Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

incx
post Dec 14 2015, 03:30 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(tattat @ Dec 14 2015, 03:27 PM)
Hey peeps,

Just wondering, where is the best place for me to get a laptop?
Is Funan a good place to buy a laptop?
Another thing is, is it cheaper to get one at KL (Lowyat Plaza)? I know the prices these days aren't too far apart..
Looking at the current exchange rate, it will still be a little cheaper to get in KL. Prices in Singapore a tad bit more expensive. Funan is a decent place to get your electronics. Just avoid Sim Lim Square.
incx
post Dec 14 2015, 03:56 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(tattat @ Dec 14 2015, 03:33 PM)
Hey, thanks for the reply. When u mentioned cheaper, how much is it in terms of percentage? I just need to compare to see if its worth travelling there to get it. (Time and cost plays a part) haha...
You mean travelling back to KL just to get it? It's going to be a few hundred ringgit cheaper. Not like that much but worth the extra savings if you're so happen in KL.
incx
post Dec 15 2015, 04:57 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2015, 04:52 PM)
What would be a good place to stay if I were to commute to somewhere around Anson road?
Would 2k SGD be enough to cover rental for one, preferably either a studio or single bedroom furnished apartment?
TQ in advance.
SGD2K rental for a single person is definitely more than enough. Unless you have exquisite taste.
incx
post Dec 15 2015, 07:52 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2015, 06:01 PM)
Which areas should I be looking at? TQ.
You should try looking at the listings here.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg

Will give you an idea about the prices and the types of units available.
incx
post Mar 30 2016, 10:26 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 30 2016, 09:56 AM)
The man is not responding sad.gif

I guess the forumer here mostly are rich enough to stay in singapore or drive in from jb?
Getting robbed in Singapore is rare. But accidents do happen involving motorcycles here. Why not consider public transport?

Generally rental in Yishun is relatively cheaper compared to other areas. Kinda like considered a "kampung" if to compare with other parts of Singapore. They're a lot of new developments going on in Yishun, supply more than demand, so everyone's pretty desperate to rent out their units. If you're patient enough, you'll be able to get a good deal.
incx
post Mar 30 2016, 12:36 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 30 2016, 10:41 AM)
Public transport from jb to singapore? That will take me half day i guess.
I think it is tough to raise family with kid in singapore compare to if you have your family in jb but you have to travel.
That's the reason of asking.
Oh, you're talking about travelling between JB and Singapore?

They are other options available:
- using KTMB (train) to travel between JB and SG at fixed timings.
- carpool (there's a facebook group for carpoolers).
- motorcycle.
- walking across the bridge. (not advisable)

Yes, it's tough to raise kids in SG when you're alone but it's not impossible. I have 2 kids, and it's just my wife and I with both of them. Our family members are all in KL. If you want more time to spend with your family instead of travelling across the Causeway, it's better to stay in SG.

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Mar 30 2016, 11:24 AM)
May I know what is the best way (convenient and relatively low fee)  to "transfer" your sgd into Malaysia Maybank account? Could I deposit sgd into my Malaysia maybank account at SG maybank deposit machine?

I check on DBS website, they do offer a type of multi-currency saving account, but not sure how do i deposit the money into my malaysia maybank saving account.
I use DBS remit to do my transfers. They do charge a small fee. Rates are not that fantastic as compared to manual money changers but a lot of safer than carrying a whole bulk of cash back in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by incx: Mar 30 2016, 12:38 PM
incx
post Apr 1 2016, 10:14 AM

135 posts

It's always nicer to rent the whole place, without having to stay with the owner. You have more privacy that way, but of course it comes with a price too.
incx
post Apr 1 2016, 11:25 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Apr 1 2016, 11:01 AM)

I will be relocating from Australia to Singapore soon. I have a few questions if some of you have the same experience before:
1) I am looking at renting a fully furnished HDB unit. Will it be easy to find something short term like 6 months? Once the lease is up, can I still stay on month by month basis?
2) Is it possible to sign a lease agreement via email? I am hoping to be able to move in immediately after arriving in Singapore.
3) I have been given lump sum relocation assistance. Any idea how this will get taxed?
1. Most of the time, it's easier to get a 1 year - 2 years lease instead of 6 months. Since you're planning to rent the entire HDB (or even with the owner), it's required to register under the housing ministry by law.

2. You need your working pass in order for you to sign the lease agreement. Unless you know the landlord personally, you can deal with them directly. Otherwise via email, it is almost impossible.

3. You have to check with your employer as to whether they will submit your tax docs to IRAS on your behalf or you've got to do it yourself. If they do it for you, everything will be autocalculated. You'll just need to pay the tax at the end of the term.

This post has been edited by incx: Apr 1 2016, 11:26 AM
incx
post Apr 1 2016, 02:49 PM

135 posts

End up in the lock up, and face deportation.
incx
post Apr 3 2016, 05:42 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Apr 3 2016, 04:05 PM)
Oh dear! Just across the straits, but Malaysians corporations can't seem to be making presence.
There are Maybanks around, but it's not a widely thing. It's not the in-thing to have a Maybank account.
incx
post May 9 2016, 03:07 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 9 2016, 12:25 PM)
Again, wanna ask if there is a generally accepted 'minimum' period in SG before applying?
Give and take 6 months, but there's no minimum period. Can apply anytime. Just the possibility of getting rejected, and long waiting time, that's pretty much it.

0.0257sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:12 AM