Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 11:28 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

Guys, for someone who has 6 years of working experience in KL, will that be difficult to land a job in SG now? HR field that is.

Should have gone to SG when I was still a fresh grad. Oh well.

If not, I will look for new jobs in China... laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 11:55 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 15 2015, 11:33 AM)
It's never too late to take this drastic move. 6 years ago I bit the bullet and swam to small small island.
I wanted to but nobody wants to hire me. cry.gif
I tried submitting my profile via LinkedIn but no favorable replies. Well, to be fair I only chose those international companies. blush.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 15 2015, 11:56 AM
fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:33 PM)
Sg economy is not as rosy as you think.. sure, the exchange rate is good. But you are coming in under some really difficult circumstances.

For one, youll need a work permit, which costs a bomb and your job can be easily filled by a local.

Those of us here are probably cheap labour. And since you are competing with the Indians and Filipinos expect to work doubly hard.

Now combine this with miserable pay and living conditions, it's a guess why anyone wants to come here to slog it out. Haha

I've been searching for jobs back in kl. If one can offer my asking rate, I'll jump. Sg is not fun. No joke.
Understood but I just want to have a try only. laugh.gif
Maybe I will go back to Beijing, I was there for a few months for assignment. I have internal positions that I can apply there. tongue.gif

QUOTE(titarium @ Dec 15 2015, 02:18 PM)
Applying job to SG really have to depend on luck , I have friends submitted hundreds of application , only a few calls came back , if you are dead serious just keep trying.

The easier route is to get referral , to be refer to a certain company or position , that would be easier especially the company had went through some candidates and didn't find a suitable one.
I am actually looking for my own company's internal position in SG. laugh.gif
I will try. biggrin.gif
Current salary in KL is kinda not bad, more than enough for a single like me but I want more. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 04:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 15 2015, 04:04 PM)
fruitie It would have been easier 4 years ago when you had 2 years exp smile.gif Anyway without a cable of some sort it's not that easy nowadays unless you've got very specialized skills. Since your company has an SG office I think your best bet will be to try get an internal move of some sort.
I know right. sad.gif
Yes, we are a global company so it has presence in almost all countries around the world, I really want to move out from this country and earn more. biggrin.gif
I guess I will just glue my eyes to the internal positions while praying hard for my SG counterpart to have a better offer elsewhere, so that I replace her. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 10:36 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Dec 15 2015, 10:32 PM)
By the way, What do you guys means by FT ?
Foreign Talents? smile.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 11:14 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

An international company has just called to offer me.

The salary expectation is not as what I wanted few hundred short after adding 16% of CPF. hmm.gif

I'm considering now.
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 01:41 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 16 2015, 12:13 PM)
fruitie Aiyo, you want s$15k they offer you s$14.7k, ok lah just accept only.
You are right. laugh.gif
How I wish. cry.gif

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 16 2015, 01:08 PM)
You wont be getting CPF, only start that contribution from yourself and company once you become a PR
I know. So, the company compensates by giving me 16% on top of my salary as allowance. smile.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 01:54 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 16 2015, 01:51 PM)
rclxms.gif u found a good company, not much company willing to do that
I'm still waiting for the official email. hmm.gif
I only submitted my CV last night and this morning already called, I'm so surprised by their efficiency. sweat.gif
It's not a headhunter, their HR though I'm also in HR. laugh.gif

If I say yes only they will proceed for next steps.

For now, not until I see the email, I will not think so much first. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 02:06 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 16 2015, 02:00 PM)
Wooooo wawawaa that's the dream first job right there
Wish I had that, can cover most of your rent already!
Is it that good ah? sad.gif
The problem is after adding this 16% allowance thingy still about $350 lesser than what I expected. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 02:08 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 16 2015, 02:06 PM)
tats y i say sg company not all so bad one

some are really good and many good benefits
This company keeps telling me they pay fairly and even if it is not overly paid but benefits are good.
Of course, he can't share what are those benefits yet...

Where is the email la?! sad.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 02:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 16 2015, 02:15 PM)
submit cv at nite and they offer on next day?
u must have a very impressive cv to not even require an interview.
Just a normal conversation only but already verbally offered.
I believe I will still have another round of interview if I accept it.
Not so easy one la.

I'm not impressive at all. That's for sure.
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 02:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 16 2015, 02:26 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif 6 figure salary rolex and luxury car leh. kena restructure retrench lo what else. now kpkb have to eat FT rice. like us also lo, u wait 10 more years, next retrench cycle sure kena then go drive uber kpkb to new gen FT say last time limpeh big shot banker earning 6 figure per month, all u new FT good la sit office life. the cycle already started long time ago nothing new.
laugh.gif This is so true. So true. laugh.gif
I have that all the time. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 16 2015, 03:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 16 2015, 03:15 PM)
Hard to say la, since I dont know how much is the real $ amount against other factors

But either way just insist you deserve XXX that you were asking for and justify more
Worst that can happen is they just repeat that their offer is final, then you can decide to take or not

But that 16% compensate for CPF is good, so far never heard of any companies here giving that
My current company in Singapore gives 5%, so when I heard 16% sounds good. laugh.gif brows.gif

Anyway, until I see the email, else I will just say this fellow simply called me only. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 01:18 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

I thought it is easy to get EP? unsure.gif

Just fulfill the minimum salary requirement only right?
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 10:47 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 17 2015, 10:26 AM)
what do you know of my accomplishments, experience, qualifications and skill to make such a judgement call?

Has it ever occurred to you that out of 20 people in kl operations, why was I the only one to not be let go and furthermore, brought into sg under all costs?

You know nothing about me to make a suggestion..

Heck, what do you know of my field or industry to be able to even suggest anything?

For someone who supposedly is earning a lot of money, haven't youve learnt to keep your opinions to yourself?

I know what is best for myself. If I say pr is the next route for me if I want to progress here in sg, then that is what I will do..
I'm more than curious of one point, if you are doing well in KL, why would you opt to move to SG and fight with those S Pass holders?
You have a choice right? unsure.gif

If today I were to move to SG but not going to have those luxurious lifestyle like back in KL, for sure I don't want. I don't want to be a slave there. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 11:26 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 17 2015, 11:21 AM)
His KL side office got shut down and restructured leh. Put in other word mean kena double boil mushroom in cantonese.
KL no more other companies meh? laugh.gif
Can take package and look for a new job. tongue.gif
If I were to move to a new role, company, country, it must be a better off offer than what I'm having now. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 11:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 17 2015, 11:32 AM)
Exactly, I believe his situation was his "6 figure income" was only because they were paying him an average SGD salary
So in other words, he couldn't get anywhere close to the same MYR converted pay at other MY companies for his position
Of course all those were left out when talking about the rolex and luxury carĀ  tongue.gif
Don't guess or judge lo. biggrin.gif
Those were my personal opinions only la. Everyone has their own reasons. biggrin.gif

Meanwhile, my yesterday's story still has no continuation part... sad.gif Awaiting my email before I can make a decision ma to accept or not, so that can proceed to next steps. cry.gif
Being a MNC, I guess he will need to have discussion with the hiring manager. I'm also in MNC and I know hiring someone couldn't be that easy. laugh.gif (I'm just convincing myself) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 17 2015, 11:40 AM
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 02:53 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 17 2015, 02:52 PM)
2 to 3k is more than enough for single staying in sg
Thanks for the idea. laugh.gif
2-3k inclusive of rental or exclusive?

My target is just start saving 1-1.5k SGD every month and grow from there. smile.gif

Looks like my target is still achievable. flex.gif
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 02:55 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 02:54 PM)
That's quite low compared to KL. Cost of living is indeed lower in SG?
Dollar to dollar comparison, the only thing expensive in SG is rental. Food wise is pretty affordable. I only go SG for holidays and so far I find their food is cheap. laugh.gif
Is this correct, guys?
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 03:06 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 03:04 PM)
hahaha basically i've been told to give a figure to the ultimate boss and the only real way i have to gauge is to add on living costs to how much i want to hantar balik lol.
1 to 1 pay and relocation allowance sounds very favourable to me!  shocking.gif

What is a P1 pass? I was under the impression all EPs were the same?
EP has three categories - P1, P2 and Q1 based on salary range.
P1 is for >8k.
P2 is for > 4.5k
Q1 is for > 3.3k

If I'm not wrong.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0584sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:04 PM