(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 8 2007, 02:50 PM)
try jodsdb
it's preferred choice in sg than jobstreet
Hmm... I see... I will try... I am looking hard in the jobstreets... tongue.gif

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 8 2007, 04:37 PM)
See see ....
don't believe me, other ppl say no need PR to get tuition grant then only believe.  sad.gif
Relax la... smile.gif How much does a normal IT undergrads paid at there ar?
pppooo
post Jan 8 2007, 11:02 PM

54 posts

Hey curious here
Care to share more?
Which part u can't adapt?
And what do u mean by comfort zone?

[/quote]

I must admit I am a lazy person thus Spore does suit me more as she provides comveniency.
I can drive but I dun like to drive thus Spore public transport really helps. Eatery places are conveniently within walking distance at both working and residential places without scare of snatch or rains as most linkways are sheltered. Their banks and govt bodies services are so much efficient than KL. The scenario is they have longer q, but definitely shorter waiting/processing time compared to KL...Btw, most of the bank and govt services could be done via phone or internet.
I dun need to mention Spore broadband/wireless provider as many has elaborated that...Msia Tmnet is just sweat.gif
And...Spore is cheaper than KL in term of dollar to dollar comparison!

Spore working life is quite versatile. U get to expose to multinational cultural since most companies there are Asia Pac hub. Many foreigners work there thus equal opputurnity as long as you are outstanding.

Nevertheless, Spore does have their boring part. Too small the island and u'll really get bored after many weekends there. The govt is efficient but kinda like Mahathir time - one man say all...but why I care? I am not their citizen.

hanalolu
post Jan 9 2007, 11:40 PM

172 posts

Hi buddy,

I am newbie here and I'm urgently need ur advise to sort out this problem.
Recently I am thinking to change my current job to a new working environment as I have lost my passion in my current job as a software enginner in a foriegn bank with 1.5 years experiance. Now I have 2 option,
1. Get a job in MYS or
2. Look for a career in SG.
Any one can let me know what is the salary range for a software enginner/programmer/software developer post in SG ? With 2 years experiance. What is the market value for software developer ?
I was thinking to work in SG for 3 - 5 years. After that, depends.

Thanks for ur advise ~~

This post has been edited by hanalolu: Jan 9 2007, 11:43 PM
Doltan
post Jan 9 2007, 11:45 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 8 2007, 02:46 PM)
Dear eurekas & yihyan

Technically speaking, both of you are correct.

U no need to become PR to get the grant. But u have to become a PR to service your 3-years bond after you graduate.
Would also want to correct this misconception. You do NOT need to become PR to service your 3-yr bond after graduation. The bond is just that you have to work in Singapore for 3 yrs. You can still be under Employment Pass, if you do not want to apply for PR.

In case someone tries to debate this, I have completed my 3-yr bond, and am still on EP after 6 yrs, since I do NOT have any intention of applying for PR.
ky_khor
post Jan 10 2007, 04:43 PM

No.22
894 posts

is it convenient to work in Jurong Island or around Alexandra Distripark area without a personal transport?

those r heavy industry area and i assume the public transport is not as good as commerce area?
genuine
post Jan 10 2007, 06:05 PM

Jurong Island is at another island. Transport is provided by the company hires you.

Alexandra Distripark is pretty easy to get around with public transport.

magnumao
post Jan 11 2007, 01:04 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(pppooo @ Jan 8 2007, 11:02 PM)
I must admit I am a lazy person thus Spore does suit me more as she provides comveniency.
I can drive but I dun like to drive thus Spore public transport really helps.  Eatery places are conveniently within walking distance at both working and residential places without scare of snatch or rains as most linkways are sheltered.  Their banks and govt bodies services are so much efficient than KL.  The scenario is they have longer q, but definitely shorter waiting/processing time compared to KL...Btw, most of the bank and govt services could be done via phone or internet.
I dun need to mention Spore broadband/wireless provider as many has elaborated that...Msia Tmnet is just  sweat.gif
And...Spore is cheaper than KL in term of dollar to dollar comparison! 

Spore working life is quite versatile. U get to expose to multinational cultural since most companies there are Asia Pac hub.  Many foreigners work there thus equal opputurnity as long as you are outstanding.

Nevertheless, Spore does have their boring part.  Too small the island and u'll really get bored after many weekends there.  The govt is efficient but kinda like Mahathir time - one man say all...but why I care? I am not their citizen.
thanks for sharing smile.gif

This post has been edited by magnumao: Jan 11 2007, 01:04 PM
magnumao
post Jan 11 2007, 01:06 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(genuine @ Jan 10 2007, 06:05 PM)
Jurong Island is at another island. Transport is provided by the company hires you.

Alexandra Distripark is pretty easy to get around with public transport.
There is bus service from Jurong East also, just next to CW3 queue.
But donno is free or not.
magnumao
post Jan 11 2007, 01:06 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Doltan @ Jan 9 2007, 11:45 PM)
Would also want to correct this misconception. You do NOT need to become PR to service your 3-yr bond after graduation. The bond is just that you have to work in Singapore for 3 yrs. You can still be under Employment Pass, if you do not want to apply for PR.

In case someone tries to debate this, I have completed my 3-yr bond, and am still on EP after 6 yrs, since I do NOT have any intention of applying for PR.
ok
will keep that in mind
thanks a lot
Jewelgal
post Jan 24 2007, 11:47 PM

143 posts

Hello, no more stories from our friends working in singapore.. hehe...
eurekas
post Jan 25 2007, 09:39 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Doltan @ Jan 9 2007, 11:45 PM)

PR need to apply meh ?
They never send you a letter meh ?
Before you grad from Uni they will send you a letter leh....
kinwah_lai
post Jan 28 2007, 10:01 PM

107 posts

i'm wonder how's the pay in SG for 3yrs experience in Java( 2 yrs specially in J2EE) and knowledge in Oracle DB and Oracle Applications.

anyone can tell me??

just wonder anyone with similar experience that working in sg can tell me...
i'm just curious whether i can ask for the same salary that i got in RM when i go sg...

This post has been edited by kinwah_lai: Jan 29 2007, 09:59 AM
alucard31
post Jan 28 2007, 11:41 PM

284 posts

Hi, guys.. i think there's 1 thing i need to clarify, as we also work for someone in sg, we rili duno how much can u get with the experiences and pro- knowledges u have.

i think such info can be collected by using jobstreet or jobsdb as they always do some report for the average salary for each year. Or some company will stated the salary they will offer for some position. I think for the people wanna know how much can they get, they can start research from here.
d2e_7
post Feb 5 2007, 10:40 PM

71 posts

i hv 8 month working experian with HP singapore...
now i plan to go back m`sia for good...
cannot afford lor..
what do u thing guys??i`m i continue or go back m`sia for good smile.gif
matsuolee
post Feb 5 2007, 11:13 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 11 2007, 01:06 PM)
There is bus service from Jurong East also, just next to CW3 queue.
But donno is free or not.
anyone know bout SembawangCorp Marine?izzit some where around jurong island?how the working environment tere ..?Get involved with the company's interview..might be work tere as design engineer/safety engineer soon..Thanks ur all precious comments.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
pppooo
post Feb 5 2007, 11:45 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(d2e_7 @ Feb 5 2007, 10:40 PM)
i hv 8 month working experian with HP singapore...
now i plan to go back m`sia for good...
cannot afford lor..
what do u thing guys??i`m i continue or go back m`sia for good smile.gif
I thot HP Spore giving quite good package, still cant feed u?
I have friends working there and they seem satisfied.
HP Spore well known of providing extensive training to employees. It is always good to pick up more skills esp if u r still young in work force.

Dun go shopping and hi-tea too often, buy clothes from the heartlander shops la. Then u can save.

kidchung
post Feb 6 2007, 03:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(matsuolee @ Feb 5 2007, 11:13 PM)
anyone know bout SembawangCorp Marine?izzit some where around jurong island?how the working environment tere ..?Get involved with the company's interview..might be  work tere as design engineer/safety engineer soon..Thanks ur all precious comments..  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Sembawang Corp is a big company in Singapore, they have offices and factories and plants all around Singapore. I'm only familiar in Sembawang Gas, which is in Jurong Island. Public transport is bad here Jurong Island, but most companies provide transport so you shouldn't worry to much. Marine line should be in the shipping industry then, which is a huge industry in Singapore. I see super tankers everyday when I go to work and I think one of the dry-docks I see is Sembawang Marine, not sure though. But nevertheless, it should be fun on a ship biggrin.gif

Lots of Malaysian work in the oil and gas industry in Singapore. Some as labourers, blue collar and also white collar jobs. Opportunities are equal in my opinion. No such thing as favoritism unless you work in a family owned company. But work is work, Singaporeans are the 'relaks' one here since they can jump jobs easily, most Malaysians here are hardworking souls with family back home. So the general view of Malaysians by employers are quite good. They don't pay you their employer contribution in CPF if you are not PR so they actually get more value from Malaysians. PRs contribute to CPF 20% of their gross pay and employers contrubute 11% I think of your gross pay.

If you think you see a lot of foreign workers in Malaysia, heh! you haven't seen Singapore yet, half the workforce are foreign workers. Going to Orchard road on Sunday feels like you are in the Philipines or some parts Bangladesh. The jam at the causeway back to Johor is downright scary after working hours when Malaysians make their way back home. Best if you net a job in a MNC, more fair and open in my opinion and the progression is better.

And regarding HP, they have been voted one of the best employers in Singapore, so I don't think you should be worried if you are hired by them.

This post has been edited by kidchung: Feb 6 2007, 03:16 PM
seantang
post Feb 6 2007, 07:53 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

This article was in Singapore's Today newspaper this morning. Info about salaries of folks with poly diplomas.

Also a pdf file which contains a current report on Singapore's labour force. Very enlightening as it give good info on the sectors and attributes of workers.

There's one page on avg salaries by job type (eg. mgr, professional, clerical etc. etc.)

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 6 2007, 08:23 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  20070126985.pdf ( 225.68k ) Number of downloads: 148
SUSkockroach
post Feb 10 2007, 11:46 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Any one know how is the oil and gas industry in Singapore compare to Malaysia? And what is their big player in the industry. Thanks

126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:44 PM