AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

Senforr
post May 14 2017, 05:20 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 14 2017, 04:03 PM)
What speaker you using ?
Nothing. Just upgraded my TV so now looking for better sound system.

At first looking at soundbar, so far 1 have these 3 in mind:

Samsung HW-K551
Sonos Playbar
Sony HT-CT-390

Then, of course got poisoned to look at AVR, so far keeping these in compare list

Marantz NR1506
Yamaha RX-V381
Denon AVR-1713

All basically entry model, I try to keep budget below 3k with speakers.

Haven't decided which speaker to buy. Once I decided with AVR, then will start to look for speakers.
OPT
post May 14 2017, 05:22 PM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ May 14 2017, 05:20 PM)

Samsung HW-K551
Sonos Playbar
Sony HT-CT-390

Then, of course got poisoned to look at AVR, so far keeping these in compare list

Marantz NR1506
Yamaha RX-V381
Denon AVR-1713

Haven't decided which speaker to buy. Once I decided with AVR, then will start to look for speakers.
Soundbar and AVR different class....

Straight go for AVR, if not next time need to spend more to upgrade whistling.gif
sonerin
post May 14 2017, 05:28 PM

8,739 posts

Samsung HW-K551
Sonos Playbar
Sony HT-CT-390

Marantz NR1506
Yamaha RX-V381
Denon AVR-1713

If you just want to have a bit louder sound, just get the sound bar. Going into AVR and speaker, 3k is really not enough to make a different
Senforr
post May 14 2017, 05:36 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 14 2017, 05:28 PM)
If you just want to have a bit louder sound, just get the sound bar. Going into AVR and speaker, 3k is really not enough to make a different
That is what I thought, but everywhere in LYN says if getting soundbar around 2k, AVR at that price range with 2.1 system is WAAAAAAAAAAAYYY better.

So, now I am confused, again. confused.gif
dwRK
post May 14 2017, 06:40 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ May 14 2017, 05:36 PM)
That is what I thought, but everywhere in LYN says if getting soundbar around 2k, AVR at that price range with 2.1 system is WAAAAAAAAAAAYYY better.

So, now I am confused, again. :confused:
IMHO...

Waste of money getting soundbar.

Waste of money getting AVR if not going for surround sound.

Just get a pair of good active speakers.
Skylinestar
post May 14 2017, 08:01 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

Samsung HW-K551
Sonos Playbar
Sony HT-CT-390

Marantz NR1506
Yamaha RX-V381
Denon AVR-1713

Marantz NR1506 - Audyssey MultEQ
Denon AVR-1713 - Audyssey MultEQ XT

sonerin
post May 15 2017, 07:16 AM

8,739 posts

So, now I am confused, again. :confused:
So you are looking for 2.1 ? If that is the case than it can be quite different
dirtrun
post May 16 2017, 12:08 PM

3,136 posts

So, now I am confused, again. confused.gif
LOL,

Even 2.0 wif stereo amp oso better la than soundbar..
TSjovigrunge
post Jun 17 2017, 08:02 PM

2,607 posts

If I would buy Yamaha RX-V681 av receiver (new set), what would be the best Dolby Atmos speakers + subwoofer to connect it? I don't mind if it's second hand too....... icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyone opinion? hmm.gif
SSJBen
post Jun 17 2017, 09:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jun 17 2017, 08:02 PM)
If I would buy Yamaha RX-V681 av receiver (new set), what would be the best Dolby Atmos speakers + subwoofer to connect it? I don't mind if it's second hand too....... icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyone opinion? hmm.gif
Huh? Best "dolby atmos" speakers? The best speakers are the speakers you can mount on your ceiling without burning a hole in your pocket. Don't understand your question...? Do you mean upfiring "dolby atmos" modules?

As for sub, buy the best sub you can afford.
TSjovigrunge
post Jun 17 2017, 11:38 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 17 2017, 09:18 PM)
Huh? Best "dolby atmos" speakers? The best speakers are the speakers you can mount on your ceiling without burning a hole in your pocket. Don't understand your question...? Do you mean upfiring "dolby atmos" modules?

As for sub, buy the best sub you can afford.
Hi Ben!

Sorry regarding the confusion of my initial question. I meant was what will be the most suitable speakers + subwoofer (second hand if possible) for the av receiver which is Yamaha RX-V681 (Dolby Atmos). blush.gif

One more thing is that should I get the RX-V581 instead of the RX-V681 becoz the price difference was around RM400. hmm.gif
SSJBen
post Jun 18 2017, 02:11 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jun 17 2017, 11:38 PM)
Hi Ben!

Sorry regarding the confusion of my initial question. I meant was what will be the most suitable speakers + subwoofer (second hand if possible) for the av receiver which is Yamaha RX-V681 (Dolby Atmos).  blush.gif

One more thing is that should I get the RX-V581 instead of the RX-V681 becoz the price difference was around RM400.  hmm.gif
Any speakers that are 8ohms rated, fairly average sensitivity (about 87db) will be fine. The v681 will struggle with 4ohms speakers or low efficiency speakers (below 85db).

So other than that to look out for, basically anything that suits your ear is fine.
I've been liking the Q Acoustics 3020 these days, nice speakers! I would go with the v681 simply for the virtue of better YPAO.
sonerin
post Jun 18 2017, 08:19 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jun 17 2017, 11:38 PM)
Hi Ben!

Sorry regarding the confusion of my initial question. I meant was what will be the most suitable speakers + subwoofer (second hand if possible) for the av receiver which is Yamaha RX-V681 (Dolby Atmos).  blush.gif

One more thing is that should I get the RX-V581 instead of the RX-V681 becoz the price difference was around RM400.  hmm.gif
In ceiling speaker is best for atmos. Try DLS or Klispch
TSjovigrunge
post Jun 18 2017, 10:31 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 18 2017, 02:11 AM)
Any speakers that are 8ohms rated, fairly average sensitivity (about 87db) will be fine. The v681 will struggle with 4ohms speakers or low efficiency speakers (below 85db).

So other than that to look out for, basically anything that suits your ear is fine.
I've been liking the Q Acoustics 3020 these days, nice speakers! I would go with the v681 simply for the virtue of better YPAO.

Our Verdict
Another outstanding budget standmounter from Q Acoustics. The 3020s deliver a fabulous sound for the money

For
Exceptional combination of refinement, insight and dynamics
Terrific build and finish
Unfussy nature

Against
Absolutely nothing at this price

WhatHiFi 5 star rated speaker. Thanks. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jun 18 2017, 08:19 AM)
In ceiling speaker is best for atmos. Try DLS or Klispch
Models? hmm.gif

I will be looking for a good deal for those main and surround speakers. I will be updating it here to get you guys opinion. brows.gif
TSjovigrunge
post Jun 18 2017, 11:13 AM

2,607 posts

A guy selling second hand Wharfedale diamond 121 bookshelf speaker for RM880. Original price RM1088. hmm.gif

Q ACOUSTICS 3020 BOOKSHELF SPEAKER - RM1399 (NEW) smile.gif

Any recommendation for center channel speaker? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jovigrunge: Jun 18 2017, 11:50 AM
ktek
post Jun 18 2017, 01:06 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jun 18 2017, 11:13 AM)
A guy selling second hand Wharfedale diamond 121 bookshelf speaker for RM880. Original price RM1088. hmm.gif

Q ACOUSTICS 3020 BOOKSHELF SPEAKER - RM1399 (NEW)  smile.gif

Any recommendation for center channel speaker?  hmm.gif
i have a xavian something to let go 1k
5" mtm layout with rear reflex port

This post has been edited by ktek: Jun 18 2017, 01:06 PM
VeeJay
post Jun 18 2017, 01:17 PM

3,845 posts

Folks, Im in the mist of helping a cousin setting up his AV room 12X14ft ot ideal but thats what he has.

Right, looking at Denon avr-x2300w or 1300; any thoughts on it or its over kill?
https://www.whathifi.com/denon/avr-x2300w/review

For viewing looking at Projector

And obviously needs speaker as well thinking on 5.1 would do since the room is small

Appreciate your feedback...its been a while I worked on these and out of touch with latest technology and offerings...Cheers
dwRK
post Jun 18 2017, 03:17 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 18 2017, 01:17 PM)
Folks, Im in the mist of helping a cousin setting up his AV room 12X14ft ot ideal but thats what he has.

Right, looking at Denon avr-x2300w or 1300; any thoughts on it or its over kill?
https://www.whathifi.com/denon/avr-x2300w/review

For viewing looking at Projector

And obviously needs speaker as well thinking on 5.1 would do since the room is small

Appreciate your feedback...its been a while I worked on these and out of touch with latest technology and offerings...Cheers
Money no object right?
VeeJay
post Jun 18 2017, 03:18 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 18 2017, 03:17 PM)
Money no object right?
yup...he set around 20K i think...since the room is small, dont want overkill as well..lol...its like getting a Porsche and driving 2km weekend
dwRK
post Jun 18 2017, 04:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 18 2017, 03:18 PM)
yup...he set around 20K i think...since the room is small, dont want overkill as well..lol...its like getting a Porsche and driving 2km weekend
Cost no object I'm thinking 70-100K... :sweats: laugh.gif

I guess he's not demanding...so maybe just a good simple budget system...20k is very doable...

119 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:10 AM