Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

littleway
post Jan 2 2007, 04:23 AM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jan 2 2007, 01:54 AM)
Ya....sometimes SGD50 can last more than a week on daily expenses.
A week with less than 50 is really low. Do you guys suggest me to work at Sg and travels through customs everyday? My family at JB... Too bad I would be fresh grads.. if not can ask missfrogy to help me find job.. :'( Does industrial training experience count?

At here, I living at wangsa maju area here... NO matter how I safe, RM50 just not enough for a week. sweat.gif
littleway
post Jan 2 2007, 04:51 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(jeromelee1 @ Jan 2 2007, 09:50 AM)
Hello Dude

On the peddling back and forth from JB to SG, it depends on your work location as well. If you are working in area like Woodland or Ang Mo Kio, it is advisable to stay put with family to cut down the cost. For the fast access to Singapore, you can always apply for the access card which work like the malaysia passport biometric system.

For job hunting, it is a uphill task as you do not have a work permit on hand or Singapore Permanent Residency to help you. In order to have the work permit, you must get your potential employer to hire and sponsor for the work permit.

Trust this help you.
That means, is hardly to get company who willing to help me on getting work permit? Coz if I don't go there work, is hardly for me to get PR, since non of my family members are PR holders.

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 2 2007, 01:59 PM)
is it the same as the cash card they asked me to pat SGD10 for at the customs?
Blood sucking mamak will cost you almost rm10 each time you're there. Unless you each roti kosong and air kosong only lah.  sweat.gif
Just ask for the Nasi Lemak biasa, and 1 teh tarik, it cost you arund rm2.90 at BRJ. tongue.gif Thats the cheapest way to fill in stomach...
littleway
post Jan 4 2007, 12:25 AM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

Does bodycheck need to be done only in SG certified medical centre or even from JB would be accepted?

And is it means that after employer confirms you, you still need to wait about a month or more just to get your permit done?

My place is around 30mins to Customs too, so usually what time you left your house to work?

Thanks.. smile.gif
littleway
post Jan 4 2007, 10:07 AM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jan 4 2007, 02:06 AM)
Should be just the usual X-ray for TB, HIV and Hepatitis blood tests. Yes you can have those done in M'sia.

Yes, even after getting the job offer, you'd still have to wait for the Ministry of Manpower's approval for your working pass, and no law-abiding S'porean or PR there will rent a place to you if you have no confirmed long-term immigration pass. Your company's HR should keep you updated of the application process of your working pass -most of the time, the HR will do it for you but I've heard of small-time S'porean employers just leaving the entire working pass application process to the candidate employee.
Ok thanks... since I stay at JB, accomodations won't be any problem. Another question is, if I quit the jobs in that company which apply work permit for me, does my work permit still valid? Or it would be cancelled upon resign? It seems that I have to be tied to one company before I able to get the PR.
littleway
post Jan 4 2007, 05:20 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

I think if pay above S$2.5K and above, the chances of getting PR is very high. I would be seekin job as fresh grads, so normally how much is offered to fresh grads? Does they count industrial training as experience too? Hopefully can get offer....
littleway
post Jan 4 2007, 10:03 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

Wah... work permit can't get PR.. then I mah die die can't get PR?? I don't know if Campbell Certs from TARC they recognize or not... plan to work there then further upgrade...
littleway
post Jan 5 2007, 12:34 AM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 12:07 AM)
now the rules very strict, last time SPM 5 credit can apply liao.
btw sg has a good environment if you want to further study on a part time basis. but u dun need to be pr to further study right?
NO mah... plan to migrate.. tongue.gif Target Australia one, but my parents sure won't enjoy there, so the best location is Sg... tongue.gif

If I got a degree, can I directly apply for PEP? I read from the MOM websites, PEP starts on 2007 only wor...
littleway
post Jan 5 2007, 12:44 AM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 5 2007, 12:37 AM)
perhaps first get a job + work permit (S/Q pass) then apply for PEP later for the future job change and PR application?

isn't study in singapore alot more expensive then in malaysia? how about the idea of working in singapore, while doing distance learning with malaysia programe?

tongue.gif

duh, i'm so going to singapore!

edit: post back the info provided by jeromelee from my redundant thread about SG.
Although SG more expensive, but nevermind... at least quality is better than any institute in JB can provide. If got company sponsor for study like my uncles company... that would be sOoOOOoOOOo nice.... OMG... when I can have this chance.. laugh.gif
littleway
post Jan 6 2007, 04:59 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

Aiyoo.. no need argue la... Once you got the offer letter from either Poly or Uni, you are automatically eligible to enjoy the grant. Is up to you to believe it... am I make myself clear?
littleway
post Jan 6 2007, 05:01 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 6 2007, 04:06 PM)
I just want to say that PR is not the requirement to get the tuition grant. I don't want you to mislead other people. Please ask your friend  properly whether PR is a requirement. When you are not the person who gone through it please don't claim it as the hearsay.Btw, the PR is very easy to get. If you study here, even more easier to get PR. Don't make it like so difficult to get and spoil other chance and hope to apply here. I love to encourage people to work and study in Singapore.
Peace...
And I really really hope to get a job there... drool.gif Any offer from IT market for M'sian fresh grads??
littleway
post Jan 6 2007, 10:17 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 6 2007, 06:13 PM)
Got lah...
alot leh... you come here and buy the Straits Times paper (Saturday)
Really alot ar? I worry if can't get any job there, then I have to move back to KL... Coz I plan to work at SG and stay at JB for sometime one.... hmm.gif
littleway
post Jan 8 2007, 10:42 PM

(!-.-)(tm)
1,658 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 8 2007, 02:50 PM)
try jodsdb
it's preferred choice in sg than jobstreet
Hmm... I see... I will try... I am looking hard in the jobstreets... tongue.gif

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 8 2007, 04:37 PM)
See see ....
don't believe me, other ppl say no need PR to get tuition grant then only believe.  sad.gif
Relax la... smile.gif How much does a normal IT undergrads paid at there ar?

0.0176sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:27 AM