Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 10:55 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(alucard31 @ Jan 4 2007, 10:30 AM)
2) U r a PR (Permanent Resident) of sg, so u're not required to hold a work pass to work in sg. In order to get PR, it wil b a long and troublesome process. I think if any ppl wanna know dis, better google search for dis, i also not sure about some process in apply PR as i dun plan to apply for now.
The PR is very easy to get if you have degree, your profession is in good demand and is Malaysian Chinese. (based on my assumption)
Normally they will told you to wait for 3 months before the PR is approved. Most of my friends get it in 1 month time. smile.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 11:03 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jan 4 2007, 10:57 AM)
can i know what is the normal pay for our malaysian there for engineer around 2 yrs experience?
2 years experience very good pay...
What type of engineer ?
Your degree is from where ? Some of the engineering job need the degree recognise from PE board.
Fresh grad average is $2400.
for a comparison, broadband 12Mbps fees is around $71 and free 1 HP core duo 2 laptop if you sign up as new customer. smile.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 11:14 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jan 4 2007, 11:06 AM)
E&E and software engineering, can do both electronic, application design, IC design or software engineer but prefer the first 3.

2 yrs experience in application design and software engineer. my degree is from local TARC, campbell U colloboration

What company u recommend that have good reputation and offer good pay and good learning culture and environment?

btw, we can apply for broadband there even though we are not PR?

thanks  smile.gif
EEE is very high pay leh...
I don't know what company to recommend you because I am not from EEE. I am from Civil engineering. EEE is the most highly pay among the engineering.
Of course can apply for broadband, but you need to have the employment pass first. It is very good here when apply for broadband because they will give you brand new core duo HP laptop. smile.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 06:54 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(giasens @ Jan 4 2007, 04:42 PM)
yau mou?
may i know which ISP?
HAHAHA...
Now you know that the Streamyx will never can compete with Singapore Broadband. The max speed here is 100Mbps and Lowest is the 6Mbps.
I just got the HP desktop last time...
This time I going to get the laptop..
Singtel and Starhub every year also got give out laptop...Last year Singtel give out Sony Bravia LCD tv. tongue.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 06:56 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 4 2007, 06:20 PM)
lol...i can get free broadband wif wireless@SG biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Yeah, I heard whole island have free wireless. What is the speed ah ?
I haven't try yet because me now using the Starhub 12Mbps internet.
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 06:59 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Jan 4 2007, 03:25 PM)
regarding to the body check-up, if the report shows that I've health problem that needs medication, do the SG employer still will hire me?
what is your sickness ?
They are very particular about it leh...
last time i got chicken pox during my Uni time here, the doctor quickly ask me back to my hometown to recuperate for 2 weeks. The doctor even write down my particular and he said send to which department already.... smile.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 07:04 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(alucard31 @ Jan 4 2007, 06:17 PM)
Actually the pay wont b the major consideration for them as wad i thought. Cos some of my frens manage to get PR although their pay under S$2.5k. They mostly will look at type of job u work as in sg, ur education level, working experiences......  It can say all depends on ur luck after u submit the application for PR. Some ppl can get reply in 1 month, some ppl after 3 months also no news.

Anyway sg government just cut down PR's benefit recently, so apply or not it's up to ppl work in sg. For your all information, as what i know Work Permit Holder cant apply PR. Although u got the Rambo spirit, die die wan apply, they also got the Rambo spirit, die die wont give u PR if u're work permit holder.

My info might not be the latest cos sometimes they will change the regulation according to the situation.
yes, I agree with you...
My friends and I can get very fast response from them because we study here. You are right, work permit holder cannot apply for PR. Only S pass holder and above can apply for it.
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 07:09 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(littleway @ Jan 4 2007, 05:20 PM)
I think if pay above S$2.5K and above, the chances of getting PR is very high. I would be seekin job as fresh grads, so normally how much is offered to fresh grads? Does they count industrial training as experience too? Hopefully can get offer....
It is not the $2.5k as the bench mark leh..... read the alucard31 post.
The fresh grad pay is depend on your degree, whether it is recognise by Singapore or not. The average of fresh grad pay for the engineering field is $2.4 k. Some very good of course can get higher pay lah. smile.gif
eurekas
post Jan 4 2007, 08:32 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(alucard31 @ Jan 4 2007, 08:03 PM)
eurekas!! u're PR?! u lucky lad!!! tongue.gif haha jux joking...
anyway, apply PR also have to c the political situation in sg, i got 1 fren apply b4 last time election, after 3 weeks get reply. hahaha So, luck rulez in PR application.

anyway, eurekas u using sony which model notebook?? u bought in sg?? how much u bought it?? tongue.gif tumpang tanya a bit personal stuff, dun ban me pls!! haha biggrin.gif
I study here mah, sure can get PR one tongue.gif
You leh ? Stay where now ?

My laptop bought for 2 years ago leh, VGN-A19GP bought for RM 7k++. The Sony not bad, now still can perform.
Currently using the Black Imac notebook, going to redeem my HP notebook from Starhub soon biggrin.gif
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:21 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Jan 5 2007, 03:48 PM)
er...OFF TOPIC a bit...about the education...everywhere is the same... unless u'r PR or citizen if that country..ur education wil be cheaper...if u'r foreigner..then its expensive....happens in malaysia also...i asked some foreigner in my university..they pay 30k per year (if not mistaken) but i pay 12k per year only.....

anyway...back to topic...

fresh grad in electronic engineering majoring in microwave and communication .....but when i search jobdb.com and jobstreet.com..very hard to find a suitable job in singapore...just wonder..with my degree..the starting pay shud be also the same?? around 2.4k?and i think my degree is regconize in singapore...i heard ppl say...

anyway..am from mmu tho..
The market rate for the fresh grad engineer here is $2.4k leh. Just for everyone benefit, what is the fresh grad market rate in Malaysia ?
Hey man, I have ask my Singaporean school mate from your field. They say don't know MMU , they asking me back is that UM. Too bad, they only know University Malaya only. maybe MMU is not well known here. I don't know whether your engineering job need recognition or not by the Professional Engineer Board. You can refer to the Professional Board webpage.
http://www.peb.gov.sg/peb/html/pen.html
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:30 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 5 2007, 05:32 PM)
if u r PR here, government give u -80%. And the rest u can get loan. But u need to sign bond lo....

if foreigner study in mmu...they pay in USD...so much much expensive....

i would suppose enginering fresh grad would have ~2.5k gua...not really sure thou..
ya...mmu degree is recog. here(mine was mmu too  icon_rolleyes.gif  )
Not PR lah....
Everyone accepted to study here will automatic get the 80% Tuition Grant.
We no need to pay back the 80% school fees if you work here for 3 years after graduate.
Unless you are super rich and reject the 80% free money, then you pay it yourself and have the freedom to back to Malaysia and work.
Most of the Malaysian study here will not back to Malaysia and work, the reason they give is that the Malaysia company cannot pay as much as they earn in Singapore.
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 5 2007, 06:29 PM)
i'm from mmu, and as far as i know...i have plenty of uni-mate working here without any problem about recognition. All managed to get EP without any problem wif MOM too. So no need to worry....

btw...i'm refering to engineering & IT students from mmu.....
yeah, good lah.
I don't know much because I not in your field. The job I do need recognition by PE board.
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 10:44 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 6 2007, 12:39 AM)
No le...
if u accept the discount then u need to bond for 3 yrs....and to do this, u need to be a PR.
LOL....
Where you listen from ? You listen from who ? biggrin.gif
The 80% is alot of money, for an ordinary folk from Malaysia will not able to pay all the 100% school fees on their own.
Everyone come here and study will also have the tuition grant and bond.
Malaysian need to bond for 3 years meanwhile the China need to bond for 5 years.
What I want to say is that the tuition grant is for everyone as long their result is good enough to be accepted by NTU or NUS admission, and not just the PR only can get it leh.
Why I know so much ? It is because I not hear from other people, I am gone through it leh. tongue.gif
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 03:34 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 6 2007, 02:39 PM)
No u r wrong....
they grant the 80% discount + bond not based on whether u are accepted by NTU or NUS or not.....

Even if after SPM, and u enter polytechnic/ junior college u will also be given the same privilege. There is no way u can get the tuition grant + bond without being a PR.
Hey my friend.
Have you study in Singapore before or not ? Yeah of course poly student also can get the tuition grant. I never say they cannot. What am I said is that everyone who come to Singapore and study for the tertiary course can get the 80% tuition grant.
NO NEED PR TO GET THE TUITION GRANT.... BTW, you graduate from where ? HAVE YOU STUDY IN TERTIARY INSTITUTION HERE BEFORE ? sweat.gif
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 04:06 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 6 2007, 03:43 PM)
i have tons of frens studying there....
of coz everyone can get...but u need to become PR....
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
is this simple statement so hard to understand?
b4 this u said only for those who have good result...and for those who is accepted into NTU/NUS.....
now u said yeah yeah poly also can... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

btw nothing to be proud of even if u study there  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
I just want to say that PR is not the requirement to get the tuition grant. I don't want you to mislead other people. Please ask your friend properly whether PR is a requirement. When you are not the person who gone through it please don't claim it as the hearsay.Btw, the PR is very easy to get. If you study here, even more easier to get PR. Don't make it like so difficult to get and spoil other chance and hope to apply here. I love to encourage people to work and study in Singapore.
Peace...

This post has been edited by eurekas: Jan 6 2007, 04:41 PM
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 04:10 PM

256 posts

I gone through that stage. Last time when I come here to study, they give me tuition grant eventhough I am not PR.

If you still want to argue anymore please read the MOE website for the detail....
http://sam11.moe.gov.sg/tass/menu/index.htm
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 06:11 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(littleway @ Jan 6 2007, 04:59 PM)
Aiyoo.. no need argue la... Once you got the offer letter from either Poly or Uni, you are automatically eligible to enjoy the grant. Is up to you to believe it... am I make myself clear?
LOL this is what I said all this while.
Someone still want to argue saying how many tons of friends study here...
tongue.gif
http://sam11.moe.gov.sg/tass/menu/index.htm
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 06:13 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(littleway @ Jan 6 2007, 05:01 PM)
And I really really hope to get a job there...  drool.gif Any offer from IT market for M'sian fresh grads??
Got lah...
alot leh... you come here and buy the Straits Times paper (Saturday)
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 06:18 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Jan 6 2007, 03:25 PM)
So far, we're focusing on engineering and IT students, how abt students who take biz, accounts, or hotel mgt. Do they work well there too? Just curious to find out.. smile.gif
My friend got a degree from Malaysia, then she took the ACCA course from Malaysia after get the degree. Now working in one of the big 4. Her pay is alot leh... More than engineer pay...
eurekas
post Jan 8 2007, 04:30 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 8 2007, 02:46 PM)
Dear eurekas & yihyan

Technically speaking, both of you are correct.

U no need to become PR to get the grant. But u have to become a PR to service your 3-years bond after you graduate.
Yeah yeah...
PR is automatically one but also need to go to ICA do some formalities.
It is easier to get PR than those who come here and work with employment pass.
OT abit, work permit cannot apply for PR in Singapore.
If want PR, die die also want the company get S pass for you if cannot get employment pass. smile.gif

0.0207sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:41 AM