AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

dirtrun
post Apr 28 2016, 04:26 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Apr 28 2016, 04:16 PM)
$5500 USD, very cheap for reference series plus 2 subwoofers. Anybody use this before?

LOL..

RM20k is cheep... biggrin.gif
But seriously... I hvnt got it but rvws dont actually like klpsch subs..

tongue.gif
D
PS :
To add if u list spkrs as large n full range oso means u r taxing ur avr's amps in tat it has to supply pwr to drv ur low end instead of letting LFE be handled by itw own power sourced active sub - note tat even flagship avrs are not powerhouses in any rvw - they only look gud on paper..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Apr 28 2016, 04:29 PM
dirtrun
post May 5 2016, 03:35 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 5 2016, 07:49 AM)
I wonder if anyone consider this speakers for a low to medium performance HT system. its mount in ceiling and looks neat and nice. the review says its good.

I wonder if anyone install this and is it suitable for our plaster ceiling ?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000O3TFZO/?tag=constop-20

FWIW,

I got tis :

JBL in-ceiling spkrs

l tried em by substitutin it for my fronts [ plugged in de fronts red/blck bananas ] ; it was all for a little while so l guess its not a real honest to goodness trial but it sounded tinny - l suspect its lack of bracing and box contributes to tis..
For wat its intended for [ overhead spkrs once ; if ever ; l do go atmos route..] , l guess it wont be too shabby..
But l wont go tis route for proper boxed spkrs for surrs - l prefer to know exactly where my sound is coming from boom/bang bass included..

D

dirtrun
post May 5 2016, 03:42 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 5 2016, 03:28 PM)
Need some advice from the gurus here.

A friend wants to sell me his Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 (2013 model) for RM1,750.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V371 (entry level Year 2011 model) and Tannoy Mercury V4 floor-standers with a 12" subwoofer. Plan to get the Tannoy centre & rear speakers soon. I don't foresee going beyond 5.1 anytime soon but having a 7.1 capable AVR wouldn't hurt.

So my question is whether the A1020 is worth it for the price and will it make any difference compared to my current AVR?
Or should I just get the 2016 model RX-V481 (not available yet) which will cost around the same price but have newer functions like hdcp 2.2, hdmi 2.0 and more network functions compared to the Aventage?

My 2 cts worth,

Buying used is all about timing .. do u find tis model appealing, sonically? It shld have more 'muscle' than wat u are used to.. Do u need de xtra juice?
Do u need the 2016 functions you mentioned? If so, then you already answered your own question..

For me, a more upmarket model is always better than a newer model budget amp..

To me.. tongue.gif
D

dirtrun
post May 5 2016, 04:38 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 5 2016, 04:15 PM)
Can't really say much about the sonic appeal coz I have listened to it with some nice PSB speakers for a while but not with my Tannoys. Can't really say that I can make out any difference in terms of sound quality.
My current AVR drives the Tannoys well but I have no idea whether a better AVR with more power will make a noticeable difference.
Compared to my current AVR which has no network function/on-screen display, this Aventage seems good with LAN port and OSD. Wireless & bluetooth is lacking but i guess I can live with that. The main drawback is that newer 4k hdmi standards are not supported.

If I get a 2016 model AVR, I will get the full 4k hdmi support and probably wireless support as well but the power will be less.

I was also having the same thought as you to get a more upmarket amp. What do you think about the price? Does it seem reasonable?
On paper,

A double pwr [watts] will only give a 3 db gain - all tings considered but tats outrite power not de small nuances a better power generates on your spkr - de only way to knw is to plug it in n hear for yourslf - personally l tink itll be a little difference only..

I cant answer for you but if l were to upgrade my avr now [ 7002 ] , l would be looking for an atmos/dts X capable one..
N since l am used to my ol ones sound - l guess a budget one is out of d question..

Price for d used yammy .. hmmnn, how much was it, new? Shld at least be half price - less is better cos if anyting goes wrong.. well.. it all adds up..

tongue.gif
D
dirtrun
post May 6 2016, 08:32 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 5 2016, 08:24 PM)
I would never compromise the front. I am using B&W for the front and mid and a audiopro 12" for the sub.

I am just think if the surround or atmos can be ceiling mounted
I hv a frnd who has B&W ceiling spkrs as surrs in his Media Room n .. to me, its a compromise, at best [all for WAF.. l guess]..
as it isnt half as gud as my own 4 SBS-01 surrs.. I went from Jbl Control 1's to tis n it gvs a much fuller comprehensive sound then satts [size does count, in the end]
So.. to me unless WAF or aesthetics play a pivotal role in your decision, l'd avoid ceiling spkrs as surrounds.. too..

D
dirtrun
post May 12 2016, 08:19 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ May 11 2016, 09:23 PM)
I have a Jamo HCS S626 for about 6-7 months now...pairing with HK receiver

Somehow, feels a bit lacking in oomph...

Is it common to always want a better HT?
Hell.. yeah..

Especially if u always go to AV shows and other rich friends place - n then come home to compare..

cool2.gif
D
dirtrun
post May 18 2016, 04:57 PM

3,136 posts

Satellite means just tat - small, lite..
Bkshlvs are smallish spkrs but bigger - able to place on a bookshelf..

I personally prefer a bkshlf.. soundwise..
I tink u can still mount a surr to an existing wall [ even if its not equal distance from ur MLP.. ] - its not perfect but itll work..
Of cos, 3.1 is a lot easier ..
I guess its up 2 u.. where theres a will, theres always a way..

Editted to add :
N since u r a beginner n probably dunno wat u like, buyin new is kinda waste - go used ; any decent bkshlv is worth a listen..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: May 18 2016, 04:59 PM
dirtrun
post May 19 2016, 10:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 19 2016, 06:34 AM)
Yup I think I can do a 3.1 also but it wont perfect that's true..just scared to buy used unit that's all didn't have experienced 😋
Spkrs.. unless thrashed real bad can last a long time.. its not a bad decision to get used spkrs.. if u r totally new in tis ; go try out those tat hv been traded in [from d bigger shops] n ask for some form of warranty - at least u knw u can change em if there is a problm once u get home..
Asking for opinions n reading rvws can only go so far becos in de end, u hv to be the one living wif ur decision..
N believe me - if u hv no idea wat u like now ; eventually u would wanna change once u know.. at least if u go 'Used', its not tat painful..
Oso.. in tis case - expensive is not necesarily de best - at least for u..

Spkng thru xperience..
D
dirtrun
post May 20 2016, 01:28 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 20 2016, 05:18 AM)
Noted 😋 thank you...one more doubt pre amp is for more better music output its like avr connected to pre amp

Its not all about music..

A pre / processor oso leaves de hard work of powering the spkrs to the power amps.. I run a Marantz 7002 with a Rotel pwr amp n even thou on paper my amp outputs only 100 wts / channel while my supposedly more powerful avr , at [ l tink , forget liao.. ] 130.. my spkrs still sing.. heck l personally tink its more all rounded as in its got more heft at midrange..
Wat l am trying to say is tat avr power figures are best considered wif a grain of salt - power amp figures on the other hand is more trustworthy.. so look for a pre function for ur avr instead of being tied dwn wif one tat is wifout..

D

dirtrun
post May 27 2016, 08:13 AM

3,136 posts

The Receiver in Audio Video Receiver is supposed to be a FM receiver..

Subwoofer design is the least of your worries..
I hv a sealed Rythmik F15 - front firing and an ol SvS PB12+ - downfiring one and they sound a tad different but not to the extent tat it matters even if l use both together..
Personally room modes and subwoofer positioning should be more of a concern..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 10 2016, 10:38 AM

3,136 posts

Center speaker should match with your mains [ LR ]
If you can afford it, get exactly the same for all 3 LCR..
dirtrun
post Aug 10 2016, 05:23 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(myxery @ Aug 10 2016, 04:36 PM)
how to match the speaker? what parameter need to look for? Frequency response?
Same range.. for de similar driver characteristics
Or better exactly the same.. meaning get 2 sets [2 X LR] of same speaker then use 3 of these and keep one unit as spare.. If floorstanders use 3 x..
dirtrun
post Aug 11 2016, 08:09 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(myxery @ Aug 10 2016, 07:57 PM)
if floorstander, how to put 3rd one? its gonna be a huge speaker
where theres a will, theres always a way..

In this case a solo Tannoy M4 flanked by a pair of M5 [LR]..
dirtrun
post Aug 12 2016, 03:31 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Aug 11 2016, 11:15 PM)
That's sound promising.

Dont buy speakers based on reviews.. listen first [if possible for long whiles..] ; you'd be surprised you don't like a uber expensive model with the overflowing reviews..

dirtrun
post Aug 17 2016, 05:08 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(rizal77 @ Aug 17 2016, 04:59 PM)
wow, that's quite a mouthful I say...
Believed me, u are one of those people that can make people buy things that they dont want to buy...hahahahah
thank you SSJBen, thank you for the info
LOL,

You make him sound like a Whats Hi-Fi review guide.. Keke smile.gif
Better you go listen for yourself first before you plonk your money down..
dirtrun
post Sep 15 2016, 02:26 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Sep 15 2016, 12:52 AM)
Actually the matte type xls is out of stock and only b stock available so fx20 offer me to let go a set of special edition xls but u have to buy xcs too its a set and abit expensive because of the paint..total I pay RM2780..I'm still saving up for avr..Yamaha or pioneer is my choice hope to get better deal..actually my plan is to grab Yamaha 679 but because of the xcs i have to drop the plan to get avr and saving up now...will look for any promo around or year end sales😊
So,

You actually bought tis set of spkrs without hearing it ; just based on reviews.. rite?

dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 02:51 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Oct 6 2016, 06:12 PM)
Why not buy from Amazon
N this dont include Shipping..
Oso dont forget Kastam duties if kena..
N last [but worse] if kena Sirim cert queries..
dirtrun
post Oct 11 2016, 09:06 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 7 2016, 04:37 PM)
as i know wireless device sure kena sirim and skmm. normal device not heard of
Luck..

If unlucky, semua kena... its not tat expensive but the hassle of it all.. sighss..
dirtrun
post Dec 6 2016, 05:02 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 4 2016, 03:49 PM)
Yeah my subwoofer died many years ago and I didn't replace it.
If 5" woofer is smallish, how about Wharfedale Crystal 30.3 at rm999?

If you come here n ask..

All the other subs are simply not HT material..
Simply save for an used SvS - even sealed is loads better .. for HT..

dirtrun
post May 16 2017, 12:08 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ May 14 2017, 05:36 PM)
That is what I thought, but everywhere in LYN says if getting soundbar around 2k, AVR at that price range with 2.1 system is WAAAAAAAAAAAYYY better.

So, now I am confused, again. confused.gif
LOL,

Even 2.0 wif stereo amp oso better la than soundbar..

0.0795sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:27 AM