AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

OPT
post Apr 18 2016, 03:59 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

I have a Harman Kardon AVR 156 coupled with Jamo S626HCS... bought the HK together with JBL SCS 200.5 but already sold the JBL and bought this Jamo.

The JBL satellite sounded less bodied and hence I tried Jamo (but without a sub). Feels that Jamo is far superior but still no oomph without a sub...

Now seriously thinking of getting a sub sad.gif

Any suggestions?

OPT
post Apr 18 2016, 04:10 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 18 2016, 04:05 PM)
What's your budget for the sub?

Before anything else, are you sure your settings are properly setup? You're not using subs, so ideally your fronts should be "Large" in your AVR setting. I'm just presuming because if you changed nothing from your JBL SCS200.5 setup before, it could mean that your speaker settings are still set to "Small" with a very high crossover value.
Actually I'm quite noob in this..

Yes, I've read about Large/small setting. I have tried to listen to large/small...not sure in the end which setting I've gone with laugh.gif Most likely it's Large.

By the way, how about the frequencies for the front/middle/surround?

I will check again tonight. Thanks.

OPT
post Apr 18 2016, 07:25 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 18 2016, 06:48 PM)
It depends. There's no one size fit all crossover freq. for everyone.
There are just too many variables, but the good starting point is 80hz if you have a sub. But since you're using your front towers as the low-end, then you'll need to experiment a bit.

Personally I'd suggest getting a sub would if movies/games are your main content sources. I'm not sure how strong that power supply is in your HK amp, so driving all your speakers full range is not really a good idea in the first place anyways.
The default was Large and 100Hz. I experimented with Small, 80Hz and Small, 60Hz...I found Small, 60Hz was giving more bass. All these is without subwoofer.

I will try again tonight smile.gif

Update: It's Large and 100Hz now. Mainly into movies, the sub should do good sad.gif

This post has been edited by OPT: Apr 19 2016, 06:05 AM
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 09:10 AM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 19 2016, 08:51 AM)
Since it's large , and you don't have a sub, does it matter what Hz you crossover ?
I don't' really know.

The frequencies basically just gives louder/more bass at a lower volume only I guess. By the way, I can't really switched on a louder volume when I watch the movies 😅...Directive from the Home Minister

This post has been edited by OPT: Apr 19 2016, 09:11 AM
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 03:32 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 19 2016, 10:06 AM)
Without a Sub :-

1) When you set your Speakers to  large, all frequencies are directed to your Speakers. So your Speakers get the full range. However the very low Bass (.1-LFE channel from 5.1 movies)  which is exclusive to only a SUB will be missing. That's why you are missing the Oomph you mentioned.

2) When you set to Small, Whatever Hz you set will be directed to your Sub and cut-off from your Speakers. So you won't get the full range from your speakers. And since you don't have Sub, those frequencies will be completely missing from your hearing. Not to mention, the .1 LFE will be missing as well.  Double Oomph gone.
Wow.

Thanks for the detailed explanation.

Question, assuming the movie files are small, 700mb-ish, which are mainly 2ch 720p, I guess the sound quality is terrible to begin with. Any suggestions? thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 09:25 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 19 2016, 08:19 PM)
Those are mainly 2ch AAC which shows up as PCM in your AVR. You can't do much about the sound quality as they come form all types of questionable sources, a lot of phone camera recordings even.

If the sound is too soft you could try to pre-amplify the sound by using the Manual Vol control of your Media Player device, before outputting to the AVR.

Or if your your HK speakers are full 5 pc set. then you can simulate 5.0 channels with one of your AVR Virtual surround modes like DPL II etc. Only by trial and error will you know they sound better or worse.
Yeah, sound quality is nothing great even though they are Bluray rips blush.gif

HK have the Logic 7 sound simulation, or I can use the DPL II. Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 10:05 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 19 2016, 09:52 PM)
If BD ripped as iso you will get the same as playing back from BD. Of course the file size will be like 35GB for 1 movie
Yes, if they are ISO files. I normally go for compressed files (YIFY, etc) blush.gif
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 10:23 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 19 2016, 10:17 PM)
Before I forget, your HK AVR might have the feature to send the lfe channel to the front L/R. Make sure you set your Subwoofer to None and your Speakers to large, if you have not already done so.
It's always been that way icon_rolleyes.gif
OPT
post Apr 19 2016, 10:37 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 19 2016, 10:31 PM)
But then you are watching only Stereo movies, which won't have the Lfe, so won't make a diff.
LOL. Guess so. The HK Logic 7 helps...a bit tongue.gif
OPT
post Apr 30 2016, 11:08 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 30 2016, 08:42 PM)
I'm aware of DTS support but it only can if I play DTS from DVD. I'm using media player. If I set it to bitstream, no sound will come out. I'm using optical cable from media player to HTiB. If Dolby, no problem at all.

Regarding my question, if I want to setup a new HT, what is a minimum budget I need to allocate? At least it can give me a bit of idea about budget. At least the AVR i buy will give a same result if not better compared to my HTiB. If I know about budget, then I can plan to start saving from now. I don't need a big speakers but at least it can coop with the load from AVR.
Sharing my experience...

I bought 1.6k Harman Kardon AVR + 5.1 satellite speakers...display unit few years back (what a bargain!)

Later, I found the satellite's not to my liking, but decent speakers are quite expensive (in my opinion..), so I browsed through mudah.my for used speakers and found a Jamo 3 speakers (center+2 front floorstanding only sad.gif) for 900. I purchased it.

Later I put my satellites in mudah and sold them for 1.3k...and later i bought new Jamo surround bookshelf for 600.

Very happy with what i have for now, though no sub.

I would advise to go for a decent AVR and slowly upgrade the speakers smile.gif

This post has been edited by OPT: May 1 2016, 08:24 AM
OPT
post May 1 2016, 08:28 AM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 1 2016, 02:12 AM)
Actually it was a common issue for Panasonic system via optical. I read it in AVS forum.

I.think its not easy to find a secondhand avr and speaker. I lurking at Onkyo and Denon website. The price is around 2k-3k. May I know where can I check the speakers info? Only found a few in lazada.
I'd suggest Mudah website or hifi.net (or something like that...)

IMHO, AVRs and speakers are quite long lasting. Shouldn't be an issue with display or used unit.

Desa Home Theater sometimes sell these new units at quite a bargain...
OPT
post May 11 2016, 09:23 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

I have a Jamo HCS S626 for about 6-7 months now...pairing with HK receiver

Somehow, feels a bit lacking in oomph...

Is it common to always want a better HT?
OPT
post May 11 2016, 10:08 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ May 11 2016, 09:29 PM)
its never ending upgrading rolleyes.gif
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
OPT
post May 17 2016, 09:41 AM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 17 2016, 03:54 AM)
😊 too many poison in my head now haha hope not burn my pocket out http://vbizz.com/spk51wn-5ch-speaker-packa...alnut-5073.html just saw few 5.1 speakers within my budget mayb abit over 2.5k.. http://vbizz.com/spk160rw-5ch-speaker-package-5071.html searching keep going on...feel like wanna try the floor type 5.1 the Yamaha np40 I think for living room abit small..the spk51 price around rm1500 if i can get a avr for rm1400 it will be around rm2900...most probably will get it on Raya corner..😋
Now you are talking!

Yes, there are bargains around. Any of these will blow the HTiB away rclxms.gif
OPT
post May 17 2016, 09:43 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ May 17 2016, 08:11 PM)
The sound will be totally unbalanced. Absolutely no space on the left and free open area on the right, extending towards the back. I suggest better get a HTiB and be done with it  smile.gif . Save you a whole lot of money.
I have owned a HTiB, satellites and floorstanding/bookshelf.

HTiB is only slightly better than TV speakers. Satellites plus a sub is few notch better than HTiB.

IMHO, if you are really going for a HTiB, might as well just use the TV speakers.

OPT
post May 19 2016, 05:53 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

Besides Yamaha, Onkyo, Pioneer, Marantz, Denon...no one considered Harman Kardon?

Btw, I'm using an older entry level HK AVR 156. Personally think it's not bad... thumbsup.gif
OPT
post Jun 12 2016, 09:56 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 10 2016, 10:30 AM)
11street is middle man or drop shipping. behind has a real seller which not reveal identity.

any issue hapen, middle man wont care much. so do u care ma?
scam. damaged postage, not deliver on time. out of stok. slow refund. u tanggung.

cheap2 item no issue la. big item i wont buy fron these middle man website.
I think my experience so far ok with 11street. Need to check the review/comments section.

Normally cheap/bargain items will be hot sellers, meaning a lot of buyers. You can see their comments (item received fast/item received in good condition/etc)

I for one have no issue buying from them.
OPT
post Oct 5 2016, 02:11 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(kanasai @ Oct 3 2016, 01:23 AM)
I don't have a good actual photo with full view of my living room. Here's the 3D rendering by my ID and what I have so far of my actual living hall, which should be good enough to give you an idea on the space. Overall, it isn't very spacious and it is a constraint.

3D Rendering
Actual photo with partial view. The edge on the right hand side of the picture is pretty much where the wall is, which my couch will be up against it.
Ini macam guna SVS...the tenant below your unit will hate you tongue.gif
OPT
post May 14 2017, 05:22 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ May 14 2017, 05:20 PM)
Nothing. Just upgraded my TV so now looking for better sound system.

At first looking at soundbar, so far 1 have these 3 in mind:

Samsung HW-K551
Sonos Playbar
Sony HT-CT-390

Then, of course got poisoned to look at AVR, so far keeping these in compare list

Marantz NR1506
Yamaha RX-V381
Denon AVR-1713

All basically entry model, I try to keep budget below 3k with speakers.

Haven't decided which speaker to buy. Once I decided with AVR, then will start to look for speakers.
Soundbar and AVR different class....

Straight go for AVR, if not next time need to spend more to upgrade whistling.gif
OPT
post Jul 8 2017, 10:31 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 8 2017, 05:19 PM)
Yup...my window... perhaps it has some flaws, the bass just pushes it over...

Realistically you need some headroom with power & LFE...so the adage of "can't have too much bass" is true...you can always tune it down, but if you don't have enough you'll be "stuck"... like SSJBen with his SB1000 until he upgraded...

So my advice is to evaluate your room and it's response and then decide how loud and how low you wanna go, then only find the sub to match it... remember also two subs is "better" than one, so sometimes 2x RM1.6~1.8k may be better than 1x RM4K sub for some people and their needs...

As for risk of damage... a lot can be managed, others just have to try your luck lor... biggrin.gif
No window grill?

Very rare to see such in Msia... thumbsup.gif

0.1341sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:33 PM