Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

Lon3Rang3r00
post Apr 30 2024, 09:47 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 29 2024, 09:14 PM)
Almost all brands also ok nowadays.... just have to make sure the installation is proper and regular maintanence. But if you want good spare parts availability i think still Daikin or Panasonic. Midea should be fine i think since more and more people start using

The only brand I've heard aircond tech and other people asking everyone to avoid is Samsung lol
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 30 2024, 12:15 AM)
guys just install smart meter on ur house..

I have 2 units 1.5hp inverter (Samsung & Sharp) in my room (i installed second unit while waiting the Samsung repair)

I can tell you Sharp uses less energy ( I set to 26 c) ...

Sharp can reach this temp easily and only uses around 300w after cutoff ; Samsung hardly can reach this temp hence run heavy ar 1000w
devil.gif Speaking of Samsung, random people who didn't read appear and bash Samsung. I guessed best i avoid it.
Which Smart meter you use to check? I should get one to test my parent house.

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Apr 29 2024, 10:04 PM)
any recommended aircond installer around cheras area?

Vacuuming and proper signal wires for inverter kind of installer pls.
Have to monitor them when they do the cleaning, Parent house... the person who do the cleaning is a "Fresh" no experience and damages the fin inside. and continue to wipe. until the supervisor shout at him.
Created On 21/1/2021
post Apr 30 2024, 02:59 PM

1,347 posts

Just got my airconds cleaned.

Somehow they managed to spray all the dirty water onto my wall. My wall now has dirty water dripping marks and splash marks.
westlife
post Apr 30 2024, 09:34 PM

14,301 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 30 2024, 12:15 AM)
guys just install smart meter on ur house..

I have 2 units 1.5hp inverter (Samsung & Sharp) in my room (i installed second unit while waiting the Samsung repair)

I can tell you Sharp uses less energy ( I set to 26 c) ...

Sharp can reach this temp easily and only uses around 300w after cutoff ; Samsung hardly can reach this temp hence run heavy ar 1000w
same 1hp, all non-inverter, the midea aircon in my house can reach the set temperature of 25 degree much much much faster than mitsubishi one..

mitsubishi is really slow in cooling... minimally need 20 minutes and longer to cool down to at least feel some aircon while may not even reach 25 degree.. mad.gif

for midea... less than 5 minutes i can feel almost 25 degree of temperature.. smile.gif
faizfizy39
post May 4 2024, 12:18 PM

VVIP
681 posts

Managed to get Samsung Windfree 2.0 5 star inverter for RM2K and add another RM300 for installation.

This post has been edited by faizfizy39: May 4 2024, 12:19 PM
jio
post May 4 2024, 03:24 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Apr 30 2024, 12:08 AM)
Hi guys, wanna check do you all always turn the main switch of your cassette aircon off?

My aircon guy told me that those 32A switch is not durable, he recommend me to have it directly to the circuit breaker and just leave it on. He also said for cassette aircon I should not cut the power to the aircon immediately after I turn off the aircon because the water pump need to pump out the water, only can turn off the main switch after 10-20min.
If the switch is near the circuit breaker, then it's fine to skip the switch and just use 2P/4P MCB/MCCB (switched neutral), although I still recommend using switch with neon indicator for residential use as per MS1979. You only switch off the power only when it won't be used for extended period of time. All fixed appliance circuits should have way to isolate & cut off the power including the neutral for maintenance and stop RCCB tripping due to faults. If you are using 1P/3P circuit breaker for the aircon, just keep the switch but no need to turn it off everytime.

MS1979:2015
4.6.13 COP 32, Air conditioner, electric oven or similar (hereinafter refer as high-current
using equipment circuit
Every high-current using equipment circuit shall be supplied by a dedicated power circuit which
shall not be shared by any other purpose. This power circuit shall have an appropriately sized
uninformed-user double pole switch/isolator with illuminated status indicator such as neon
indicating light installed in a prominently visible location in the vicinity of the
wet-equipment for switching and isolation. There shall be an appropriately sized maintenance
isolator with appropriate IP rating, for maintenance isolation purpose, installed in a location
visible and accessible to the certified maintenance electrician and shall not be more than 3 m
from electrical coupling terminal on the high-current equipment to facilitate the
connection/disconnection of the power circuit to the high-current equipment and for isolation of
the high-current equipment during maintenance.
There shall be no joint or similar in this dedicated power circuit.

sawannaibaan
post May 5 2024, 03:13 PM

39 posts

Hi all,

Have a question regarding aircon, my sis rented this place couple months ago . Spacious but many old stuff. Including the aircon.

The aircon in one of the room is quite an old 2.0 hp york model aircon. That thing is a electricity guzzler, her tnb bill comes up to nearly rm300-400 a month(700-800kwh per bill). She was sure the culprit is the aircon, because certain months she was not staying at the house, the tnb bill dropped to just rm80+ .

She tried contacting various aircon technicians and described the problem to them, most quite reluctant to fix stating cant find spare parts, or they dont know how to diagnose. Some told her to just get rid of it and upsell their service to install a new one

I was wondering anyone here can shed some light on this problem? What is causing the aircon eat up so much electricity.

Note she is staying in a condo, the mgmt told her coz “old wiring” no choice lol, not sure what that even means.

This post has been edited by sawannaibaan: May 5 2024, 03:16 PM
cpy9898
post May 5 2024, 04:19 PM

Hello guys.. I bought this aircon last year.. and its not effective at cooling at all. i tune the temperature to 26 it is still warm and im sweating. Tune down to 22 then its ok a bit but other parts of room still warm. i am using Sharp Inverter 1.0 Ahx10bed. How can i get this fix?
ZeroSP
post May 5 2024, 05:01 PM

184 posts

Developer gave multi split R410A inverter, worth to change to R32 to bring down power bill?
stormer.lyn
post May 5 2024, 06:42 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(sawannaibaan @ May 5 2024, 03:13 PM)

How long is the a/cond turned on per day? 10 hours per day at 18°C set temperature can easily reach that amount a month for a 2 HP unit

stormer.lyn
post May 5 2024, 06:48 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(cpy9898 @ May 5 2024, 04:19 PM)
Hello guys.. I bought this aircon last year.. and its not effective at cooling at all. i tune the temperature to 26 it is still warm and im sweating. Tune down to 22 then its ok a bit but other parts of room still warm. i am using Sharp Inverter 1.0 Ahx10bed. How can i get this fix?
Are you looking for a magic answer like "just clean the filters and the a/cond will be cool"?

Something is obviously not working properly. Call a competent repair person to have a look and tell you what is wrong with the unit.
stxksy
post May 5 2024, 07:31 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ May 4 2024, 12:18 PM)
Managed to get Samsung Windfree 2.0 5 star inverter for RM2K and add another RM300 for installation.
How is the experience? Would like to hear your review 😆
sawannaibaan
post May 5 2024, 08:32 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ May 5 2024, 06:42 PM)

[/spoiler]
How long is the a/cond turned on per day? 10 hours per day at 18°C set temperature can easily reach that amount a month for a 2 HP unit
Yes, around 7-8 hours per day i think, not sure about temp.
Did not know 2 hp eats up that much power

Guess most of the bills i have been comparing are using 1.0 hp, thats y it looks so cheap compared to what she is paying.

She initially thought the sensor got problem, becoz she felt the aircon did not off automatically once the temperature in the room has reached the desired level.

I wonder is it possible to swap the aircon units without swapping the compressor? Or the whole set must be changed?
There is another 1.0 aircon in the same unit but not being used in another room.

Exeunt
post May 6 2024, 08:41 AM

828 posts

QUOTE(sawannaibaan @ May 5 2024, 09:32 PM)

Guess most of the bills i have been comparing are using 1.0 hp, thats y it looks so cheap compared to what she is paying.

She initially thought the sensor got problem, becoz she felt the aircon did not off automatically once the temperature in the room has reached the desired level.

I wonder is it possible to swap the aircon units without swapping the compressor? Or the whole set must be changed?
There is another 1.0 aircon in the same unit but not being used in another room.
Lets assume old 2hp york consume 2kw per hour without cutoff/some cut off at 25c..
2kw x 8 hour x 30days x 0.516 sen = rm248

If sis plan to stay long, just ask for permission to change and sell back later
YoungMan
post May 6 2024, 09:00 AM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(sawannaibaan @ May 5 2024, 08:32 PM)

As a start, service the 2hp unit. get the technician to check for any wear and tear. It also depend how the aircond is use, if set to lower temp most of the time then you cannot expect cheap electric bill.
And no, you cannot mix and match the aircond units unless it is from the same model and same hp.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: May 6 2024, 09:03 AM
ZeneticX
post May 6 2024, 01:54 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(sawannaibaan @ May 5 2024, 08:32 PM)

If the aircond is old non inverter and using R410a or even R22 gas.... then high power consumption is gonna be unavoidable, further more it is 2HP

If the landlord not allow or willing to change it (i assume it is the likely scenario since R32 will require new piping as well) then unfortunately she need to change some usage habits to bring down the electricity bill. Try limit the aircond usage to 2 - 3 hrs, once the room is cool enough can switch over to fan

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 6 2024, 03:41 PM
sawannaibaan
post May 6 2024, 06:13 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ May 6 2024, 08:41 AM)
Lets assume old 2hp york consume 2kw per hour without cutoff/some cut off at 25c..
2kw x 8 hour x 30days x 0.516 sen = rm248

If sis plan to stay long, just ask for permission to change and sell back later
QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 6 2024, 09:00 AM)
As a start, service the 2hp unit. get the technician to check for any wear and tear. It also depend how the aircond is use, if set to lower temp most of the time then you cannot expect cheap electric bill.
And no, you cannot mix and match the aircond units unless it is from the same model and same hp.
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 6 2024, 01:54 PM)
If the aircond is old non inverter and using R410a or even R22 gas.... then high power consumption is gonna be unavoidable, further more it is 2HP

If the landlord not allow or willing to change it (i assume it is the likely scenario since R32 will require new piping as well) then unfortunately she need to change some usage habits to bring down the electricity bill. Try limit the aircond usage to 2 - 3 hrs, once the room is cool enough can switch over to fan
Thank you all! these are incredibly useful information! both of us have been searching the internet and asking here and there, and never really got a clear answer.
and yes, based on the photo she sent to me today, it is using R22 refrigerant as mentioned, looks like it's quite an old model.

It seems managing the aircon usage is the only way to control the bills, i will ask her to use the timer to auto off at night.

Sylph818
post May 7 2024, 10:41 AM

276 posts

hi, i have recently booked a subsale unit.

would like to ask how do i know what is the HP of aircond installed in the living room? if the aircond is 2HP, can i replace with 2.5HP without redo the piping?

This post has been edited by Sylph818: May 7 2024, 10:41 AM
TongCN
post May 7 2024, 11:15 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,689 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ May 4 2024, 12:18 PM)
Any reason why u getting this model ?
Yours is deluxe or premium+ ?

Am looking for LG AC but my area here macam like all no stocks one =.=
ZeneticX
post May 7 2024, 01:05 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Sylph818 @ May 7 2024, 10:41 AM)
hi, i have recently booked a subsale unit.

would like to ask how do i know what is the HP of aircond installed in the living room? if the aircond is 2HP, can i replace with 2.5HP without redo the piping?
Yes 2 and 2.5hp share same piping. Can check from the label on the indoor unit

But make sure its the same refrigerant type. If old unit usually is R410a or R22. Latest aircond all using R32. You need to change the piping also

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 7 2024, 01:06 PM
Sylph818
post May 7 2024, 01:37 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 7 2024, 01:05 PM)
Yes 2 and 2.5hp share same piping. Can check from the label on the indoor unit

But make sure its the same refrigerant type. If old unit usually is R410a or R22. Latest aircond all using R32. You need to change the piping also
ah, then maybe need to change as well, its old 15 yrs old house.
thanks for your info!

670 Pages « < 634 635 636 637 638 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:12 PM