QUOTE(eugene88 @ Jun 3 2016, 07:01 PM)
Just select add to principal. The rest leave it empty. Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Jun 4 2016, 08:30 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Jun 5 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 5 2016, 12:03 PM) Hi Guys, Put 5 years FD but you cannot add-on every year. Once put, money is locked up. Put and forget. After 5 years, remove and add it in again. Make sure to ask for promo rate I'm pretty hopeless and pathetic when it comes to managing my own finances. I can scrape out RM500-600/ month (and assume yearly incremental of 10%<) for FD. Looking for long-term, however upon doing much reading - there's just too much information available, and some of it doesn't quite make sense to me. I'm not a finance person I had stumbled upon this post on LYN: https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-44/...-1462941010.jpg It caught my attention. Is there a FD plan I can take long-term? 25-30 years maybe? Where I just put in RM500++ a month? If it matters, I only have a CIMB savings account & CC. Please guide me sifus Another option is wait until have rm1k. Put into maybank eGIA-i. Select 2 months. After 1 month, uplift. Add your new rm500 to your rm1k + 1 month interest into a new eGIA-i. Do that until you have rm10k. Then go for promo rates. After 1 year, withdraw and look for promo rates. Alternatively you could into EPF (max rm60k/year). Epf returns are higher than any FDs. You can add in every month. No need to run to the bank eveey year (can be done via online - not sure if cimb can do it) EPF is OT ya. QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 5 2016, 12:27 PM) You mean FD limit is usually 5 years, after which will auto-renew or I'll have to open another FD again? Keep in mind that FD cannot outrun inflation. However FD is the basic. Once have 6months - 1 year of salary in FD, dont put FD anymore. Go look for other stuff.My financial management quite bad lol 26 y/o, no investment, savings account is the same account my salary gets banked in and I withdraw from. I need this to change. I understand FD is the safest way, but also the slowest? Time is not an issue, as long as 20-30 years from not I have something to live with This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 5 2016, 12:32 PM |
Jun 5 2016, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 5 2016, 12:37 PM) Oh, okay this is new to me. I didn't know I cannot add whenever I wish into FD. This is going to be an issue, since I don't have a capital to begin with. Maybank eGIA-i sounds good - I will look into this. What do you mean by promo rates btw? As for EPF, you mean I can deposit any further amount (after salary deduction) into my account? Is the 60k/ year inclusive of the already existing salary deduction or is it on top of that? And what's OT? Thank you! QUOTE Promo rates eg Bank A board (normal)rates 1 year = 3.3% Bank A promo rates 1 year = 4.3% but need say minimum rm10k. Same bank, same duration, different rates. If you go for board rates, you are practically giving banks free money (in this case 1% of your interest) I am not very sure about self contribution but can try. No harm. Scared give you wrong answer. OT = off topic. Ask ypur epf question in this thread. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2705461 This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 5 2016, 12:58 PM |
Jun 6 2016, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(heavensea @ Jun 6 2016, 08:22 AM) Damn... should have put i to gia instead of efd with 3.15% only... I just opened an efd of 1month at 3rd of June, shd I surrendered it (uplift) and put it into gia immediately?? That's maybank GIA-i promo which give effective rate of 4.5% if hold for 12 months (ended already). The normal eGIA-i gives flat 4% even if you hold for 12 months. Up to you. If you are ok with losing 3 days of interest, then go ahead.This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 6 2016, 10:40 AM |
Jun 6 2016, 10:52 AM
Jun 6 2016, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 3 2016, 04:40 PM) Guys, I found a small 'workaround' in Maybank online GIA account if you want the interest to credit to principal instead of credit to account. Once you have selected all the details like amount, term, credit to account, etc... click next. Then DO NOT click submit but click back. The option Credit to Principal will be an option in the dropdown. QUOTE(LNYC @ Jun 6 2016, 02:15 PM) You can even modified after placing. So no problem it before or aftrr placing. |
Jun 6 2016, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(jawagar @ Jun 6 2016, 08:38 PM) Hi guys i would like to learn how FD works is it like i keep a capital for example 500k so will i get interest of it monthly from the capital? Only bank with monthly interest credited should be Bank Rakyat and MBSB (both no PIDM protection). But there are additional T&C. Best to check with the banks. |
Jun 8 2016, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(august8 @ Jun 8 2016, 12:05 AM) Sorry a bit out of topic, but have always wondered about these 2 issues: 1) No need. Since is not taxable. 2nd, (1) must we declare FD interest for income tax purposes? (2) if FD interest is considered tax free, is there a limit to this tax-free amount? For example, anything above RM100,000 FD interest must be declared as it will be taxed? Thanks. 2) AFAIK, no limit (as it's not taxable) |
Jun 9 2016, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jun 9 2016, 01:21 PM) rates going lower and lower Better put in maybank eGIA-i 4%p.a can select 1-3 months placement. |
Jun 10 2016, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 10 2016, 10:29 AM) May I know is this the same as the GIA-i under the 2nd option drop down in M2U site? Yes. First time you will be presented with that page. Select option (a)When I clicked next, there's a long list of questions, and the options I have are only the "Mudarabah Investment Account" and "Islamic Deposit Account" as follows. May I know which one shall I choose to get the 4% interest? [attachmentid=6811939] Also is the 4% same for 1 to 3 months? Thanks QUOTE(wigneswr @ Jun 10 2016, 11:28 AM) For the Gia-i, if the profit sharing rate is 70/30. Then with a interest rate of 4% we would only be getting 2.8% and the bank gets 1.2%. You will get 4%. 70% is the = 4%.Is this correct? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2016, 11:40 AM |
Jun 10 2016, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 10 2016, 11:39 AM) Thanks bro -edit -Also as I can read from the earlier posts, it can be withdrawn at any time without affecting the interest earned to date. May I know if I understand it correctly? E.g. if I place it now for 1 month and withdraw it after 15 days, will I still earn the 15 days' interest? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2016, 12:48 PM |
Jun 10 2016, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 10 2016, 11:46 AM) -edit-QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 10 2016, 11:52 AM) Hehe Yes. Upon uplifiting, interest will automatically be added to principal. BTW, since the interest rate is the same for 1 to 6 month's tenure, is there any advantage of placing it for more than 1 month? Or would it be better to place as 1 month and with auto renewal? Thanks For one month you need min rm5k. For >2 months above, you just need rm1k. Just the amount required. No additional benefit. You can place for 60 months and just uplift after 1 month also no problem. I renew it manually by adding in the interest. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2016, 01:09 PM |
Jun 10 2016, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 10 2016, 12:31 PM) Noted with thanks 4.5% finish liao. Now flat rate 4%.BTW, since it's 4.5% for 7 and 8 months, meaning that better I place it for 8 months to enjoy the extra 0.5% if I manage to hold it till 8 months. Else if need to uplift before the 7th month, I will still get the normal 4%, right? |
Jun 10 2016, 12:51 PM
sandkoh, lowyat101 please edit my post. Thanks.
Jun 10 2016, 12:55 PM
Jun 10 2016, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 10 2016, 01:05 PM) Here you go.https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=80333681 |
Jun 10 2016, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 10 2016, 08:33 PM) Had a pretty bad experience with Bangkok Bank (KL Branch). To open an account, you will need to wait for a few days for verification and approval. The weird part is that they will even run a CTOS check on you for FD Placement... Tell them you keep your interest, I keep my money. |
Jun 13 2016, 08:46 PM
Jun 14 2016, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 14 2016, 06:16 PM) boss, this one you terminated out of the blue , is it? that is to say not on any maturity date or monthly interest payment date? How about principal? Principal returned intact 100%? I thought they say got some daily manager's price? Since when? I terminated early at least 5x already, no penalty. Full 4% interest. Principal intact. |
Jun 15 2016, 10:13 AM
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:56 PM |