Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

LostAndFound
post Jun 17 2016, 02:29 PM

6,257 posts

Just wanna ask about GIA-I for maybank.

1. Place no need any document right? Just do from efd part of M2U?
2. No PIDM - does that worry anyone?
3. Confirm the interest granted even when withdraw after a few days?
LostAndFound
post Jun 17 2016, 03:55 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2016, 02:51 PM)
1. Yes. No need documents. Yes.
2. No. Cauae this is maybank. PIDM will only come into effect if maybank bankrupt. Maybank reputation is at stake. If they lose the money, in the future if they introduce similar product, no one apply. Rugi lo. If bank rakyat or mbsb, maybe yes. Maybank, not worried. If yoi are kiasi, go for ambank islamic efd 3.25%. Need min rm1k only. thumbup.gif
3. Yes. Interest will even be given if you uplift the very next day.
Thanks. Wah so many questions when placing!
LostAndFound
post Jun 27 2016, 09:45 AM

6,257 posts

I think any bank also will reduce/cut-off your interest at high worth. I know OCBC and PBB after 1 million or so the remainder of the amount earns savings account interest (basically nothing).
LostAndFound
post Jun 30 2016, 04:45 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Jun 30 2016, 04:33 PM)
As long as you withdraw the money on the maturity date, the effective interest rate will be the same as the interest is paid based on the number of days keep in FD.
I do not understand why all these different date matter  rclxub.gif
He just lo suo way of saying that if your maturity date fall on public holiday or weekend you can get 'extra' interest when you withdraw on exactly the next working day (hence Monday). Some banks at promo rate, some at board rate, some don't give (AFAIK).

Of course, if you're 'holding' your money for a few days to wait for that special day you also lose money on interest for those days, so go count if its worth la.
LostAndFound
post Jul 5 2016, 11:49 AM

6,257 posts

Deal Hunter why keep posting walls of text? Your points can be summarized in 3 sentences but need 2000 words, this isn't school essay competition eh.

Once or twice isn't a big deal, but so often you should do like GenXGenYGenZ, get a blog, post there, and link it here. Those interested will read.
LostAndFound
post Jul 5 2016, 01:06 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jul 5 2016, 12:16 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion.
I do not usually want to write or blog, but only becuz questioned or the point raised. The answers are not really that simple as mistakes or situations are not fully disclosed which is their right, but makes it difficult to give a reply that will  be of any help in 3 sentences. There are so many non-standard situations, that makes writing/replying difficult.
Online forums can't go into too much detail, it's not a suitable medium. Hence why we need to link to resources for further reading. Otherwise you spend dunno how long typing, but it will disappear in a day or two. Not to mention wasting other forumers time (especially reading on small phone screens).
LostAndFound
post Jul 6 2016, 08:19 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 6 2016, 07:54 AM)
we need more useful post like this, 4.4%pa ayam kambing!  lust.gif
You got 200k sitting around rclxms.gif HNWI
LostAndFound
post Jul 7 2016, 12:34 AM

6,257 posts

The ratio is the Islamic Banking way of representing only. Interest kan haram. So they go do business with your money, then the profit they get they will give to you 70% of it.

It just 'so happens' only the rate they give you confirm sure (sort of) 4%.
LostAndFound
post Jul 13 2016, 11:13 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 13 2016, 11:00 AM)
curious, how can with just 1 click they can get your username + p/w?
You click, goes to website which looks like some important official bank page and has place for you to type your name and password.

If you bodoh bodoh type it in, then they take what you typed in and do their own login on your account.

Smarter con-job is they'll then ask you whether you want to do some very important security update. And then they'll ask whether you want to request TAC. And then they'll ask you to type the TAC which was sent to your phone =)
LostAndFound
post Jul 14 2016, 10:46 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2016, 10:42 AM)
When OPR raised in mid 2014, they are also slow in raising FD rate. Quick to cut FD rates but slow to increase FD rates.
Every business is like this la. Like when pound value drop money exchanger suddenly stop trading it. But whenever got rise super fast to put price up.
LostAndFound
post Jul 18 2016, 04:12 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 18 2016, 04:01 AM)
How do non muslim qualify for the fd?
Islamic banking anyone can use la, not just for muslims.

EDIT: My GIA interest just deposited, counting back got exactly 4% for all placed amount. So even if new placements 3.75% I think old placements (at least till today) getting 4%.

Maybe now the interest been issued the next month will be at 3.75% I guess. Just in case, I will not be uplifting any of the current amount =p.

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Jul 18 2016, 07:25 AM
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2016, 09:32 AM

6,257 posts

RHB sent me a letter (existing FD holder) that they have promo till 31st July 2016 which is step-up, effective 4.25%.
LostAndFound
post Aug 9 2016, 10:27 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 9 2016, 09:46 AM)
Public Bank (PB) is celebrating 50th anniversary tis mth
Hope PB will launch special FD promo to celebrate tis special occasion
Based on history... 'special' FD promo from PBB won't be worth it one. Except for certain type of customer who only trust banks owned by their own people.

0.0278sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:49 PM