[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

ar188
post May 5 2018, 09:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 4 2018, 11:47 PM)
AP9xx series I search whole China sites liao. Bo, Yilek.
haha china tarak, but its available for sale in usa. got to enter a very specific 3M sku code. not cheap..maybe rn600 or so

how cheap is the AP902 set here?
ar188
post May 5 2018, 09:26 PM

9,206 posts

The most common 3M series for PoU are AP2 and AP3, I have AP3 head (Easy Complete), ar188 has AP2 head (all bought
mine is also AP3 head. biggrin.gif
AP2 is for slim cylinder/basic sets

anyway this china 3M (2 cylinder) setup should be ok right? from ezbuy. laugh.gif

3M Water Purifier ap3-765-s Household Direct drinking machine water purifier c765s RM1024

This post has been edited by ar188: May 5 2018, 09:29 PM
aeiou228
post May 5 2018, 10:43 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 5 2018, 09:24 PM)
haha china tarak, but its available for sale in usa. got to enter a very specific 3M sku code. not cheap..maybe rn600 or so

how cheap is the AP902 set here?
Around RM1400+.

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 5 2018, 09:26 PM)
mine is also AP3 head.  biggrin.gif
AP2 is for slim cylinder/basic sets.

You are right. My bad, I terbalik. Mine is AP2 instead.
By C-Cyst cartridge for your AP3 + pre filter, cheapest set up. thumbup.gif

ar188
post May 5 2018, 11:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 5 2018, 10:43 PM)
Around RM1400+.
You are right. My bad, I terbalik. Mine is AP2 instead.
By C-Cyst cartridge for your AP3 + pre filter, cheapest set up. thumbup.gif
biggrin.gif AP3 C-cyst+AP3 head and 10inch generic prefilter. super combo. biggrin.gif
hestati
post May 6 2018, 01:57 PM

1,256 posts

AP9xx series I search whole China sites liao. Bo, Yilek.
My RC are 3M C-Complete and Culligan RC-EZ-4.
The most common 3M series for PoU are AP2 and AP3, I have AP3 head (Easy Complete), ar188 has AP2 head (all bought from Taobao whistling.gif ). For PoE, AP9XX series can forget about it, the original cartridge is too pricey (~RM650) unless you can bring in compatible RC.
Agree with you that people not willing to DIY assemble, in fact they even want installation included. I think it's better to brand your compatible under your Fresca name, just like some electric appliances, same product but different brand names.

By the way, I dissected my retired Culligan EZ-4 cartridge for research purposes. Any comment on the material quality ?
[attachmentid=9778425][attachmentid=9778426]

The company that offered me replacement cartridges doesn't make C-Complete. I will check further.

Ap9XX, if I find the head, can be great opportunity. Big advantage is that some people, who do not want to maintain PoE, but ready to pay 600RM per year for replacement can get a filter too for lower than 1400...
aeiou228
post May 6 2018, 02:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ May 6 2018, 01:57 PM)
The company that offered me replacement cartridges doesn't make C-Complete. I will check further.

Ap9XX, if I find the head, can be great opportunity. Big advantage is that some people, who do not want to maintain PoE, but ready to pay 600RM per year for replacement can get a filter too for lower than 1400...
I want to buy Distruptor cartridge (stage 2) only to put into my diy standard 10" 3-stage and connect to Culligan RC-EZ-4.
The set up will as follows:
stage 1: no cartridge.
stage 2: 1 micron melt blown (spare unit)
Stage 3: Distruptor.
Final stage: Culligan RC-EZ-4

The intention is to remove what EZ-4 can't remove.

Boleh ? Any comment ?

hestati
post May 6 2018, 02:52 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 6 2018, 02:32 PM)
I want to buy Distruptor cartridge (stage 2) only to put into my diy standard 10" 3-stage and connect to Culligan RC-EZ-4.
The set up will as follows:
stage 1: no cartridge.
stage 2: 1 micron melt blown (spare unit)
Stage 3: Distruptor.
Final stage: Culligan RC-EZ-4

The intention is to remove what EZ-4 can't remove.

Boleh ? Any comment ?
Yes, can, but let me check what RC-EZ-4 does. I might have a better solution. This was exactly my intention, to bring a filter that can remove bacteria/viruses without UV or chemicals, for people with systems like Aquasana, 3M, etc, easy add-on and this filter is on the way from USA. Will let you know by tomorrow.
aeiou228
post May 6 2018, 03:21 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ May 6 2018, 02:52 PM)
Yes, can, but let me check what RC-EZ-4 does. I might have a better solution. This was exactly my intention, to bring a filter that can remove bacteria/viruses without UV or chemicals, for people with systems like Aquasana, 3M, etc, easy add-on and this filter is on the way from USA. Will let you know by tomorrow.
These are what RC-EZ-4 does:

NSF 42
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listing...40&Standard=042
NSF 53
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listing...40&Standard=053

I've opened up the cartridge and found that carbon block is pretty good size. At least double the size of 3M C-Complete.
leongsem
post May 7 2018, 04:19 PM

3,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 19 2017, 09:27 PM)
This is a new counter top design, can't use it for undersink installation. Sharing the same 3M NSF certified C Complete cartridge as in AP Easy Complete.
If you want cheaper option and undersink installation, go for the RM350 3M CTM-01. After one year usage, replace the cartridge with C Complete. You will get same water quality as in CTM-02.
Hi Bro,
Is the C complete filter can use at CTM-01?
Lazada seller said not recommend.

just ask only. if can use will be perfect. I need undersink type.

Thank you.
aeiou228
post May 7 2018, 04:59 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ May 7 2018, 04:19 PM)
Hi Bro,
Is the C complete filter can use at CTM-01?
Lazada seller said not recommend.

just ask only. if can use will be perfect. I need undersink type.

Thank you.
Yes, but you need to remove the filter head from the CTM-01 housing because C-complete cartridge is longer than C-CTM-01 cartridge.

If you want cheaper way, just buy the AP2 filter head from Taobao. Use this keyword: 3M AP2 机頭 to search.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 7 2018, 05:02 PM
leongsem
post May 7 2018, 05:33 PM

3,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 7 2018, 04:59 PM)
Yes, but you need to remove the filter head from the CTM-01 housing because C-complete cartridge is longer than C-CTM-01 cartridge.

If you want cheaper way, just buy the AP2 filter head from Taobao.  Use this keyword: 3M AP2 机頭 to search.
then need to replace the head or not?

is it easy to remove? tq
leongsem
post May 7 2018, 05:45 PM

3,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 7 2018, 04:59 PM)

If you want cheaper way, just buy the AP2 filter head from Taobao.  Use this keyword: 3M AP2 机頭 to search.
Hi Bro, if I use ap2 head, do I need to remove the c compete head?

thank you.
aeiou228
post May 7 2018, 06:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ May 7 2018, 05:33 PM)
then need to replace the head or not?

is it easy to remove? tq
Replace what head ? You have only one head which you take out from the ctm-01 plastic housing.
Yes easy to remove, just tear out the plastic housing.

QUOTE(leongsem @ May 7 2018, 05:45 PM)
Hi Bro, if I use ap2 head, do I need to remove the c compete head?

thank you.
C-complete is the replacement cartridge without head. You just need to replace the ctm-01 cartridge with c-complete cartridge.

Both c-ctm-01 and c-complete is compatible to AP2 filter head as per picture below:

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 7 2018, 06:30 PM
leongsem
post May 7 2018, 07:03 PM

3,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 7 2018, 06:29 PM)
Replace what head ? You have only one head which you take out from the ctm-01 plastic housing.
Yes easy to remove, just tear out the plastic housing.
C-complete is the replacement cartridge without head. You just need to replace the ctm-01 cartridge with c-complete cartridge.

Both c-ctm-01 and c-complete is compatible to AP2 filter head as per picture below:
i opted for use ctm01 housimg better

thanks bro.....
hestati
post May 8 2018, 09:23 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 6 2018, 03:21 PM)
These are what RC-EZ-4 does:

NSF 42
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listing...40&Standard=042
NSF 53
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listing...40&Standard=053

I've opened up the cartridge and found that carbon block is pretty good size. At least double the size of 3M C-Complete.
Sorry, took me some time to check it up.

So yes, can get Disruptor or can get Quantum Disinfection inline filter. Disruptor removes more impurities, but costs more with housings, fittings etc. Quantum Disinfection is pretty much bacteria/viruses only and is usually used as post-filter but it also has granular carbon in it.

I'd say for you, since you're DIY type of person, Disruptor is better. Are you interested in just the cartridge or whole filter (Taiwan NSF housing, JG fittings, tubing)?

A bit off-topic. I know my red signature is annoying since I post in this thread a lot. but I cannot find a way to do only price red. Though HTML has the right code, it still makes the whole line red. Is this a known bug or is it just me? Can someone please try with his signature, to make only 1-2 words out of the line to be different color? I even tried to remove red color alltogether, but it stays!!!

This post has been edited by hestati: May 8 2018, 10:21 PM
hestati
post May 8 2018, 10:14 PM

1,256 posts

One more questions:

Though FD components are NSF, I cannot get NSF certification with FD name on it, at this point it's impossible. BUT! Is there any kind of laboratory/tests/certification that would be value added? I'm talking either local or Singapore. For example, there is SGS in Malaysia, they are reputable international company and can do the test, but how much Malaysians know about it and how much reputation does it have here?

I know there are small independent labs, I'm sure they do analysis just fine, however, I find this analysis useless, because take lead for example, test result may show that there is 0 lead, but what if there's 0 lead in water coming to filter?

Any contaminants that you would be especially interested in? Take lead once again, we can make sure source water has lots of lead, pass it through the filter and show the result (same for chlorine etc).

Any of this is added value, or no? I could probably cooperate with the lab and even film the whole process of testing.
cuber
post May 9 2018, 10:36 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ May 8 2018, 10:14 PM)
One more questions:

Though FD components are NSF, I cannot get NSF certification with FD name on it, at this point it's impossible. BUT! Is there any kind of laboratory/tests/certification that would be value added? I'm talking either local or Singapore. For example, there is SGS in Malaysia, they are reputable international company and can do the test, but how much Malaysians know about it and how much reputation does it have here?

I know there are small independent labs, I'm sure they do analysis just fine, however, I find this analysis useless, because take lead for example, test result may show that there is 0 lead, but what if there's 0 lead in water coming to filter?

Any contaminants that you would be especially interested in? Take lead once again, we can make sure source water has lots of lead, pass it through the filter and show the result (same for chlorine etc).

Any of this is added value, or no? I could probably cooperate with the lab and even film the whole process of testing.
I'm not sure about all these lab reports or anything, but in general, how many percentage of our society actually aware of this NSF or the quality of water. As far as I know, older generation still boiled their drinking water.
Younger generation, well mostly they don't do any research and just buy/choose based on price/advertisement.

I believe everything will be depending on what is the purpose of the water filter itself, I will definitely use FD after going through all those back reading from previous pages. Price wise and quality wise, I don't see anybody is competing or disagree. I'm using the Espring now, I just want to wait until the next filter change, then I will stop using it and change to FD.

Hestati, do you have any POE filtration system? I'm using the the 3M AP902 at the moment.
easywin3
post May 10 2018, 12:07 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ May 8 2018, 09:23 PM)
A bit off-topic. how to make only 1-2 words out of the line to be different color?
For every [Color] must close with [/Color]

eg: <color=blue>this is</color><color=green> green and not</color><color=yellow> yellow.</color>
this is green and not yellow.
( replace <> with [] )

This post has been edited by easywin3: May 10 2018, 12:13 AM
ar188
post May 10 2018, 01:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ May 8 2018, 10:14 PM)
One more questions:

obviously its not so simple, or else all these DIY companies (like what you are doing) will start their own NSF cert filters.
if so easy, might as well sell 3m filters but relabelled as own brand and comes with NSF cert. even aquaphor dont have it biggrin.gif
hestati
post May 17 2018, 09:35 PM

1,256 posts

Wow, why this thread is dead? After GE everyone's water suddenly improved )))?

I am preparing easy guides on how to choose best water filter (no, it will not just sell Fresca), will post it here as well once ready.

PoE also will be ready soon, there are few changes, but will present it here too (again, just present, not try give a sales pitch).

P.S. signature is still glowing red even though I removed all <color> tags...

0.0202sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:19 PM