Or is a new Bezza 1.3X a better buy?
10k vs 43k.
On one hand the Corolla is old, and will probably fail more often, but on the other, it's faster and looks better imo.
Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations
Dec 10 2020, 05:51 PM
457 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Is buying a Toyota Corolla 1999 SEG for 10k still a viable option in 2020?
Or is a new Bezza 1.3X a better buy? 10k vs 43k. On one hand the Corolla is old, and will probably fail more often, but on the other, it's faster and looks better imo. |
Dec 11 2020, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 11 2020, 11:20 AM) First car..Second car? Daily car. Previous car (Myvi) will soon be passed to siblings because they taking driving tests soon, so considering another car now.Daily use ..weekend only ? Type of Passengers if any ? Persona 1.6 std > bezza 1.3 x for a few K more next year once the CVT is replaced My commute consists of driving to work (<5km to and from), occasional long distance from KL to Ipoh. Passenger wise, not exceeding 2 at most times. This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Dec 11 2020, 12:05 PM dogbert_chew liked this post
Dec 11 2020, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 11 2020, 01:46 PM) If daily car then function > form. Practically over beauty Aight my dude. Thanks!A new car will have less breakdown than a 20yr old car. If work commute is < 5KM then fc > handling as long as you drive safely during outstation trips. Agree with your Bezza 1.3x choice But hot damn... 90s Corollas, man. Cantik. |
Dec 17 2020, 11:27 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 17 2020, 08:51 PM) 1999 SEG is a work of art and if you were like me and got influence by Initial D then you know the tuning and engine options are fantastic. I see. Thanks for your reply!However, I would suggest you reserve it as a passion project. There was a guy selling a mint condition JDM 2 door SEG in Mudah, don't think it is available anymore but if such deals popup, always take it. However, since there ain't such deals nowadays and you need a daily driver just get an Axia. If you can handle manual gear the Axia will only set you back about 28k. Then keep the money when a good used car comes along. No need to rush for SEG as it is 4 door sedan it won't appreciate like crazy like how 90's JDM sports cars now. Axia is in my list also, just afraid that it won't give much power on the road. But its reliability and affordability cannot be denied tho. This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Dec 17 2020, 11:29 PM |
Apr 13 2021, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(nao @ Apr 13 2021, 06:04 PM) I'm currently driving a car with 1.0 engine, and suffice to say I wish it had more power when driving in certain situations i.e. when going uphill. That's why Ativa is not in the list. I suggest you giving Ativa a test drive. Drive before with 5 adults and 1 child in the car going uphill. Doesn't feel underpowered at all.I've had experience driving a perodua, proton and honda, and would like to try driving a car with a different handling. Heard good things about Mazda, although I cannot find much info on CX-3 ownership. All in all, I am just using this platform to get views and feedbacks on different car models, and may just end up continue driving my current car. |
May 2 2021, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(tertiary @ May 2 2021, 10:57 AM) What's the best website to find private sales advertised for the KL area? In Cars for Sale here it seems to be low traffic and mostly dealers. Private sellers always scarce compared to dealers, but can try FB Marketplace, Carsome and Carlist. Mudah and Carousell also have but quite few also.This post has been edited by FrogBlob: May 2 2021, 01:29 PM |
May 4 2021, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(RoundShells @ May 4 2021, 07:08 PM) Hi Sifus, Quick search for that price and year range, only saw used Bezzas and Sagas. Personas a few also. But if you have the budget and prefer warranty, suggest to get new instead.1. Brand : Any 2. Budget : Under 30k, 35k if really worth it 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used preferred. Ideally with warranty, maybe like a 2-4y/o ones? 4. Specs : No preference. 5. Transmission : Auto 6. NA or FI : Any 7. Type : Any, though since highway involved possibly a sedan? 8. Remarks : Daily commute to work to and from is 60km daily, so there is highway involved. First car for work. Possibly the maintenance wont be as good as a new car, but there must be some reliability gems out there no? Thanks all Sifus |
Aug 10 2021, 11:53 PM
Anyone owned or has experience with 1996-97 Sentras 1.6?
Parts and maintenance wise are they on the pricey side? |
Aug 14 2021, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 14 2021, 07:15 PM) It was during an era when Nissan's were still good. Thanks for the reply!However, may I ask why you're thinking of such an old model? Is it because you like it? Is it because you think it is cheap to buy, run and upkeep? It's because a friend of mine recently need to find a second hand car for family to drive and abuse. Coincidentally someone was selling his, so I was wondering about the upkeep and maintenance. |
Aug 15 2021, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 15 2021, 12:56 AM) how much is the offer price Offer price was around 7k.to be honest the best under 10k cheap banger cars are 1. proton wira 1.5/1.6 manual : don't get the auto because it is a 3 speed gas guzzler but if that isn't a problem it is a solid autobox that doesn't breakdown easily like the 1.6 auto eventhough that's a 4 speeder 2. perodua myvi 1.3 auto/manual : unless really abused they're usually okay as bangers, might not good too good cosmetically but the mechanicals are solid 3. proton gen2 1.6 auto/manual : better body and shell than wira, about the same in terms of cheap upkeep Will definitely keep these options in mind, thanks! |
Aug 15 2021, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 15 2021, 01:26 PM) ![]() last experience of a nissan that old was a nissan altima it was also called bluebird sss good d-segment car of the time good looks and powerful SR20 engine however some of the upkeep components were nutters changing all 4 bushings was almost rm4000 and this was back in the 90s although my family did have a sentra back then dun recall much about the maintenance We had Nissan Altimas in Malaysia? |
Sep 25 2021, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(thetapir @ Sep 25 2021, 10:17 AM) Hi sifus and otais, New Saga/Bezza X should be under 700 per month even for 5 year loan. I've been driving my mum's Viva for the last 3 years and it's now time to return it so my younger brother can use it. I love how zippy, no-nonsense and low FC the Viva is and really like the hatchback form factor. Usage is primarily for city driving from Point A to Point B about 20km max a day. Am open to either new or used, but don't want to spend more than RM700 in monthly instalments with 6-7k downpayment. Looking for fuss-free maintenance not more than RM200 monthly. What are my options, especially if there's scope for more interesting used cars? (Was looking at the Satria Neo and 2010 Suzuki Swift) Thank you! 1. Brand : Any 2. Budget : RM600 monthly installment with RM 7k downpayment. 3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used 4. Transmission : auto 5. Remarks: Reliable, low maintenance. New car can just follow manufacturers service schedule, both cars quick Google search total around RM3k for 5 years/100km. |
Nov 19 2021, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(frequency @ Nov 19 2021, 02:20 PM) 1. Brand : Nissan Serena/Recon Toyota Voxy/Wish/ or wait for Proton X90/Avanza 2022/Veloz 2022/BRV 2022 For SUV, Corolla Cross, Subaru XV?2. Budget : RM90 to RM130k 3. New/Used/Unreg : new/Unreg/ Preown - since I have jpjebid won number to transefer 4. Specs : For family car usage - 6 to 7 seater 5. Transmission : Auto 6. NA or FI : No preference 7. Type : SUV or MPV 8. Remarks : Currently I have a honda city and Bezza and share usage with my wife, we are looking to sell off bezza to upgrade to 7 seater and keep the honda city Come from Sedan, I need a car to fetch my 2 kid daily to nursery and weekend trip that might add on another adult + kid I would say daily usage for city driven, long trip usage once a month Comfortability is preferable and power is ok because not for racing , it is purely family car I actually prefer Avanza 2022 or BRV 2022 but still unknown when it ll be launched here, since I still use it daily 70% without full loaded and smaller size to drive around or going to office, easier to park. The other thing is I need to register my jpj new on a vehicle before nov next year Serena is This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Nov 19 2021, 06:39 PM |
Nov 22 2021, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Nov 22 2021, 01:25 PM) Hi... Perodua user here, ashamed to say Perodua will not meet up to your standards if you prioritize handling and performance. It drives well, nothing more, nothing less.want some opinions / suggestions on this.. thanks in advance 1. Brand : Malaysian / Japanese / German 2. Budget : RM50k 3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used 4. Specs : 2nd family car 5. Transmission : No preference 6. NA or FI : No preference 7. Type : Sedan / SUV / MPV 8. Remarks : My 1st car - Persona Elegance. Want something different without compromising on space or performance (at least on par compare to the Persona) & value for money, of course. Will switch between the cars with my wife constantly. For new ones, my choices only the Protons & the Peroduas? Or I miss something else? For used ones, for now, looks like Inspira / Lancer GT. If the SUV route, looks like the ASX. I have soft spot for Mitsu or what?! Arghh haha.. Lots of options, don't know which 1 to pick. Any other models thats better to consider? I heard the new Persona is quite good, can try test driving that one. For Germans, sifu zenix recommended VW Polo in earlier posts, can go check them out and see. |
Dec 8 2021, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(Koranshita @ Dec 7 2021, 10:01 PM) 1. Brand : No preference Axia I wouldn't recommend anything after the Gxtra.2. Budget : RM30K~RM50K 3. New/Used/Unreg : No preference 4. Specs : no preference 5. Transmission : auto 6. NA or FI : No preference 7. Type : small size 8. Remarks : wanna replace my 12year picanto. Prefer a car that car tahan 10y Aiming axia but there is 3 type. Not sure which to go to. Wanna try get back picanto but there is no new picanto car. Any others? If need boot space can go for sedans such as Bezza and Saga. Forumers really recommend the Saga. Abit over budget, but consider the new Myvi, Iriz, and Persona? Doesn't hurt to test drive also. Happy hunting |
Dec 31 2021, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Dec 31 2021, 10:38 AM) Hi all sifus, want to ask is there any difference to buy now or buy later (during festive times) for a new car. 1k free service I think it applies to all Peroduas.Looking to buy a new Perodua Axia for my mom. Checked at showroom yesterday, got no promos or freebies. Just 1st 1KM or first month get free service. Is it worth to wait for like Raya festive? Not in a rush to get a car, just want to know the value. Thanks in advance! My Ativa and my friends Bezza same time 1k, inspection only no change oils or anything. Report any issues if have any during first 1k/month of driving. Maybe search for other SAs, some give better deal than others. If not in a rush maybe better to scout more first and proceed accordingly. underscore_lee liked this post
Dec 31 2021, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(jokery90 @ Dec 29 2021, 10:01 PM) Any recommendation? Bezza is already quite short for a sedan, so you may be looking for hatchbacks at that price point? For comparison, according to Carbase, Bezza is onlu 10mm longer than a Yaris.1. Brand : Any decent model 2. Budget : <60k 3. New/Used/Unreg : prefer used but easy to find parts and reasonable maintenance 4. Specs : shorter than 4200mm (about bezza size, similar or shorter) 5. Transmission : Auto 6. Engine: any, diesel also can Iriz and Myvi (used/new) still a lot of people driving, wouldn’t worry about parts and maintenance. |
Dec 31 2021, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(jokery90 @ Dec 31 2021, 08:33 PM) No personal experiences with Mazdas, all I can say is I like how they look. Which year and variant you looking at?In Car Clubs our Mazda 3 thread quite active, can use the search function to see see what people are saying. |
Jan 2 2022, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Jan 1 2022, 10:37 PM) Thanks bro for the pro tips. Umbrella all those come as a package one also actually. Yeah now tax exempt until June 2022, but not sure if will extend again.Will check out other SA, see if they got special promo. Free umbrella also not bad since same price haha. Just need to purchase before June 2022 right, so that we can enjoy the discounted Budget 2022 price? (free 100% service tax or something). |
Jan 8 2022, 02:04 PM
| Change to: | 0.0351sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:30 AM |