get grab unit or heavily used workhorse which alot of people use them for

but you also get less power and comfort if your friend drives long distance often
if city drive only, and found good unit prefeably from friends or relatives, then yes i think good.

if can spring for a bigger budget, can try looking at alza. but same issue above applies; check for ehailing and workhorse units alot of perodua cars are handled rough while still maintain sky high prices.

370 Pages « < 362 363 364 365 366 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:29 AM