126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

ky_khor
post Jan 5 2007, 01:00 AM

No.22
894 posts

yeah unless they sponsored u. else i would rather take the distance/e-learning programme offered by KL private instituition. only need to go back to sit for certain exam few times a year.

i've been to singapore as a backpacker. fully understand how the transportation there works after my first day there. compare to KL.... i'm still lost driving my car around KL after 2 years here. sleep.gif"
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 01:01 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(littleway @ Jan 5 2007, 12:44 AM)
Although SG more expensive, but nevermind... at least quality is better than any institute in JB can provide. If got company sponsor for study like my uncles company... that would be sOoOOOoOOOo nice.... OMG... when I can have this chance.. laugh.gif
the atmosphere also plays a part. in sg u can see ppl reading & studying everywhere. in JB u go study in McD will kena "azapkor" only.....
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 01:09 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 5 2007, 01:00 AM)
yeah unless they sponsored u. else i would rather take the distance/e-learning programme offered by KL private instituition. only need to go back to sit for certain exam few times a year.

i've been to singapore as a backpacker. fully understand how the transportation there works after my first day there. compare to KL.... i'm still lost driving my car around KL after 2 years here. sleep.gif"
yup.... other than S$, public transport & safety are "attractive" factors also.
public transport can bring u anywhere of the island (take times ofcoz), and u dont have to scare kena rompak when u come back late at night.
singleguy
post Jan 5 2007, 01:10 AM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 12:57 AM)
that should be the way lah. should try to settle down 1st. right now plan this plan that worry this worry that, what if end up u cant get used to the life in sg how?

ofcoz it's more expensive since u r paying SGD, but the learning environment and the atmosphere here is more vibrant than JB (i am from JB, dont know KL tho). govt and most of the employers encourage this as well.

for the distant learning part, can do also. but u must be discipline, and need to work harder. another risk is not sure whether your distant learning prog is recognised here.
btw i knew another colleague (an engineer, diff dept, Msian also) has taken distant learning from Unitar few years back, somemore is company sponsored.
not really more expensive, they have grants. gov give out alot grants. Me, i studied in one of the college in kl.. course fee 50k+... my brother doing same course in singapore, finishing soon, after convert back to RM.. less than 20K. So it all depends where u study or what course.

anyway, life here isnt that bad, u feel safer, less stress compare to KL, everything is convenient, mrt bus..

oNly one thing to complain.. food here.. doh.gif hard to find good food. Good mamak? forget it.. Night entertainment.. aduh!.. still miss the kl crowd.. ++ its expensive to party here.. so i end up browsing LOWyat forum every night at home.

other than that.. wverythings good.
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 01:19 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Jan 5 2007, 01:10 AM)
not really more expensive, they have grants. gov give out alot grants. Me, i studied in one of the college in kl.. course fee 50k+... my brother doing same course in singapore, finishing soon, after convert back to RM.. less than 20K. So it all depends where u study or what course.
u brother must be in local U or Poly, right?
matsuolee
post Jan 5 2007, 01:22 AM

41 posts

Noobie here. Is it difficult for graduates in mechanical engineering from university science Malaysia to ge a job in Singapore..i worked before with the local Singapore company around two months as production worker.Izzit its will help me to getting a job there easier..??what is the average price for a Malaysia's fresh graduates from mechanical field...
someone can help me ..???Thanks
ky_khor
post Jan 5 2007, 01:23 AM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Jan 5 2007, 01:10 AM)
oNly one thing to complain.. food here..  doh.gif  hard to find good food. Good mamak? forget it.. Night entertainment.. aduh!.. still miss the kl crowd.. ++ its expensive to party here
lol i'm imuned from all of the above. but i would like to have a cheap futsal court or swimming pool or gym.
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 01:38 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 5 2007, 01:23 AM)
lol i'm imuned from all of the above. but i would like to have a cheap futsal court or swimming pool or gym.
most of the big town have such facilities in their CC.
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 01:44 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(matsuolee @ Jan 5 2007, 01:22 AM)
Noobie here. Is it difficult for graduates in mechanical engineering from university science Malaysia to ge a job in Singapore..i worked before with the local Singapore company around two months as production worker.Izzit its will help me to getting a job there easier..??what is the average price for a Malaysia's fresh graduates from mechanical field...
someone can help me ..???Thanks
now the market is good. if want to get a job here, better act quick. difficult or not? my advice is "never try never know".

i dont think the experience will help.

last time back in 2001 when i was taking my attachment in a mfg co (semicon industry), they offered fresh grad from UTM S$2.5k
i would say it should be ard S$2k+, but maybe not all companies accept your cert. you have to try you luck.
yihyan
post Jan 5 2007, 09:38 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 4 2007, 06:56 PM)
Yeah, I heard whole island have free wireless. What is the speed ah ?
I haven't try yet because me now using the Starhub 12Mbps internet.
512Kbps lo.....
well, in m'sia u have to pay rm66 for this...here get free...so no complain lo...

else u can pay around S$10 for 1Mbps smile.gif
pppooo
post Jan 5 2007, 03:11 PM

54 posts

I worked, got my part time degree, bought a hse, married at Spore...
Now I back to KL... and realize I have hard time to adapt the life here, as had been in comfort zone for too long.
So my advise is if u only out to Spore to dig gold, do not stay too long. Otherwise u'll feel lost and depress when u back here.

playerseeker
post Jan 5 2007, 03:48 PM

630 posts

er...OFF TOPIC a bit...about the education...everywhere is the same... unless u'r PR or citizen if that country..ur education wil be cheaper...if u'r foreigner..then its expensive....happens in malaysia also...i asked some foreigner in my university..they pay 30k per year (if not mistaken) but i pay 12k per year only.....

anyway...back to topic...

fresh grad in electronic engineering majoring in microwave and communication .....but when i search jobdb.com and jobstreet.com..very hard to find a suitable job in singapore...just wonder..with my degree..the starting pay shud be also the same?? around 2.4k?and i think my degree is regconize in singapore...i heard ppl say...

anyway..am from mmu tho..
yihyan
post Jan 5 2007, 05:32 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Jan 5 2007, 03:48 PM)
er...OFF TOPIC a bit...about the education...everywhere is the same... unless u'r PR or citizen if that country..ur education wil be cheaper...if u'r foreigner..then its expensive....happens in malaysia also...i asked some foreigner in my university..they pay 30k per year (if not mistaken) but i pay 12k per year only.....

fresh grad in electronic engineering majoring in microwave and communication .....but when i search jobdb.com and jobstreet.com..very hard to find a suitable job in singapore...just wonder..with my degree..the starting pay shud be also the same?? around 2.4k?and i think my degree is regconize in singapore...i heard ppl say...

if u r PR here, government give u -80%. And the rest u can get loan. But u need to sign bond lo....

if foreigner study in mmu...they pay in USD...so much much expensive....

i would suppose enginering fresh grad would have ~2.5k gua...not really sure thou..
ya...mmu degree is recog. here(mine was mmu too icon_rolleyes.gif )
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:21 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Jan 5 2007, 03:48 PM)

The market rate for the fresh grad engineer here is $2.4k leh. Just for everyone benefit, what is the fresh grad market rate in Malaysia ?
Hey man, I have ask my Singaporean school mate from your field. They say don't know MMU , they asking me back is that UM. Too bad, they only know University Malaya only. maybe MMU is not well known here. I don't know whether your engineering job need recognition or not by the Professional Engineer Board. You can refer to the Professional Board webpage.
http://www.peb.gov.sg/peb/html/pen.html
yihyan
post Jan 5 2007, 06:29 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 5 2007, 06:21 PM)
The market rate for the fresh grad engineer here is $2.4k leh. Just for everyone benefit, what is the fresh grad market rate in Malaysia ?
Hey man, I have ask  my Singaporean school mate from your field. They say don't know MMU , they asking me back is that UM. Too bad, they only know University Malaya only. maybe MMU is not well known here. I don't know whether your engineering job need recognition  or not by the Professional Engineer Board. You can refer to the Professional Board webpage.
http://www.peb.gov.sg/peb/html/pen.html
i'm from mmu, and as far as i know...i have plenty of uni-mate working here without any problem about recognition. All managed to get EP without any problem wif MOM too. So no need to worry....

btw...i'm refering to engineering & IT students from mmu.....
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:30 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 5 2007, 05:32 PM)
if u r PR here, government give u -80%. And the rest u can get loan. But u need to sign bond lo....

if foreigner study in mmu...they pay in USD...so much much expensive....

i would suppose enginering fresh grad would have ~2.5k gua...not really sure thou..
ya...mmu degree is recog. here(mine was mmu too  icon_rolleyes.gif  )
Not PR lah....
Everyone accepted to study here will automatic get the 80% Tuition Grant.
We no need to pay back the 80% school fees if you work here for 3 years after graduate.
Unless you are super rich and reject the 80% free money, then you pay it yourself and have the freedom to back to Malaysia and work.
Most of the Malaysian study here will not back to Malaysia and work, the reason they give is that the Malaysia company cannot pay as much as they earn in Singapore.
eurekas
post Jan 5 2007, 06:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 5 2007, 06:29 PM)
i'm from mmu, and as far as i know...i have plenty of uni-mate working here without any problem about recognition. All managed to get EP without any problem wif MOM too. So no need to worry....

btw...i'm refering to engineering & IT students from mmu.....
yeah, good lah.
I don't know much because I not in your field. The job I do need recognition by PE board.
yihyan
post Jan 6 2007, 12:39 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 5 2007, 06:30 PM)
Not PR lah....
Everyone accepted to study here will automatic get the 80% Tuition Grant.
We no need to pay back the 80% school fees if you work here for 3 years after graduate.
Unless you are super rich and reject the 80% free money, then you pay it yourself and have the freedom to back to Malaysia and work.
Most of the Malaysian study here will not back to Malaysia and work, the reason they give is that the Malaysia company cannot pay as much as they earn in Singapore.
No le...
if u accept the discount then u need to bond for 3 yrs....and to do this, u need to be a PR.
eurekas
post Jan 6 2007, 10:44 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(yihyan @ Jan 6 2007, 12:39 AM)
No le...
if u accept the discount then u need to bond for 3 yrs....and to do this, u need to be a PR.
LOL....
Where you listen from ? You listen from who ? biggrin.gif
The 80% is alot of money, for an ordinary folk from Malaysia will not able to pay all the 100% school fees on their own.
Everyone come here and study will also have the tuition grant and bond.
Malaysian need to bond for 3 years meanwhile the China need to bond for 5 years.
What I want to say is that the tuition grant is for everyone as long their result is good enough to be accepted by NTU or NUS admission, and not just the PR only can get it leh.
Why I know so much ? It is because I not hear from other people, I am gone through it leh. tongue.gif
yihyan
post Jan 6 2007, 02:39 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jan 6 2007, 10:44 AM)
LOL....
Where you listen from ? You listen from who ?  biggrin.gif
The 80% is alot of money, for an ordinary folk from Malaysia will not able to pay all the 100% school fees on their own.
Everyone come here and study will also have the tuition grant and bond.
Malaysian need to bond for 3 years meanwhile the China need to bond for 5 years.
What I want to say is that the tuition grant is for everyone as long their result is good enough to be accepted by NTU or NUS admission, and not just the PR only can get it leh.
Why I know so much ? It is because I not hear from other people, I am gone through  it leh.  tongue.gif
No u r wrong....
they grant the 80% discount + bond not based on whether u are accepted by NTU or NUS or not.....

Even if after SPM, and u enter polytechnic/ junior college u will also be given the same privilege. There is no way u can get the tuition grant + bond without being a PR.

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:27 AM