Our DPM just launched SSPN-i Plus on 8 June 2015
Below is the features:-
1. Education plan with affordable n takaful coverage
2. Savings from RM50 a month
3. Competitive returns
4. Tax relief up to RM12,000 pa
Website ---> http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/sspn-i-plus1

Personally, I'm keen on item 4

Welcome to give comments on how tis product work n how it can benefit tax payers to reduce income tax

cklimm
post Jun 9 2015, 09:53 PM

2,337 posts

So, can we withdraw the savings in case of rainy day?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 9 2015, 10:07 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 9 2015, 09:23 PM)
3. Competitive returns

Welcome to give comments on how tis product work n how it can benefit tax payers to reduce income tax
Reads funny, like a Gov propaganda thinggy tongue.gif
Anyhow, i think the tax relief is broken down to 2:
1. $6K for SSPN-i and SSPN-i PLUS
2. $6K for Takaful
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/pelepasan_taksiran_cukai

That means.. IF takaful = life insurance... bwhahaha.. my EPF contribution already blown that portion out of the water...
and the returns for the takaful wasn't too clear based on my glancing (guilty - it's late, tomorrow will re-read the whole site again).
Returns: http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/pelan_simpanan

Funny - go to the English version and this SSPN-i PLUS isn't there.
For earth-princes only? Or just hot-off-the-oven? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 9 2015, 10:13 PM
nexona88
post Jun 9 2015, 10:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 9 2015, 10:07 PM)
no time to convert into English.. next week maybe ready yawn.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 10 2015, 10:43 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 9 2015, 11:07 PM)
Reads funny, like a Gov propaganda thinggy tongue.gif
Anyhow, i think the tax relief is broken down to 2:
1. $6K for SSPN-i and SSPN-i PLUS
2. $6K for Takaful
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/pelepasan_taksiran_cukai

That means.. IF takaful = life insurance... bwhahaha.. my EPF contribution already blown that portion out of the water...
and the returns for the takaful wasn't too clear based on my glancing (guilty - it's late, tomorrow will re-read the whole site again).
Returns: http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/pelan_simpanan

haha.. still got time till end year to study if it is worth while or not!
rphoen1x
post Jun 10 2015, 10:58 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 9 2015, 09:53 PM)
So, can we withdraw the savings in case of rainy day?
Soalan 16 :
Adakah simpanan yang dibuat boleh dikeluarkan pada bila-bila masa?

Jawapan :
Simpanan hanya boleh dikeluarkan selepas 3 tahun dari tarikh pembukaan akaun dan jumlah minimum yang perlu ada di dalam akaun adalah sebanyak RM1,000. Selepas tempoh 3 tahun tersebut, pendeposit boleh membuat pengeluaran pada bila-bila masa dan masih tertakluk dengan syarat baki minimum yang ditetapkan.
low yat 82
post Jun 10 2015, 11:42 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

its jus d same old sspn jus dat it added insurance in it...lol
Kaka23
post Jun 10 2015, 12:26 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(rphoen1x @ Jun 10 2015, 11:58 AM)
Soalan 16 :

Jawapan :
Simpanan hanya boleh dikeluarkan selepas 3 tahun dari tarikh pembukaan akaun dan jumlah minimum yang perlu ada di dalam akaun adalah sebanyak RM1,000. Selepas tempoh 3 tahun tersebut, pendeposit boleh membuat pengeluaran pada bila-bila masa dan masih tertakluk dengan syarat baki minimum yang ditetapkan.
not bad wor this one!
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 12:29 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 10 2015, 12:26 PM)
not bad wor this one!
hmm.gif Minus takaful charges.....how much left? rclxub.gif
nexona88
post Jun 10 2015, 12:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

old wine in a new bottle yawn.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 10 2015, 12:58 PM

5,867 posts

Although the new product just added a Plus word after the name of the existing product, it's in fact NOT a "Plus" as we expected. It is a totally different product altogether.

The major difference is, SSPN-i Plus has monthly commitment. Part of the monthly commitment are CONTRIBUTION for the Takaful insurance, which means payment for the Takaful premium.
I have all the necessary insurance covers and I would stick to the old SSPN-i without Plus.

Details in this link.
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/pakej-da...aan-sspn-i-plus

MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 02:03 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(rphoen1x @ Jun 10 2015, 10:58 AM)
Soalan 16 :

Jawapan :
This is no good.

the normal SSPN can take out ANYTIME right? Just as long as there is a "net input" in that year then we can use it to deduct tax.

For example.

I put in 6k in Dec, take out 2 months later in Feb. Claim the 6k tax relief.
Next year, I put in 12k in Dec, take out 2 months later. Nett input 6k, claim tax relief.
ANother year, put in 18k in Dec, take out 2 months later etc...

This new scheme... only can take out THREE years later? TOo risky...
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 02:15 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 02:03 PM)
This is no good.

the normal SSPN can take out ANYTIME right? Just as long as there is a "net input" in that year then we can use it to deduct tax.

For example.

I put in 6k in Dec, take out 2 months later in Feb. Claim the 6k tax relief.
Next year, I put in 12k in Dec, take out 2 months later. Nett input 6k, claim tax relief.
ANother year, put in 18k in Dec, take out 2 months later etc...
This new scheme... only can take out THREE years later? TOo risky...
hmm.gif got this from the website....

What are the terms for withdrawal of savings?

Withdrawals are allowed after a period of 1 year upon opening of an account. There are 2 types of withdrawals:

10% withdrawal of current balance OR RM500, whichever is lower, once a year; OR
•100% withdrawal (termination of account) in the following cases:◦The child is offered a place in any higher learning institution;
◦The child has voluntarily withdrawn from the education system OR has been expelled for a specific reason;
◦Suffering from an illness certified by a doctor as being incurable;
◦Experience total permanent disability as certified by a doctor;
◦Death of the child; or
◦Death of the depositor.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/faq-en...sspn/withdrawal

MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 02:17 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 02:15 PM)
hmm.gif got this from the website....

What are the terms for withdrawal of savings?

Withdrawals are allowed after a period of 1 year upon opening of an account. There are 2 types of withdrawals:

10% withdrawal of current balance OR RM500, whichever is lower, once a year; OR
•100% withdrawal (termination of account) in the following cases:◦The child is offered a place in any higher learning institution;
◦The child has voluntarily withdrawn from the education system OR has been expelled for a specific reason;
◦Suffering from an illness certified by a doctor as being incurable;
◦Experience total permanent disability as certified by a doctor;
◦Death of the child; or
◦Death of the depositor.

I got the terms from SSPN office in KL Sentral.

I even sat down with them to outline my plan.... they blur and not sure as to the technicalities... until an officer come see see say ok

Edit : Wait.. u talking about the new SSPN or the current scheme?

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 10 2015, 02:18 PM
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 02:20 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 02:17 PM)
I got the terms from SSPN office in KL Sentral.

I even sat down with them to outline my plan.... they blur and not sure as to the technicalities... until an officer come see see say ok

Edit : Wait.. u talking about the new SSPN or the current scheme?
I think the 10% is right...because else the tax rebate/relief is "buta-buta" gives....
just like the tax relief/rebate of the PRS scheme...where they have withdrawal limitation too....
don't you think so
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 02:23 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 02:20 PM)
I think the 10% is right...because else the tax rebate/relief is "buta-buta" gives....
just like the tax relief/rebate of the PRS scheme...where they have withdrawal limitation too....
don't you think so
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/saving...hdrawal-closure

There is no 10% ruling. Just call SSPN and ask.

The system is there, either we use it or we dont.
low yat 82
post Jun 10 2015, 02:42 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 02:23 PM)

bro, u forgot something. there is few type of acc. afaik, d 1 eligible for tax rebate r d 1 u open for ur children. dat 1 they capped how much u can take out yearly. if can take no matter how much, then it wont call as Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 02:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 10 2015, 02:42 PM)
bro, u forgot something. there is few type of acc. afaik, d 1 eligible for tax rebate r d 1 u open for ur children. dat 1 they capped how much u can take out yearly. if can take no matter how much, then it wont call as Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional
Bro.

That's the one i'm talking about. I wont bother to put in money if its not for tax rebate.

There is no cap.

Pls call the SSPN office for further info.

low yat 82
post Jun 10 2015, 02:53 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 02:44 PM)
Bro.

That's the one i'm talking about. I wont bother to put in money if its not for tax rebate.

There is no cap.

Pls call the SSPN office for further info.
my wife alrady open acc. 2-3years back. i help her open acc for our son at ministry of higher educations. d counter people told me yearly cannot take alot money out rm500 or 10% whichever lower sweat.gif
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 03:01 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 10 2015, 02:53 PM)
my wife alrady open acc. 2-3years back. i help her open acc for our son at ministry of higher educations. d counter people told me yearly cannot take alot money out rm500 or 10% whichever lower  sweat.gif
I made my intention very clear before I open my account last year with SSPN.

It was a go ahead. Did u close and reopen the account?
Did your kid already enjoying PTPN?
My kid is 1 yrs old...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 10 2015, 03:01 PM
low yat 82
post Jun 10 2015, 03:05 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 03:01 PM)
I made my intention very clear before I open my account last year with SSPN.

It was a go ahead. Did u close and reopen the account?
Did your kid already enjoying PTPN?
My kid is 1 yrs old...
didnt close anything..

my kids now onli 2++ yrs old sweat.gif

if free, i try ask my wife go take money out see can or not.. hmm.gif
xuzen
post Jun 10 2015, 03:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2015, 10:15 PM)
no time to convert into English.. next week maybe ready  yawn.gif
Waiting for some Mat-Salleh consultant to translate into Ingeris kut....by using Google Translate.

T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 03:20 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 10 2015, 03:05 PM)
didnt close anything..

my kids now onli 2++ yrs old  sweat.gif

if free, i try ask my wife go take money out see can or not..  hmm.gif
I think you can withdraw but with limitation as in your post#19
anyway,...as "Metoo" had asked before he open the a/c....
I will as like you...goto check with PTPTN if got free....

the terms is very clearly stated

"Maybe" not updated....if can,..the tax relief is BUTA-BUTA gives.....
and like what "MeToo" just said..."The system is there, either we use it or we don't".

MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 03:33 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 03:20 PM)
I think you can withdraw but with limitation as in your post#19
anyway,...as "Metoo" had asked before he open the a/c....
I will as like you...goto check with PTPTN if got free....

the terms is very clearly stated

"Maybe" not updated....if can,..the tax relief is BUTA-BUTA gives.....
and like what "MeToo" just said..."The system is there, either we use it or we don't".
SSPN officer says they calculate what is the NETT changes to the account.

So if you take out 20k in a calender year, you need to put in 26k in the same year to be able to claim the 6k tax relief.
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 03:40 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 03:33 PM)
SSPN officer says they calculate what is the NETT changes to the account.

So if you take out 20k in a calender year, you need to put in 26k in the same year to be able to claim the 6k tax relief.
OK....
so lets says, I take out 20K in a calendar year 2015, and in year 2015,...i did not put in money..thus NO tax relief yr 2015.
in 2016 I put in RM 6K , I gets tax relief for yr 2016...
Is that what you said...?
needed more clarification before I go to their office

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 10 2015, 03:41 PM
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 03:50 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 03:40 PM)
OK....
so lets says, I take out 20K in a calendar year 2015, and in year 2015,...i did not put in money..thus NO tax relief yr 2015.
Yes.

T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 03:51 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 03:50 PM)
Yes.
so how do you want to take out all the money?
close it?
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 04:00 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 03:51 PM)
so how do you want to take out all the money?
close it?
Actually. They didnt clarify. I just asked if I can take out all. I gave them year by year scenario on how much I put in and out.

At first it confused the counter staff, then he call another 2 friends who is also confused. That is until they found an officer who understood and confirmed with me.
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 04:03 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 04:00 PM)
Actually. They didnt clarify. I just asked if I can take out all. I gave them year by year scenario on how much I put in and out.

At first it confused the counter staff, then he call another 2 friends who is also confused. That is until they found an officer who understood and confirmed with me.
OK...will try to find out.....

low yat 82
post Jun 10 2015, 04:07 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 10 2015, 03:40 PM)
OK....
jus go n open acc la. last time when i go open got free umbrella n small plastic bag drool.gif

best is go ministry of higher education. d lobby there r their main PTPTN counter thumbup.gif
MeToo
post Jun 10 2015, 04:09 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 10 2015, 04:07 PM)
jus go n open acc la. last time when i go open got free umbrella n small plastic bag  drool.gif

best is go ministry of higher education. d lobby there r their main PTPTN counter  thumbup.gif
plastic bag...... sweat.gif sweat.gif
T231H
post Jun 10 2015, 04:15 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 10 2015, 04:07 PM)
jus go n open acc la. last time when i go open got free umbrella n small plastic bag  drool.gif

best is go ministry of higher education. d lobby there r their main PTPTN counter  thumbup.gif
Opened mine few years back thru BSN.....no free gifts if I can recall...
T231H
post Jun 11 2015, 10:08 AM

5,143 posts

MeToo, low yat 82
just came back from the PTPTN office...
what was said by "MeToo" in post #12 and post #24 are correct....

hmm.gif this will give me another avenue to maximise my money after the SSPN tax relief expired in 2017...(take out all in 2018?)

wongmunkeong if i can recall you did have a study and data on maximising the sspn saving....if got time can goto the nearest PTPTN office to confirm the above again and "recalculate" the study??
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2015, 10:22 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:08 AM)
MeToo, low yat 82

hmm.gif this will give me another avenue to maximise my money after the SSPN tax relief expired in 2017...(take out all in 2018?)

wongmunkeong if i can recall you did have a study and data on maximising the sspn saving....if got time can goto the nearest PTPTN office to confirm the above again and "recalculate" the study??
Maximise as in:
2015 Dec: In $6K
2016 Jan: Out $6K

Use $6K to "roll" / "churn"

2016 Dec: In $12K
2017 Jan: Out 12K

?

If so, IMHO, so short term.. even if plonk back just into Flexi Mortgage.. for that 1%+pa difference VS SSPN's returns pa, i'm waaaaay too lazy.
If i can get >=3%pa spread for sure within 8 mths (prudent a bit lar just in case of hiccups), then worth it to me in/out this way for SSPN tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 11 2015, 10:29 AM
T231H
post Jun 11 2015, 10:30 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2015, 10:22 AM)
Maximise as in:

?

If so, so short term.. even if plonk back just into Flexi Mortgage.. for that 1%+pa difference VS SSPN's returns pa, i'm waaaaay too lazy.
If i can get >=3%pa spread for sure within 8 mths (prudent a bit lar just in case of hiccups), then worth it to me in/out this way for SSPN.
i mean your calculation shows "something like" not worth to keep in SSPN for longer than 7 years due to low returns...
now with this "new info" seems like can take out after maximising the tax thing that ends in 2017....

i think this link was shown to you many months back....(hope you can recall) and understand what i was talking about....

Does it worth to put saving in Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (SSPN-i)?
http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2013/12/does-...ng-in-skim.html

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 11 2015, 10:43 AM
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 10:33 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2015, 10:22 AM)
Maximise as in:

?

If so, so short term.. even if plonk back just into Flexi Mortgage.. for that 1%+pa difference VS SSPN's returns pa, i'm waaaaay too lazy.
If i can get >=3%pa spread for sure within 8 mths (prudent a bit lar just in case of hiccups), then worth it to me in/out this way for SSPN.
This is definitely worth it.. as we hit the top 2 LHDN bracket.. our "returns" on investment is 24~25% of this $6000. Even if our money doesnt work for the rest of the year, its already worth it. However, the reason I take it out is the fact that I'm not very confident of this govt, I dont want to risk any legislation "changes" which might change the withdrawal policy and see my money stuck there.

In the 8~10 months between, we can either drop the money into our house flexipay account (not me though), for me I will just plunk it into FD as spare rolling/emergency cash.
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 10:34 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:30 AM)
i mean your calculation shows "something like" not worth to keep in SSPN for longer than 7 years due to low returns...
now with this "new info" seems like can take out after maximising the tax thing that ends in 2017....
Whoa bro?!

The tax relief ends in 2017?! cry.gif cry.gif
sevendogz
post Jun 11 2015, 10:35 AM

1,276 posts

NOT WORTH IT. PERIOD
SSPN is enough
T231H
post Jun 11 2015, 10:36 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 11 2015, 10:34 AM)
Whoa bro?!

The tax relief ends in 2017?!  cry.gif  cry.gif
yes, see point# 11
http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?kump=5...3&unit=1&sequ=1
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 10:44 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:36 AM)
There goes my extra $1500 income per year cry.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2015, 11:14 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 11 2015, 10:33 AM)
This is definitely worth it.. as we hit the top 2 LHDN bracket.. our "returns" on investment is 24~25% of this $6000. Even if our money doesnt work for the rest of the year, its already worth it. However, the reason I take it out is the fact that I'm not very confident of this govt, I dont want to risk any legislation "changes" which might change the withdrawal policy and see my money stuck there.

In the 8~10 months between, we can either drop the money into our house flexipay account (not me though), for me I will just plunk it into FD as spare rolling/emergency cash.
Clarification for the unclear - not worth it to me in/out/in/out SSPN.
For just plonk & forget - worthwhile for me at my tax bracket.
geekfiredog
post Jun 11 2015, 11:16 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 10 2015, 02:23 PM)

Have you withdrawn all the money you deposited into SSPN last year to validate what you have been told?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2015, 11:17 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:30 AM)

i think this link was shown to you many months back....(hope you can recall) and understand what i was talking about....

Does it worth to put saving in Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (SSPN-i)?
http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2013/12/does-...ng-in-skim.html
er.. look at my signature's 3rd link - SSPN.
I didn't say "not worth it" only - it can be better if one mixes it with equity investments.
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 11:18 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(geekfiredog @ Jun 11 2015, 11:16 AM)
Have you withdrawn all the money you deposited into SSPN last year to validate what you have been told?
check out T231H post #33

To answer your post, actually I havent, I really should... but procrastination and the fact the best I could do with the money is plonking it into FD is making me sit on my butt blush.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 11 2015, 11:20 AM
geekfiredog
post Jun 11 2015, 11:20 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:36 AM)
The SSPN tax exemption started earlier than 2012, if not mistaken - they increase the limit from RM3,000 to RM6,000 in 2012. Need to find out if the RM6,000 tax exemption ends in 2017 and back to RM3,000, or totally remove?
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 11:21 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(geekfiredog @ Jun 11 2015, 11:20 AM)
The SSPN tax exemption started earlier than 2012, if not mistaken - they increase the limit from RM3,000 to RM6,000 in 2012.  Need to find out if the RM6,000 tax exemption ends in 2017 and back to RM3,000, or totally remove?
Good point.

If its back to 3000... still better then nothing.. 25% of 3000 is still a meal or two tongue.gif
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 11:23 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2015, 11:17 AM)
er.. look at my signature's 3rd link - SSPN.
I didn't say "not worth it" only - it can be better if one mixes it with equity investments.
Bro...

I really cannot see any better returns then 20ish% (dependent on your tax bracket) percent return on your money within a 2~3 months period.

Perhaps you might wanna take another look at in with the fact that we can totally withdraw the money anytime we like.
low yat 82
post Jun 11 2015, 12:36 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 11 2015, 10:08 AM)
MeToo, low yat 82

ic... nice info!
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2015, 02:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 11 2015, 11:23 AM)
Bro...

I really cannot see any better returns then 20ish% (dependent on your tax bracket) percent return on your money within a 2~3 months period.

Perhaps you might wanna take another look at in with the fact that we can totally withdraw the money anytime we like.
Sorry - i don't want waste time on in/out/in/out all within a year or less.
My time cost to deal with PTPTN to take out is not worthwhile
+ like i shared earlier - what's the point for 1%pa+ variance vs my Flexi mortgage? (to take out of SSPN and plonk in my Flexi mortgage, then back into SSPN, rinse/repeat)

It's like those chasing FD %pa - unless it's like >=RM3M, not worth it for me
Worth it for some of course - big amount mar.

U say 20%pa+ returns yet i think U still don't understand where i'm coming from.
In simple English:
I do SSPN and i don't treat it as a stock exchange or options trade.
I just leave it there as there is no good usage for it in less than 1 year for me to do the in/out/in/out dance.
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 04:08 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2015, 02:43 PM)
Sorry - i don't want waste time on in/out/in/out all within a year or less.
My time cost to deal with PTPTN to take out is not worthwhile
+ like i shared earlier - what's the point for 1%pa+ variance vs my Flexi mortgage? (to take out of SSPN and plonk in my Flexi mortgage, then back into SSPN, rinse/repeat)

It's like those chasing FD %pa - unless it's like >=RM3M, not worth it for me
Worth it for some of course - big amount mar.

U say 20%pa+ returns yet i think U still don't understand where i'm coming from.
In simple English:
I do SSPN and i don't treat it as a stock exchange or options trade.
I just leave it there as there is no good usage for it in less than 1 year for me to do the in/out/in/out dance.
Ahh.. I see what u mean.

I'm coming form a diff direction, I'm not looking at the return/benefits form taking it out.

I'm looking at the security.

I have no confidence in the country handling my money.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2015, 07:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 11 2015, 04:08 PM)
Ahh.. I see what u mean.

I'm coming form a diff direction, I'm not looking at the return/benefits form taking it out.

I'm looking at the security.

I have no confidence in the country handling my money.
eh - like that i think better focus on EPF Ac1 --> investments & Ac2 --> monthly out, more oomph for "don't trust Gov with big % of $"
other than tax optimization your method with SSPN lar smile.gif
just a thought notworthy.gif
MeToo
post Jun 11 2015, 11:23 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2015, 07:42 PM)
eh - like that i think better focus on EPF Ac1 --> investments & Ac2 --> monthly out, more oomph for "don't trust Gov with big % of $"
other than tax optimization your method with SSPN lar smile.gif
just a thought  notworthy.gif
Yup.. taking out EPF Acc2 for house DP, then monthly repayment also out form acc2, better then they suddenly decide to extend withtdrawal age to 90 and then pay out by installment.
Sacrifies
post Jun 12 2015, 09:22 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 9 2015, 09:23 PM)
3. Competitive returns

link not working
nexona88
post Jun 12 2015, 11:57 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Sacrifies @ Jun 12 2015, 09:22 AM)
link not working
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/sspn-i-p...1BBBB94B0926D3D

TSwil-i-am
post Jun 14 2015, 05:45 PM

10,001 posts

Max tax relief for SSPN-i Plus is RM3.6k pa for sumbangan Takaful
kmarc
post Jun 14 2015, 06:24 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

I thought I could get tax relief of 12k per year with SSPN-i Plus but looks like I can't. Read through the FAQ section and this is what is written:

SOALAN 22
SSPN-i Plus  dan  SSPN-i masing-masing  menawarkan  pelepasan  taksiran  cukai pendapatan  ke  atas  simpanan  bersih  tahun  semasa  sehingga  RM6,000  bagi  akaun yang dibuka untuk anak/ anak jagaan yang sah. Jika pendeposit mempunyai kedua-dua akaun,  adakah  pelepasan  taksiran  cukai  pendapatan  yang  boleh  dinikmati  adalah sebanyak RM12,000?

Jawapan
Tidak. Pelepasan taksiran cukai pendapatan ke atas simpanan bersih bagi SSPN-i Plus dan  SSPN-i hanya  diberikan  sehingga  RM6,000.  Walau  bagaimanapun  bagi  akaun SSPN-i Plus,  pendeposit  boleh  menikmati  tambahan  pelepasan  taksiran  cukai pendapatan  ke  atas  sumbangan  takaful  yang  dibayar  kepada  pengendali  takaful sebanyak RM6,000, di bawah kategori pelepasan bagi insurans nyawa dan KWSP.
So, if your max contribution to normal SSPN-i is at least 6k and your life insurance/KWSP contribution is also at least 6k, you'll get no more tax relief from SSPN-i Plus.

From the link you guys posted : http://www.ptptn.gov.my/docs/SSPN-i%20Plus...PN-i%20PLUS.pdf
nexona88
post Jun 14 2015, 08:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jun 14 2015, 08:50 PM
TSwil-i-am
post Jun 14 2015, 09:35 PM

10,001 posts

With savings as low as RM50 in SSPN-i Plus, depositors r eligible to participate in Lucky Draw worth RM3.00 mil from 8/6/15 to 31/5/16
Quarterly draw : 1 BMW 320i
Annual draw :
1st prize x 1 - Apartment worth RM500k
2nd prize x 5 - Honda HR-V 1.8L V
3rd prize x 10 - Kawasaki ER-6f
Consolation x 250 - Cash voucher worth RM2k

nexona88
post Jun 15 2015, 06:46 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Nice got Lucky Draw rclxms.gif It would attract some to SSPN-i Plus tongue.gif
Ck1976
post Jun 15 2015, 07:15 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 14 2015, 06:24 PM)
I thought I could get tax relief of 12k per year with SSPN-i Plus but looks like I can't. Read through the FAQ section and this is what is written:
So, if your max contribution to normal SSPN-i is at least 6k and your life insurance/KWSP contribution is also at least 6k, you'll get no more tax relief from SSPN-i Plus.

From the link you guys posted : http://www.ptptn.gov.my/docs/SSPN-i%20Plus...PN-i%20PLUS.pdf
To me is something additional commitment with insurance , maybe it just add 1or 2 extra benefits .

T231H
post Jun 16 2015, 09:37 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(geekfiredog @ Jun 11 2015, 11:20 AM)
The SSPN tax exemption started earlier than 2012, if not mistaken - they increase the limit from RM3,000 to RM6,000 in 2012.  Need to find out if the RM6,000 tax exemption ends in 2017 and back to RM3,000, or totally remove?
hmm.gif ...just made a quick check and contribution assumption...
this year I have about RM 35k in PTPTN
will add in RM 12K next 2 years (2017)
Total will be about 47K in 2017
assuming interest rate is 4.3% pa.
will get about RM 2000 pa.
so if I add in just RM 1000 for year 2018 and onward....my sumbangan bersih for each year is RM 3000
will get tax rebate of RM 3000 x 23% = RM 690
My net contribution is just RM 310 for 2018
Every year my balance will increase due to interest thus my contribution will be reduced in the calculation of Sumbangan Bersih.
I think a few years after 2018...I dun need to contribute bcos my Sumbangan Bersih will reach RM 3000 and still get tax rebate.

therefore I think the stated limit of RM 3000 will be removed...

what do you think?

This post has been edited by T231H: Jun 16 2015, 10:25 PM
asiatrader98
post Jul 6 2015, 10:48 PM

1,485 posts

out of the topic but hope anyone can help?
try to register to Pendaftaran Online E-SSPN
in order to get the copy for 2014 income tax
but what is this POSKOD SEMASA PEMBUKAAN AKAUN SSPN:?
my house postcode?
until now can't register it online
call them no body pick up the phone
T231H
post Jul 6 2015, 11:32 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Jul 6 2015, 10:48 PM)
out of the topic but hope anyone can help?
try to register to Pendaftaran Online E-SSPN
in order to get the copy for 2014 income tax
but what is this POSKOD SEMASA PEMBUKAAN AKAUN SSPN:?
my house postcode?
until now can't register it online
call them no body pick up the phone
hmm.gif while waiting for responses....
try the postcode of the registration address?
looks like it...

This post has been edited by T231H: Jul 6 2015, 11:33 PM
asiatrader98
post Jul 7 2015, 09:59 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 6 2015, 11:32 PM)
hmm.gif while waiting for responses....
try the postcode of the registration address?
looks like it...
thank, but still can't
call and ask them to assist then now registered ady flex.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Jul 7 2015, 11:59 AM
nexona88
post Jul 7 2015, 01:30 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Jul 7 2015, 09:59 AM)
thank, but still can't
call and ask them to assist then now registered ady flex.gif
what the problem? hmm.gif
asiatrader98
post Jul 7 2015, 05:32 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 7 2015, 01:30 PM)
what the problem? hmm.gif
i have no idea
but you can call them and ask them to register for you
bobzaidi
post Sep 7 2015, 10:08 AM

41 posts

which one better between sspn-i & sspn-i plus?
TSwil-i-am
post Sep 7 2015, 10:56 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(bobzaidi @ Sep 7 2015, 10:08 AM)
which one better between sspn-i & sspn-i plus?
It depends on individual objective
Sspn-i dun have monthly commitment but Sspn-i plus have
bobzaidi
post Sep 7 2015, 12:33 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 7 2015, 10:56 AM)
It depends on individual objective
Sspn-i dun have monthly commitment but Sspn-i plus have
how abt takaful coverage?
TSwil-i-am
post Sep 7 2015, 03:20 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(bobzaidi @ Sep 7 2015, 12:33 PM)
how abt takaful coverage?
Both oso offer takaful coverage with conditions
Kaka23
post Sep 14 2015, 01:24 PM

8,259 posts

SSPN website down? Why cannot log in?
kino318
post Sep 27 2015, 12:35 PM

671 posts

Hi, anyone subscribe to this sspn-i plus?
What is the main benefit?

TSwil-i-am
post Sep 27 2015, 12:49 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ Sep 27 2015, 12:35 PM)
Hi, anyone subscribe to this sspn-i plus?
What is the main benefit?
List of benefits
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/docs/SSPN-i%20Plus...PN-i%20PLUS.pdf
kochin
post Nov 11 2015, 04:19 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

almost end of the year liao.
time to maximise sspn/prs/books/health checks/sports/etc before the boogeyman (lhdn) strikes.

for road show campaign, can we expect any freebies from sspn?
or just go kl sentral for better chance of free gift.

am eyeing an umbrella or better.

btw, can go and top up using credit card or not?
else need bring cheque, very inconvenient.

TSwil-i-am
post Nov 11 2015, 04:22 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 11 2015, 04:19 PM)
time to maximise sspn/prs/books/health checks/sports/etc before the boogeyman (lhdn) strikes.

They dun accept credit card
They will accept cash n cheq ony
wongmunkeong
post Nov 11 2015, 05:58 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 11 2015, 04:19 PM)

Tai loh, online can top up
Then email the agent and agent will gip U something - no need to run up/down/left/right
heheh

There's one fellow around here that's taking care of the centrepoint branch
helpful fellow with details and stuff
i did it online and emailed him the receipt BUT i declined his freebies since he already helped me with details/info.
PM me if U can't find his contact here in LYN - may not be too nice for me to put his contact by own judgement sweat.gif
Kaka23
post Nov 12 2015, 06:46 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 11 2015, 05:58 PM)
Then email the agent and agent will gip U something - no need to run up/down/left/right
heheh

i did it online and emailed him the receipt BUT i declined his freebies since he already helped me with details/info.
PM me if U can't find his contact here in LYN - may not be too nice for me to put his contact by own judgement  sweat.gif
Where is centerpoint?

kochin
post Nov 12 2015, 08:23 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 11 2015, 05:58 PM)
heheh

PM me if U can't find his contact here in LYN - may not be too nice for me to put his contact by own judgement  sweat.gif
went through all 4 pages here, can't find the mentioned fella.
do him a favour lah, i think a few will be interested.
kekeke.
else PM me lor.
thanks dai loh!

centrepoint good. nearby saja.
kekeke.
wongmunkeong
post Nov 12 2015, 09:53 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Nov 12 2015, 06:46 AM)
Where is centerpoint?
bandar utama, between 1U & Tropicana
wongmunkeong
post Nov 12 2015, 09:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 12 2015, 08:23 AM)
went through all 4 pages here, can't find the mentioned fella.
do him a favour lah, i think a few will be interested.
kekeke.
else PM me lor.
thanks dai loh!

centrepoint good. nearby saja.
kekeke.
Will PM U - i worry may not be too right for his details plastered here by me sweat.gif
Kaka23
post Nov 12 2015, 10:11 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 12 2015, 09:53 AM)
bandar utama, between 1U & Tropicana
Oh.. near near

But I am blur, why need the guy? What will he do for you?
kochin
post Nov 12 2015, 12:41 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 12 2015, 09:58 AM)
Will PM U - i worry may not be too right for his details plastered here by me  sweat.gif
Thanks taikor. Will contact him.
I love freebies. smile.gif
eric8188
post Nov 23 2015, 11:06 AM

73 posts

Hi All,

So in short if i bank in 6k now into SSPN account, can i withdraw the full amount at anytime next year?

Thanks,
Eric
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 23 2015, 10:05 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(eric8188 @ Nov 23 2015, 11:06 AM)
Hi All,

So in short if i bank in 6k now into SSPN account, can i withdraw the full amount at anytime next year?

Thanks,
Eric
Yes
SmallPotato2011
post Dec 2 2015, 09:43 AM

1,248 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 11 2015, 04:22 PM)
They dun accept credit card
They will accept cash n cheq ony
Just to supplement that credit card can be used from their official web site.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/simpanan/kemudahan-sspn-i
wongmunkeong
post Dec 2 2015, 05:11 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(SmallPotato2011 @ Dec 2 2015, 09:43 AM)

Dagnabit.. i didn't see that.
Thanks SmallPotato notworthy.gif
<starts counting $5K+ into points or cash back =...>
SmallPotato2011
post Dec 2 2015, 08:15 PM

1,248 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 2 2015, 05:11 PM)
Dagnabit.. i didn't see that.
Thanks SmallPotato  notworthy.gif
<starts counting $5K+ into points or cash back =...>
Just try it today... Can top up via credit card... So good... Got umbrella too!
SUSMNet
post Dec 2 2015, 08:28 PM

11,954 posts

there no mentioned of supporting credit card.
wongmunkeong
post Dec 2 2015, 08:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(SmallPotato2011 @ Dec 2 2015, 08:15 PM)
I just emailed my SSPN contact and he said there's a $0.53 charge wor.
Were U charged?
Just checking stated process Vs actual notworthy.gif
SmallPotato2011
post Dec 2 2015, 09:47 PM

1,248 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 2 2015, 08:47 PM)
I just emailed my SSPN contact and he said there's a $0.53 charge wor.
Were U charged?
Just checking stated process Vs actual  notworthy.gif
I think I am not the first person here to use credit card to top up. So far did not hear there is any additional charges. Even if rm 0.53, just give it la... wink.gif

You can just try in any SSPN/PTPTN kiosk in KL...
SmallPotato2011
post Dec 2 2015, 09:49 PM

1,248 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 2 2015, 08:28 PM)
>>>>> Kaunter PTPTN (Tunai, Kad Debit / Kad ATM / Kad Kredit)

Did you see this? Ada leh, dalam bahasa melayu version...
magika
post Dec 2 2015, 10:12 PM

2,612 posts

I top up last week and check my card transaction. No charges at all as the counter says PPTN will absorb the charges.

SUSMNet
post Dec 2 2015, 10:18 PM

11,954 posts

Pengeluaran

Pendeposit hanya boleh membuat pengeluaran selepas 3 tahun dari tarikh pembukaan akaun dan jumlah minima yang perlu ada didalam akaun simpanan adalah sebanyak RM1,000.
nexona88
post Dec 2 2015, 10:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(SmallPotato2011 @ Dec 2 2015, 08:15 PM)
nice rclxms.gif
nexona88
post Dec 2 2015, 10:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 2 2015, 08:28 PM)
already stated in website shakehead.gif doh.gif
SUSMNet
post Dec 3 2015, 08:45 PM

11,954 posts

Able to open SSPN-i Plus for our ownself?
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 3 2015, 08:56 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 3 2015, 08:45 PM)
Yup nod.gif
SUSMNet
post Dec 3 2015, 09:36 PM

11,954 posts

I still dont understand this plan.
Take pakej belian for example, every month need to pay RM300(Sumbangan SSPN-i) + RM200(Takaful).

Let say the yearly interest given is 4%.

So 12 month x 500 = 6000

Interest earned is 6000 x 4% ?
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 3 2015, 09:46 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 3 2015, 09:36 PM)
I still dont understand this plan.
Take pakej belian for example, every month need to pay RM300(Sumbangan SSPN-i) + RM200(Takaful).

Let say the yearly interest given is 4%.

So 12 month x 500 = 6000

Interest earned is 6000 x 4% ?
Nope
(12 x 300) x 4%
nexona88
post Dec 3 2015, 10:06 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 3 2015, 08:45 PM)
yes. why u got rejected meh? hmm.gif
SUSMNet
post Dec 5 2015, 01:49 PM

11,954 posts

This mean the SSPN-i plus is wasting...I already have my own insurance
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 5 2015, 07:22 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 5 2015, 01:49 PM)
This mean the SSPN-i plus is wasting...I already have my own insurance
For those who have insurance, no point
For those who dun have insurance, gud investment
SUSMNet
post Dec 6 2015, 10:14 AM

11,954 posts

No la.
Paying the same insurance amount, I can get much better coverage by buying the insurance with insurance company.
nexona88
post Dec 6 2015, 12:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 6 2015, 10:14 AM)
No la.
Paying the same insurance amount, I can get much better coverage by buying the insurance with insurance company.
then don't subscribe to SSPN-i sweat.gif

buy insurance instead

This post has been edited by nexona88: Dec 6 2015, 12:43 PM
tbheng
post Jan 23 2016, 09:25 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(SmallPotato2011 @ Dec 2 2015, 09:43 AM)

Thanks for sharing this. I want to top up SSPN-i account via online using credit card. thumbup.gif

But when I tried your link and then move on to myPay, it only support online banking payment... did I missing something? hmm.gif

Is this link correct?

Appreciate your help... Thanks. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
cheekian98
post May 10 2016, 09:10 PM

if i am single and have SSPN-i with my own name? can i enjoy the tax exempted rebate when do tax filing? or i must have son/daughter only can claim the tax rebate? anyone have idea?
T231H
post May 10 2016, 09:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(cheekian98 @ May 10 2016, 09:10 PM)
if i am single and have SSPN-i with my own name? can i enjoy the tax exempted rebate when do tax filing? or i must have son/daughter only can claim the tax rebate? anyone have idea?
Pelepasan taksiran cukai pendapatan ke atas simpanan SSPN-i:
1. Ibu bapa dan ibu bapa angkat/ penjaga yang sah dari segi undang-undang yang menyimpan dalam akaun SSPN-i untuk manfaat anak diberi pelepasan sehingga maksima RM6,000.00 setahun tertakluk kepada jumlah simpanan bersih tahun semasa;

2. Ibu bapa yang membuat taksiran berasingan dan telah membuka akaun simpanan SSPN-i berasingan atas anak yang sama diberikan pelepasan sehingga maksima RM6,000.00 seorang setahun;

3. Ibu bapa yang membuat taksiran bersama dan telah membuka akaun simpanan SSPN-i berasingan diberi pelepasan sehingga maksima RM6,000.00 setahun; dan

4. Individu yang menyimpan untuk diri sendiri tidak diberi pelepasan taksiran cukai.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/simpanan/cukai
ytan053
post Sep 5 2016, 10:37 AM

565 posts

post deleted

This post has been edited by ytan053: Sep 5 2016, 10:42 AM
nicemamak
post Sep 20 2016, 07:17 PM

154 posts

Any promotion so far? Thought to open a new account soon.

If I am opening for son today, can the money be used for daugther later day?

Can the fund be used to study at private college like HELP, INTI, Segi....etc
mrhulk
post Sep 23 2016, 11:41 AM

131 posts

i noob in takaful thing,,,do i get back all my sumbangan takaful if i cancel my account?
MUM
post Sep 23 2016, 11:46 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Sep 23 2016, 11:41 AM)
i noob in takaful thing,,,do i get back all my sumbangan takaful if i cancel my account?
takaful is sort of insurance protection right?
if yes,..you paid the insurance companies for that coverage....
you think you can get back "all your sumbangan"?
maybe "yes" during the cooling off period.
mrhulk
post Sep 23 2016, 11:48 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 23 2016, 11:46 AM)
takaful is sort of insurance protection right?
if yes,..you paid the insurance companies for that coverage....
you think you can get back "all your sumbangan"?
maybe "yes" during the cooling off period.
oh....so it is same as insurance?.....so i dont get back my sumbangan unless i get sick/dead right?
MUM
post Sep 23 2016, 12:06 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Sep 23 2016, 11:48 AM)
oh....so it is same as insurance?.....so i dont get back  my sumbangan unless i get sick/dead right?
What is 'Takaful'
Takaful is a type of Islamic insurance, where members contribute money into a pooling system in order to guarantee each other against loss or damage. Takaful-branded insurance is based on Sharia, Islamic religious law, and explains how it is the responsibility of individuals to cooperate and protect each other.

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/t/takaful.asp

not sure if only sick/dead can get back...maybe they have some endowment type? but maybe not thru this SSPN-i.
sevendogz
post Oct 19 2016, 01:55 PM

1,276 posts

regarding this point:

2. Ibu bapa yang membuat taksiran berasingan dan telah membuka akaun simpanan SSPN-i berasingan atas anak yang sama diberikan pelepasan sehingga maksima RM6,000.00 seorang setahun;

do I need to open 2 sspn accounts (me and wife) separately on the same son to enjoy 6k tax relief each?

This post has been edited by sevendogz: Oct 19 2016, 01:56 PM
T231H
post Oct 19 2016, 02:01 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Oct 19 2016, 01:55 PM)
regarding this point:

do I need to open 2 sspn accounts (me and wife) separately on the same son to enjoy 6k tax relief each?
try this?...
Question 6 :
If parents filed separate assessment and have opened SSPN-i accounts, what would be the maximum incentive amount?

Answer :
They will each enjoy the maximum incentive amount of RM6,000.00 annually.

Question 7 :
If parents filed joint assessment and have opened SSPN-i accounts, what would be the maximum incentive amount?

Answer :
They will jointly enjoy the maximum incentive amount of RM6,000.00 annually.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/insent...ih-dalam-sspn-i
sevendogz
post Oct 19 2016, 02:11 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 19 2016, 02:01 PM)
try this?...
Question 6 :
If parents filed separate assessment and have opened SSPN-i accounts, what would be the maximum incentive amount?

Answer :
They will each enjoy the maximum incentive amount of RM6,000.00 annually.
Question 7 :
If parents filed joint assessment and have opened SSPN-i accounts, what would be the maximum incentive amount?

Answer :
They will jointly enjoy the maximum incentive amount of RM6,000.00 annually.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/insent...ih-dalam-sspn-i
my question is, one kid, one sspn account of 12k deposit, or one kid, 2 sspn accounts of 6k deposit?
T231H
post Oct 19 2016, 02:20 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Oct 19 2016, 02:11 PM)
my question is, one kid, one sspn account of 12k deposit, or one kid, 2 sspn accounts of 6k deposit?
Terms & conditions to opening an SSPN-i account

Depositor and beneficiary must be Malaysian citizen

Depositor also can open account for himself as beneficiary;

Each depositor can only open one account for same beneficiary;

Beneficiary must be 1 day up before reaching the age of 29 years;

Beneficiary who have had accounts open by depositor can open an account for himself or to open an account for any other citizen. This means beneficiary at the same time can be a depositor; and

Different depositor is allowed to open an account for the same beneficiary and no limit on the number of accounts for each beneficiary.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/231

This post has been edited by T231H: Oct 19 2016, 02:27 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 19 2016, 02:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Oct 19 2016, 02:11 PM)
"owner" of a/c = parent
beneficiary = kid

Thus
ParentA AND Kid01 = account number #1
ParentB AND Kid01 = aacount number #2
OR
ParentA AND Kid02 = account number #2

kapeesh?
sevendogz
post Oct 19 2016, 02:29 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 19 2016, 02:20 PM)
i kid = 1 sspn account number?
normally you have to open the account together with your name in it, something like joint account
in this case, do we both need to open the "joint" account, means there will be 2 accounts for 1 kid
6k in 2 accounts each, or 12k in one account only...

anyone got the experience?
sevendogz
post Oct 19 2016, 02:33 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 19 2016, 02:28 PM)
"owner" of a/c = parent
beneficiary = kid

Thus
ParentB AND Kid01 = aacount number #2
OR
ParentA AND Kid02 = account number #2

kapeesh?
thanks to help clear the air
CharAng
post Oct 21 2016, 02:49 PM

14 posts

Hi All,
I was just wondering if anyone still managed to pay via 'credit card'?
Read this forum and noticed that "Kad Kredit" is no longer part mentioned in the website.

Kemudahan penambahan simpanan SSPN-i boleh dibuat melalui saluran berikut :

Kaunter PTPTN (Tunai, Kad Debit / Kad ATM ).

CharAng
post Oct 21 2016, 03:14 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(CharAng @ Oct 21 2016, 02:49 PM)
Hi All,
Read this forum and noticed that "Kad Kredit" is no longer part mentioned in the website.

Kemudahan penambahan simpanan SSPN-i  boleh dibuat melalui saluran berikut :

Managed to call the centre. Confirmed can't used Credit Card anymore. Only last year allowed.
"Tambahan" not allowed.
"Bayar Balik" can use.

Missed the boat...

wu ming
post Oct 21 2016, 05:26 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(CharAng @ Oct 21 2016, 02:49 PM)
Hi All,

Kemudahan penambahan simpanan SSPN-i  boleh dibuat melalui saluran berikut :

Discontinued since last year.
kw
post Oct 21 2016, 06:00 PM

781 posts

I just went to their branch on Monday (5 days ago) and credit card deposit for SSPN-i account still valid, only normal SSPN account can't.
Kaka23
post Oct 23 2016, 09:17 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kw @ Oct 21 2016, 06:00 PM)
I just went to their branch on Monday (5 days ago) and credit card deposit for SSPN-i account still valid, only normal SSPN account can't.
Oh why.. why

I want to use credit card lei... cry.gif
brianklc
post Oct 24 2016, 04:19 PM

372 posts

May I know which branch did you went to?
kw
post Oct 24 2016, 05:34 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Oct 24 2016, 04:19 PM)
May I know which branch did you went to?
USJ1 Giant and also Menara MRCB, Shah Alam
xuzen
post Oct 24 2016, 08:44 PM

4,436 posts

Based on your post, I called up PTPTN branch at my local vicinity and inquired. The officer on duty told me SSPN-i "penambahan deposit" cannot use credit card, only debit card.

However for "Bayaran balik pinjaman" the payor can use credit-card payment.

I think you may have confused "bayaran balik pinjaman" with "penambahan deposit".

Xuzen
kw
post Oct 25 2016, 04:12 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2016, 08:44 PM)
Based on your post,  I called up PTPTN branch at my local vicinity and inquired. The officer on duty told me SSPN-i "penambahan deposit" cannot use credit card, only debit card.

However for "Bayaran balik pinjaman" the payor can use credit-card payment.

I think you may have confused "bayaran balik pinjaman" with "penambahan deposit".

Xuzen
Well, that's what the reply I received that day upon enquiries at the counter, trust or not is up to you.
Anyway, can or cannot also not affecting me since mine is SSPN account, sure can't use credit card deposit anymore.
Skyfer
post Oct 31 2016, 12:24 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2015, 10:15 PM)
no time to convert into English.. next week maybe ready  ohmy.gif

1 year++ later... https://goo.gl/Bju2rH

Sorry:
> It's messy, semi-rushed it because occupied with work
> My BM is very rusty (rarely use it) so I did the best I can
> I have further questions, I have to leave, will ask when I return

So meanwhile hope this helps

This post has been edited by Skyfer: Oct 31 2016, 12:25 PM
Squarrel
post Dec 4 2016, 01:44 PM

SSPN-i Plus
I have one question here.
I'm single and can I open account for my parent in order to enjoy the takaful benefit(36critical illness,Accident,Nature Death) once anything(touch wood) happen to my parent?
Was attracted to the takaful benefit(for parent) since I don't have child to entitle me for tax exemption.
T231H
post Dec 4 2016, 04:10 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Squarrel @ Dec 4 2016, 01:44 PM)
SSPN-i Plus
I'm single and can I open account for my parent in order to enjoy the takaful benefit(36critical illness,Accident,Nature Death) once anything(touch wood) happen to my parent?
Was attracted to the takaful benefit(for parent) since I don't have child to entitle me for tax exemption.
while waiting for more value added responses,...you may try the info from here....which I think the answers are hidden in there...
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/simpanan/cukai
SUSMNet
post Dec 4 2016, 04:55 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Squarrel @ Dec 4 2016, 01:44 PM)
SSPN-i Plus
cannot.
only for ur child
effectz
post Dec 10 2016, 12:24 AM

1,110 posts

Better get pure insurance and go unit trust
effectz
post Dec 10 2016, 12:25 AM

1,110 posts

Google I great ameen
john123x
post Dec 10 2016, 12:26 AM

3,019 posts

no offense guys, its kinda like a red flag, hinting PTPTN going out of money, due to lots of people not repaying loans....
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 10 2016, 02:29 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Dec 10 2016, 12:26 AM)
no offense guys, its kinda like a red flag, hinting PTPTN  going out of money, due to lots of people not repaying loans....
M keen to know how they managed to stay afloat considering the huge deficit cumulatively
nexona88
post Dec 10 2016, 02:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Dec 10 2016, 12:26 AM)
no offense guys, its kinda like a red flag, hinting PTPTN  going out of money, due to lots of people not repaying loans....
That's why now they go hunting loan defaulters like ahlong devil.gif

MeToo
post Dec 20 2016, 05:36 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(sspniplus online agent @ Dec 20 2016, 05:30 PM)
enjoy tax rebate up to rm12,000 with sspn i plus
click this link to register

https://sspniplusonline.ptptn.gov.my/sspnip...e/?id=000003871
Stop with your stupid spam.

I dont need yoru sspn plus nonsense.
imnotabot
post Dec 21 2016, 03:26 AM

531 posts

Hi guys. Is it a good idea to invest in SSPN/SSPN-i (not interested in the Plus) for the long run to get the maximum RM6,000 tax relief every year (e.g. put RM500 every month)? I'm not intending to use the money in SSPN-i in the short run as I already have an emergency fund to cover any emergencies.

Is there a drawback I'm not seeing?
T231H
post Dec 21 2016, 07:14 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Dec 21 2016, 03:26 AM)
Hi guys. Is it a good idea to invest in SSPN/SSPN-i (not interested in the Plus) for the long run to get the maximum RM6,000 tax relief every year (e.g. put RM500 every month)? I'm not intending to use the money in SSPN-i in the short run as I already have an emergency fund to cover any emergencies.

Is there a drawback I'm not seeing?
jfi,
as per current available policy...the RM 6000 tax relief is still 2017, then I suppose it would go back to RM 3000
http://www.hasil.org.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=1&bt_lgv=2

the main drawback is there is certain t & C on its withdrawal....

zyrex_ho
post Dec 21 2016, 10:42 AM

44 posts

Can i enjoy the tax relief if i am single? This SSPN-i scheme is meant for children education right? But the most attractive part is on the tax relief, problem is i am single, so will i be eligible to get this tax relief?
imnotabot
post Dec 21 2016, 12:25 PM

531 posts

No tax relief if you're saving for yourself: https://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/simpanan/cukai
basSist
post Jan 4 2017, 09:13 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

When will the penyata hasil for tax relief YA2016 be ready online so that I can download and file it.
spreeeee
post Jan 17 2017, 04:05 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

help.. is e-sspn website down?
familyfirst
post Feb 13 2017, 01:18 PM

1,311 posts

4% declared. Ok la ... macam FD jugak. Part of diversification lor. At least not all in the same basket.
xuzen
post Feb 13 2017, 02:01 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Feb 13 2017, 01:18 PM)
4% declared. Ok la ... macam FD jugak.    Part of diversification lor.  At least not all in the same basket.
where you get this info? Reference? Source pls.... or link.
giko
post Feb 13 2017, 02:02 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2017, 02:01 PM)
where you get this info? Reference? Source pls.... or link.
"The National Higher Education Fund (PTPTN) has declared a dividend payout rate of 4% for 2016 Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (SSPN-i) and SSPN-i Plus"

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/2159847
xuzen
post Feb 13 2017, 02:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Feb 13 2017, 02:02 PM)
"The National Higher Education Fund (PTPTN) has declared a dividend payout rate of 4% for 2016 Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (SSPN-i) and SSPN-i Plus"

Wow! I am surprise they do it so early, even earlier than KWSP. Last year I remembered KWSP declared their dividend in Feb and SSPN did theirs in Apr or May.

Xuzen
familyfirst
post Feb 13 2017, 02:36 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2017, 02:08 PM)
Wow! I am surprise they do it so early, even earlier than KWSP. Last year I remembered KWSP declared their dividend in Feb and SSPN did theirs in Apr or May.

Xuzen
Ya lor. So early. Was expecting KWSP's declaration in coming days. Suddenly saw this. Same rate as last year. Hope KWSP also same rate as last year lor...
SUSMNet
post Feb 13 2017, 07:58 PM

11,954 posts

Can we simpan the sspn-i using our own name? 50 year old
Kaka23
post Feb 13 2017, 11:15 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Feb 13 2017, 02:02 PM)

Nice... tq
familyfirst
post Feb 14 2017, 08:41 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 13 2017, 07:58 PM)
Can we simpan the sspn-i using our own name? 50 year old
Its under your own name actually but need to nominate which kid/child for that account. Meaning the money (when withdraw) will be given back to you and not your child. Do you have any kids?
tryifelsecatch
post Feb 14 2017, 04:33 PM

474 posts

4% with insurance coverage some more.. consider better than FD already right? smile.gif
cklimm
post Feb 14 2017, 09:16 PM

2,337 posts

Suprised with their dividend, I expected 3.75%
dchooks
post Feb 22 2017, 01:48 PM

Where to check the latest balance with dividend?

I click on "Penyata Baki" and choose year 2017.

It returns nothing.

alex_cyw1985
post Feb 22 2017, 03:02 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(dchooks @ Feb 22 2017, 01:48 PM)
Where to check the latest balance with dividend?

I click on "Penyata Baki" and choose year 2017.

It returns nothing.
1st time deposit? month of deposit?
soonming
post Feb 22 2017, 10:16 PM

187 posts

Just want to ask you all here
I deposited for three months on dec 31 16 (first time depositing)
When should I top up the deposit again?
Is it counted as dec Jan and feb
Or Jan feb and mar 17?

dchooks
post Feb 23 2017, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Feb 22 2017, 03:02 PM)
1st time deposit? month of deposit?
Yes, it is the first time. I deposited on Dec 2016.
alex_cyw1985
post Feb 23 2017, 10:55 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(dchooks @ Feb 23 2017, 10:46 AM)
Yes, it is the first time. I deposited on Dec 2016.
You will receive the interest in early 2018.
Bussybody
post Feb 23 2017, 01:54 PM

246 posts

ah cannot tax relief meh if open under personnel name?

Want start saving for my future kids education...

alex_cyw1985
post Feb 23 2017, 02:16 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Bussybody @ Feb 23 2017, 01:54 PM)
ah cannot tax relief meh if open under personnel name?

Want start saving for my future kids education...
if you have kid, open under your kid name.
kh_lim
post Mar 27 2017, 02:22 PM

283 posts

May I know if I open an SSPN-i account for my kid now, will I still entitled for RM6,000 tax relief?
T231H
post Mar 27 2017, 02:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kh_lim @ Mar 27 2017, 02:22 PM)
May I know if I open an SSPN-i account for my kid now, will I still entitled for RM6,000 tax relief?
see # 10
http://www.hasil.org.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=1&bt_lgv=2
kh_lim
post Mar 27 2017, 02:38 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 27 2017, 02:25 PM)
Net saving in SSPN's scheme (with effect from year assessment 2012 until year assessment 2017)
6,000 (Limited)

meaning still entitled?

This post has been edited by kh_lim: Mar 27 2017, 02:39 PM
MUM
post Mar 27 2017, 02:40 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kh_lim @ Mar 27 2017, 02:38 PM)
Net saving in SSPN's scheme (with effect from year assessment 2012 until year assessment 2017)
6,000 (Limited)

meaning still entitled?
i read as a yes...what do you interpret?
kh_lim
post Mar 27 2017, 02:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 27 2017, 02:40 PM)
i read as a yes...what do you interpret?
I interpret the same as you...

However, I read few articles mentioning that the last entitlement date was 31st Dec 2016, that's why I'm curious...

MUM
post Mar 27 2017, 03:19 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kh_lim @ Mar 27 2017, 02:46 PM)
I interpret the same as you...

However, I read few articles mentioning that the last entitlement date was 31st Dec 2016, that's why I'm curious...
i interpret the word from LHDN website...."until year assessment 2017"
so when are we going to file the 2017 year assessment...in April 2018 no?

kh_lim
post Mar 27 2017, 03:38 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 27 2017, 03:19 PM)
i interpret the word from LHDN website...."until year assessment 2017"
so when are we going to file the 2017 year assessment...in April 2018 no?
Yes, I've the same thought like you. Gotta check this out at PTPTN counter...
thanks anyway, for your help smile.gif
MUM
post Mar 27 2017, 03:42 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kh_lim @ Mar 27 2017, 03:38 PM)
Yes, I've the same thought like you. Gotta check this out at PTPTN counter...
thanks anyway, for your help  smile.gif
after having checked,..pls feedback here will you?
kh_lim
post Mar 27 2017, 04:00 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 27 2017, 03:42 PM)
after having checked,..pls feedback here will you?
Sure, I will... biggrin.gif

Sharing is caring... nod.gif
kh_lim
post Mar 30 2017, 11:56 AM

283 posts

Verified through PTPTN counter and according to them, still entitled for tax relief if open SSPN-i account this year...
nxtpg
post Apr 2 2017, 04:55 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Feb 23 2017, 02:16 PM)
if you have kid, open under your kid name.
the account is opened under personal name rite? only the menerima manfaat is kids name

kelvinfixx
post Jun 28 2017, 02:53 PM

1,589 posts

Still got tax relieve ? Is it stop?
SUSMNet
post Jun 28 2017, 08:57 PM

11,954 posts

still got
Sunny zombie
post Jun 29 2017, 06:53 AM

551 posts

Sspn I plus , where sspn redesign their product saving + takaful (insurance)
SUSDavid83
post Jun 29 2017, 09:02 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jun 28 2017, 02:53 PM)
Still got tax relieve ? Is it stop?
This year will be the last for relief up to RM 6k
Unless there's an extension from Budget 2018; otherwise, it'll be reverted back to RM 3k relief.
kelvinfixx
post Jun 29 2017, 02:20 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2017, 09:02 AM)
Unless there's an extension from Budget 2018; otherwise, it'll be reverted back to RM 3k relief.
I want to open account online

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/esmas-open-acc-web/#/openAccount

Butir-butir Pendeposit <- My info?

Jenis akuan <- Untuk diri sendiri?

Butir-butir Penerima Manfaat/Diri Sendiri <- My chidlren?

Butir-butir Waris Terdekat <- who?
Kaka23
post Jun 29 2017, 02:33 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2017, 09:02 AM)
Hope they extend somemore.. laugh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 29 2017, 02:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jun 29 2017, 02:20 PM)
I want to open account online

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/esmas-open-acc-web/#/openAccount

Butir-butir Pendeposit <- My info?

Jenis akuan <- Untuk diri sendiri?

Butir-butir Penerima Manfaat/Diri Sendiri <- My chidlren?

Butir-butir Waris Terdekat <- who?
For your children, shouldn't this field be "Untuk Anak Jagaan Yang Sah"?

Waris Terdekat ---> Your wife? I'm not sure.

This post has been edited by David83: Jun 29 2017, 02:49 PM
kelvinfixx
post Jun 29 2017, 02:46 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2017, 02:41 PM)
For your children, should this field be "Untuk Anak Jagaan Yang Sah"?

Waris Terdekat ---> Your wife? I'm not sure.
SUScitacitata
post Jul 18 2017, 08:37 AM

482 posts

Anyone knows how to claim the sspni plus takaful?
ezalms
post Aug 25 2017, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(citacitata @ Jul 18 2017, 08:37 AM)
Anyone knows how to claim the sspni plus takaful?
What claims do you want? Dead?
neo_6053
post Sep 6 2017, 10:27 AM

650 posts

Hi, all sifu, want to clarify sth

1. I heard tax relief until this year only and no more tax relief starting next year?
2. But I also saw some above post say it will drop back to 3k next year, if yes, it will continue for how long? as long as the fund goes?
3. My EPF tax deduction is already fullfilled (6k) , is it still wise to invest?
4. I heard if withdraw the money, you will need to pay back all the tax deduction that you had, is that true?

I saw every year at least 4%, I bet that is at least better than FD.
jsflim
post Sep 6 2017, 10:36 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 6 2017, 10:27 AM)

1. I heard tax relief until this year only and no more tax relief starting next year?
2. But I also saw some above post say it will drop back to 3k next year, if yes, it will continue for how long? as long as the fund goes?
3. My EPF tax deduction is already fullfilled (6k) , is it still wise to invest?
4. I heard if withdraw the money, you will need to pay back all the tax deduction that you had, is that true?

EPF tax deduction and SSPN tax deduction is under different category. So if you invested 6k, you can get extra 6k tax deduction even though your EPF already max out.
MUM
post Sep 6 2017, 10:37 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 6 2017, 10:27 AM)

Yes, seems like would goes back to RM3k next year from RM 6k this year
Until the govt says
Depends on the tax advantage, the cash flow you hv, the need to use that money....
No....
Fd much more flexible.....
This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 7 2017, 12:35 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 6 2017, 11:03 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 6 2017, 10:37 AM)
I heard if withdraw the money, you will need to pay back all the tax deduction that you had, is that true?
No....you can only take out a potion of that money...not alltje money.....and themoney taken out will be subjected to tax.....(i think is 8%.)...you need to google to confirm the %.

er.. bro, this is SSPN leh, not PRS.
1. Can take out fully or partially from SSPN right? VS PRS can take out from A/C B je (which consist of 30% of invested)

2. Got 8% tax meh if taken out $ from SSPN? VS PRS 8% tax out liquidated PRS A/C B if before 55 years old.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 6 2017, 11:05 AM
MUM
post Sep 6 2017, 11:05 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 6 2017, 11:03 AM)
I heard if withdraw the money, you will need to pay back all the tax deduction that you had, is that true?
No....you can only take out a potion of that money...not alltje money.....and themoney taken out will be subjected to tax.....(i think is 8%.)...you need to google to confirm the %.

er.. bro, this is SSPN leh, not PRS.
Got 8% tax meh if taken out $ from SSPN?
holi shit....that was the PRS....
wongmunkeong
post Sep 6 2017, 11:06 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 6 2017, 11:05 AM)
holi shit....that was the PRS....
hehe - happens to me too when blood caffeine's low. yup, i suffer from that, not low blood sugar tongue.gif
neo_6053
post Sep 6 2017, 10:50 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 6 2017, 10:37 AM)

So, is it totally no tax deduction next year or rm3k or wait government announce?

When is budget 2018? It will be included in the announcement right?
neo_6053
post Sep 6 2017, 10:53 PM

650 posts

Well, my tax is high now and want to look for education fund for my kid and I m sucks at investing, Infact hvnt invest any. Thus, want to start with education fund at least. And Tax deduction is great too
MUM
post Sep 7 2017, 12:36 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 6 2017, 10:50 PM)
So,  is it totally no tax deduction next year or rm3k or wait government announce?
Yes, seems like would goes back to RM3k next year from RM 6k this year
When is budget 2018? It will be included in the announcement right?
yes ...seemed like have to see if they will maintain at 6k
crazy_bear
post Sep 20 2017, 06:38 PM

19 posts

If i hav SSPN account, is i can hav tax deduction or only for child?
SUSMNet
post Sep 20 2017, 09:54 PM

11,954 posts

only for child then u can deduct ur tax
Sphenix
post Oct 21 2017, 12:42 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

Withdrawal of savings can only be done after one (1) year of saving in the SSPN. The withdrawal of 10% of the balance in the account or RM500 (whichever is lower) once annually is allowed (after one year of becoming member).

Not quite understand this statement.... anyone can enlighten me?
T231H
post Oct 21 2017, 09:47 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Oct 21 2017, 12:42 AM)
Not quite understand this statement.... anyone can enlighten me?
try to break down that statement into shorter one ....then I think it would be easier to "see"

1) Withdrawal of savings can only be done after one (1) year of saving in the SSPN.

2) The withdrawal of 10% of the balance in the account or RM500 (whichever is lower)

3) once annually is allowed (after one year of becoming member).

easier to see right? now which question you don't understand?
Sphenix
post Oct 21 2017, 06:19 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 21 2017, 09:47 AM)
try to break down that statement into shorter one ....then I think it would be easier to "see"

1) Withdrawal of savings can only be done after one (1) year of saving in the SSPN.

2) The withdrawal of 10% of the balance in the account or RM500 (whichever is lower)

3) once annually is allowed (after one year of becoming member).

easier to see right? now which question you don't understand?
cos I confuse the 10% balance....now understand.

but what is " once annually is allowed (after one year of becoming member)."
ain't register SSPN will become member?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 21 2017, 06:44 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Oct 21 2017, 06:19 PM)
cos I confuse the 10% balance....now understand.

but what is " once annually is allowed (after one year of becoming member)."
ain't register SSPN will become member?
looks like they are related to Q1?)
"cannot do withdrawal within 1 yr after having joined as a member?"
Sphenix
post Oct 22 2017, 10:38 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 21 2017, 06:44 PM)
looks like they are related to Q1?)
"cannot do withdrawal within 1 yr after having joined as a member?"
Great.... gonna look for registration counter.... thanks
SUSyklooi
post Oct 22 2017, 10:47 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Oct 22 2017, 10:38 AM)
Great.... gonna look for registration counter.... thanks
I think I read before....
some says...if not for the tax saving or if the tax saving is not substantial...try not go into SSPN.....
for there are other better returns investment vehicle due to the long investment duration
Sphenix
post Oct 22 2017, 11:15 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 22 2017, 10:47 AM)
I think I read before....
some says...if not for the tax saving or if the tax saving is not substantial...try not go into SSPN.....
for there are other better returns investment vehicle due to the long investment duration
yup, is look for tax relief actually.....or perhaps got better relief than tat?
Amanda85
post Nov 1 2017, 03:13 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

I have questions for those who have experience in this.

I don't have time to do the grunt work, so my husband will be the one going to open the accounts for our 2 kids. He will deposit 6k for each kid and we want max out the 6k tax relief for both of us.

Question is, for me to submit for tax relief, do I need to be there to open the account? I'm not sure the account holder is kid's name or parent's name.

This post has been edited by Amanda85: Nov 1 2017, 03:15 PM
muhammadb
post Nov 1 2017, 04:02 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Nov 1 2017, 03:13 PM)

I don't have time to do the grunt work, so my husband will be the one going to open the accounts for our 2 kids. He will deposit 6k for each kid and we want max out the 6k tax relief for both of us.

Question is, for me to submit for tax relief, do I need to be there to open the account? I'm not sure the account holder is kid's name or parent's name.
You need to do your name for one of your kids and your hubby name for the second one.

Your name will be the "depositor" (pendeposit) and your kids name is the "beneficiary" (penerima manfaat).
That will allow tax rebate under your name as the depositor.

If your hubby put your name and both of your kids under your name, only one name is available for tax relief.

Once you have an account, you can use the online web statement site: (no https lol)
http://esspniplus.ptptn.gov.my/penyatasp/
Babablacksheep
post Nov 1 2017, 10:49 PM

852 posts

Open online vs open at physical branch.
Any difference?
Free gift?
faza
post Nov 1 2017, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Nov 1 2017, 10:49 PM)
Open online vs open at physical branch.
Any difference?
Free gift?
I got big payung at PTPTN Branch
Amanda85
post Nov 2 2017, 08:13 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

QUOTE(muhammadb @ Nov 1 2017, 04:02 PM)
You need to do your name for one of your kids and your hubby name for the second one.

Your name will be the "depositor" (pendeposit) and your kids name is the "beneficiary" (penerima manfaat).
That will allow tax rebate under your name as the depositor.

If your hubby put your name and both of your kids under your name, only one name is available for tax relief.

Once you have an account, you can use the online web statement site: (no https lol)
http://esspniplus.ptptn.gov.my/penyatasp/
Thanks for the information.
familyfirst
post Nov 2 2017, 09:14 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Nov 1 2017, 03:13 PM)

My spouse managed to open an account for me without my presence. FYI, both parents can open a separate account each even with one child.
Amanda85
post Nov 2 2017, 10:06 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 2 2017, 09:14 AM)
My spouse managed to open an account for me without my presence.  FYI, both parents can open a separate account each even with one child.
Good to know. I will ask my husband to try it out as I don't want to take leave.
yeah016
post Nov 2 2017, 10:09 AM

144 posts

when I can request for full amount withdraw, if my child not going to high education? Do this have any mature date? which mean if my child is already age 29 i can fully withdraw?
Babablacksheep
post Nov 2 2017, 03:30 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(faza @ Nov 1 2017, 11:00 PM)
I got big payung at PTPTN Branch
Bring Cheque Book to deposit instantly?
Or just opening. u get a payung haha
alesi616
post Nov 24 2017, 04:25 PM

810 posts

hi all,

Is this doable?

1. On Nov/Dec 2017, I go deposit 6k SSPN for my child. (so that can get 6k tax relief in taxable year 2017).
2. On Jan 2018, I go close that SSPN account and take out all the 6k, and go invest something else.

Question:
1. Can I close the account and withdraw all the $$ in such short time frame?
2. If can do, will my 6k tax relief still valid?
Amanda85
post Nov 24 2017, 04:28 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Nov 24 2017, 04:25 PM)
hi all,

Is this doable?

1. On Nov/Dec 2017, I go deposit 6k SSPN for my child. (so that can get 6k tax relief in taxable year 2017).
2. On Jan 2018, I go close that SSPN account and take out all the 6k, and go invest something else.

Question:
1. Can I close the account and withdraw all the $$ in such short time frame?
2. If can do, will my 6k tax relief still valid?
we report our income tax by April 2018, i think need to wait at least till that time frame.
WannaGetBuffed
post Nov 24 2017, 04:33 PM

983 posts

Hi, how do we check the dividend? I check online the SSPN account only have tax invoice but no dividend is stated.
ruben7389
post Nov 24 2017, 08:08 PM

biology1168
1,137 posts

I did my account opening online and deposited Fpx of rm20

But no news after one week, what shall I do?
alesi616
post Nov 24 2017, 11:27 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Nov 24 2017, 04:28 PM)
we report our income tax by April 2018, i think need to wait at least till that time frame.
Have you try do that ?

I am ok to wait till around Apr2018 to close account. My main concern is can close account within 1 year ?

I google and found a lot people said withdrawal $$ very troublesm, only allow once per year (max rm500 withdrawal), this is for the scenario of u keeping the SSPN account alive and take out some money. But I cannot find people mention about is it doable to close the account in short period.
Kaka23
post Nov 25 2017, 02:18 PM

8,259 posts

Ah.. Tesco at the curve area still got sspn counter ah?
ruben7389
post Dec 6 2017, 07:10 AM

biology1168
1,137 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Nov 24 2017, 08:08 PM)
I did my account opening online and deposited Fpx of rm20

But no news after one week, what shall I do?
Ok got letter From SSPN acct opening successful

Anyone know When is last date we can deposit To be able To use as tax deductiin? 31 Dec can ?
ruben7389
post Dec 6 2017, 07:11 AM

biology1168
1,137 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Nov 24 2017, 11:27 PM)
Have you try do that ?

I am ok to wait till around Apr2018 to close account. My main concern is can close account within 1 year ?

I google and found a lot people said withdrawal $$ very troublesm, only allow once per year (max rm500 withdrawal), this is for the scenario of u keeping the SSPN account alive and take out some money. But I cannot find people mention about is it doable to close the account in short period.
Better dont close account. From What i hear u can Just Withdraw ur funds and keep rm20 balance there. That will allow u To continur To use that account and the withdrawal i hear quite Fast
effectz
post Dec 6 2017, 04:54 PM

1,110 posts

Just put in sspn, not SSPN-i. do but need monthly contribution. putin when i have money.
Kaka23
post Dec 7 2017, 10:02 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 6 2017, 04:54 PM)
Just put in sspn, not SSPN-i. do but need monthly contribution. putin when i have money.
You put by visiting their branch?
effectz
post Dec 7 2017, 01:21 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 7 2017, 10:02 AM)
You put by visiting their branch?
They did roadshow at office
Kaka23
post Dec 7 2017, 08:30 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 7 2017, 01:21 PM)
They did roadshow at office
wow... nice! thumbup.gif
effectz
post Dec 7 2017, 11:15 PM

1,110 posts

I think there are many freelance sspn agents nowadays
wongmunkeong
post Jan 6 2018, 04:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/docs/SiaranMedia/2...500_percuma.pdf
“SIMPANAN RM500 PERCUMA, RM500 UNTUK 500,000 PELAJAR”
T&C applies

PS: Also applies for SSPN-i (the one without insurance cost/premium)

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 7 2018, 07:49 PM
xuzen
post Jan 7 2018, 09:20 PM

4,436 posts

I was at my kids tuition center waiting to pick up my kid ans struck a conversation with another waiting parent. The topic of course centered on education and the topic vered towards saving for child education and SSPN was brought up.

This parent has never heard of SSPN and when I told her about the RM 500.00 govt incentive that really piqued her interest. Then I whipped up my phone calculator and did a simple TVM calculation for her to see the magic of compounding.

I told her, if my wife and I were to put in RM 6,000.00 [ this is the max tax relief per depositor ] each per annum into SSPN earning a 4.5% [ this is the historical return of SSPN ] dividend per annum. Let's assume I start saving at age one [ I actually open my kid's SSPN account when he was four days old ].

Lets see what will the amount be like when the kid reach 12 years old. Which is what my kid's age today.

PV = 0
PMT = 500 + 500 = 1,000.00 [ monthly auto debit from bank account ]
Yr = 12 years x 12 = 144 mths
Int = 4.5/12 = 0.375% monthly.
Mode = Begin `
Total Future Value = MYR 191,187.50

Now, imagine what will the amount be when he reaches 20 years old [ the age when you need to withdraw to fund his tertairy education ]

Future Value at age 20 years old = MYR 394,195.69

Let's assume inflation for tertiary education is 6% per annum. Now I work backwards and see how much this MYR 394K is worth in today's money....

= equivalent to RM 116K in today's value with 6% adjusted inflation.

Xuzen

kucingfight
post Jan 7 2018, 11:04 PM

5,784 posts

had an existing SSPN-i for my kid. if i add funds online, any signs that show that the GS500 is still available?

*edit, just read. there's no way until the month end when min rm500 deposit is met

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jan 7 2018, 11:26 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 8 2018, 06:29 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2018, 09:20 PM)
I was at my kids tuition center waiting to pick up my kid ans struck a conversation with another waiting parent. The topic of course centered on education and the topic vered towards saving for child education and SSPN was brought up.
I told her, if my wife and I were to put in RM 6,000.00 [ this is the max tax relief per depositor ] each per annum into SSPN earning a 4.5% [ this is the historical return of SSPN ] dividend per annum. Let's assume I start saving at age one [ I actually open my kid's SSPN account when he was four days old ]
Let's assume inflation for tertiary education is 6% per annum. Now I work backwards and see how much this MYR 394K is worth in today's money....

Xuzen
I for one does not know how to calculate the future value....I participated in the SSPN for the immediate gratification from having pay less taxes + additional "forced" saving....
it is actually nice to know from your calculation that the amount I can managed to save from this sspn....

if not for the goal of immediate gratification of tax savings.....I would force my self to go more into this UT things....
from the below post, looks like the ROI of UT is much better than SSPN....
looking from your calculation, the extra 2% pa over that duration will be more substantial.....

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2018, 09:27 PM)
UTF investing is not skim cepat kaya, she needs to utilise the magic of compounding to work her magic.

A very conservative compounding of 6% [ which is very easily achievable with UTF investing ] can very much beat the current inflation. If you are abit gung ho, you may engineer your portfolio to go for 9% or 12% if you are a young person with very long investing horizon. UTF works well around this ROI range given time.

What UTF investing is not is when participant treat it as a trading platform to go in and out like stock market. This,  UTF investing is a very poor choice for such a purpose.

Xuzen
Kaka23
post Jan 8 2018, 11:39 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 6 2018, 04:09 PM)
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/docs/SiaranMedia/2...500_percuma.pdf
“SIMPANAN RM500 PERCUMA, RM500 UNTUK 500,000 PELAJAR”
T&C applies

PS: Also applies for SSPN-i (the one without insurance cost/premium)
Interesting... you already put in the RM500? biggrin.gif
Kaka23
post Jan 8 2018, 11:44 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 7 2018, 09:20 PM)

This parent has never heard of SSPN and when I told her about the RM 500.00 govt incentive that really piqued her interest. Then I whipped up my phone calculator and did a simple TVM calculation for her to see the magic of compounding.

I told her, if my wife and I were to put in RM 6,000.00 [ this is the max tax relief per depositor ] each per annum into SSPN earning a 4.5% [ this is the historical return of SSPN ] dividend per annum. Let's assume I start saving at age one [ I actually open my kid's SSPN account when he was four days old ].

Lets see what will the amount be like when the kid reach 12 years old. Which is what my kid's age today.

PV = 0
PMT = 500 + 500 = 1,000.00 [ monthly auto debit from bank account ]
Yr = 12 years x 12 = 144 mths
Int = 4.5/12 = 0.375% monthly.
Mode = Begin `
Total Future Value = MYR 191,187.50

Now, imagine what will the amount be when he reaches 20 years old [ the age when you need to withdraw to fund his tertairy education ]

Future Value at age 20 years old = MYR 394,195.69

Xuzen
Can both parents open SSPN account for the same child.. then both parents get tax relief?

wongmunkeong
post Jan 8 2018, 11:45 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:39 AM)
Interesting... you already put in the RM500?  biggrin.gif
ah buh den? remember, for kids within x to y years old ya.
heheh later, another 5.5K lor, for other kids or same kid
kiasu, kiasi, kiaboh = FOMO laugh.gif (me)

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:44 AM)
Can both parents open SSPN account for the same child.. then both parents get tax relief?
Yup, 2 parents to 1 kid
coz EACH parent to 1 kid = 1 different account, held in Parent's name for beneficiary of Kid

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 8 2018, 11:46 AM
Kaka23
post Jan 8 2018, 11:56 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 8 2018, 11:45 AM)
ah buh den? remember, for kids within x to y years old ya.
heheh later, another 5.5K lor, for other kids or same kid
kiasu, kiasi, kiaboh = FOMO  laugh.gif (me)
Yup, 2 parents to 1 kid
coz EACH parent to 1 kid = 1 different account, held in Parent's name for beneficiary of Kid
You do it via online (Maybank2u) to top up the 500?

oh man.. I am losing out few years already didnt get my other part to put in SSPN!! cry.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 8 2018, 12:03 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:56 AM)
You do it via online (Maybank2u) to top up the 500?
oh man.. I am losing out few years already didnt get my other part to put in SSPN!!  cry.gif
Yup, Maybank2U online payment smile.gif

Well, if your cash U put into 10% to 20% pa returns thing ok ma, 3 years+/- beats SSPN liao including tax benefit. If >=5 years+, sure beat SSPN liao notworthy.gif

me, i just treat SSPN as a portion of cash (fixed income subset) in my Asset Allocation, thus, no eye see tongue.gif
Bullorbear
post Jan 13 2018, 01:48 AM

123 posts

Hi guys,

I have some questions. I just invested RM6,000 in SSPN-I account in Dec 2017 through online. I got a little bit confused here. Below are my questions:

1) Is it possible for me to withdraw all RM6,000 now?
2) If yes, how do I do it?

I only see below requirement from their websites, and dont see any buttons there / through where should I withdraw my money:
If the remaining balance is less than RM3,000.00 in the SSPN-i account

Required documents:

i. Borang Penutupan Akaun or Borang Pengeluaran/ Penutupan Akaun/ Tuntutan Geran Sepadan.
ii. Copy of MyKad/ Police or Military card of heir;
iii. Copy of SSPN-i card.

iv. Death certificate of depositor.
iv. Borang Pengesahan Waris to SSPN-i depositor (the decease).
v. Borang Bon Tanggung Rugi (RM10.00 stamp duty included).
vi. Personal bank account number if the heir intend to have the amount credited into their accounts.

This post has been edited by Bullorbear: Jan 13 2018, 01:49 AM
Glcotan
post Jan 14 2018, 02:13 PM

3,333 posts

Guys, quick question, is the max tax rebate 6 or 12k?

I remember seeing some banner stated 12k.
MUM
post Jan 14 2018, 02:21 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Glcotan @ Jan 14 2018, 02:13 PM)
Guys, quick question, is the max tax rebate 6 or 12k?

I remember seeing some banner stated 12k.
while waiting for esponses...I found this while googling....
Pelepasan taksiran cukai pendapatan ke atas simpanan SSPN1M-i

so how did this 12k come about.....
read this under Perlepasan Cukai Pendapatan...
https://terengganutimes.com/keistimewaan-ss...k-keluarga-anda
Glcotan
post Jan 14 2018, 02:32 PM

3,333 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 14 2018, 02:21 PM)
while waiting for esponses...I found this while googling....
Pelepasan taksiran cukai pendapatan ke atas simpanan SSPN1M-i

so how did this 12k come about.....
read this under Perlepasan Cukai Pendapatan...
https://terengganutimes.com/keistimewaan-ss...k-keluarga-anda
My wife nor working, means can only get 6k from ptptn rebate
MUM
post Jan 14 2018, 02:41 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Glcotan @ Jan 14 2018, 02:32 PM)
My wife nor working, means can only get 6k from ptptn rebate
not working, if not subjected to tax...then no benefits to contribute

yes 6k if you had already maxed your life insurance/EPF deductions....

btw, have you done PRS?...another 3K
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...1.0.JZxiKGncPdM

This post has been edited by MUM: Jan 14 2018, 02:51 PM
thesoothsayer
post Mar 19 2018, 04:29 PM

954 posts

Any free gifts if open account online? Was thinking of doing that, then saw a branch near my place... hmm.gif

Still, kinda lazy to make a 30+ minute detour to open an account.
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2018, 03:22 PM

8,259 posts

Is this SSPN1M RM500 the same as early this year GS500 that we get?

Disini kami ingin mengambil peluang untuk berkongsi dengan anda berita baik ini iaitu pelaksanaan insentif percuma RM500 SSPN1M mulai 1 Januari 2018 hingga 31 Disember 2018 terbuka untuk anak anda yang berusia 7-12 tahun.

SSPN1M adalah Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional 1 Malaysia yang dijenamakan semula daripada produk simpanan PTPTN.

Rebutlah peluang untuk mendapatkan percuma RM500** dari SSPN1M. Simpanlah sekarang dan teruskan penabungan bagi menjamin masa depan pendidikan anak-anak anda!!
wongmunkeong
post Mar 21 2018, 05:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 21 2018, 03:22 PM)
Is this SSPN1M RM500 the same as early this year GS500 that we get?
Disini kami ingin mengambil peluang untuk berkongsi dengan anda berita baik ini iaitu pelaksanaan insentif percuma RM500 SSPN1M mulai 1 Januari 2018 hingga 31 Disember 2018 terbuka untuk anak anda yang berusia 7-12 tahun.

SSPN1M adalah Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional 1 Malaysia yang dijenamakan semula daripada produk simpanan PTPTN.

Rebutlah peluang untuk mendapatkan percuma RM500** dari SSPN1M. Simpanlah sekarang dan teruskan penabungan bagi menjamin masa depan pendidikan anak-anak anda!!
mine dah masuk in my gir's SSPN liao smile.gif
now aiming for the petrol cards bwhaaha
SUSDavid83
post Mar 21 2018, 05:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2018, 05:28 PM)
What petrol cards?
wongmunkeong
post Mar 21 2018, 08:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 21 2018, 05:51 PM)
What petrol cards?

hm.. CNY time (before/after) can see it in PTPTN's website rolling advertisement
Now can only see SSPNi+ (the one with insurance) only

found the link http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/guest/go-cashless-and-win

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 21 2018, 08:20 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2018, 08:15 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2018, 05:28 PM)
This is the one same as what we talked about in Jan right? Not something additional with another RM500 free?

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Mar 21 2018, 08:17 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2018, 08:19 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2018, 08:12 PM)

hm.. CNY time (before/after) can see it in PTPTN's website rolling advertisement
Now can only see SSPNi+ (the one with insurance) only
woah... you must be primer invester for SSPN thumbup.gif

I didnt get this email pun... sad.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 21 2018, 08:20 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 21 2018, 08:19 PM)
woah... you must be primer invester for SSPN  thumbup.gif

I didnt get this email pun... sad.gif
no lar - i received the RM500 early in the year ma (Jan) then the added this info

and
maybe they know i'm a kiasu fler.. whack lar.. every month whack $100 + $100 FPX / cashless
if get good lar
else
also doing my $6K/pa heheh

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 21 2018, 08:22 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2018, 10:01 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2018, 08:20 PM)
no lar - i received the RM500 early in the year ma (Jan) then the added this info

and
maybe they know i'm a kiasu fler.. whack lar.. every month whack $100 + $100 FPX / cashless
if get good lar
else
also doing my $6K/pa heheh
ah.. i miss this
jenern84
post Apr 15 2018, 12:16 PM

Morphling
747 posts

If we deposit rm6000, still need to pay rm20 monthly?
MUM
post Apr 15 2018, 01:12 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Apr 15 2018, 12:16 PM)
If we deposit rm6000, still need to pay rm20 monthly?
sorry I did not follow earlier conversation....
may I know what is the RM 20 monthly is for?
airtawarian
post Apr 15 2018, 05:25 PM

1,251 posts

Guys I still confuse whether tax relief of RM 6k or 12k applicable for individual who still single and Not yet marry?
jenern84
post Apr 15 2018, 05:43 PM

Morphling
747 posts

Do we deposit rm6000 once or rm6000 every year in order to enjoy the rm6000 tax relief?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 15 2018, 05:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Apr 15 2018, 05:43 PM)
Do we deposit rm6000 once or rm6000 every year in order to enjoy the rm6000 tax relief?
Tabungan bersih.
Every year fresh fund of RM 6K
MUM
post Apr 15 2018, 05:55 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Apr 15 2018, 05:25 PM)
Guys I still confuse whether tax relief of RM 6k or 12k applicable for individual who still single and Not yet marry?
yes,,....
if he/she falls under one of this category
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english-tutup/...lief-assessment
airtawarian
post Apr 15 2018, 08:18 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 15 2018, 05:55 PM)
yes,,....
Still dont understand
SUSDavid83
post Apr 15 2018, 08:31 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 15 2018, 05:55 PM)
yes,,....
QUOTE(airtawarian @ Apr 15 2018, 08:18 PM)
Still dont understand
Please don't post and ask the same thing over and over.
You have similar question and reply at the Income Tax thread.
airtawarian
post Apr 15 2018, 08:33 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 15 2018, 08:31 PM)
Please don't post and ask the same thing over and over.
You have similar question and reply at the Income Tax thread.
Noted boss
kwitt
post Jun 10 2018, 11:24 AM

SSPN Simpanan RM500 PERCUMA RM500 still valid until end of this year after changed of gov?
MUM
post Jun 10 2018, 12:31 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kwitt @ Jun 10 2018, 11:24 AM)
SSPN Simpanan RM500 PERCUMA RM500 still valid until end of this year after changed of gov?
there was an allocated budget for it....
if the budget had been fully utilised.....then....
SUSDavid83
post Jun 10 2018, 12:36 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 10 2018, 12:31 PM)
there was an allocated budget for it....
if the budget had been fully utilised.....then....
Confirmed allocated?

The Raya bonus also not allocated in the original 2018 Budget:
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/429021

This post has been edited by David83: Jun 10 2018, 12:37 PM
MUM
post Jun 10 2018, 12:45 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 10 2018, 12:36 PM)
Confirmed allocated?

The Raya bonus also not allocated in the original 2018 Budget:
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/429021
some already confirmed that they already got it....
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1140

SUSDavid83
post Jun 10 2018, 12:46 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 10 2018, 12:45 PM)
some already confirmed that they already got it....
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1140
The previous admin is like playing balance transfer only.
Whatever promise made but not allocated will be getting via Supplementary Budget Bill!

This post has been edited by David83: Jun 10 2018, 12:47 PM
MUM
post Jun 10 2018, 12:50 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 10 2018, 12:46 PM)
The previous admin is like playing balance transfer only.
Whatever promise made but not allocated will be getting via Supplementary Budget Bill!
what ever it is...

those that took the early opportunity already got it...

early birds catches the worms.

Ktkloong
post Jun 10 2018, 04:17 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 10 2018, 12:50 PM)
what ever it is...

those that took the early opportunity already got it...

early birds catches the worms.
Maybe new gomen will gv better incentive

SUSDavid83
post Jun 10 2018, 08:50 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Ktkloong @ Jun 10 2018, 04:17 PM)
Maybe new gomen will gv better incentive
How to give when debt is at RM 1 trillion!
yageosamsung
post Jun 11 2018, 05:31 PM

84 posts

hi guys..
Just a question...
I still owed PTPTN money, and paying via direct-debit monthly.
Am I eligible to save money in SSPN-i?
TQ
SUSDavid83
post Jun 11 2018, 06:52 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yageosamsung @ Jun 11 2018, 05:31 PM)
hi guys..
Just a question...
I still owed PTPTN money, and paying via direct-debit monthly.
Am I eligible to save money in SSPN-i?
TQ
SSPN-i is for your children.
Why you need it?
Penang_J
post Jul 8 2018, 11:19 AM

301 posts

Can I put money inside SSPN to reduce tax if I dont have kids?
MUM
post Jul 8 2018, 11:36 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Penang_J @ Jul 8 2018, 11:19 AM)
Can I put money inside SSPN to reduce tax if I dont have kids?
while waiting for responses,...you can try to read this....
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspn-i-side

hope you can get some info from there to help with your query

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 12 2018, 07:54 PM
Penang_J
post Jul 8 2018, 10:36 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 8 2018, 11:36 AM)
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspnmi-side

Sad, got money to contribute but cannot claim tax.
MUM
post Jul 8 2018, 11:27 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Penang_J @ Jul 8 2018, 10:36 PM)
Sad, got money to contribute but cannot claim tax.
have you taken up the PRS tax relief?
more info about tax reliefs in here
http://malaysiandigest.com/features/660161...s-for-2017.html
Penang_J
post Jul 9 2018, 11:08 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 8 2018, 11:27 PM)
have you taken up the PRS tax relief?
more info about tax reliefs in here
http://malaysiandigest.com/features/660161...s-for-2017.html
Yea yea, Affin Hwang since last year
Bobby C
post Aug 9 2018, 06:01 PM

663 posts

SSPN-i is a con job.

Anything under Takaful insurance has zero cash value. Worst buying Berlian, RM500 monthly investment left RM200. RM6000 investment left RM2400 by year end.

PTPTN memang boleh! Menang tanpa bertanding!!

Beware getting con by the old gomen! bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Aug 9 2018, 06:02 PM
rapple
post Aug 9 2018, 07:57 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Aug 9 2018, 06:01 PM)
SSPN-i is a con job.

Anything under Takaful insurance has zero cash value. Worst buying Berlian, RM500 monthly investment left RM200. RM6000 investment left RM2400 by year end.

Beware getting con by the old gomen!  bangwall.gif
Next time, read first then only buy.

SSPN-i Plus is an insurance plan that comes with savings.

SSPN-i is a saving account.

See the difference?

submergedx
post Aug 12 2018, 05:58 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Aug 9 2018, 06:01 PM)
SSPN-i is a con job.

Beware getting con by the old gomen!  bangwall.gif
Bobby can explain further?
Are you buying Takaful investment or insurance?
There's 2 different things you ask right there.
submergedx
post Aug 12 2018, 06:00 PM

1,131 posts

Anyone can sharing their SSPN-i insurance thing? Any claim be done so far with no hassle?

1. After PH took the government, are SSPN thing still eligible to apply?
2. Any review after a year or 2years saving?what's is your encounted main issue?

This post has been edited by submergedx: Aug 12 2018, 06:07 PM
submergedx
post Aug 12 2018, 07:18 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 8 2018, 11:36 AM)
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspnmi-side

Page not found already
MUM
post Aug 12 2018, 07:55 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 12 2018, 07:18 PM)
Page not found already
try this?

MUM
post Aug 12 2018, 08:00 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 12 2018, 06:00 PM)
Anyone can sharing their SSPN-i insurance thing? Any claim be done so far with no hassle?
1. After PH took the government, are SSPN thing still eligible to apply?
2. Any review after a year or 2years saving?what's is your encounted main issue?
Pembukaan Akaun SSPN-i
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pembukaan-akaun-sspn-i-side

Pembukaan Akaun SSPN-i Plus
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pembukaan-akaun-sspn-i-plus-side
submergedx
post Aug 12 2018, 10:37 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 12 2018, 08:00 PM)
Hi MUM, Thanks for the link. Can share what's your review for SSPN? Whoever applied for the scheme got cash aid from Government?
MUM
post Aug 12 2018, 10:54 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 12 2018, 10:37 PM)
Hi MUM, Thanks for the link. Can share what's your review for SSPN? Whoever applied for the scheme got cash aid from Government?
most of what I read from here are they bought in for the tax relief benefits....
what cash aid from govt?

do you mean the GS500?
if yes,...some forummers had posted that they already got it many months back....
not sure if the allocated budget for this incentive had been depleted or not....
my wild guess is they are.

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 12 2018, 11:05 PM
submergedx
post Aug 12 2018, 11:03 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 12 2018, 10:54 PM)
most of what I read from here are they bought in for the tax relief benefits....
what cash aid from govt?

When you deposit RM500, govern will deposit RM500 to your kid account aged 7-12 only.
MUM
post Aug 12 2018, 11:05 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 12 2018, 11:03 PM)

When you deposit RM500, govern will deposit RM500 to your kid account aged 7-12 only.
read the "amended post"
turbopips
post Nov 15 2018, 03:09 PM

359 posts

Dear all

Based on table attached,
If i sunbscribe SSPN-I Plus Berlian package, i will contribute RM500 every mth, with RM200 to SSPN-i savings and RM300 to Takaful insurance.
I will benefit from the insurance as a result of it.

My question is if everything is fine, this means the RM300 contribution is burnt? Is there some return from the RM300 or its burnt?

My other question is SSPN-I also have death and TPD insurance benefit to the depositor rite?

Thank you

rapple
post Nov 15 2018, 03:51 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(turbopips @ Nov 15 2018, 03:09 PM)
Dear all

Based on table attached,
If i sunbscribe SSPN-I Plus Berlian package, i will contribute RM500 every mth, with RM200 to SSPN-i savings and RM300 to Takaful insurance.

My question is if everything is fine, this means the RM300 contribution is burnt? Is there some return from the RM300 or its burnt?

My other question is SSPN-I also have death and TPD insurance benefit to the depositor rite?

Thank you
The RM300 is the cost of insurance, the return you get it's the insurance coverage.

For sspn-i, you can refer https://www.ptptn.gov.my/perlindungan-takaful-sspn-i-side
vondeland
post Dec 10 2018, 04:22 PM

142 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by vondeland: Dec 10 2018, 05:04 PM
thesoothsayer
post Dec 17 2018, 08:49 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(turbopips @ Nov 15 2018, 03:09 PM)
Dear all

Based on table attached,

Thank you
It's gone. It's like a term-life plan.

By the way, did you subscribe to this? New tax relief separates out EPF and life insurance portions, so it might make sense to get this if you don't have a life insurance already.
CharmaineLee80
post Dec 18 2018, 12:46 PM

992 posts

Is SSPN-i semakan penyata website down?

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/saving/sspnlogin.html
soonming
post Feb 23 2019, 07:26 PM

187 posts

I got email saying I won saguhati 200.
Hope it's real. Anyone else got this email?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 23 2019, 08:16 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(soonming @ Feb 23 2019, 07:26 PM)
I got email saying I won saguhati 200.
Hope it's real. Anyone else got this email?
Sender email address?
soonming
post Feb 23 2019, 08:21 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 23 2019, 08:16 PM)
Sender email address?
noreply@mx5.ptptn.gov.my

Some cabutan bertuah wow
SUSDavid83
post Feb 23 2019, 08:25 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(soonming @ Feb 23 2019, 08:21 PM)
noreply@mx5.ptptn.gov.my

Some cabutan bertuah wow
noreply@mx5.ptptn.gov.my

This section sounds very fishy.
kenzotaj
post Feb 27 2019, 08:10 AM

147 posts

Hi..guys.. sspn recently sms regarding "loyalty dividend of 0.5% " if deposit rm500 b4 april 31.. my question is

1) the 0.5% is paying for the 2019 rm500 new deposit only / Or 0.5% calculated upon rm500 + all saving amount in my sspn account deposited over years?

2) i see my sspn yearly dividen is about slight over 3% only over these couple years
SUSDavid83
post Feb 27 2019, 08:16 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kenzotaj @ Feb 27 2019, 08:10 AM)
Hi..guys.. sspn recently sms regarding "loyalty dividend of 0.5% " if deposit rm500 b4 april 31.. my question is

1) the 0.5% is paying for the 2019 rm500 new deposit only  / Or 0.5% calculated upon rm500 + all saving amount in my sspn account deposited over years?

2) i see my sspn yearly dividen is about slight over 3% only over these couple years
1)
Soalan :
Berapakah nilai Ganjaran Kesetiaan SSPN-i yang ditawarkan di dalam kempen ini?
Jawapan :
Kadar Ganjaran Kesetiaan SSPN-i adalah sebanyak 0.5% atas simpanan yang dibuat dalam tempoh kempen. Kadar ini merupakan kadar tambahan ke atas kadar dividen tahunan yang diberikan oleh PTPTN.

URL for FAQ: https://www.ptptn.gov.my/images/fail/promos...tiaan_sspni.pdf
MUM
post Feb 27 2019, 08:20 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(kenzotaj @ Feb 27 2019, 08:10 AM)

1) the 0.5% is paying for the 2019 rm500 new deposit only  / Or 0.5% calculated upon rm500 + all saving amount in my sspn account deposited over years?
read page 73, 74 or 75
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1460

page 72, post 1428
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1420
vrek
post Feb 27 2019, 10:27 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 27 2019, 08:16 AM)
1)
Soalan :
Berapakah nilai Ganjaran Kesetiaan SSPN-i yang ditawarkan di dalam kempen ini?
Jawapan :
Kadar Ganjaran Kesetiaan SSPN-i adalah sebanyak 0.5% atas simpanan yang dibuat dalam tempoh kempen. Kadar ini merupakan kadar tambahan ke atas kadar dividen tahunan yang diberikan oleh PTPTN.

URL for FAQ: https://www.ptptn.gov.my/images/fail/promos...tiaan_sspni.pdf
Hmmm... if take that money put into FD will yield higher interest compared to this 0.5%. Then later put into SSPN.
MUM
post Feb 27 2019, 11:35 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(vrek @ Feb 27 2019, 10:27 AM)
Hmmm... if take that money put into FD will yield higher interest compared to this 0.5%. Then later put into SSPN.
If one put money into sspn on the 1st Jan....next year 1st Jan will get how many %?
If one put money into FD on 1st Jan...end 31 Dec withdraw n put into sspn....how many % gain?
wongmunkeong
post Feb 27 2019, 11:50 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 27 2019, 11:35 AM)
If one put money into sspn on the 1st Jan....next year 1st Jan will get how many %?
If one put money into FD on 1st Jan...end 31 Dec withdraw n put into sspn....how many % gain?
lots of "interesting" financial logic posted by fellow forumers these days eh bro.. agar wood to weird FD % calc tongue.gif
I salute your endurance in responding to these notworthy.gif
me, i just bangwall.gif

SSPN thus far is an ok tax relief & cash holding vehicle for me

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 27 2019, 01:58 PM
tinyisland
post Feb 28 2019, 04:58 PM

36 posts

When I deposit $ to SSPN-i via PTPTN counter, will the deposit amount show up in its web immediately or need to wait for next working day?
attentional
post Mar 1 2019, 02:05 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(tinyisland @ Feb 28 2019, 04:58 PM)
When I deposit $ to SSPN-i via PTPTN counter, will the deposit amount show up in its web immediately or need to wait for next working day?
yeah i have the same question. i just opened an account online and deposit RM20

How do I check my latest statement? I try ptptn online it is still showing 2018 statement doh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 1 2019, 02:21 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Mar 1 2019, 02:05 PM)
yeah i have the same question. i just opened an account online and deposit RM20

How do I check my latest statement? I try ptptn online it is still showing 2018 statement doh.gif
Should be under maintenance for generating 2018 annual statement.
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 1 2019, 02:23 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

1. I saw previous posts saying if deposit end of the year and withdraw early of next year eligible for tax relief, is it still the same now?

2. Anywhere i can see previous years interest given out?

3. I saw above mentioned SSPN-i comes with insurance, is it a must? or any way NOT to get it?

4. Anywhere i can compare differences between SSPN vs SSPN-i (if still available) ?
MUM
post Mar 1 2019, 02:43 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 1 2019, 02:23 PM)
1. I saw previous posts saying if deposit end of the year and withdraw early of next year eligible for tax relief, is it still the same now?
see post 1202, page 61?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1200
2. Anywhere i can see previous years interest given out?
Historical SSPN-i dividend payout rate is as below:

http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2018/02/ptptn...d-for-sspn.html
3. I saw above mentioned SSPN-i comes with insurance, is it a must? or any way NOT to get it?
see the differences....
https://financemalaysia.blogspot.com/2018/0...sspn-i-and.html
4. Anywhere i can compare differences between SSPN vs SSPN-i (if still available) ?
cannot confirm, but looks like they added i (for internet) and obsolete the non i type
some FAQs...
Saya telah mempunyai akaun SSPN-i, adakah saya boleh membuka akaun SSPN-i Plus?
Boleh. Pendeposit yang telah mempunyai akaun SSPN-i boleh membuka akaun SSPN-i Plus tanpa perlu menutup akaun SSPN-i.

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/faq-simpanan-side/faq-sspn-i-plus

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 1 2019, 02:45 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 1 2019, 03:12 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 1 2019, 02:43 PM)
some FAQs...
Saya telah mempunyai akaun SSPN-i, adakah saya boleh membuka akaun SSPN-i Plus?
Boleh. Pendeposit yang telah mempunyai akaun SSPN-i boleh membuka akaun SSPN-i Plus tanpa perlu menutup akaun SSPN-i.

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/faq-simpanan-side/faq-sspn-i-plus
Thx clear now.

Few more questions..
1. Saw earlier some said new account now can only make withdrawal after 1 or 3 years, and also limit 1 withdrawal per year, can confirm? https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pengeluaran-penutu...aun-sspn-i-side did not mentioned about it.

2. Tax relief up to 8K/year meaning how much do i need to deposit a year? Deposit 8K get 8K tax relief? https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspn-i-side did not mentioned about it.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 1 2019, 03:15 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 1 2019, 03:12 PM)
Thx clear now.

Few more questions..
1. Saw earlier some said new account now can only make withdrawal after 1 or 3 years, and also limit 1 withdrawal per year, can confirm? https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pengeluaran-penutu...aun-sspn-i-side did not mentioned about it.

2. Tax relief up to 8K/year meaning how much do i need to deposit a year? Deposit 8K get 8K tax relief? https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspn-i-side did not mentioned about it.
You deposit 8k to reduce your taxable income by 8k.
How much tax is being saved depends on which tax bracket are you in.

The tax relief is based on nett deposit of the assessment year.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 1 2019, 03:17 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 1 2019, 03:23 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 1 2019, 03:15 PM)
You deposit 8k to reduce your taxable income by 8k.
How much tax is being saved depends on which tax bracket are you in.

The tax relief is based on nett deposit of the assessment year.
Can draft a simple example?

This tax relief should be file under which section? probably that will be clearer to me.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 1 2019, 03:29 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 1 2019, 03:23 PM)
Can draft a simple example?

This tax relief should be file under which section? probably that will be clearer to me.
Under PELEPASAN
Tabungan bersih dalam Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional

Let's your taxable income is RM 100k, your tax rate is 21% and payable tax is RM 10,900
If you contribute RM 6k in 2018, your taxable income is reduced to RM 94k, your taxable income becomes RM 9,640
Tax saving is RM 1,260

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 1 2019, 03:30 PM
tinyisland
post Mar 2 2019, 09:20 PM

36 posts

I think right now SSPN is linked to Income Tax. It will auto-fill up the tax relief $ under SSPN column. No more manual fill in.
Kaka23
post Mar 5 2019, 09:56 AM

8,259 posts

Is there still tax exemption of 6K by deposit SSPN for 2019? Meaning claim income tax in 2020..
MUM
post Mar 5 2019, 09:59 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 5 2019, 09:56 AM)
Is there still tax exemption of 6K by deposit SSPN for 2019? Meaning claim income tax in 2020..
From 2019, the Government has increased the tax relief amount for SSPN deposits by parents from RM6,000 to RM8,000 a year.
This is an additional RM2,000 that you can get back from the Government to offset your annual income tax from previous years, making it an extremely lucrative savings plan (provided your annual income tax is high enough to claim the full amount!)

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/Duit-The-Ea...Incentives.html
Kaka23
post Mar 5 2019, 11:12 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 5 2019, 09:59 AM)
From 2019, the Government has increased the tax relief amount for SSPN deposits by parents from RM6,000 to RM8,000 a year.
This is an additional RM2,000 that you can get back from the Government to offset your annual income tax from previous years, making it an extremely lucrative savings plan (provided your annual income tax is high enough to claim the full amount!)

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/Duit-The-Ea...Incentives.html
Thanks bro.. appreciate your information

Need to start saving now! biggrin.gif
MGM
post Mar 5 2019, 03:33 PM

18,415 posts

So PTPTN has already announced the dividend of SSPN-i for 2018 on 29Jan2019. Am I allowed to withdraw most of the SSPN-i including the dividend for my child's local college education and leave a couple of hundreds in the balance?
ChessRook
post Mar 5 2019, 03:40 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 5 2019, 03:33 PM)
So PTPTN has already announced the dividend of SSPN-i for 2018 on 29Jan2019. Am I allowed to withdraw most of the SSPN-i including the dividend for my child's local college education and leave a couple of hundreds in the balance?
Yes you can. You can also close off the account.
MGM
post Mar 5 2019, 05:01 PM

18,415 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Mar 5 2019, 03:40 PM)
Yes you can. You can also close off the account.
Shouldnt I keep the account in case I need to get loan for Tertiary education?
ChessRook
post Mar 5 2019, 05:35 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 5 2019, 05:01 PM)
Shouldnt I keep the account in case  I  need to get loan for Tertiary education?
In this case, yes. I wrongly assume you don't need the loan.
ketupatlazat
post Mar 5 2019, 09:42 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(tinyisland @ Mar 2 2019, 09:20 PM)
I think right now SSPN is linked to Income Tax. It will auto-fill up the tax relief $ under SSPN column. No more manual fill in.
Yup. Same case here
SUSDavid83
post Mar 5 2019, 09:44 PM

52,874 posts

That's a a good improvement as it saves the headache on how much deposits are really eligible for tax relief.
SUSyklooi
post Mar 5 2019, 09:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Mar 5 2019, 09:42 PM)
Yup. Same case here
thanks for confirming....the auto fill.
so now I no need to print out a copy from SSPN and keep liao
SUSDavid83
post Mar 5 2019, 09:46 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 5 2019, 09:45 PM)
thanks for confirming....the auto fill.
so now I no need to print out a copy from SSPN and keep liao
From book-keeping wise, you still need to do it.
Since it just started this year, I doubt many of their staffs (especially the auditors) are aware of it.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 5 2019, 09:50 PM
attentional
post Mar 6 2019, 03:41 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Mar 5 2019, 09:42 PM)
Yup. Same case here
Is the amount adjustable by you or locked by the system?

This post has been edited by attentional: Mar 6 2019, 03:42 PM
attentional
post Mar 11 2019, 11:57 AM

358 posts

Quick question on the RM8k tax relief for 2019. If I deposit RM8k end of Dec 2019 also entitle for tax relief right? Reason is I am still earning FD interest of 4.38% if I don't deposit now.

This post has been edited by attentional: Mar 11 2019, 11:57 AM
MUM
post Mar 11 2019, 12:06 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Mar 11 2019, 11:57 AM)
Quick question on the RM8k tax relief for 2019. If I deposit RM8k end of Dec 2019 also entitle for tax relief right? Reason is I am still earning FD interest of 4.38% if I don't deposit now.
Yes.....by Dec 2019...
But yr tis 4.38% is pa right....thus if you put in now...hv to wait till Mar 2020 to get full 4.38%...right?
attentional
post Mar 11 2019, 12:50 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 11 2019, 12:06 PM)
Yes.....by Dec 2019...
But yr tis 4.38% is pa right....thus if you put in now...hv to wait till Mar 2020 to get full 4.38%...right?
My excess funds are always in FD. The interest I'm getting now is 4.38% pa renewed annually. That's why I don't want to withdraw my FD to dump into SSPN first. I'll wait till end of Dec to do it. I'm sure SSPN has interest too but I'm not too sure how it is calculated.

This post has been edited by attentional: Mar 11 2019, 12:50 PM
simonmada
post Mar 16 2019, 12:17 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(tinyisland @ Mar 2 2019, 09:20 PM)
As I know from you guys, the SSPN deposit will be auto filled under tax relief. My question is how do I get SSPN statement for year 2018? This is for my own reference for safe-keeping.

This post has been edited by simonmada: Mar 16 2019, 12:21 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2019, 01:12 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(simonmada @ Mar 16 2019, 12:17 AM)
As I know from you guys, the SSPN deposit will be auto filled under tax relief. My question is how do I get SSPN statement for year 2018? This is for my own reference for safe-keeping.
Google sspn statement.....
Then goto to the site....
Register as a user
SUSMNet
post Mar 16 2019, 06:11 PM

11,954 posts

Not sure why ppl still go with SSPN-i?
Does it insurance cost is lower compared with other insurance company?
talexeh
post Mar 17 2019, 12:55 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 16 2019, 06:11 PM)
Not sure why ppl still go with SSPN-i?
Does it insurance cost is lower compared with other insurance company?
SSPN-i doesn't have any insurance packaged along. That's SSPN-i Plus.

If you have a kid, he / she needs to have a SSPN account to be eligible to apply for PTPTN in the future.

Also, those with kid can deposit SSPN-i for them for tax relief purpose.
SUSMNet
post Mar 17 2019, 07:38 AM

11,954 posts

What the diffrerent between sspn and sspn-i in term of benefit?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2019, 11:45 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 17 2019, 07:38 AM)
SSPN no longer available right?
talexeh
post Mar 17 2019, 11:47 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 17 2019, 07:38 AM)
SSPN = SSPN-i
navilink
post May 7 2019, 11:20 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

hi, just deposit into SSPN-i via FPX.. when i login to E-SSPN-i to check Penyata it shows 0.00.. need to wait the next day to reflect?
yahoo12345
post May 26 2019, 12:07 PM

226 posts

hye if im single and i just want to opeen sspn for tax relief is it possible ?

i dun need the sspn i plus
MUM
post May 26 2019, 12:25 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(yahoo12345 @ May 26 2019, 12:07 PM)

Yes... If you are a legal guardian to someone else child.
Else.... No
yahoo12345
post May 26 2019, 12:45 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 26 2019, 12:25 PM)
Yes... If you are a legal guardian to someone else child.
Else.... No
no im not a guardian
so that means i cant enjoy the sspn tax relief ?
MUM
post May 26 2019, 12:59 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(yahoo12345 @ May 26 2019, 12:07 PM)

QUOTE(yahoo12345 @ May 26 2019, 12:45 PM)
no im not a guardian
so that means i cant enjoy the sspn tax relief ?
Individu yang menyimpan untuk diri sendiri tidak diberi pelepasan taksiran cukai.

notok
post Jun 14 2019, 03:34 PM

297 posts

is there any option to withdraw sspn-i money using atm ?
SUSyklooi
post Jun 14 2019, 03:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(notok @ Jun 14 2019, 03:34 PM)
is there any option to withdraw sspn-i money using atm ?
try the SSPN thread....there was a very recent discussion about it...
ktyong123
post Sep 7 2019, 08:10 AM

402 posts

if i pay my sspn-i plus Komitmen Bulanan in advance, will i get interest on the excess payment, anyone know?

lets say i pay 3 years in advance, will the advance payment yield any interest?

SUSMNet
post Sep 7 2019, 10:44 AM

11,954 posts

Yes u will earn interest
ktyong123
post Sep 7 2019, 03:45 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 7 2019, 10:44 AM)
Yes u will earn interest
thanks for your reply. how is the interest rate? follow the dividend rate of 4%?
Left4Dead2
post Oct 18 2019, 04:02 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 26 2019, 12:59 PM)
Individu yang menyimpan untuk diri sendiri tidak diberi pelepasan taksiran cukai.
If no anak sendiri then how ar ? Belum ada
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 18 2019, 04:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Oct 18 2019, 04:02 PM)
make one or adopt one
MUM
post Oct 18 2019, 04:48 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Oct 18 2019, 04:02 PM)
hmm.gif save the money else where and wait till you are eligible to contribute
Left4Dead2
post Nov 4 2019, 09:45 AM

1,103 posts

For those already open SSPN account, can withdraw through online or counter ? What is the procedure required ? Anybody withdraw before ?
BlurGuy1992
post Dec 27 2019, 05:06 PM

254 posts

hey guys, I wanted to know too if whether can withdraw from SSPN and the procedure and conditions?
BlurGuy1992
post Dec 27 2019, 05:13 PM

254 posts

Withdrawing Your Money
Unfortunately, withdrawing money from your SSPN account is not a simple task! Unlike normal savings accounts, SSPN has very strict rules when it comes to withdrawing your money. Depositors can only withdraw their money once a year, and the maximum amount that is allowed to be taken out is only RM500 or 10% of your total savings.

alright, I found the answer from google and they required lots of gov doc to withdraw which I found in their sspn website... happy new year.
MUM
post Dec 27 2019, 05:20 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Nov 4 2019, 09:45 AM)
For those already open SSPN account, can withdraw through online or counter ? What is the procedure required ? Anybody withdraw before ?
QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Dec 27 2019, 05:06 PM)
hey guys, I wanted to know too if whether can withdraw from SSPN and the procedure and conditions?
QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Dec 27 2019, 05:13 PM)
Withdrawing Your Money
Unfortunately, withdrawing money from your SSPN account is not a simple task! Unlike normal savings accounts, SSPN has very strict rules when it comes to withdrawing your money. Depositors can only withdraw their money once a year, and the maximum amount that is allowed to be taken out is only RM500 or 10% of your total savings.

alright, I found the answer from google and they required lots of gov doc to withdraw which I found in their sspn website... happy new year.
try page 115, post 2294
post 2297 lagi easy....
SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+2280

This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 27 2019, 05:22 PM
Capitar25 P
post Nov 2 2020, 01:59 PM

Probation

Anyone know if I want change my SSPN-i to SSPN-i plus can? or i need to register new sspn-i-plus online?
Nitha_STAFF SSPN P
post Nov 23 2020, 11:38 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Capitar25 @ Nov 2 2020, 01:59 PM)
Anyone know if I want change my SSPN-i to SSPN-i plus can? or i need to register new sspn-i-plus online?
Hi. Yes can change easily from SSPN-i to SSPN-iplus.
Nitha_STAFF SSPN P
post Nov 23 2020, 11:40 AM

Probation

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 27 2019, 05:20 PM)
try page 115, post 2294
post 2297 lagi easy....
SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+2280
Hi, you can do withdrawal of ur SSPN money now via online or walk in to any our office. Minimum RM20 is required to be kept in the account for activation purposes and the rest you can do withdrawal.
Nitha_STAFF SSPN P
post Nov 23 2020, 11:41 AM

Probation

QUOTE(simonmada @ Mar 16 2019, 12:17 AM)
Hi for statement, please do contact me, I can email or WhatsApp to you. Thankyou 😀
Capitar25 P
post Nov 23 2020, 09:58 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Nitha_STAFF SSPN @ Nov 23 2020, 11:38 AM)
Hi. Yes can change easily from SSPN-i to SSPN-iplus.
Thanks Nitha

I just bank in SSPN-i using boost, may i know where can i view the latest update of my account to ensure its credited?
Nitha_STAFF SSPN P
post Dec 21 2020, 02:35 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Capitar25 @ Nov 23 2020, 09:58 PM)
Thanks Nitha

I just bank in SSPN-i using boost, may i know where can i view the latest update of my account to ensure its credited?
Hi Sir/Madam,

Please WhatsApp me will give you the full details.

http://wasap.my/60143122195DepositSSPN

ahbenchai
post Jan 4 2021, 07:18 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

i have a sspn-i online account since my university day

can i still put money in and earn the interest rate?
GrumpyNooby
post Jan 5 2021, 08:49 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jan 4 2021, 07:18 PM)
i have a sspn-i online account since my university day

can i still put money in and earn the interest rate?
Should be fine as long as the account is still active.
kino318
post Jan 5 2021, 10:50 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Dec 27 2019, 05:13 PM)
Withdrawing Your Money

no lah. withdraw is straight forward. Just visit the branch or do it online. u will get yr money in next few days.
thk
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2021, 10:05 PM

8,259 posts

got news when they will announce the dividend?
kino318
post Jan 6 2021, 09:07 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(Nitha_STAFF SSPN @ Nov 23 2020, 11:40 AM)
Hi, you can do withdrawal of ur SSPN money now via online or walk in to any our office. Minimum RM20 is required to be kept in the account for activation purposes and the rest you can do withdrawal.
@Nitha_STAFF SSPN do u know when will b SSPN-i allowed to withdraw?
Now is frozen for year end closed.

Thks
ylihao
post Feb 18 2021, 05:12 PM

40 posts

still no news on dividend sweat.gif hmm.gif
patricktoh
post Feb 20 2021, 10:32 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(ylihao @ Feb 18 2021, 05:12 PM)
still no news on dividend  sweat.gif  hmm.gif
This is not acceptable. Holding back so long. bruce.gif
asiatrader98
post May 25 2021, 03:32 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(Nitha_STAFF SSPN @ Nov 23 2020, 11:40 AM)
hi, i believe i can withdraw all the fund deposited with SSPN before year 2020 and only maintain the RM20 to to be kept in the account for activation purposes
however, will it affected my 2020 tax relief from LHDN i.e. RM8k deposited on dec of 2020?
MUM
post May 25 2021, 03:44 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ May 25 2021, 03:32 PM)
hi, i believe i can withdraw all the fund deposited with SSPN before year 2020 and only maintain the RM20 to to be kept in the account for activation purposes
however, will it affected my 2020 tax relief from LHDN i.e. RM8k deposited on dec of 2020?
if i am not mistaken,...
if you had withdrawn all in 2019, you will not be get tax relief for year 2019
then you deposited RM8k in Dec 2020, you will get tax relief of RM8k for year 2020 to be declared during tax submission in April 2021
asiatrader98
post May 25 2021, 03:52 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 25 2021, 03:44 PM)
if i am not mistaken,...
if you had withdrawn all in 2019, you will not be get tax relief for year 2019
then you deposited RM8k in Dec 2020, you will get tax relief of RM8k for year 2020 to be declared during tax submission in April 2021
thank MUM
I am not keen to deposit any amount for claim tax relief in Y2021 but just worry if I withdraw all (but to maintain RM20 later for applying the PPTN) now i.e.Y2021 May, will it affect my claim tax relief RM8k deposited on Y2020
MUM
post May 25 2021, 03:57 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ May 25 2021, 03:52 PM)
thank MUM
I am not keen to deposit any amount for claim tax relief in Y2021 but just worry if I withdraw all (but to maintain RM20 later for applying the PPTN) now i.e.Y2021 May, will it affect my  claim tax relief RM8k deposited on Y2020
your claim for tax relief for money deposited in year 2020 should have been done in April 2021,....(under BE)
IF in May 2021 if you withdraw ALL (bal 20) out,....then there should be NO tax relief claim for year 2021....cannot submit tax relief claim in April 2022

This post has been edited by MUM: May 25 2021, 03:58 PM
asiatrader98
post May 25 2021, 04:04 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 25 2021, 03:57 PM)
your claim for tax relief for money deposited in year 2020 should have been done in April 2021,....(under BE)
IF in May 2021 if you withdraw ALL (bal 20) out,....then there should be NO tax relief claim for year 2021....cannot submit tax relief claim in April 2022
thank you MUM, I got the point
so withdraw all (bal RM20) will not affected my tax relief (under B) to this account on Y2020
no issue for no tax relief claim for this account on Y2021 because I will deposit RM8k to another account for tax relief claim, I have 3 kids console.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: May 25 2021, 04:06 PM
MUM
post May 25 2021, 04:09 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ May 25 2021, 04:04 PM)
thank you MUM, I got the point
so withdraw all (bal RM20) will not affected my tax relief (under B) to this account on Y2020
no issue for no tax relief claim for this account on Y2021 because I will deposit RM8k to another account for tax relief claim, I have 3 kids console.gif
if this 3 kids SSPN a/c are linked to your a/c....then any withdraw of any 1 of them will affect your tax relief claims

Your NRIC number are linked as depositor to them as Beneficiaries...all these will be reflected in your SSPN annual tax relief statement

mygarage88
post Jun 14 2021, 05:21 PM

189 posts

Hi, may i know how to add another kid (beneficiary) under my name? Can I do it online?

MUM
post Jun 14 2021, 05:34 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(mygarage88 @ Jun 14 2021, 05:21 PM)
Hi, may i know how to add another kid (beneficiary) under my name? Can I do it online?
maybe as per this?
PANDUAN PEMBUKAAN AKAUN SSPN-i
https://www.lovesspnonline.com/caradaftarsspni.html

hopefully it is applicable to your need

0.1972sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:59 PM