165 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

rookie93
post Jul 23 2016, 09:44 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Jul 23 2016, 08:18 AM)
hi there,
soon i have interview at Sg, Kallang.

1) so, i planing to get a bus from BTS kl to sg, but i check the schedule as below:

Singapore - Beach Road
Singapore - Boon Lay
Singapore - Jurong East
Singapore - Katong V
Singapore - Lavender
Singapore - Woodland

so, which area so i land??
after that how to get there, by bus, or MRT?

2) is that a possible 1 day trip (pigi balik), do i need to book online or i just need to ge to the station to direct buy??

3) bside, after interview, & i have to get back to malaysia, so when i buy the ticket, can use MYR ka?? or do i need to exchange SG dollar here bfore go there for interview??

4) let said the company wanna hire me, so, how do i find a room there?? any easy way?? (prefer sharing room, kuali life, work sleep work sleep...).

5) refer no 3, any cheaper room near that area. & what is the price?

sekian, terima kasih.  smile.gif
2- book online is safer bet, if you worried direct buy run out of tickets...Flights definitely need online buy la, but bus i'm not sure so hardcore or not.
3- as long as you're in SG, its SG dollars all the way for anything. RM cannot be used.
4- HDB flats should be the cheapest. Easy way to find room? online. Sites? ermm property guru, ibilik (These you may be familiar with since Malaysia quite popular), and some others i forgot, the newer sites like easyroommate or craigslist.
5- this needs a lot of time looking for info online so you have time, so take your time, find out area prices. Use google Map to see where each area is, to plan better your stay-to-work distance
rookie93
post Jul 23 2016, 09:46 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 22 2016, 08:18 AM)
Where u hear that ya? Its immediate, but on a lower tier/%.
5% first year 15% 2nd and 20% 3rd year onwards
so the CPF contribution increases annually to the 20%? how much is the interest rate for CPF deposits...? is it any much higher than the conventional bank FD rates?
limfreelance
post Jul 23 2016, 09:46 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:44 AM)
2- book online is safer bet, if you worried direct buy run out of tickets...Flights definitely need online buy la, but bus i'm not sure so hardcore or not.
3- as long as you're in SG, its SG dollars all the way for anything. RM cannot be used.
4- HDB flats should be the cheapest. Easy way to find room? online. Sites? ermm property guru, ibilik (These you may be familiar with since Malaysia quite popular), and some others i forgot, the newer sites like easyroommate or craigslist.
5- this needs a lot of time looking for info online so you have time, so take your time, find out area prices. Use google Map to see where each area is, to plan better your stay-to-work distance
tq. smile.gif
Ultimaweapon
post Jul 23 2016, 09:55 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Jul 23 2016, 08:18 AM)
hi there,
soon i have interview at Sg, Kallang.

1) so, i planing to get a bus from BTS kl to sg, but i check the schedule as below:

Singapore - Beach Road
Singapore - Boon Lay
Singapore - Jurong East
Singapore - Katong V
Singapore - Lavender
Singapore - Woodland

so, which area so i land??
after that how to get there, by bus, or MRT?

2) is that a possible 1 day trip (pigi balik), do i need to book online or i just need to ge to the station to direct buy??

3) bside, after interview, & i have to get back to malaysia, so when i buy the ticket, can use MYR ka?? or do i need to exchange SG dollar here bfore go there for interview??

4) let said the company wanna hire me, so, how do i find a room there?? any easy way?? (prefer sharing room, kuali life, work sleep work sleep...).

5) refer no 3, any cheaper room near that area. & what is the price?

sekian, terima kasih.  smile.gif
1. According to Google Map, Beach Road will be closest to Kallang.
You didn't specify office / interview location so hard to say with bus / MRT.
Still, a good idea for you to study and determine this on your own, rather than relying on others.

2. & 3. Possible 1 day trip. Better you buy the return in Malaysia as they will
charge you SGD there and it's cheaper if you buy in Malaysia. Allow more time rather
than being late for the bus / plane. You will still need SGD to ride the MRT or bus.
Allow say S$150 including taxi?

4. There are so many sites available. Check sites such as:- propertyguru.com, 99.co, flatsdb.com, nestia.com
Location and distance is subjective. Preferable for you to decide on your own.

5. No idea where you work, hard to say and same as (4), it's subjective.

SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 23 2016, 10:10 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:46 AM)
so the CPF contribution increases annually to the 20%? how much is the interest rate for CPF deposits...? is it any much higher than the conventional bank FD rates?
U r pr ?
limfreelance
post Jul 23 2016, 10:25 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 23 2016, 09:55 AM)
1. According to Google Map, Beach Road will be closest to Kallang.
You didn't specify office / interview location so hard to say with bus / MRT.
Still, a good idea for you to study and determine this on your own, rather than relying on others.

2. & 3. Possible 1 day trip. Better you buy the return in Malaysia as they will
charge you SGD there and it's cheaper if you buy in Malaysia. Allow more time rather
than being late for the bus / plane. You will still need SGD to ride the MRT or bus.
Allow say S$150 including taxi?

4. There are so many sites available. Check sites such as:- propertyguru.com, 99.co, flatsdb.com, nestia.com
Location and distance is subjective. Preferable for you to decide on your own.

5. No idea where you work, hard to say and same as (4), it's subjective.
hi tq for the inform.
rookie93
post Jul 23 2016, 10:34 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 23 2016, 10:10 AM)
U r pr ?
no. just want to know how the CPF mechanism compares to our EPF. Seems like the contribution percentages are much higher. wanna find more details if possible.. I heard a friend saying there is an option not to contribute to CPF but rather have the employer pay their part to you in salary ... I think its not likely, but has anyone heard of such option?
SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 23 2016, 10:39 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 10:34 AM)
no. just want to know how the CPF mechanism compares to our EPF. Seems like the contribution percentages are much higher. wanna find more details if possible.. I heard a friend saying there is an option not to contribute to CPF but rather have the employer pay their part to you in salary ... I think its not likely, but has anyone heard of such option?
Of coz anything can, if u got the bargain power

U can even ask them to pay for ur tax too

If u can

stargazer92
post Jul 23 2016, 01:58 PM

20 posts

Hi all, I need advice,
is it possible to change to other job within 3 months,( work permit holder and in probation period), Is there any penalties or tax will imposed to me?

This post has been edited by stargazer92: Jul 23 2016, 02:16 PM
Grajindo
post Jul 23 2016, 03:11 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jul 23 2016, 08:14 AM)
HR applied my EP on 14th july , approved on 19th July. Didn't even expect it to be so quick .
Good to know hear that. Finger crossed Ill get mine asap too
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 23 2016, 03:32 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:46 AM)
Fd rates in singapore is low. 0% even.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 23 2016, 04:21 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 23 2016, 03:32 PM)
Fd rates in singapore is low. 0% even.
1.5% possible.but generally abt 0.4%
deodorant
post Jul 23 2016, 05:26 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 10:34 AM)
I heard a friend saying there is an option not to contribute to CPF but rather have the employer pay their part to you in salary

As a foreigner (on work pass): No CPF. Your company pays you your gross salary in full. Some companies (bigger ones are more likely) will also encash the employer CPF portion to you in your pay.

As a PR: CPF is compulsory. There are a few options, immediate full contribution, graduated employee/full employer, graduated employee & graduated employer.
anything98
post Jul 23 2016, 07:10 PM

96 posts

Any MNC is recruiting?

Been sending hundreds of CV but getting no reply (some got).
knwong
post Jul 23 2016, 09:11 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(stargazer92 @ Jul 23 2016, 01:58 PM)
Hi all, I need advice,
is it possible to change to other job within 3 months,( work permit holder and in probation period), Is there any penalties or tax will imposed to me?
MOM won't stop you changing job. It's free market. Just 15% income tax to deduct from last pay

But the company that you resigned from may imposed penalties for resigning early.

My advise, just stay on in the company and slowly gain experience and network (more important).
jubz
post Jul 23 2016, 09:39 PM

375 posts

Hi guys,

Recently I am getting quite a number of calls from SG-based recruiters for Network Engineers. Wanna check what is the realistic salary (from friends/family hearsay/personal experience) in Singapore for Network Engineer with 4-5 years of experience? My skillset is primarily Cisco Data & Security. Can also do some Juniper and PaloAlto .
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 23 2016, 11:33 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 23 2016, 04:21 PM)
1.5% possible.but generally abt 0.4%
Yup...something low like that. Better you remit your funds to ringgit and leave it in a Malaysian fd @ 4% per month.
stargazer92
post Jul 24 2016, 12:07 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 23 2016, 09:11 PM)
MOM won't stop you changing job. It's free market. Just 15% income tax to deduct from last pay

But the company that you resigned from may imposed penalties for resigning early.

My advise, just stay on in the company and slowly gain experience and network (more important).
Thank you so much for your advise sir. Hmm but for the 15% income tax、does it applies to permanent workers as well who worked for 1 year in the company?

This post has been edited by stargazer92: Jul 24 2016, 12:44 AM
SoyaBamboo
post Jul 24 2016, 12:12 AM

138 posts

Regarding the rental at singapore, do we need to pay the agent fee? or the owner of the apartment will for it?
chickenessence
post Jul 24 2016, 12:14 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(SoyaBamboo @ Jul 24 2016, 12:12 AM)
Regarding the rental at singapore, do we need to pay the agent fee? or the owner of the apartment will for it?
Just clarify.
But usually landlord pay.

165 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:28 PM