Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
mamamia
Jun 17 2016, 06:54 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 16 2016, 10:05 PM) So what are you going to complain about at BNM? "Public Bank didnt want to pay me my 1 day interest?" Go talk to your bank first. If every customer were to go to BNM for such trivial matters, then BNM staff would be really busy.  I was refer to first post that mentioned that la...  that's y I asked..
bbgoat
Jun 17 2016, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 17 2016, 12:28 AM) No... I just happened to have additional funds... I rmb uncle goat mentioned topping up courtesy amount to get promo rates at rhb. So i told the branch staff i top up that amount, she ask her manager, ok. But I don't know if i could have done it like uncle goat @rm100. The counter staff normal would ask for the 25% (around that number, depending on banks) for matured FD for current FD promo. So one time in RHB I top up RM300 (counter staff asked for >RM500). Then in Feb, I met one officer there whom I already know and she asked me to top up RM100. But as a "courtesy" I top up RM200. Hahaha. Anyway u could get the FD promo also if u said you only have RM100. If not u have to withdraw the FD ! In PBB, I was asked to top up something like RM2000 (cannot remember exact amt now), then reduced to RM800, then finally settled at RM500 !  As my wallet only left RM500 at that time !  Power of nego ! This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 17 2016, 08:27 AM
adele123
Jun 17 2016, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 17 2016, 08:14 AM) The counter staff normal would ask for the 25% (around that number, depending on banks) for matured FD for current FD promo. So one time in RHB I top up RM300 (counter staff asked for >RM500). Then in Feb, I met one officer there whom I already know and she asked me to top up RM100. But as a "courtesy" I top up RM200. Hahaha. Anyway u could get the FD promo also if u said you only have RM100. If not u have to withdraw the FD ! In PBB, I was asked to top up something like RM2000 (cannot remember exact amt now), then reduced to RM800, then finally settled at RM500 !  As my wallet only left RM500 at that time !  Power of nego !  I see, but i did have the funds, don't mind. LOL. Btw, i think this is the first time i heard of PBB nego works... does that have anything to do with the size of FD? would like to get my mother to do it using the normal PBB FD.
herc
Jun 17 2016, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 17 2016, 08:14 AM) The counter staff normal would ask for the 25% (around that number, depending on banks) for matured FD for current FD promo. So one time in RHB I top up RM300 (counter staff asked for >RM500). Then in Feb, I met one officer there whom I already know and she asked me to top up RM100. But as a "courtesy" I top up RM200. Hahaha. I have close relationship with the RHB BM here, I once topup RM50 for a five figure promo FD  less than 1%
bbgoat
Jun 17 2016, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 17 2016, 09:17 AM) I see, but i did have the funds, don't mind. LOL. Btw, i think this is the first time i heard of PBB nego works... does that have anything to do with the size of FD? would like to get my mother to do it using the normal PBB FD. I only refer to getting matured FD to place into FD promo. (Not nego on FD rates, just in case someone mis-read here. So far I never nego with PBB on FD rates). QUOTE(herc @ Jun 17 2016, 09:47 AM) I have close relationship with the RHB BM here, I once topup RM50 for a five figure promo FD  less than 1%
lookie
Jun 17 2016, 10:24 AM
thanks to bros cybpsych and ramjade whose frequent mentions about mbb's GIA highlighted me to this scheme. a nice alternative to park short term funds!
TOMEI-R
Jun 17 2016, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 17 2016, 06:54 AM) I was refer to first post that mentioned that la...  that's y I asked.. Thats why we said, go talk to your bank first.
bbgoat
Jun 17 2016, 11:07 AM
Today actually has RHB FD due. But looks like have to let it idle. Then next Tuesday to combine with other FD due. Not worth effort to go there just for that FD. Now thinking phone banking of CB is good. That I can just call and terminate FD and put back into SA. Then can IBFT to MBB for the GIA-i pocket money. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 17 2016, 11:07 AM
sandkoh
Jun 17 2016, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 17 2016, 11:07 AM) Today actually has RHB FD due. But looks like have to let it idle. Then next Tuesday to combine with other FD due. Not worth effort to go there just for that FD. Now thinking phone banking of CB is good. That I can just call and terminate FD and put back into SA. Then can IBFT to MBB for the GIA-i pocket money.  uncle goat giving free money to the bank!
starry
Jun 17 2016, 11:46 AM
Just came back from Hong Leong Bank. Promo FD 6 months - 4.25%p.a. has ended. Apparently target hit before deadline.
sandkoh
Jun 17 2016, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 17 2016, 10:50 AM) Thats why we said, go talk to your bank first. good idea to always talk to bank first.
TOMEI-R
Jun 17 2016, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(starry @ Jun 17 2016, 11:46 AM) Just came back from Hong Leong Bank. Promo FD 6 months - 4.25%p.a. has ended. Apparently target hit before deadline. Cant check on my HL Online Connect too.. Was actually waiting to go into this offer before the month ends.
dEviLs
Jun 17 2016, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(starry @ Jun 17 2016, 11:46 AM) Just came back from Hong Leong Bank. Promo FD 6 months - 4.25%p.a. has ended. Apparently target hit before deadline. me too just back from Hong Leong Petaling Street branch..this promo is still available there
LostAndFound
Jun 17 2016, 02:29 PM
Just wanna ask about GIA-I for maybank.
1. Place no need any document right? Just do from efd part of M2U? 2. No PIDM - does that worry anyone? 3. Confirm the interest granted even when withdraw after a few days?
michaelho
Jun 17 2016, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jun 17 2016, 12:12 AM) Probably amount gotta be around 100k~250k or more right to get those preferred rates? I think 50K already can request but then it also depends on how helpful your RM is. QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jun 17 2016, 07:23 AM) Effective rate is less than 4.2% taking into account of non working days RM has confirmed with me that they will be paying for the non-working days as well . We will see
Ramjade
Jun 17 2016, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 17 2016, 02:29 PM) Just wanna ask about GIA-I for maybank. 1. Place no need any document right? Just do from efd part of M2U? 2. No PIDM - does that worry anyone? 3. Confirm the interest granted even when withdraw after a few days? 1. Yes. No need documents. Yes. 2. No. Cauae this is maybank. PIDM will only come into effect if maybank bankrupt. Maybank reputation is at stake. If they lose the money, in the future if they introduce similar product, no one apply. Rugi lo. If bank rakyat or mbsb, maybe yes. Maybank, not worried. If yoi are kiasi, go for ambank islamic efd 3.25%. Need min rm1k only.  3. Yes. Interest will even be given if you uplift the very next day. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 17 2016, 02:52 PM
LostAndFound
Jun 17 2016, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2016, 02:51 PM) 1. Yes. No need documents. Yes. 2. No. Cauae this is maybank. PIDM will only come into effect if maybank bankrupt. Maybank reputation is at stake. If they lose the money, in the future if they introduce similar product, no one apply. Rugi lo. If bank rakyat or mbsb, maybe yes. Maybank, not worried. If yoi are kiasi, go for ambank islamic efd 3.25%. Need min rm1k only.  3. Yes. Interest will even be given if you uplift the very next day. Thanks. Wah so many questions when placing!
mamamia
Jun 17 2016, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 17 2016, 10:50 AM) Thats why we said, go talk to your bank first. ok, i've get the answer from other experienced sifus based on their practical experiences for the Question I raised.
Ramjade
Jun 17 2016, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 17 2016, 03:55 PM) Thanks. Wah so many questions when placing! Only for the first placement.
mamamia
Jun 17 2016, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2016, 04:08 PM) Only for the first placement. Hi, can I placed and uplift the GIA-i account on the same day? Just now i tried to placed and wanted to uplift as I can't modify the term after that, when I click uplift, it shown the error message as below: System unavailable Account is not authorised. Reject code: [0076] and if i want to modify the account, such as change term, it shown "Status: Unsuccessful - Account is not authorised. " after I key in the TAC This post has been edited by mamamia: Jun 17 2016, 04:47 PM