Minolta
post Mar 1 2023, 09:57 AM

2,292 posts

Wanna ask opinion. For 85” TV, i saw 2 options for about rm7k

1. Hisense 85” A7H LED
2. Haier 85” SUG5 PRO QLED

Based on paper specs, seems like the Haier is better. But i cannot find any reviews on it online. Would like to ask if anyone has experience with Haier TVs. Thank you 🙏
NotTheOne
post Aug 25 2023, 01:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 21 2022, 12:04 AM)
Still working v gud.

YouTube v2.17.006.

Disney+, unifitv all good.

TV is still superb for everything except non HDR.

I m surprised it lasted so long!!
Dear AVFAN and others still using ue630x

I am struggling and frustrated because I just did a system Factory reset.
Because Disney+ was giving me error and refuse to play. Occasionally the YouTube app will crash too
Now, after reset, the UI looks dated and even checking the network update it says updated.

Play store Version: 35.2.19-23 [8][PR] 522404461

Android security patch 1 Jan2018

Version 6.0.1
Build 31200 MUC91 release-keys

Please help guys. I have done hard reset of TV, internet etc
AVFAN
post Aug 25 2023, 03:55 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Aug 25 2023, 01:17 PM)
Dear AVFAN and others still using ue630x

I am struggling and frustrated because I just did a system Factory reset.
Because Disney+ was giving me error and refuse to play. Occasionally the YouTube app will crash too
Now, after reset, the UI looks dated and even checking the network update it says updated.

Play store Version: 35.2.19-23 [8][PR] 522404461

Android security patch 1 Jan2018

Version 6.0.1
Build 31200 MUC91 release-keys
Please help guys. I have done hard reset of TV, internet etc
the patch n build looks correct, let me check...

go to playstore and reinstall/update the apps u use.

the tv is still good, i am still using it, works v well, incl all the streaming apps! thumbsup.gif

update:

version n build are same as mine.

BUT playstore version, i hv 37.0.16-23[8][PR]553874651

try to update playstore, then the other apps.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 25 2023, 05:53 PM
NotTheOne
post Aug 26 2023, 12:13 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 25 2023, 03:55 PM)

the tv is still good, i am still using it, works v well, incl all the streaming apps! :thumbsup:
update:

Hi bro AVFAN

I have no qualms on TV performance even before factory reset. The fear is Android version 6.01 is stopping Playstore to get updated.
In fact when I enter YouTube in the search box, nothing shows up. Even installed Disney+ and kept getting network error screen after multiple attempt to log in (successful) but then get Network error when try to play.

How do I update Playstore? I think I'm missing something here.

After factory reset I go through all steps and so something could be interrupted during my Android installation maybe?

Thanks again. I suspect others may also be facing my internet instability issue. Although I have confirmed that internet hardware and cables are 100%
AVFAN
post Aug 26 2023, 10:48 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Aug 26 2023, 12:13 AM)
Hi bro AVFAN

I have no qualms on TV performance even before factory reset. The fear is Android version 6.01 is stopping Playstore to get updated.
In fact when I enter YouTube in the search box, nothing shows up. Even installed Disney+ and kept getting network error screen after multiple attempt to log in (successful) but then get Network error when try to play.

How do I update Playstore? I think I'm missing something here.

After factory reset I go through all steps and so something could be interrupted during my Android installation maybe?

Thanks again. I suspect others may also be facing my internet instability issue. Although I have confirmed that internet hardware and cables are 100%
android6 is still in use, shud be ok for another few years.

since my playstore is working, u shud be able to get same.

go to playstore, open it. it may prompt u to update the app itself.

when done, go to right right icon, manage apps, see what apps need updating, update all.

make sure internet connection is ready n good for tv updates.

i realize i also run into problems sometimes but i think it's due to weak internet connection, tv not used too often.

that does not allow enough time n opportunity for the tv to do auto update which u can set under settings.
NotTheOne
post Aug 28 2023, 03:02 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 25 2023, 03:55 PM)

the tv is still good, i am still using it, works v well, incl all the streaming apps! :thumbsup:
update:

Yes confirm issue is playstore
As even after update YouTube doesn't even show up in the search box. The default YouTube icon present on home screen doesn't open saying "this action is not allowed"

Basically Disney+ and Netflix also doesn't work. So might need to buy a simple Android box to use as proxy

If anyone finds a fix please let me know as this TV video and audio quality is better than Sony similar specs and size.
AVFAN
post Aug 28 2023, 03:38 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Aug 28 2023, 03:02 PM)
Yes confirm issue is playstore
As even after update YouTube doesn't even show up in the search box. The default YouTube icon present on home screen doesn't open saying "this action is not allowed"

Basically Disney+ and Netflix also doesn't work. So might need to buy a simple Android box to use as proxy

If anyone finds a fix please let me know as this TV video and audio quality is better than Sony similar specs and size.
playstore app doesn't prompt u to update anything, incl itself?

if so, it looks like a complicated problem.

use of android box - youtube can be obtained easily although not all boxes will give u 1080p.

Google certified boxes are available, they shud be able to do all that u get on the TV - all the certified AndroidTV apps.

i updated all apps a few days ago, all is good now incl netflix, disney+, iqiyi, youtube, unifitv.

i have used boxes for more than a decade. now, i prefer AndroidTV or GoogleTV for convenience. Boxes for local playback only.

yes, this TV is a good one; even as non HDR, it produces decent PQ for HDR videos if u set mode to dynamic (set yr own).
NotTheOne
post Aug 28 2023, 03:55 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 28 2023, 03:38 PM)
playstore app doesn't prompt u to update anything, incl itself?

if so, it looks like a complicated problem.
use of android box - youtube can be obtained easily although not all boxes will give u 1080p.

Google certified boxes are available, they shud be able to do all that u get on the TV - all the certified AndroidTV apps.

i updated all apps a few days ago, all is good now incl netflix, disney+, iqiyi, youtube, unifitv.

i have used boxes for more than a decade. now, i prefer AndroidTV or GoogleTV for convenience. Boxes for local playback only.
yes, this TV is a good one; even as non HDR, it produces decent PQ for HDR videos if u set mode to dynamic (set yr own).
Yes I've been using Unblocktech ubox 3 (5years old very old box) without issue for the all around world channels. Including Malaysian Astro sports channels. Only issue it buffers. All China channels are better especially if you wanna follow any badminton.

Anyway. Reason I want to get new tv box is YouTube and Disney+ doesn't work properly on the ubox3. Netflix works well.

After i factory reset the TV. I did nothing different except connect LAN and sign on Google to setup. Update the Playstore 8apps and YouTube doesn't even show in it. Netflix is March 2023 update so I am guessing it will work better on TV. Only issue is the remote is slow and loading on TV also a bit slow. Unless do you use an Air mouse? The air mouse I use doesn't really respond for going back or to previous screen.

I have to check out what is iqiyi.
But for now main thing is I have to figure out how to solve this simple YouTube not working problem in the mean time waiting to buy simple TV box which allows Chrome browser and also YouTube. I heard YouTube isn't issue nowadays on most boxes but Chrome browser isn't straightforward.
AVFAN
post Aug 28 2023, 04:08 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Aug 28 2023, 03:55 PM)
Yes I've been using Unblocktech ubox 3 (5years old very old box) without issue for the all around world channels. Including Malaysian Astro sports channels. Only issue it buffers. All China channels are better especially if you wanna follow any badminton.

Anyway. Reason I want to get new tv box is YouTube and Disney+ doesn't work properly on the ubox3. Netflix works well.

After i factory reset the TV. I did nothing different except connect LAN and sign on Google to setup. Update the Playstore 8apps and YouTube doesn't even show in it. Netflix is March 2023 update so I am guessing it will work better on TV. Only issue is the remote is slow and loading on TV also a bit slow. Unless do you use an Air mouse? The air mouse I use doesn't really respond for going back or to previous screen.

I have to check out what is iqiyi.
But for now main thing is I have to figure out how to solve this simple YouTube not working problem in the mean time waiting to buy simple TV box which allows Chrome browser and also YouTube. I heard YouTube isn't issue nowadays on most boxes but Chrome browser isn't straightforward.
for youtube, i did a manual reinstallation. i wrote this in jan: biggrin.gif
i manually installed YouTube v2.17.006 a year ago, still good now."
dunno if it has updated itself, need to check.

i hv used air mouse before but not necessary on this tv as it is built on ATV, remote can do all.
u can consider chromecast dongle which essentially turn a TV into smart ATV, google certified.
never used one, no idea about price or reliability.

iqiyi is a chinese video app, like wetv, mangotv - these are all on ATV, can subscribe locally with touchNgo.
i have it + netflix, disney+h becos of unifitv pack.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 28 2023, 04:09 PM
kimmiz
post Nov 27 2023, 02:53 PM

165 posts

I bought this Sharp Aquos LC-50UE630X back in 2016. It has been serving me very well until recently. Over the weekend, it suddenly didn't want to load. It got stuck at the Sharp logo. I tried to first Google for a solution and it was suggested that I reinstall the firmware via USB, but I couldn't find the firmware maybe since it's an old model.

I called Sharp up thinking that they could help, but that said they don't have any parts or firmware since it's an old model. They told me to buy a new TV. cry.gif

Can anyone help me? Anyone who know any technicians who can try to find a solution? I really don't want to buy a new TV now. cry.gif

This post has been edited by kimmiz: Nov 27 2023, 02:54 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 27 2023, 04:45 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(kimmiz @ Nov 27 2023, 02:53 PM)
I bought this Sharp Aquos LC-50UE630X back in 2016. It has been serving me very well until recently. Over the weekend, it suddenly didn't want to load. It got stuck at the Sharp logo. I tried to first Google for a solution and it was suggested that I reinstall the firmware via USB, but I couldn't find the firmware maybe since it's an old model.

I called Sharp up thinking that they could help, but that said they don't have any parts or firmware since it's an old model. They told me to buy a new TV.  cry.gif

Can anyone help me? Anyone who know any technicians who can try to find a solution? I really don't want to buy a new TV now.  cry.gif
From yr description, it is not a simple fault.

I had a similar problem with this model when it was quite new. Technician came to replace the motherboard under warranty.

This TV is a v gud one, mine still working well after 8 years. All Google apps still work, getting updates.

But if it fails, it's time to replace with new since no spare parts available.

NotTheOne
post Feb 13 2024, 05:23 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(kimmiz @ Nov 27 2023, 02:53 PM)

I called Sharp up thinking that they could help, but that said they don't have any parts or firmware since it's an old model. They told me to buy a new TV.  cry.gif

Can anyone help me? Anyone who know any technicians who can try to find a solution? I really don't want to buy a new TV now.  cry.gif
Sorry bro. I understand how it feels to feel helpless and to waste a good working TV just because of lazy staff and/or company policy

I just read this message of yours otherwise I would have shared a technician around KL who could have fixed it.

Let me know if you still want to fix it or if you have found the firmware. It is worth keeping it with me in case it is needed.

Btw bro AVFAN what is your suggestions for TV with close performance to this special Sharp one. No need be so high tech assuming the TVs now are in a different league. As long as still like this Sharp TV it will be ok as that means the price will be much lower than the fancy TVs
AVFAN
post Feb 14 2024, 10:28 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Feb 13 2024, 05:23 PM)
Sorry bro. I understand how it feels to feel helpless and to waste a good working TV just because of lazy staff and/or company policy

I just read this message of yours otherwise I would have shared a technician around KL who could have fixed it.

Let me know if you still want to fix it or if you have found the firmware. It is worth keeping it with me in case it is needed.

Btw bro AVFAN what is your suggestions for TV with close performance to this special Sharp one. No need be so high tech assuming the TVs now are in a different league. As long as still like this Sharp TV it will be ok as that means the price will be much lower than the fancy TVs
my ue630x is still functioning well, all apps working fine.

haven't looked for a new tv for a few years now but i m overall pleased with the sharps i have/had.

from the website, current 4kUHD lines are Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, Google TV which is what i wud want:
https://my.sharp/products/4k-uhd-tvs?filter...3A25%5D=23%3A25

one thing to keep in mind... if u r on unifitv pack + accompanied apps, GoogleTV or AndroidTV is very handy.

Netflix 4k will come out very nice with Atmos audio; all other apps work reliably, hassle free.

i had previously considered TCL C755 miniled but price is prohibitive.

when the time comes, I will revisit sharp and TCL, see how they stack up then.
NotTheOne
post Feb 15 2024, 11:07 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 14 2024, 10:28 AM)
my ue630x is still functioning well, all apps working fine.

haven't looked for a new tv for a few years now but i m overall pleased with the sharps i have/had.

from the website, current 4kUHD lines are Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, Google TV which is what i wud want:
https://my.sharp/products/4k-uhd-tvs?filter...3A25%5D=23%3A25

one thing to keep in mind... if u r on unifitv pack + accompanied apps, GoogleTV or AndroidTV is very handy.

Netflix 4k will come out very nice with Atmos audio; all other apps work reliably, hassle free.

i had previously considered TCL C755 miniled but price is prohibitive.

when the time comes, I will revisit sharp and TCL, see how they stack up then.
Just to share my observation on user experience and ease of connectivity with phones especially android.
LG TVs in my opinion are the best.
Literally just need to on your search device and cast to TV within seconds to be connected to mirror phone. Unlike Samsung TV which works mostly with Samsung phones. The LG TVs caring option is so sensors, so smooth and high definition. I was very impressed. Only requires 1 tap on phone to turn on casting to be connected especially if the phone recognizes previous connected TV.

However, LG TVs I terms of the video/audio quality leaves a lot to desired

A minimal 4k TV should be 1 step above the UE630x so perhaps the 4k model that succeeded the UE630x can be considered? Assuming it has ATV integrated where we won't even need separate ATV box for other apps.

More people on this thread should share their experiences and I look forward to reading them
peter32
post Feb 16 2024, 05:58 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Just share my simple experience in getting a replacement TV 2 months ago.
1. My old TV went 'popped', and off it went for good. I think it should be power unit issue but its been serving me for well above 8 years at least. It was a Toshiba X700 or some sort, very good natural colour reproduction.

2. Went around and looked around the prices. Initial target was to upgrade from 46' to, hopefully the ultimate OLED; Tentatively shortlisted 48' OLED which is within my budget.

3. After shortlisted from one of the electric shop at SS2 for an OLED 48' LG C3, wife suggested maybe we should look into bigger screen a little for a little bit more. So ended up travelling to One-U for product browsing. Me, being 'illiterate' at TV development for almost a decade, totally confused as to what constitute a 'good' replacement.

4. Browsing through lowyat, read a little, hunting around One U one afternoon. One Panasonic sales guy at AeonBig supermarket at the basement of one U had a nice chat about OLED, told me that the next best thing thats as good as OLED would be MiniLED. Ok so I scribbled down the word MiniLED and went upstair to look for new Panasonic miniLED since AeonBig has no such item, see if such item is indeed available and how bad the price could be.

5. Went upstair, one of the Best Denki LG salesman related to me the price of the items, but they did not have new unit around I think. Instead there is one ex display unit was on demo, which to be honest was pretty good to my amateur eye. The dark was dark, the colour was great. So I short listed it.

6. Did some reading on hp about the unit, seems to be pretty good ex display price, with decent price reduction from new price. Went back to Best Denki, sales guy showed me the item's display hours, it was about 2-3 mths old on display thus far, around 12 hours of display per day I reckon. So ok, ended up having this for replacement. The whole episode lasted just one afternoon of shop hunting.

7. the new TV is the LGQNED91, at 65', replacing the old 46' Toshiba. Only after that I went on youtube, getting to know more of this unit quality etc. I think its fair to say that at RM5000, this ex-display suits me well. And I can also recommend to look into this LG range of MiniLED, I think hardly anyone talked about LGQNED90 series of miniLED in lowyat to be honest.

8. Additional note: month later, I managed to figure out a way to hang this 65' TV on the gypsum board wall !! By using Geefix (purchased online directly from UK, cost around 16 pounds inclusive of shipment), and supported both TV and bracket on gypsum board wall ! Hiding away the cable behind the board. The total combined weight is about 30-32kg, yes on gypsum board wall ! I share the item demo here for those who want to figure out how to install TV bracket on fragile wall:

Youtube Link
NotTheOne
post Nov 26 2024, 05:19 PM

241 posts

Hi guys and gals. My LC50UE630X is not turning on and identified the problem to the inverter board. Technician is expert and offered to change it despite the economics not so convincing. Mahal.
But he confirmed this model screen is at par for color saturation and eye comfort/safety if compared to current TV models from Sony LG and Sharp.
So guys if you still have this TV please know that it is actually a very good one. Don't throw it away or replace it so quickly.

If you guys need recommendation for technician to repair. Please PM me and I will share as it may not be allowed to share contact here.

I read the YouTube playing and update above and I faced the same and was not able to resolve it
But I saw @AVFAN sharing a link to the solution so I shall try that and see if it solves it. For now I'm just playing YouTube on Android box.

This post has been edited by NotTheOne: Nov 26 2024, 05:19 PM
gobiomani
post Nov 29 2024, 06:21 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Nov 26 2024, 05:19 PM)
Hi guys and gals. My LC50UE630X is not turning on and identified the problem to the inverter board. Technician is expert and offered to change it despite the economics not so convincing. Mahal.
But he confirmed this model screen is at par for color saturation and eye comfort/safety if compared to current TV models from Sony LG and Sharp.
So guys if you still have this TV please know that it is actually a very good one. Don't throw it away or replace it so quickly.

If you guys need recommendation for technician to repair. Please PM me and I will share as it may not be allowed to share contact here.

I read the YouTube playing and update above and I faced the same and was not able to resolve it
But I saw @AVFAN sharing a link to the solution so I shall try that and see if it solves it. For now I'm just playing YouTube on Android box.
This TV is so old and so small. It doesn't even have HDR right? And the SOC for Android TV is so old tech and slow. It was just a mid-range TV back in 2015 that was good value for money coz there was not much competition at that time. Why not just spend the money to get a newer and bigger tv? You can get HDR with a brighter screen, faster SOC and better image processing.
spyderman88
post Nov 30 2024, 12:38 PM

42 posts

TV tech has advanced a lot...even entry model like TCL C655 offers better pq with wide color gamut DCI-P3 gamut coverage 95%, a 450 nits panel, out of box accuracy with deltaE less than 3 and support HDR, Dolby Vision formats.
In addition price is very competitive with special offer from time to time. Even the 55 inch model cost less than rm2k new with 2 years warranty.
AVFAN
post Nov 30 2024, 07:31 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Nov 26 2024, 05:19 PM)

nice to read about LC50UE630X! biggrin.gif

i dun remember all of it, but yes, get n install Utube version 2.17.006.

this is the version i hv now and is till working good!

this tv surprised me a lot - very long lasting after so many years and PQ is excellent for up to 4KSDR.

but too bad, no HDR and some apps don't appear in playstore anymore as it is Android 6.

QUOTE(spyderman88 @ Nov 30 2024, 12:38 PM)

TV tech has advanced a  lot...even entry model like TCL C655 offers better pq with wide color gamut DCI-P3 gamut coverage 95%, a 450 nits panel, out of box accuracy with deltaE less than 3 and support HDR, Dolby Vision formats.
In addition price is very competitive with special offer from time to time. Even the 55 inch model cost less than rm2k new with 2 years warranty.
been looking at TCL c755 as replacement... a matter of time.

85 Pages « < 83 84 85Top

0.0198sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:35 PM