Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

TSDannyOP
post Sep 15 2016, 10:26 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 15 2016, 06:52 PM)
Man... no offense, but spending close to RM2K and can't even handle DTS in today's age, was a bad decision... There are 5.1 Home Theaters that come standard with HDMI inputs (minimum 2) and can handle DD, Dolby True HD, core DTS, DTS-HD, etc, which costs the same or even cheaper... Besides aesthetics, which to me is of a far lower priority, where sound is concerned.. I never did fancy soundbars and have considered them as overpriced.. Unfortunately, the purchase has been done... I'd advice, if you can't find an acceptable workaround on this... Sell off the soundbar and cut your losses... Get an entry-level AVR + speakers or a branded HT.. Much better performance.
agree ... soundbar really last resort.. if aesthetics is important can consider in wall speakers + avr.
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2016, 11:21 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 15 2016, 06:52 PM)
Man... no offense, but spending close to RM2K and can't even handle DTS in today's age, was a bad decision... There are 5.1 Home Theaters that come standard with HDMI inputs (minimum 2) and can handle DD, Dolby True HD, core DTS, DTS-HD, etc, which costs the same or even cheaper... Besides aesthetics, which to me is of a far lower priority, where sound is concerned.. I never did fancy soundbars and have considered them as overpriced.. Unfortunately, the purchase has been done... I'd advice, if you can't find an acceptable workaround on this... Sell off the soundbar and cut your losses... Get an entry-level AVR + speakers or a branded HT.. Much better performance.
soundbars have a unique market segment.

those who have used home theaters won't want it.

it's really for those with very tight spaces like small rooms, studio apts, etc.

miniaturization comes with a high cost.

and performance is certainly limited.

even if it can do hd audio, i simply cannot believe it will be good enough. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2016, 01:56 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Sep 17 2016, 04:07 AM)
I don't have a box, only installed the Kodi on the UE630X, and I can open and navigate through the Kodi fine.

Which air remote do you use? I'm thinking of getting the A2 - does that come with a USB receiver to plug at the USB port of the TV?

I will prefer going with a Build because of high learning curve in installing repos and selecting the addons - which one will you recommend?

Lastly, can you share what settings I will need to do for Kodi, i.e what is the known good practices?
for your sake, i just tried my hardly used mele f10x air mouse.

mouse and keyboard functions work fine on tv's kodi.

NotTheOne
post Sep 20 2016, 06:57 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 17 2016, 01:56 PM)
for your sake, i just tried my hardly used mele f10x air mouse.

mouse and keyboard functions work fine on tv's kodi.
excellent! thank you!!

amirsubhi
post Sep 25 2016, 01:55 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

can I know UE630X android version is it 5.0 above?
AVFAN
post Sep 25 2016, 10:05 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Sep 25 2016, 01:55 AM)
can I know  UE630X android version is it 5.0 above?
Sky.Live
post Sep 27 2016, 10:40 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Ue630x seems a bit dated but it seems it is one of the best android powered tv around, the panel is quite good too.. THinking of getting the 58" any other worthy competitor?
Bliz
post Sep 28 2016, 09:40 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 27 2016, 10:40 PM)
Ue630x seems a bit dated but it seems it is one of the best android powered tv around, the panel is quite good too.. THinking of getting the 58" any other worthy competitor?
GEMfive selling for RM4699 for this model, with voucher can discount up to RM250 so the price is very tempting.
qwan1101
post Sep 28 2016, 12:21 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Sep 28 2016, 09:40 AM)
GEMfive selling for RM4699 for this model, with voucher can discount up to RM250 so the price is very tempting.
If fund available..... just grab it.... memang puas hati dengan display 4K dan android di dalamnya..... tak perlu dekoder MYTV sbb ada digital tuner juga inside.... boleh tengok local digital channel....

just 4 info (the android must be restarted/reboot once in a while)... compared to other android box that is not a problem for me....
qkumba
post Sep 28 2016, 03:25 PM

133 posts

How do u guys get those gemfive or 11street voucher?
AVFAN
post Sep 28 2016, 03:38 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 28 2016, 12:21 PM)
If fund available..... just grab it.... memang puas hati dengan display 4K dan android di dalamnya..... tak perlu dekoder MYTV sbb ada digital tuner juga inside.... boleh tengok local digital channel....
this still requires wired connection to external antenna, right?

the usual rooftop antenna will do?
Bliz
post Sep 28 2016, 09:22 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 28 2016, 12:21 PM)

just 4 info (the android must be restarted/reboot once in a while)... compared to other android box that is not a problem for me....
Already using the 58inches model bought for RM4999 last month cry.gif
voncrane
post Sep 28 2016, 11:30 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(qkumba @ Sep 28 2016, 03:25 PM)
How do u guys get those gemfive or 11street voucher?
There's a thread or two in the Kopitiam section.. Hang around there..
qwan1101
post Sep 29 2016, 12:03 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 28 2016, 03:38 PM)
this still requires wired connection to external antenna, right?

the usual rooftop antenna will do?
for my ue630x.... i just use a wire (antenna wire only) connected at the backside....

i don't use any antennae (just an antenna cable i bought from SuperSave store/DIY/100% store).. i just put the cable bahind the tv without any antennae....

kalau ada antennae indoor lama boleh guna...

my SIARAN UJIAN DTT channel (local digital channel) still look clear without any noise... how awesome is this tv....

example (just wire/cable only)
AVFAN
post Sep 29 2016, 01:43 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 29 2016, 12:03 PM)
for my ue630x.... i just use a wire (antenna wire only) connected at the backside....

i don't use any antennae (just an antenna cable i bought from SuperSave store/DIY/100% store).. i just put the cable bahind the tv without any antennae....

kalau ada antennae indoor lama boleh guna...

my SIARAN UJIAN DTT channel (local digital channel) still look clear without any noise... how awesome is this tv....

example (just wire/cable only)
using something like this?

or DIY own "antenna"... what wire u use for the other end?

AVFAN
post Oct 2 2016, 07:30 PM

24,453 posts

here's one simple apk for you to install on the tv's android.

plenty of live tv channels BUT in SD only.

http://www.uktvnow.net/download.php

qwan1101
post Oct 5 2016, 08:48 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 29 2016, 01:43 PM)
using something like this?

or DIY own "antenna"... what wire u use for the other end?
I believe it will work with that indoor antennae....

My antennae just wire (just wire only), simple wire, connected to the backside of the tv....

AVFAN
post Oct 5 2016, 09:43 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Oct 5 2016, 08:48 AM)
I believe it will work with that indoor antennae....

My antennae just wire (just wire only), simple wire, connected to the backside of the tv....
ok, thanks.

qwan1101
post Oct 11 2016, 01:06 PM

59 posts

Hello..

Anyone able to use "STARZ" app with this tv?

I'm able to download the app from the TV PLAYSTORE, successfully login, however when playing any VIDEO there will be an error sign... "There is an error with playback, please try again"

When i just use my phone/tablet, with STARZ app I'm able to play the video. (using the phone/tablet)

I wanna try using the STARZ app with the sharp tv, because the picture will be HD (or possible upscale to 4k), that's why i want to try....

GOOGLE CAST is fine from phone/tabler but the playback from phone/tablet is just terrible.... not HD.. even the tv try to upscale....

Anyone able to use the STARZ app? please guide me....

AVFAN
post Oct 11 2016, 03:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Oct 11 2016, 01:06 PM)
Hello..

Anyone able to use "STARZ" app with this tv?

I'm able to download the app from the TV PLAYSTORE, successfully login, however when playing any VIDEO there will be an error sign... "There is an error with playback, please try again"

When i just use my phone/tablet, with STARZ app I'm able to play the video. (using the phone/tablet)

I wanna try using the STARZ app with the sharp tv, because the picture will be HD (or possible upscale to 4k), that's why i want to try....

GOOGLE CAST is fine from phone/tabler but the playback from phone/tablet is just terrible.... not HD.. even the tv try to upscale....

Anyone able to use the STARZ app? please guide me....
i don't see that app on the tv playstore.

if it is there, should be able to play like netflix, at least during free trial.

unless like some apps like CW, it requires USA IP, etc.

85 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:19 PM