Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 3 2016, 02:25 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 1 2016, 10:03 PM)
Oh my, then the 15% is going to be painful to swallow.
Not entirely true.. i didn't get a tax invoice/assessment during my first year working in singapore. Started around Aug 14.

Only this year did I have to pay tax, which was backdated to Aug 14 and at the normal residentialresidential rate, not the 15%.

The 15% rate is generally for those who work short term in singapore and leave within 180 days. (Which actually happened to my sister who was on a training programme here. Let's just say she wasn't a happy camper.)

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Jul 3 2016, 02:29 PM
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 23 2016, 03:32 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:46 AM)
so the CPF contribution increases annually to the 20%? how much is the interest rate for CPF deposits...? is it any much higher than the conventional bank FD rates?
Fd rates in singapore is low. 0% even.
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 23 2016, 11:33 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 23 2016, 04:21 PM)
1.5% possible.but generally abt 0.4%
Yup...something low like that. Better you remit your funds to ringgit and leave it in a Malaysian fd @ 4% per month.
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 26 2016, 07:31 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 26 2016, 02:22 PM)
But i believe not all employers will comply with such regulations. There's many people I've heard getting EP for less than 3k
Says who? Never heard of anyone getting ep below the required minimum salary.

Also, I hope they don't raise the minimum required income to bring in family.. 5k is already ridiculously high. Wat the gomen of singapore think? Worker here meant as slave.. ? No time even for family..

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Jul 26 2016, 07:33 PM
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 27 2016, 07:55 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 12:18 AM)
5k to bring family in mama cukup wor?
That's for individual family to go figure out and make it work. Gomen shouldn't apply blanket rule over an arbitrary spending figure based on the lifestyle of a high rolling expat banker..

Also.. if epass holder can bring family in good for singapore economy.. more mouths to feed means more local spending and less money can be transferred overseas.

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Jul 27 2016, 07:59 AM
SUSthe99percent1
post Aug 5 2016, 12:03 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 5 2016, 11:15 AM)
Dun play play, HDB anytime come take back Ur unit
Realy can go blackmail the landlord
Why would you do that? He probably gotten a good rate due to the reason the landlord didn't register with hdb.. once registered, I think the landlord will charge him more.
SUSthe99percent1
post Aug 10 2016, 01:21 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 9 2016, 04:49 PM)
S$10k is hardly a big sum, definitely less than a month salary for elites like deodorant.  Just keep in pocket and walkover to jb do transfer.
10k not alot? U could probably buy over the newly minted world's first Michelin awarded hawker prior to their award.
SUSthe99percent1
post Aug 10 2016, 01:48 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 9 2016, 02:08 PM)
DBS online remittance also not bad. No service charge somemore.
My go to method of tt.

Usually into my maybank account by 32 hours.
SUSthe99percent1
post Aug 31 2016, 08:34 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 31 2016, 06:36 PM)
Different price lor. 1 piece in sg is approximately 2 or 2.5 pieces in mys.  So the quality has to be there
Just go jb sentral and buy the lavendar punya version good enough d...
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 7 2016, 09:30 PM

381 posts

Is there anyone who offer car pooling services from jb to sg on working morning here? Or know of anyone who does this. Please let me know. Thanks.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 7 2016, 10:36 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Oct 7 2016, 10:00 PM)
where to where?
temporary or permanent?
Im flexible
Tebrau area to anywhere on red line.

Try out for 1 month first.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 7 2016, 11:21 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Oct 7 2016, 11:18 PM)
Cheers bro!
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 9 2016, 10:58 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 8 2016, 08:30 PM)
Don't really like your behavior. When you asked for car pool help, someone lent you the favor here

Now freshies asking for help, you are shooting the person whose helping. Just give them the benefit of doubt

How would you feel when someone offered a genuine help and labeled you for being a terrorist or transferring drugs
Actually.. i was gonna car pool people across since I have a malaysian car and will be living in jb soon.

Even then, there is a huge difference between the two.. One is a service, the other is a favour. A big favour considering you have to stick your neck on the line for a random stranger who you have no idea what his or her work ethics, temperament and motives are..

I wouldnt refer a stranger online, unless I personally spoke to them first. Thats just me. I guess you have more tolerance for risk taking behaviour. Gambling.

SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 10 2016, 07:48 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Huat15 @ Oct 9 2016, 10:49 PM)
Thank you for such stereotypes on Malaysia "sampah" who is seeking their luck at Singapore. smile.gif
Just my 2cent, actually I was shocked as the foul words can even spat by our own comrade.  sweat.gif

Same nation,
Same identity,
but seriously disgusted by your stereotype on our local talent. whistling.gif

But I shall laid my case here, I do respect you opinion about us.  biggrin.gif
Eh dei... stop with the melodrama and over the top response...

Noone is saying he isnt capable... I was merely pointing out the fact that he was offering his help to a random stranger without any personal gain, consideration of the risks and or consequences.

Maybe there is such a thing as a free lunch. I tend to err on the side of caution and live my life knowing there is no such thing. I believe it is better to strive hard and earn your keep by yourself rather than expect a hand-out.

The fact of the matter is that most Malaysians would love to work in Singapore. There is no short supply of FT. So why should he get a leg up just because he posts on a forum?

Anyways, I'll stop there. Coz I know it is gameover and no point in arguing over such small matter. My message was miscontrued. Character assassination behind a keyboard is really easy.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 12 2016, 06:57 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 12 2016, 02:18 PM)
Question now is what do you splurge on?
Nothing, im a cheapskate. I save all my money and invest in property.

My goal is to purchase one every year. If i achieve this goal, in 13 years time, I would have 16 property and if all are rented out, I can probably retire by 40.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 13 2016, 07:43 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Oct 13 2016, 12:59 PM)
one every year. wowww

that makes me a loser then, after 10+years as kuli-kang. can only afford 10% downpayment for a property per year. doh.gif
As long as my salary keep increasing every year, i will be able to meet the 30% debt to income ratio. Funnily enough.. the banks wont add to your current loans to the ratio if you are renting out your investment prop. I find that stupid, but not complaining as im benefactor of such arrangement.

Saving for a downpayment is easy with exchange rate of x3 and you save more than 55% of your take home pay.

My first prop, i admit i had financing help from my parents by utilising some equity of their fully paid off home. Second prop I bought, was my first msian home loan. Third prop which I bought recently and will be staying at in jb, I took advantage of singapore lower interest rate for overseas props. Just give them 20% dp and gau tim.

Qualifying for loan seem so easy. But ya, as long as my salary keep increasing every year, i think i can keep this up. Lol.

SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 13 2016, 09:45 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 13 2016, 09:21 PM)
Malaysia property rental can cover loan meh? Small apartment?
Can.. there are many ways. Including partitioning rooms creating more rooms.. then rent out single rooms to students or working professionals. Anything is possible in bolehland.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 14 2016, 12:14 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ Oct 14 2016, 11:07 AM)
why not look at SG property, the prices is currently lowest in 7 years..

http://blog.iproperty.com.sg/fall-in-q3-private-home-prices/
. I not local or pr, so no hdb for me. sad.gif( and i dont think it is a smart idea to buy private prop.

Plus, i prefer landed. For condo, you are just paying for air in the sky.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 17 2016, 01:49 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ Oct 17 2016, 01:47 PM)
HDB alot restrictions, doesnt worth the hassle. you cant buy HDB if u have 1 or more propeties in Msia
Can la.. but must sell all within certain period of time.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 17 2016, 06:34 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Oct 17 2016, 05:59 PM)
but singapore gomen can only know if you declare it yourself right?
Eh dei... this not malaysia alright. If gomen find out, they will confiscate your hdb flat. You dare run that sort of risk?

0.2529sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:26 AM