Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

dogbert_chew
post Mar 5 2025, 07:02 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(ongtypc @ Mar 4 2025, 02:01 AM)
not too small nor too big (no Axia nor Iriz size, nor SUV, prefer bigger than 2009 Myvi a bit
QUOTE(ongtypc @ Mar 5 2025, 05:08 PM)
I wonder how comfortable is the Persona? I was actually expecting maybe C-segments and above so didn't expect this answer.
Persona is still B-Segment but is slightly bigger than Myvi as you requested. Proton cars handle better than Perodua and their seats are more comfortable.

If you're looking for used C-segments then Preve, Suprima. Other makes include Civic, Altis. Perdana is D-segment.
Larger Segment vehicles, their maintenance and repair cost increases proportionally.

ayamxxx
post Mar 5 2025, 07:06 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(ongtypc @ Mar 5 2025, 05:08 PM)
Thank you all sifus for the recommendations. 🫡
Never expected this recommendation. I researched around and found that the government version and the 2016 public version is slightly different. I assume you meant the 2016 version?

And according to what I read, both versions might have some issues finding spare parts especially the 2016 version. The government version also tough to find the bumpers and some parts unique to this model. Correct me if I'm wrong though.
I wonder how comfortable is the Persona? I was actually expecting maybe C-segments and above so didn't expect this answer. Does the ESC really make that much difference? Anyway, thanks for the recommendation anyway. I believe you sifus still, so I shall go and try to sit in one to try first.
2016/2017 and the previous version (gomen version) both are based on Gen 8 Accord. The 2016/17 is where Proton did make some exterior changes, design which I think look refreshing and good. Miles better rear design vs G10 Accord (like ketam rear light).

Interior design both similar. For parts, based on my read on FB this Perdana group, still can find the exterior parts at fb, and those engine parts, suspension, shopee got
Irzani
post Mar 7 2025, 03:14 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Mar 3 2025, 02:21 AM)
It is that or the Kia sorento diesel. If you don't mind diesel 6 seats (captain chairs). Diesel high torque, no need to rev high. Good cruiser.

Find the ones with 2nd row blinds. Either hyundai or Kia.
Ah .. first time I heard about the captain chairs. Sound exclusive. But somehow, I needs to eliminate the third seat row as it is not needed. Will look into captain chairs with luxury environment.

TQ for the info
dogbert_chew
post Mar 7 2025, 06:47 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 7 2025, 03:14 PM)
Ah .. first time I heard about the captain chairs. Sound exclusive. But somehow, I needs to eliminate the third seat row as it is not needed. Will look into captain chairs with luxury environment.

X90 is a mild hybrid SUV with captain chairs.
Last row seats fold flat into the floor

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Mar 7 2025, 06:49 PM
zenix
post Mar 12 2025, 10:35 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

ayam bag guys!
dogbert_chew
post Mar 14 2025, 12:17 AM

1,563 posts

zenix
post Mar 21 2025, 11:05 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

A round up of cars which you probably can still get a loan for worth considering before they're cash only buys.

2016 Subaru Forrester - if you're looking for a reliable SUV which is big and spacious you can consider this, the top of the range IP model has power boot as well. It may lack the safety features of newer SUV's, even back in 2016 it is lacking compared to many but if you want big size, reliable and power boot this is probably the cheapest option available. This is when Subaru got bought over by Toyota and they start to make reliable non-turbo engines but still boxer and implement them in the Forrester, XV and BRZ. The bad? Poor fuel consumption due to always-on AWD but you're assured not to skid on the road.

201 Pug 208 GTI - this is if you want a piece of motoring history else just skip it, and if you decide to buy it, it is for weekend and fun drives only. Do not ever depend on it, it has to be like 3rd or 4th car to make sense.

2016 Renault Koleos - is it any good? Well think of it as a Nissan X-trail but instead of a 5+2 seater it is 5 seater only. Instead of crappy boring nissan design inside and outside, you get Renault aka european styling. Maintainenece just like X-trail but you get that euro refinement.

2016 Kia Optima - another grab for motoring history, the car that started the 20k salary in /k mega_shok.gif

2016 Citroen DS5 - the very beautiful DS5, I don't think there will be anymore new DS or Citroen's coming to us so if you want a piece of history and feel what a great interior design can be, get this. it will make all the big screen EV's look like a basic bitch. reliability? like a pug, don't rely on it.
ayamxxx
post Mar 22 2025, 01:27 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 21 2025, 11:05 PM)
A round up of cars which you probably can still get a loan for worth considering before they're cash only buys.

2016 Subaru Forrester - if you're looking for a reliable SUV which is big and spacious you can consider this, the top of the range IP model has power boot as well. It may lack the safety features of newer SUV's, even back in 2016 it is lacking compared to many but if you want big size, reliable and power boot this is probably the cheapest option available. This is when Subaru got bought over by Toyota and they start to make reliable non-turbo engines but still boxer and implement them in the Forrester, XV and BRZ. The bad? Poor fuel consumption due to always-on AWD but you're assured not to skid on the road.

201 Pug 208 GTI - this is if you want a piece of motoring history else just skip it, and if you decide to buy it, it is for weekend and fun drives only. Do not ever depend on it, it has to be like 3rd or 4th car to make sense.

2016 Renault Koleos - is it any good? Well think of it as a Nissan X-trail but instead of a 5+2 seater it is 5 seater only. Instead of crappy boring nissan design inside and outside, you get Renault aka european styling. Maintainenece just like X-trail but you get that euro refinement.

2016 Kia Optima - another grab for motoring history, the car that started the 20k salary in /k  mega_shok.gif

2016 Citroen DS5 - the very beautiful DS5, I don't think there will be anymore new DS or Citroen's coming to us so if you want a piece of history and feel what a great interior design can be, get this. it will make all the big screen EV's look like a basic bitch. reliability? like a pug, don't rely on it.
sorry but the Citroen DS5, this use the same problematic engine as the Peugeot 308T last time, 1.6 THP, 155hp 240nm. Better skip this if dont wanna spend at workshop. From reading on net, the facelift with higher hp, 165hp, 240nm had some updated on the engine parts, especially the timing chain parts issue. If really wanna buy, take the facelifted DS5, 2017 onwards iinm.

no doubt the interior of it is class above any japanese or korean car

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Mar 22 2025, 01:27 AM
post Apr 12 2025, 12:09 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(8066 @ Dec 16 2024, 11:11 PM)
Thank you all for the good advice, I’d keep them in mind.
I'm back again, this time im setting the budget at 60k for a used Japanese MPV, I saw 2019 Honda BRV seems to be selling around this price. My questions:
1. How is the car in terms for reliability?
2. Maybe ocassional long distance driving in peninsula with wife and/or extended family
3. Any workshops in KL/Selangor region that are good with Honda cars? or back to the Honda workshop?
dogbert_chew
post Apr 12 2025, 02:11 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(8066 @ Apr 12 2025, 12:09 AM)
I'm back again, this time im setting the budget at 60k for a used Japanese MPV, I saw 2019 Honda BRV seems to be selling around this price. My questions:
2. Maybe ocassional long distance driving in peninsula with wife and/or extended family
3. Any workshops in KL/Selangor region that are good with Honda cars? or back to the Honda workshop?
Why get a used 6 yr old BRV that's no longer in production when a brand new Alza based on Toyota Veloz is available at a similar price?

Jason
post Apr 12 2025, 02:58 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 12 2025, 02:11 AM)
Why get a used 6 yr old BRV that's no longer in production when a brand new Alza based on Toyota Veloz is available at a similar price?
Because Honda yo
VTEC just kicked in yo

It’s not a sound purchase but it’s his money. I’ll pick a new Toyota Alza all day every day.
dogbert_chew
post Apr 12 2025, 05:58 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 12 2025, 02:58 AM)
Because Honda yo
VTEC just kicked in yo

VTEC kick in for MPV carrying family? 🙄

Should get a Jazz then for better power weight ratio
ayamxxx
post Apr 12 2025, 09:33 AM

4,043 posts

2019 where the 1st owner already put some mileage on it. And standby to get 1-off CVT transmission problem. If kene, standby rm4k -6k for repair. If it me, even rm4k is too expansive for me for repair. Own Accord from new to now 11 years old, bill for normal service never hit rm1k, always about rm500 and below, and no CVT gb. After warranty, most expansive repair are the engine mounting replacement + flywheel oil seal and all seal replace at below rm2k, not included mounting part price cz that one I purchase online.

No 3, buy parts all online and send to nearby workshop with good google reviews rating.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Apr 12 2025, 09:35 AM
cempedaklife
post Apr 12 2025, 10:34 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

I’m with you on this one. If say hrv o crv then maybe diff. Brv? Nothing aesthetically great about it nor the things like power/comfort etc. might as well buy a new alza.
Jason
post Apr 12 2025, 03:42 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 12 2025, 05:58 AM)
VTEC kick in for MPV carrying family? 🙄

Should get a Jazz then for better power weight ratio
BRV is SUV ok. You stupid or what?

MPV is the perfect family carrier but the men feels it’s too soccer mom. Thus the rise in lifestyle SUV segment.

practicality wise nothing beats MPV. But gaya more important.
post Apr 13 2025, 03:41 PM

283 posts

probably i put greater faith on Japanese car over others, but in the end just exploring since i am not decided and not rushed to decide anyway

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 12 2025, 02:58 AM)
Because Honda yo
VTEC just kicked in yo

It’s not a sound purchase but it’s his money. I’ll pick a new Toyota Alza all day every day.
no comment

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 12 2025, 09:33 AM)
2019 where the 1st owner already put some mileage on it. And standby to get 1-off CVT transmission problem. If kene, standby rm4k -6k for repair. If it me, even rm4k is too expansive for me for repair. Own Accord from new to now 11 years old, bill for normal service never hit rm1k, always about rm500 and below, and no CVT gb. After warranty, most expansive repair are the engine mounting replacement + flywheel oil seal and all seal replace at below rm2k, not included mounting part price cz that one I purchase online.

No 3, buy parts all online and send to nearby workshop with good google reviews rating.
good to know

LostAndFound
post Apr 13 2025, 05:05 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(8066 @ Apr 13 2025, 03:41 PM)
probably i put greater faith on Japanese car over others, but in the end just exploring since i am not decided and not rushed to decide anyway
Well, perhaps can consider a Toyota?

And then you can also realise that if you buy the Veloz its assembled at the exact same plant that the Alza is.
Jason
post Apr 13 2025, 06:07 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(8066 @ Apr 13 2025, 03:41 PM)
no comment
good to know
How is a Toyota Alza not Japanese?
You believe it’s engineered by Perodua? lol
zenix
post Apr 23 2025, 04:22 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

I would put Honda BRV in the same category as Toyota Avanza/Rush G1 and Perodua Aruz.
Reason why is they're all made from a van platform and should be categorised as MPV not SUV, but at the time SUV is all the rage so they repurposed Van platforms to make cheap SUV's. That's why these models usually sit higher than true compact SUV's of the time, e.g. Toyota C-HR and Honda HRV.
So they up the interior to look nicer as an SUV usually means it sits higher and most plush interior compared to MPV/Van.
But it has terrible ride and handling because of its van roots.
Reliability? Yeah it is good enough but under powered thus long distance driving is tiring.
Generally for Honda and Toyota most workshops can handle them, only issue is they honest or not.

2021 Toyota Rush - so this generation of Rush is the twin of the Perodua Aruz, nothing really between them. As a used car punter I suggest you hunt around for G-spec Rush because it will have better accessories than Aruz as even the top spec of Aruz will usually be around the mid-spec for Rush. This is how Toyota plays the game.

2021 Toyota Avanza - the current generation of Avanza and Veloz are basically the same thing. Similar like how they market the Alphard and Vellfire which is basically the same thing but one which is more basic and cheaper used for fleets and the other has design elements and accessories that makes is more luxurious and sporty. However, under the hood it is basically the same, upkeep wise. If you want to go cheaper and max out your money woof then get the full spec Perodua Alza which the current generation is a mirror to the Veloz and Avanza.

2010 Toyota Mark X Zio - if you're wondering what you can get which isn't a shitbox / greybox then you have to look at something older and it will surely be a cash buy. The Mark X Zio is basically the Mark X but stretched to become a 7 seater which is targeting Honda Odyssey as their size and engine displacement are similar, also they're both considered low slung for MPV having that crossover ride height which is a welcome change for two reasons. (1) easier to get in and out, no step so while you're standing the seat height is about as high as your bum. This is a plus point for seniors as too low or too high is not easy for them. (2) drives better as lower on the road. It is a JDM and at this level you should expect it to be a very nice car to be in new grey import was upwards of 180k back in the day. As a car you buy today as long as it wasn't abused setting aside RM5000 for a full service including aircon cleaning and service plus new brake pads, replacing all rubber based parts like timing belts, brake hose, window seals. It will feel refreshed. If there is extra funds replace the shocks and the car will drive like new.

2018 Renault Koleos - okay so you want something newer so you can loan and since it is newer you don't really need/want to set aside funds for any repairs then consider this. It is actually the mirror to the Nissan X-Trail except for the fact that it only seats 5 and have a redone interior and exterior, the engine and gearbox is the same as an X-trail so you can go to any workshop to be maintained no need any conti car specialist. It will have the same pros and cons as the X-trail.

2020 Subaru Forrester - if you can look past the badge this is a good bargain for under 60k you get an SUV body, 7 seater, power boot, relatively reliable and japanesse brand. The biggest downside to most Subaru cars is their selling point, which i the AWD. If you're worried about grip and handling in all sorts of terrains as you travel around then the AWD is a blessing, if you're just driving it around the taman to send kids to school or stuck in traffic then you wouldn't think the AWD is helpful and think it is a fuel guzzler. Since Toyota acquired Subaru their newer cars are all quite reliable. However, Subaru cars not having the critical mass will tend to have slightly more expensive spare parts like Mazda, Mitsubishi, etc.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Apr 13 2025, 05:05 PM)

An even worst scenario than when we had Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 and Proton Inspira 2.0
It was almost 1:1 but Proton using proprietary shocks and Lotus tuning meant it is going to be more expensive to replace unless you change all 4 to Lancer shocks.

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 13 2025, 06:07 PM)

G1 Alza was based on G1 Myvi which was based on G1 Daihatsu Boon.
Boon is the granddaddy for the other similar clones such as Sirion, Justy and Passo.
For the case of Myvi the collab part from P2 was mostly on reengineering parts for CKD then local assembly with localized parts makers.
G1 Alza is based on Daihatsu Boon Luminas or Toyota Passo Sette, again I think the collab was mostly on localizing and reducing cost for local production.
P2 only really worked on G3 Myvi on their own based on Toyota's platform and engines at the time.

So saying Alza is Japanese is mostly true.
It has very Toyota-like DNA being a reliable work horse, just enough power, and not fuel guzzler while being an unremarkable grey box to most car lovers, it is a precious work horse for the everyday man.

post Apr 23 2025, 08:32 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 23 2025, 04:22 PM)
[/spoiler]

I would put Honda BRV in the same category as Toyota Avanza/Rush G1 and Perodua Aruz.
Reason why is they're all made from a van platform and should be categorised as MPV not SUV, but at the time SUV is all the rage so they repurposed Van platforms to make cheap SUV's. That's why these models usually sit higher than true compact SUV's of the time, e.g. Toyota C-HR and Honda HRV.
So they up the interior to look nicer as an SUV usually means it sits higher and most plush interior compared to MPV/Van.
But it has terrible ride and handling because of its van roots.
Reliability? Yeah it is good enough but under powered thus long distance driving is tiring.
Generally for Honda and Toyota most workshops can handle them, only issue is they honest or not.

2021 Toyota Rush - so this generation of Rush is the twin of the Perodua Aruz, nothing really between them. As a used car punter I suggest you hunt around for G-spec Rush because it will have better accessories than Aruz as even the top spec of Aruz will usually be around the mid-spec for Rush. This is how Toyota plays the game.

2021 Toyota Avanza - the current generation of Avanza and Veloz are basically the same thing. Similar like how they market the Alphard and Vellfire which is basically the same thing but one which is more basic and cheaper used for fleets and the other has design elements and accessories that makes is more luxurious and sporty. However, under the hood it is basically the same, upkeep wise. If you want to go cheaper and max out your money woof then get the full spec Perodua Alza which the current generation is a mirror to the Veloz and Avanza.

2010 Toyota Mark X Zio - if you're wondering what you can get which isn't a shitbox / greybox then you have to look at something older and it will surely be a cash buy. The Mark X Zio is basically the Mark X but stretched to become a 7 seater which is targeting Honda Odyssey as their size and engine displacement are similar, also they're both considered low slung for MPV having that crossover ride height which is a welcome change for two reasons. (1) easier to get in and out, no step so while you're standing the seat height is about as high as your bum. This is a plus point for seniors as too low or too high is not easy for them. (2) drives better as lower on the road. It is a JDM and at this level you should expect it to be a very nice car to be in new grey import was upwards of 180k back in the day. As a car you buy today as long as it wasn't abused setting aside RM5000 for a full service including aircon cleaning and service plus new brake pads, replacing all rubber based parts like timing belts, brake hose, window seals. It will feel refreshed. If there is extra funds replace the shocks and the car will drive like new.

2018 Renault Koleos - okay so you want something newer so you can loan and since it is newer you don't really need/want to set aside funds for any repairs then consider this. It is actually the mirror to the Nissan X-Trail except for the fact that it only seats 5 and have a redone interior and exterior, the engine and gearbox is the same as an X-trail so you can go to any workshop to be maintained no need any conti car specialist. It will have the same pros and cons as the X-trail.

2020 Subaru Forrester - if you can look past the badge this is a good bargain for under 60k you get an SUV body, 7 seater, power boot, relatively reliable and japanesse brand. The biggest downside to most Subaru cars is their selling point, which i the AWD. If you're worried about grip and handling in all sorts of terrains as you travel around then the AWD is a blessing, if you're just driving it around the taman to send kids to school or stuck in traffic then you wouldn't think the AWD is helpful and think it is a fuel guzzler. Since Toyota acquired Subaru their newer cars are all quite reliable. However, Subaru cars not having the critical mass will tend to have slightly more expensive spare parts like Mazda, Mitsubishi, etc.
[/spoiler]

An even worst scenario than when we had Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 and Proton Inspira 2.0
It was almost 1:1 but Proton using proprietary shocks and Lotus tuning meant it is going to be more expensive to replace unless you change all 4 to Lancer shocks.

[/spoiler]

G1 Alza was based on G1 Myvi which was based on G1 Daihatsu Boon.
Boon is the granddaddy for the other similar clones such as Sirion, Justy and Passo.
For the case of Myvi the collab part from P2 was mostly on reengineering parts for CKD then local assembly with localized parts makers.
G1 Alza is based on Daihatsu Boon Luminas or Toyota Passo Sette, again I think the collab was mostly on localizing and reducing cost for local production.
P2 only really worked on G3 Myvi on their own based on Toyota's platform and engines at the time.

So saying Alza is Japanese is mostly true.
It has very Toyota-like DNA being a reliable work horse, just enough power, and not fuel guzzler while being an unremarkable grey box to most car lovers, it is a precious work horse for the everyday man.
Thank you for the very elaborate response and suggestion in where I can look, appreciate it very much. smile.gif

370 Pages « < 360 361 362 363 364 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:38 PM