Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations
Apr 28 2025, 06:20 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2 posts Joined: Feb 2022 |
Hi, not sure if this the correct thread to ask, would like to get some opinions which is more worth it, with loan for 5 year and planning to use for 5 years only then resell. Either: 2018 Bezza 1.3 x (RM23k) Condition: 88k mileage, modified with android player, reverse cam, lowered suspension Or New Axia X |
Apr 29 2025, 01:23 AM
1,563 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(Ohuu @ Apr 28 2025, 06:20 PM) Hi, not sure if this the correct thread to ask, would like to get some opinions which is more worth it, with loan for 5 year and planning to use for 5 years only then resell. Either: Firstly, what is your requirement?2018 Bezza 1.3 x (RM23k) Condition: 88k mileage, modified with android player, reverse cam, lowered suspension Or New Axia X Single driver/ passengers or Grab, city/outstation, sedate/ fast & furious, some financial background - stay w family/ married with kids, only car in family or 2nd, 3rd car etc Then comes your experience with used cars. Do you have regular mechanic - can chat about basic maintenance or this first car total noob. If so better get brand new. Cos the Bezza already 7 years, and the 88K mileage looks very suspicious like standard used car dealer adjusted figure. Also it is not stock.. Already modified. Likely heavily raced. cempedaklife and FrogBlob liked this post
Apr 29 2025, 09:26 AM
2 posts Joined: Feb 2022 |
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 29 2025, 01:23 AM) Firstly, what is your requirement? Hi thanks for the feedback, Single driver/ passengers or Grab, city/outstation, sedate/ fast & furious, some financial background - stay w family/ married with kids, only car in family or 2nd, 3rd car etc Then comes your experience with used cars. Do you have regular mechanic - can chat about basic maintenance or this first car total noob. If so better get brand new. Cos the Bezza already 7 years, and the 88K mileage looks very suspicious like standard used car dealer adjusted figure. Also it is not stock. Already modified. Likely heavily raced. Single driver, mainly for city driving, sedate, currently renting alone and single, RM3.6k after deductions epf and rent. Planning to buy a car for more flexibility. No experience in maintaining car before, my only guidance now is my dad who is a foreman of a car workshop but wont be able to help physically due to distance. The bezza is actually being offered by my uncle that was used by his son during study, now selling cause got a new car. Can vouch the mileage is not tempered, unsure how he drove it though. No modifications on the engine bay itself. Serviced outside after warranty. Initially planning to buy a new car around early next year. Now just wondering if the used bezza deal is worth enough to justify dealing and learning maintaining 7-year-old car likely for the next 5 year. Or as mentioned, best just to get a new car later and learn through that. This post has been edited by Ohuu: Apr 29 2025, 10:03 AM |
Apr 29 2025, 09:42 AM
189 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Hi guys,
Any opinions on Subaru XV? Year 2018 and above? Is it reliable and long lasting? Won't bring many problems right? TIA. |
Apr 29 2025, 10:21 AM
462 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(Ohuu @ Apr 29 2025, 09:26 AM) Hi thanks for the feedback, if it's relative's car then should be ok. they're selling for quite a bit under market value. (2017 bezza 1.3 is selling for 30k on carsome now)Single driver, mainly for city driving, sedate, currently renting alone and single, RM3.6k after deductions epf and rent. Planning to buy a car for more flexibility. No experience in maintaining car before, my only guidance now is my dad who is a foreman of a car workshop but wont be able to help physically due to distance. The bezza is actually being offered by my uncle that was used by his son during study, now selling cause got a new car. Can vouch the mileage is not tempered, unsure how he drove it though. No modifications on the engine bay itself. Serviced outside after warranty. Initially planning to buy a new car around early next year. Now just wondering if the used bezza deal is worth enough to justify dealing and learning maintaining 7-year-old car likely for the next 5 year. Or as mentioned, best just to get a new car later and learn through that. most important thing with bezzas (or peroduas in general) is have to make sure if they were heavily used grab units. i think bezzas are great for city driving, huge boot, small, parts are cheap. but if can, get mechanic to take a look first lah, since the previous driver was a student, and lowered the car, better to be safe than sorry. dogbert_chew liked this post
Apr 29 2025, 10:56 PM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
sharing with you the latest brainrot. QUOTE(Ohuu @ Apr 28 2025, 06:20 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Is your uncle and your father close by? Ask your father to do a once over just in case. If it is true mileage and you getting it below market price from relative whom is honest then good. Second hand car you'll be paying higher interest rates but for RM23k it is not much. Expect the car price to be floating near 10k when you resell as it will be 12 years old then, cars over 10 years will be closer to 10k as it is easier to sell for cash amount, loan kedai or sambung bayar. I think carsome or something similar will only give you 6-8k then. Because the next buyer will be 3rd owner so after that the car really has no value. New Axia isn't much difference from Bezza they've matched each other in terms of looks, features and safety standards. Bezza you get an ass, which is better for short trips and becoming MOT for friends and family. Axia doesn't have space but i think the current gen looks nice and is capable, though some do get phobia of small car without ass if kena accident. I say the relative used car is a decent and cheap way to get a car for mobility until you earn enough to get something better. I suggest you discuss with your dad since he is a foreman to calculate the things you'll need to do, e.g. service engine, aircon, brakes, etc. So I think press relative a bit to either get all that done at your dad's shop or discount you until like 19k so u can do those things. Proper aircon service with cleaning everything (by 7 years sure got green stuff which is mold growing if not cleaned regularly) and service coils will set you back minimum rm1k. Engine service with the usual consumable parts will be about rm150-250 but do a full one of radiator flush, brake flush, new brake hoses, etc. another rm2k there. QUOTE(Pubgamesrhard @ Apr 29 2025, 09:42 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Decenly car, it is under the Toyota family now so it is okay in terms of reliability and long lasting. However, second tier japanese brands like suzuki, mazda, mitsubishi face a small market size thus spare parts price higher due to stockist keep it longer before selling. Lastly, subaru's are all AWD so while safety is good FC higher. QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Apr 29 2025, 10:21 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « correct a lot of bezza's were bought new for "investment purposes". someone would buy it new then lease it to a grab/taxi-like company that would rent it out daily to taxi/grab drivers. those are on heavy mileage and have seen better days. if you want to give it a try press the price to the bone then give the car some TLC. This post has been edited by zenix: Apr 29 2025, 10:56 PM Pubgamesrhard liked this post
Apr 30 2025, 02:04 PM
394 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Hi. Thinking of getting a used Lexus IS250 Luxury or F Sport circa 2015 for around RM100k or so, for a cheap luxury daily drive. I believe there are both local and recond ones available.
Strangely, from my search in Carlist, don’t see any 2016 or 2017 for sale. There are 2018 ones, but IS300. Thoughts or feedback welcome. Also, if can recommended reputable outlets to purchase from, will be great. Thanks. |
Apr 30 2025, 05:17 PM
4,046 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Mattrock @ Apr 30 2025, 02:04 PM) Hi. Thinking of getting a used Lexus IS250 Luxury or F Sport circa 2015 for around RM100k or so, for a cheap luxury daily drive. I believe there are both local and recond ones available. very rare car on our road. Love watch this car review from the US, when they got the 2.0T engine, F Sport digital speedometer, and kinda great accelerationStrangely, from my search in Carlist, don’t see any 2016 or 2017 for sale. There are 2018 ones, but IS300. Thoughts or feedback welcome. Also, if can recommended reputable outlets to purchase from, will be great. Thanks. |
May 9 2025, 03:44 PM
201 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Hi, planning to get car for family trip, can recommend? Thank you in advance.
1. Brand :TOYOTA 2. Budget :60K 3. New/Used/Unreg :USED 4. Specs :Full Spec 5. Transmission :Auto 6. NA or FI : NA 7. Type :8 Seated 8. Remarks : |
May 9 2025, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(LeonOni @ May 9 2025, 03:44 PM) Hi, planning to get car for family trip, can recommend? 8 seats? Only Toyota Innova or Kia Carnival here.1. Brand :TOYOTA 2. Budget :60K 3. New/Used/Unreg :USED 7. Type :8 Seated If only Toyota can go search for used Innova. Buy car for ONE family trip? 🤔 Or fetching family regularly. How many people, all adults? If 7 pax, can consider new Alza 63K. LeonOni liked this post
May 9 2025, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 9 2025, 03:51 PM) 8 seats? Only Toyota Innova or Kia Carnival here. No boss, plan to do more family trip since my parents are old liao...If only Toyota can go search for used Innova. Buy car for ONE family trip? 🤔 Or fetching family regularly. How many people, all adults? If 7 pax, can consider new Alza 63K. 4 adults 1 tenager, 1kids and one baby soon... haha or should i pull my budget, go for alphard or vellfire? Thanks for the advice.. |
May 9 2025, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(LeonOni @ May 9 2025, 04:08 PM) plan to do more family trip since my parents are old liao.. 60K for Alphard? 🤔 What year..4 adults 1 tenager, 1kids and one baby soon... or should i pull my budget, go for alphard or vellfire? Anyway, decide which used model that suit your budget (buy, repair, maintain). Join their club eg in Lowyat, FB to find out more about the variant pro & con before searching for a reliable non-accident non-flooded unit. |
May 10 2025, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(LeonOni @ May 9 2025, 04:08 PM) No boss, plan to do more family trip since my parents are old liao... have not much experience in 7 seaters but i can say from experience alphard/vellfire option have to take into account 3.5L road tax and fuel consumption. it sucks.4 adults 1 tenager, 1kids and one baby soon... haha or should i pull my budget, go for alphard or vellfire? Thanks for the advice.. |
May 10 2025, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 9 2025, 08:06 PM) 60K for Alphard? 🤔 What year.. Around 2009 i guess.. hahaAnyway, decide which used model that suit your budget (buy, repair, maintain). Join their club eg in Lowyat, FB to find out more about the variant pro & con before searching for a reliable non-accident non-flooded unit. QUOTE(FrogBlob @ May 10 2025, 12:59 AM) have not much experience in 7 seaters but i can say from experience alphard/vellfire option have to take into account 3.5L road tax and fuel consumption. it sucks. True boss, maybe i should get hyundai satria? |
May 10 2025, 11:12 AM
May 10 2025, 01:03 PM
4,046 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(LeonOni @ May 9 2025, 04:08 PM) No boss, plan to do more family trip since my parents are old liao... For used Velfire and Alpard can search in FB 4 adults 1 tenager, 1kids and one baby soon... haha or should i pull my budget, go for alphard or vellfire? Thanks for the advice.. Usually saw a great condition unit from a direct owner This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 10 2025, 01:03 PM |
May 10 2025, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 10 2025, 11:12 AM) There is no Hyundai Satria 🙄 Sorry ya boss, typo it is Staria and i apologise for the confusing that cause, not very great in car, so i ask here for advice.The staria is only launched 3+ years from 180K. Replacing the ancient Starex Suggest you align your aspirations, model knowledge and budget QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 10 2025, 01:03 PM) Oh i see, thank you ya boss, will look into it. |
May 30 2025, 11:42 AM
87 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Hi lowyats, recently i found a used skyactive-g car which has only 5km mileage from year 2021. It has the real legit maintenance record for the first 3 year.
Should I get the deal? anything should I worry on? |
May 30 2025, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(kobanpro @ May 30 2025, 11:42 AM) Hi lowyats, recently i found a used skyactive-g car which has only 5km mileage from year 2021. It has the real legit maintenance record for the first 3 year. 5km? 5k km?Should I get the deal? anything should I worry on? better to state which model and engine cc but generally if mazda should be ok bc maintenance is free, no reason to not go for service check flood and accident |
May 30 2025, 02:34 PM
87 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(FrogBlob @ May 30 2025, 02:12 PM) 5km? 5k km? sorry 5k km, mazda3 with boot. better to state which model and engine cc but generally if mazda should be ok bc maintenance is free, no reason to not go for service check flood and accident As per checking, the owner did go for SC for the 3 years follow schedule, then sold to the dealer. So, the car might be at dealer for 1 year without servicing. Any recommended for pre purchase inspection in KL? |
| Change to: | 0.0813sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:58 PM |