Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

AVFAN
post Oct 24 2016, 10:21 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Oct 23 2016, 11:13 PM)
Wish TIME offered for landed house
TM will not give up monopoly for houses.

then again, if u hv unifi, 30mbps is fine for most homes.

i am using that, paying a little less than what i was paying for 10mbps before that.

hope not to pay too much more when the change to 50 or 100mbps comes.
ykgen
post Oct 24 2016, 11:02 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 22 2016, 01:03 AM)
the issues u raised are known.

firstly, tv's are not built with full media players; their capabilities are somewhat limited. some tv's do a better job than others.
sharp tv usb ports, from what i read, operate on a low power basis and are sensitive to formatting and partitioning types.
can't read large HDD with lots of folders and files; max i think is 2TB.
one possible way to get round it is to install es file explorer (from playstore) and play from there.

secondly, the android tv is not a full fledged android box. it can do most of the common stuff incl side load apps but not all of them. some are blocked by the security feature; some phone apps don't work well. sideloaded apps typically do not show up in the launcher; u need to go to settings option to access them. however, whatever is in playstore will work well, incl youtube and kodi, and will be displayed in the launcher.

personally, i like the androidtv for its simplicity. i only have a few apps installed but they work very well. for playback and others, i use a separate android box.
i only use netflix n youtube app on my android tv
AVFAN
post Oct 24 2016, 11:07 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Oct 24 2016, 11:02 AM)
i only use netflix n youtube app on my android tv
enjoy! biggrin.gif

these 2 are approved apps, get them in uhd4k.

and for netflix, dd5.1.

can't get the same quality with android boxes.

i stick in kodi and couple other live tv apps for convenience, no need to use another device.

been very good!
voncrane
post Oct 24 2016, 02:47 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 24 2016, 10:21 AM)
TM will not give up monopoly for houses.

then again, if u hv unifi, 30mbps is fine for most homes.

i am using that, paying a little less than what i was paying for 10mbps before that.

hope not to pay too much more when the change to 50 or 100mbps comes.
We Unifi users are still heavily shortchanged... Imagine, for the same amount (or just a little extra) you are currently paying for 30Mbps, you could be getting 300Mbps (x10!!)... For me, it'll be x30, cuz still on 10Mbps... So yeah, TIME covered areas rule.
AVFAN
post Oct 24 2016, 06:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 24 2016, 02:47 PM)
We Unifi users are still heavily shortchanged... Imagine, for the same amount (or just a little extra) you are currently paying for 30Mbps, you could be getting 300Mbps (x10!!)... For me, it'll be x30, cuz still on 10Mbps... So yeah, TIME covered areas rule.
Cant have it all. Highrise, u pay more for water, asessment rates.

The impt thing is the stability n consistency. I am quite happy to pay <rm200 a month for all entertainment, phone calls, emails, messaging, pc work for a dozen devices. More concerned with tnb bill!

voncrane
post Oct 24 2016, 11:48 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 24 2016, 06:03 PM)
Cant have it all. Highrise, u pay more for water, asessment rates.

The impt thing is the stability n consistency. I am quite happy to pay <rm200 a month for all entertainment, phone calls, emails, messaging, pc work for a dozen devices. More concerned with tnb bill!
This^^... No matter the promise of "achievable" speeds. I used to be quite happy to pay the current amount, until TIME dropped the news... Naturally, I think I blew a fuse upstairs... smile.gif Oh well, our dear PM & TM has promised (yeah, promises... ehh) that speeds will be doubled and prices slashed.. To which I reply, I'll believe it when I see it. They better not impose a quota.

P.S. Apologies for derailing the thread... Back to TV talk...

This post has been edited by voncrane: Oct 24 2016, 11:49 PM
Bullettt
post Oct 28 2016, 05:09 AM

Hi i bought the 630x sharp android tv. The biggest problem i facing is frequent dropped wifi connection? I had assign static ip and address reservation for it yet still facing this issue. Any idea how to resolve, modem is on 1st floor while tv is on grounf floor less than 3 meters away. Thank you
AVFAN
post Oct 28 2016, 10:33 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Bullettt @ Oct 28 2016, 05:09 AM)
Hi i bought the 630x sharp android tv. The biggest problem i facing is frequent dropped wifi connection? I had assign static ip and address reservation for it yet still facing this issue. Any idea how to resolve, modem is on 1st floor while tv is on grounf floor less than 3 meters away. Thank you
.. what made u say "frequent drop in wifi connection"? what app? from wifi analyzer?
.. how is wifi performance with other devices like pc, tablet, phone in the same position as the tv?
.. the space between router and tv - is it just a slab of rc concrete or other metallic structures?
.. what broadband, speed u using?
.. what router in use?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 28 2016, 10:39 AM
Bullettt
post Oct 28 2016, 01:07 PM

The wifi connection of the tv will just disconnect after few minutes, and i have to manually reconnect again.
Other devices no problem (pc, phones, tablets, cctv etc, apple tv and other android tv box.
Basic double story house, modem put near stair with the sharp android tv, ard 10 feet in front of stair.
Unifi 10, tp link modem updated, no problem with all other devices. Thanks.
I googled online saw quite a number of smart tv have this problem, incl. some android tv. Not sure if i am the only user of sharp 630x with this problem.
AVFAN
post Oct 28 2016, 01:53 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Bullettt @ Oct 28 2016, 01:07 PM)
The wifi connection of the tv will just disconnect after few minutes, and i have to manually reconnect again.
Other devices no problem (pc, phones, tablets, cctv etc, apple tv and other android tv box.
Basic double story house, modem put near stair with the sharp android tv, ard 10 feet in front of stair.
Unifi 10, tp link modem updated, no problem with all other devices. Thanks.
I googled online saw quite a number of smart tv have this problem, incl. some android tv. Not sure if i am the only user of sharp 630x with this problem.
from yr description, i can only suggest:

.. orientate the router antenna to different positions - to get a spherical or balloon coverage rather than a disc.
.. if changing router, go for a high power amplification one, e.g. from asus.
.. test the tv wifi with all devices shut down; 10mbps can be stretched too thin if all devices are on.
.. consider upgrading to 30mbps or higher.
.. run a LAN cable to see if ethernet works well or not on the tv.
.. 10mbps will not get youtube or netflix in 4k on the tv but should get 1080p if other devices are not on.

my tv is just a few feet horizontally from the asus router, always very strong, v good.

30mbps, i get sufficient wifi coverage over 50ft or 15m for all devices.

Bullettt
post Oct 28 2016, 01:58 PM

Thks avfan
hoe117
post Oct 29 2016, 10:47 PM

26 posts

Hi, recently I bought the Sharp 630x TV. I have a problem with the HDMI ARC port when connecting to my soundbar (with ARC function as well). At first it work, the sound can pass to the soundbar, and I can control soundbar volume from TV remote, and also turn off/on both devices using only TV remote.
But after that it start to have problem with the ARC function.

I've tried a few setting in the TV to fix it, but still unable.
1) Devices-->Audio Out-->HDMI/ARC (speaker select,audio setup)
2) Home-->Setting-->Preferences-->Inputs-->(CEC) Device Control Settings-->HDMI control/Device auto power off/TV auto power on

I have tried change HDMI cable, but problem still exist.

Anyone here have similar problem?
Any idea any other setting I can check/change in The TV to fix this? (imagine if soundbar in good condition)

AVFAN
post Oct 30 2016, 12:05 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Oct 29 2016, 10:47 PM)
Hi, recently I bought the Sharp 630x TV. I have a problem with the HDMI ARC port when connecting to my soundbar (with ARC function as well). At first it work, the sound can pass to the soundbar, and I can control soundbar volume from TV remote, and also turn off/on both devices using only TV remote.
But after that it start to have problem with the ARC function.

I've tried a few setting in the TV to fix it, but still unable.
1) Devices-->Audio Out-->HDMI/ARC (speaker select,audio setup)
2) Home-->Setting-->Preferences-->Inputs-->(CEC) Device Control Settings-->HDMI control/Device auto power off/TV auto power on

I have tried change HDMI cable, but problem still exist.

Anyone here have similar problem?
Any idea any other setting I can check/change in The TV to fix this? (imagine if soundbar in good condition)

soundbars get tricky.

may help if u read someone's case starting post #726:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3811168/+720#bottom
Bullettt
post Oct 30 2016, 03:22 PM

Hi, has anyone root their 630X sharp tv? If yes, can share which root software to use? Any tried Kingoroot app before ?
- After rooting, if need to unroot, how to unroot?
- how to hav soft rest/reboot and hard reset for this android tv?
Thank you.
AVFAN
post Oct 30 2016, 04:29 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Bullettt @ Oct 30 2016, 03:22 PM)
Hi, has anyone root their 630X sharp tv? If yes, can share which root software to use? Any tried Kingoroot app before ?
- After rooting, if need to unroot, how to unroot?
- how to hav soft rest/reboot and hard reset for this android tv?
Thank you.
for the android, u can either unplug the power, start again... or... go to settings, info and select "restart".

tv settings, can reset to default with remote's tv setup options.

root... i am not even sure if u can as i know there is a security protection feature built in.

note rooting will void yr warranty. so if anything goes wrong, say u lose netflix/youtube 4k... u r on yr own.

lastly, if u have not, do spend time reading the e-manual either from website or at the tv itself. good useful info for starters.
NotTheOne
post Nov 1 2016, 08:37 AM

241 posts

AVFAN, could you please direct us where to download the e-manual from?

This post has been edited by NotTheOne: Nov 1 2016, 08:38 AM
AVFAN
post Nov 1 2016, 10:06 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Nov 1 2016, 08:37 AM)
AVFAN, could you please direct us where to download the e-manual from?
e-manual - may take a few minutes.
https://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...LC50UE630X#tab3

i-manual copy also found at the launcher of tv.

hoe117
post Nov 1 2016, 05:57 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2016, 12:05 AM)
soundbars get tricky.

may help if u read someone's case starting post #726:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3811168/+720#bottom
Thanks for your post here, I think mine is different from what the issue described in earlier post.

I manage to find out root cause of the problem after conducted few testing.

1) When ONLY HDMI1 (ARC) is connected to another device (soundbar) which is ARC compatible, it works for sound, control, power on/off.
However, as long as other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4) is connected to other devices (doesn't matter the device is ON or standby mode), the ARC will stop function.
Meaning to say, the HDMI1 (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the TV.
ARC works again if I plug out connection for other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4)

2) Since my soundbar has total 3 HDMI ports (1 x HDMI-ARC out, 2 x HDMI in), I tested by connecting the devices to the "HDMI in".
However, similar problem happens.
Meaning to say, the HDMI (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the soundbar.

I've also tried google around and found below, posting the same problem as mine. (Post #5)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/home-the...ad-4654568.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90357616-post5.html

Not sure if this is how ARC work, but it's kind of stupid if this is really true (If you want ARC, then have to sacrifice all other HDMI ports).
Or maybe only Sharp TV has this problem? Or setting/configuration issue?

End up, I decided to let go the HDMI-ARC function and connect via optical output from TV to soundbar.

Hope all sifu here can help.

AVFAN
post Nov 1 2016, 08:02 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Nov 1 2016, 05:57 PM)
Not sure if this is how ARC work, but it's kind of stupid if this is really true (If you want ARC, then have to sacrifice all other HDMI ports).

End up, I decided to let go the HDMI-ARC function and connect via optical output from TV to soundbar.
possible other tv's do a better job for soundbars. that, u only know when u try it.

likely just limitations of some of the "extra" functions for certain output components.

tv makers should be good at making tv's - as a slave to the input, just video display - primarily.

rightly, they should not and do not focus on audio, connectivity, playback, etc. as that will mean encroaching into other segments of the overall biz which i doubt they are prepared for. and will cost more.

whatever android, media playback, etc., i take them as a bonus, not a must.

the androidtv is good, i use it a lot.

can't comment much on soundbars as i use only AVRs which work fine with netflix uhd4k dd5.1.

usb playback, i use my own media/android box which can do a lot more than the tv player.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 1 2016, 11:20 PM
voncrane
post Nov 1 2016, 11:05 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Nov 1 2016, 05:57 PM)
Thanks for your post here, I think mine is different from what the issue described in earlier post.

I manage to find out root cause of the problem after conducted few testing.

1) When ONLY HDMI1 (ARC) is connected to another device (soundbar) which is ARC compatible, it works for sound, control, power on/off.
However, as long as other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4) is connected to other devices (doesn't matter the device is ON or standby mode), the ARC will stop function.
Meaning to say, the HDMI1 (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the TV.
ARC works again if I plug out connection for other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4)

2) Since my soundbar has total 3 HDMI ports (1 x HDMI-ARC out, 2 x HDMI in), I tested by connecting the devices to the "HDMI in".
However, similar problem happens.
Meaning to say, the HDMI (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the soundbar.

I've also tried google around and found below, posting the same problem as mine. (Post #5)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/home-the...ad-4654568.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90357616-post5.html

Hope all sifu here can help.
Nope, that is definitely not how HDMI-ARC works. Probably a hardware incompatibility or an issue with one or both hardware. Samsung Tv + Samsung HT connected via HDMI-ARC. Currently have 3 devices connected to the HDMI-IN ports on the TV and one HDMI-ARC connection to the HT. All sounds are automatically routed from the TV to the HT and out the speakers... Regardless of input source.

P.S. IMO, soundbars.... Never liked em.. biggrin.gif

85 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:51 AM