Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

knwong
post Jun 15 2016, 08:56 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Jun 15 2016, 07:59 PM)

Anyway, will go for M1 see whether they have corporate plan or not. Cheap and cheerful
What is cheerful in telco plan?

knwong
post Jun 16 2016, 09:25 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Jun 16 2016, 01:06 AM)
Hi guys,

May I know how many Resume you sent in before you get you first job in Singapore?

Just for sharing purpose.

TQ
To be easily employed everywhere not just in SG, if you have connections - even relatives or short acquaintances that you exchange name cards with, can land you a job.

If you submit resume like the rest of the population, get ready for rejections
knwong
post Jun 16 2016, 04:26 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jun 16 2016, 04:23 PM)
bangla travel daily jb-sg lipoting in
rclxms.gif You driving right? This school holiday period the checkpoints are a breeze!
knwong
post Jun 16 2016, 11:20 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 16 2016, 05:51 PM)
[PSA] China scammer - DHL - Singapore (Mandarin speaking, no English)

Received an automated call to office today. Scammer with Chinese accent Mandarin, was a pain talking to them with my broken Mandarin

1.Receive automated voice call - DHL has a package stuck in customs, press 9 to speak to a personal (cannot see the phone number)
2. Person A named Song Jie (id 1919) - fake details me think -  ask for my details - provide fake info (name, etc)
shipment stuck in Shenzhen to Singapore .. contain 6 fake passport .. did u sent? .. hell no
3. Long story short, get transferred to Person B - police office of Shenzhen - Juan Shi Jie - also fake .. you are suspect, etc etc. 1mdb case, this guy Khau Jiang sent money to your account in Shenzhen, etc etc. Must be mistaken identity case, I didn't do that, giv IC to verify. Scammer know I give wrong format Singapore IC, need to search Internet to get SG IC format. Scammers did their homework
4. Give fake account number to them (but surprisingly they don't want credit card details) just the 3 numbers of your bank account. (to make to con seems legit?)
5. Penalty of fraud high, go jail, whipping, will freeze your assets. This is where it get interesting. Have walktie talkie FX, etc ... investigation going on, police getting details.
6. Give fake address and other details - wife, son, etc
7. Call got disconnected
8. Fake policeman called again (+86 755 3304 8446 - toll charge number ?)
9. Finish making report .. since so many fraud case ask you to apply for priority investigation with chief investigator (Person B police boss), call +86 755 3304 8446 - case number 00918
10. Didn't call .. they call back .. say sorry phone no IDD smile.gif. OK nevermind .. they investigating .. will call me at 6pm .

I think the 6pm call will be where the con start. Or it was just a phishing trip to get details for another con (ie your name, SG IC, bank account number any use as only last 3 digits?) ??

All in all took 1+ hours .. maybe my broken Mandarin biggrin.gif
This is famous scam now. Reported in radio
knwong
post Jun 21 2016, 04:42 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 21 2016, 04:21 PM)
Can, $68 at Orchard but need to go 2 times
Whereabout in Orchard Road?
knwong
post Jun 21 2016, 05:02 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 21 2016, 04:51 PM)
That's why I felt weird just now. AFAIK it can only be done at M'sia High Comm

Luckily S'pore is damn small. If at other big countries, sometime have to personally present at M'sia embassy which is located few time zones away
knwong
post Jun 22 2016, 11:13 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 22 2016, 10:58 AM)
Isit. I still feel pain leh when paying tax.
When it comes to income tax, in this region Singapore and Hong Kong are the lowest. No doubt about that, which is why it's a magnet to attract foreigners to come

Brunei even better. No income tax at all
knwong
post Jun 22 2016, 03:52 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(goldrush @ Jun 22 2016, 03:11 PM)
u paying tax @ sg let u enjoy better infrastructure/etc...
u paying tax @ my ... then its government $ not urs.    jgn persoal..
So what SG benefits have you enjoy for paying your tax? Since M'sia one can't ask
knwong
post Jun 23 2016, 11:31 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jun 23 2016, 11:18 AM)
How do money changers get the money back to Malaysia exactly? Is it safe?
DBS Remit seems like viable option at the moment. Do they deduct for administration etc?
I understand that Telegraphic Transfer has transfer fee and not really economical.
They have network of remittance personnel/companies here that help to bank into your account
knwong
post Jun 24 2016, 02:10 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(evios @ Jun 24 2016, 01:41 PM)
Guys. need some clarification. I worked for 2 months in a company and resigned (this is my first job in SG). I was paid in full for the last month (that will means no hold back on the salary). My questions are (provided no new job in SG yet at this time but I would still stay for next job):

i. do i entitled for tax relief? If yes, when is the time I need to pay for it?
ii. any concerns if I leave country back MY (provided i have the social visit pass after my EP cancellation, and if I entitled for tax relief?
On work pass? Since working less than 183 days in a year, likely to be 15% tax - deducted from your last pay before leaving company. Likely also no tax relief
knwong
post Jun 26 2016, 02:50 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jun 26 2016, 02:27 PM)
NEX is it like Sunway Pyramid? Mid valley those type? looks quite good from the outside... got cheap food or not?
To me there's no shopping mall in SG that stands out

You'll get bored eventually
knwong
post Jun 27 2016, 01:56 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(justjoe @ Jun 27 2016, 01:42 PM)
Anyone here have tried taking cab from Singapore to Larkin Bus Terminal in JB? How much will it cost roughly? Or any other suggestions?
You can take those yellow cab at Rochor Road. $50-60 if not mistaken for 1 way.

Otherwise can FB search or Google search for those travel companies that uses MPV to pick you - ~$75 - $90 per way
knwong
post Jul 1 2016, 03:00 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 1 2016, 02:55 PM)
Hi guys,

Need some help here on the taxing part. I've been working for 4 months now, decided to quit, and currently hunting a job. However, I'll be discharged earlier due to some issues (on August).

So, how does the taxing work? Would I still be charged 15%, if I were to be employed perhaps on September/October. Literally, I am not leaving SG but I'll be having a month or two of unemployment.

Could someone clarify this for me? Thanks
Yes 15%, your HR will deduct and pay IRAS before they release you
knwong
post Jul 1 2016, 03:18 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 1 2016, 03:09 PM)
So, basically IRAS will be taking 15% of my salary. I cant reclaim it right although I am employed later on?

Arg, suck to be in Singapore, getting a job that doesn't really suit me.
Yes you can, once you get a new job and when you are about to pay for next assessment year, IRAS will reassess your tax deduction. Complicated stuff but every got to pay tax
knwong
post Jul 1 2016, 04:10 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 1 2016, 03:49 PM)
When is the usual assessment dateline in Singapore?
E.g. April here in Malaysia
Personal income tax deadline is 15 Apr every year
knwong
post Jul 2 2016, 09:41 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 1 2016, 10:41 PM)
Hey guys,

I still don't get the tax calculation for Singapore.
Refer:- IRAS
Does it mean that if say starting work in mid-August, say 15th:-
2017 15 Aug 2016 to 31 Dec 2016 - Resident
2018 1 Jan 2017 to 31 Dec 2017 - Resident

And so, the 15% is not applicable?
But using the Progressive Resident Tax?
Is it referred to this way?
If you continue working into 2017, you'll be tax Resident rate for that full year.
knwong
post Jul 4 2016, 09:15 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 4 2016, 08:39 AM)
Question: is it safe to consume boiled tap water without filtering in S'pore? The water supply here does come from Johor though right...?
http://sg.theasianparent.com/body-found-in...hdb-water-tank/
knwong
post Jul 12 2016, 08:06 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 12 2016, 03:16 PM)
The wait is driving me crazy  bangwall.gif
Can't rent a place without it, can't open a bank account,
and the worst part is that we're not even sure if it might
even get rejected after waiting for so long.
First time working and coming to Singapore? Patience is virtue

Convert some money to SGD first. You need $500 or 1000 sum to open bank account next time
knwong
post Jul 13 2016, 10:36 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jul 13 2016, 09:32 AM)
dont really have an answer for this...it really depends...
but most probably hard,why would they hire foreigner if there are so many Sg fresh to hire...they got quota of how many foreign workers...
unless that job totally has no ppl that feels like doing
Foreign workers QUOTA only applicable for certain industry (like Construction, Manufacturing, Marine, etc) and for Work Permit and S pass. Locals here like to term them as FT = 'Foreign Trash' (it's harsh I know).

On the other hand if you belong to another group of FT a.k.a. 'Foreign Talent' where you are qualified for EP pass. These kind of roles are subject to Fair Consideration Framework where employers have to advertise in Job Banks first for 14 days before they can hire foreigners

Having said that, there are exemptions (aka legal loop hole) from the above 2 requirements for the firms to hire foreigners easily:

1. Firms with less than 25 employees
2. Jobs that pay >$12k pm

Based on above and my own research+observation, my advise to those who want to come to SG easily:

1. Aim for small firms, startups. However being small these firms don't normally advertise their jobs due to budget limitations. NETWORK and get referrals to get in.
2. For jobs that pay >$12k, find those reputable international HR headhunters. This kind of jobs not many btw
3. For entreprenuers - setup a company with ACRA here. It cost $2xxx only if you want local partners.

knwong
post Jul 14 2016, 03:13 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2016, 02:15 PM)
FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU looks like I am outdated d, kemaluan aku sangat besar 😭
Government, banks and telco services here their process kept changing over the years

That's why I no longer want to provide any advise related to those since my own experience consuming those services are donkey years ago

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0864sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:43 AM