Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

hotpie73
post May 8 2016, 09:58 PM

Hi everyone!

Sorry if this has been posted before.

I'm in the midst of applying Singapore PR. Has anyone submitted their application recently? Would like to find out where to get our birth certificate translated to English, as the new requirement from July 2015 is that official translations are required if documents are not in english. Will our documents be exempted since Malay is their national language?
SUShuaweie5830
post May 9 2016, 12:07 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(hotpie73 @ May 8 2016, 09:58 PM)
Hi everyone!

Sorry if this has been posted before.

I'm in the midst of applying Singapore PR. Has anyone submitted their application recently? Would like to find out where to get our birth certificate translated to English, as the new requirement from July 2015 is that official translations are required if documents are not in english. Will our documents be exempted since Malay is their national language?
birth cert oso need to translate ?

last time i just show original , nvr question me , but in 2014
bevios
post May 9 2016, 09:09 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ May 7 2016, 03:17 PM)
I will go have alook at the offer letter again... but my arse cinapek boss wont let this good chance to go if he gets to bind me for another 3 years of crappy pay and loads of work
eh, u work in International plaza ah? lol
Dilemmaz
post May 9 2016, 09:42 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ May 9 2016, 09:09 AM)
eh, u work in International plaza ah? lol
No... some ulu area near the east side.. why?

your company got vacancies ah?

This post has been edited by Dilemmaz: May 9 2016, 09:43 AM
deodorant
post May 9 2016, 10:52 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

hotpie73 I guess most Malaysians who apply PR don't bother translating their birth cert because most of the time ICA accepts our Malay language cert.

Keyword being "most of the time," because I vaguely remember got once or twice in earlier versions of this thread that some ppl complained that their ICA agent didn't accept, and told them to go get translation.
hotpie73
post May 9 2016, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 9 2016, 10:52 AM)
hotpie73 I guess most Malaysians who apply PR don't bother translating their birth cert because most of the time ICA accepts our Malay language cert.

Keyword being "most of the time," because I vaguely remember got once or twice in earlier versions of this thread that some ppl complained that their ICA agent didn't accept, and told them to go get translation.
Thanks deodorant!
Guess really need the translation copy. But doesn't make sense. Malay is their national language ish ish
madmoz
post May 9 2016, 12:25 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 9 2016, 10:52 AM)

Again, wanna ask if there is a generally accepted 'minimum' period in SG before applying?
knwong
post May 9 2016, 01:04 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 9 2016, 12:25 PM)
Again, wanna ask if there is a generally accepted 'minimum' period in SG before applying?
Pay your first income tax first
incx
post May 9 2016, 03:07 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 9 2016, 12:25 PM)
Give and take 6 months, but there's no minimum period. Can apply anytime. Just the possibility of getting rejected, and long waiting time, that's pretty much it.
deodorant
post May 9 2016, 04:19 PM

5,691 posts

madmoz few years ago when PAP not yet clamp down on PR applications and EPs were still segregated to different levels, common wisdom was 1year for P1, 2years for P2, 3years for Q1 EP gave a very good chance for approval.

Nowadays ... I got no idea lol.
LeslieKenny
post May 9 2016, 06:26 PM

68 posts

Hey, guys. I would like to look for a room at the region within walking distance of Boon Lay MRT. I had search through online website as well as relevant fb page, however I did not receive any response yet.

Hence, I wonder is it Boon Lay region has less housing area compared to Jurong east (which I saw a lot of advertisement) ? May anyone clarify me on this ? Thank you.
vOlkSwaGen
post May 9 2016, 06:37 PM

91 posts

Any vacancies for Networking degree freshie? Please pm me if your company is recruiting. I'm asking for my friend. Thanks.
Mackiddo
post May 9 2016, 07:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ May 9 2016, 06:26 PM)
Hey, guys. I would like to look for a room at the region within walking distance of Boon Lay MRT. I had search through online website as well as relevant fb page, however I did not receive any response yet.

Hence, I wonder is it Boon Lay region has less housing area compared to Jurong east (which I saw a lot of advertisement) ? May anyone clarify me on this ? Thank you.
call up some agents
kyone
post May 9 2016, 09:30 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ May 9 2016, 06:26 PM)

I stay in the region you wanted. Used propertyguru to find my room, and I think you can get better offer (and also better service) through agents - IMHO landlords not willing to pay for agent fees are more likely to look quite heavily on money but that's not absolute. Sms/ whatsapp agents and those wanna do business will come back to you.

Not sure about boon lay vs jurong east. I chose the former simply because 1) JE more roads so even buildings appear close are actually quite far to walk with 2) JE population density too high for me 3) BL seems cheaper?

What's your budget/requirements btw? Or you want me to pm you my agent details (just rented 2months ago)?
darrenboy
post May 9 2016, 10:14 PM

733 posts

Hi all,
When you guys leave Malaysia to come to Singapore to accept permanent job, what LHDN income tax forms do you have to fill? I believe that there is a form your last Malaysian employer need to fill. And by you. Is that correct? What is that form? What else do you need to do to get tax clearance? Can you calculate the amount of tax until your last Malaysia payslip and then declare your income tax, and then either you pay IRB or IRB owing to you?

Your kind advice, please. Thank you.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: May 9 2016, 10:15 PM
deodorant
post May 9 2016, 10:19 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 9 2016, 10:14 PM)
Your kind advice, please. Thank you.

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Apr 22 2016, 10:38 AM)
Your company is right. They'll issue you the cp21 and withhold your last salary. You have to send the cp21 to LHDN, file your last tax return (Jan 2016 until whichever date you stop working in msia), obtain a tax clearance letter, send a copy of that too your company. Then your company will release your last salary.

With the tax clearance letter, you will not need to file Malaysia income tax until you go back to work in msia again.

darrenboy
post May 9 2016, 10:35 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 9 2016, 10:19 PM)

Oh, ok, thanks. Is there a "Leaving Malaysia" form or something?

fruitie
post May 9 2016, 10:54 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 9 2016, 10:35 PM)
Oh, ok, thanks. Is there a "Leaving Malaysia" form or something?
CP21 is leaving country form. smile.gif
CreamMilk
post May 9 2016, 11:08 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(kyone @ May 9 2016, 09:30 PM)
I stay in the region you wanted. Used propertyguru to find my room, and I think you can get better offer (and also better service) through agents - IMHO landlords not willing to pay for agent fees are more likely to look quite heavily on money but that's not absolute. Sms/ whatsapp agents and those wanna do business will come back to you.

Not sure about boon lay vs jurong east. I chose the former simply because 1) JE more roads so even buildings appear close are actually quite far to walk with 2) JE population density too high for me 3) BL seems cheaper?

What's your budget/requirements btw? Or you want me to pm you my agent details (just rented 2months ago)?
how much agent fee he charge? half month? thanks
Kaka23
post May 9 2016, 11:24 PM

8,259 posts

Is it wise to convert to Singaporean citizen or just maintain PR will do?

170 Pages « < 149 150 151 152 153 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:38 PM