81 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

kmarc
post May 12 2007, 10:29 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ May 6 2007, 08:48 AM)
haha .. marc .. ur x-fi extreme music good ar ??
expensive le .. 600 + right ?
anyway , i'm still thinking why bother getting expensive sound card ..
maybe u can explain ? xD !
Sorry, didn't see your post.

The x-fi extreme music is definitely good but not necessary. I found that my on-board Realtek97 audio is more than adequate. However, your fps will be slightly lower if you use on-board audio.

I bought mine about 1 year ago, cost me RM 450.

Anyway, I saw people bulking it in the bulk section. Now, cheaper, around RM3++, I think. Look in the bulk section. Search for "creative"...... thumbup.gif
nuox
post May 13 2007, 08:25 AM

621 posts

HI i just got my hand into 3800+ x2.. i was able to oc the proc to 2.5, using software like clock gen, a64 tweaker and ntune... prime test both core for 3-4 hours.. so i tot it was stable.. but when i try to set it in the bios.. the computer wont boot into my vista or xp, it just looping, without giving me any error. is it stable? if cannot set in the bios i can set it as startup.
e-jump
post May 13 2007, 08:34 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

That considered not stable for bootup.
But most ppl these days prefer to oc in OS environment, thus making the system only OS stable.
But for me, if its not bootable = not stable

*check your ram alpha timings
kmarc
post May 13 2007, 11:52 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(nuox @ May 13 2007, 08:25 AM)
HI i just got my hand into 3800+ x2.. i was able to oc the proc to 2.5, using software like clock gen, a64 tweaker and ntune... prime test both core for 3-4 hours.. so i tot it was stable.. but when i try to set it in the bios.. the computer wont boot into my vista or xp, it just looping, without giving me any error. is it stable? if cannot set in the bios i can set it as startup.
Ya, that means that the OC is not stable.

What are the settings that you change in windows? Make sure that all those changes are done in the bios too. e.g. forgetting to set the rams divider, etc.

I'm also OC in windows. Once it is stable, then I try changing it in the bios. So far, I've manage to boot at 2.6 Ghz without any problems.
desmondgasper
post May 13 2007, 04:14 PM

280 posts

Hello..,currently i have a Gigabyte K8NSC-939 mobo and the highest FSB i can get it at is 327 with my CPU multiplier at 8X..,I'm using a 3000+ venice. It will boot into windows if I set the multiplier to 9X but after a few seconds it will reset itself. Do u think that if I swap the stock cooler with an aftermarket one that it will be able to run at stable 9X multiplier?? Thx guys..,

Cheers!

Desmond
amyhs99
post May 13 2007, 08:08 PM

3,807 posts

Hi, Here's my spec

AMD Athlon64 3200+ (Stock Cooling)
Gigabyte GA-K8FN-9
Kingston KVR 512Mb x 2 (With Heatspreader and Ram Cooler from AllnGap)
Winfast 7300GS (Stock HSF with Ram Sink)
AcBel Intelligent Power Gold 500W PSU

When i oc wit this mobo, if i left the ht ratio on stock (i think is x4), it only can oc until 210*10=2100Mhz only. Any higher than tat, bios will stuck at the screenshot below, and restart. and its a non-stop loop

when i change the ht ratio to 1x, it can pass the screen above and continue with hdd detection and loading windows...

I see some review about oc-ing an athlon64, they said the ht ratio set to 1 x will let u hav higher clock speed, and doesnt draws back a lot...
but here's a result of a pcmark04. all the graphic tests is worse than stock speed.

See the highlighted one...

Any pros and sifu's hav any idea?

The old thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/456300

ktek
post May 14 2007, 12:38 PM

小喇叭
13,204 posts

your mobo spelling wrong whistling.gif
GA-K8NF-9
NVIDIA nForce4 (4X) : max HTT 1600
Gigabyte board need to press CTRL + F1 in BIOS to unlock all the options

make the RAM to run 166MHz/DDR333
try differnt RAM slot
how about give it a direct shoot to 250MHz hmm.gif ?

off topic ...
QUOTE(amyhs99 @ May 13 2007, 08:15 PM)
wat happened? why i can open this thread back? sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
no kidding bro, i really opened the thread again sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
but nvm, i already post at the correct thread.
here the prob, DaRkSyThE...
actually what is happening? i tot i become the mod... drool.gif
===Thread Closed===

because Thread Starter can open/close his/her own thread
dopodplaya
post May 14 2007, 12:50 PM

2,280 posts

Hey can you unlock 5X HTT link in your BIOS (NForce4 4X chipset). if you can you can refer to this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/455781/latest on how to unlock 2000MT/s (1GHz HTT Link).
Make sure you have an NForce4 4X chip revision A3 or later.
amyhs99
post May 14 2007, 01:44 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ May 14 2007, 12:50 PM)
Hey can you unlock 5X HTT link in your BIOS (NForce4 4X chipset). if you can you can refer to this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/455781/latest on how to unlock 2000MT/s (1GHz HTT Link).
but i can set 5x in bios... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
noobianz
post May 14 2007, 05:49 PM

479 posts

im using the same mobo as urs, manage to hit 290httx3 with 1:1 divider

6 hours of stress prime n 1 hour of mem test...passed

but since my current cpu cooler is not very reliable n my ram is on passive cooling, im running it @2.51ghz(279httx3 n i set the divider too 166mhz)

amyhs99
post May 14 2007, 07:15 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(noobianz @ May 14 2007, 05:49 PM)
im using the same mobo as urs, manage to hit 290httx3 with 1:1 divider

6 hours of stress prime n 1 hour of mem test...passed

but since my current cpu cooler is not very reliable n my ram is on passive cooling, im running it @2.51ghz(279httx3 n i set the divider too 166mhz)
any special setting? can screenshot or bios? smile.gif

Added on
i tried to use a pair of ocz performance ram. 1:1, still the same.
only 210 can run at 4x.
more than this value, must use 1x.
i tried 250 at 1 x. bootable into windows...

This post has been edited by amyhs99: May 14 2007, 08:50 PM
toughnut
post May 15 2007, 08:27 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ May 14 2007, 07:15 PM)
any special setting? can screenshot or bios? smile.gif

Added on
i tried to use a pair of ocz performance ram. 1:1, still the same.
only 210 can run at 4x.
more than this value, must use 1x.
i tried 250 at 1 x. bootable into windows...
the only solution i can though of for your problem is BIOS flash, if u dare nod.gif

maybe your BIOS bugged or something. my crappy value ram can clock higher at default ddr333. HT 1X will gonna bottleneck the HT bandwidth if u push a lot of data
amyhs99
post May 15 2007, 04:21 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 15 2007, 08:27 AM)
the only solution i can though of for your problem is BIOS flash, if u dare nod.gif

maybe your BIOS bugged or something. my crappy value ram can clock higher at default ddr333. HT 1X will gonna bottleneck the HT bandwidth if u push a lot of data
flashed. and its the same...

Just now tried over clock partially in bios.
lets say i oc 210*10=2100Mhz with 4x ht and 1.550v.

den i use gigabyte oc software to change the clock to
240*10=2400Mhz and the same 4x ht and voltage can be adjusted in windows.

still priming, but till now no error at
240*10=2400Mhz 4x ht and 1.6v... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

1.6v is a bit high right? temp now is 51C... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by amyhs99: May 15 2007, 05:54 PM
Vinci777
post May 15 2007, 07:58 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ May 9 2007, 09:39 PM)
Hi all..i have a weird problem here. My OC is not working. Im using a64 3000+ s939, 2 gb value rams.

I tried to raise my HTT to 220mhz and kept my rams in default mode - 3-3-3-8. Divider is 1:1.
I'm able to boot up my pc but then when i checked in cpuz my core speed and bus speed is still the same 1800 and 201. My rams still clocked at 201mhz.

Whats wrong with it? do i missed some crucial steps?
When i restart pc and went into bios again to check. it written my current speed is 1980 (220x9). Any advise? thx alot

p.s : im using dfi nf4 ultra infinity.
hmm..i still cant solve this problem..any advise? in genie bios the mhz was the oced number while cpu-z shows default. All sifu pls help notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
kmarc
post May 15 2007, 09:25 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ May 15 2007, 07:58 PM)
hmm..i still cant solve this problem..any advise? in genie bios the mhz was the oced number while cpu-z shows default. All sifu pls help  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Why not try A64info? You can set the memclk frequency from inside windows.

Caution: Don't try to change the rest of the settings unless you know how. If not, you'll get BSODs and reboots!!!

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 15 2007, 09:26 PM
jeromeccm
post May 16 2007, 01:49 AM

545 posts

HI Guys..

New in Overclock CPU. It seems to be more complicated than last time where changing the multiplier will do.

I have a AMD64X2 4600 2.4GHz (Windsor) 200MHz X 12
Single slot Kingston 1G Kingston DDR667MHz at 300MHz 5-5-5-15
MSI K9n Neo

Anybody have the same specs as mine? I am thinking of OC step by step...

need help.

OC graphic card is easy....

using MSI6800GS OC (550/1400)

This post has been edited by jeromeccm: May 16 2007, 01:51 AM
kmarc
post May 16 2007, 06:36 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 16 2007, 01:49 AM)
HI Guys..

New in Overclock CPU. It seems to be more complicated than last time where changing the multiplier will do.

I have a AMD64X2 4600 2.4GHz (Windsor) 200MHz X 12
Single slot Kingston 1G Kingston DDR667MHz at 300MHz 5-5-5-15
MSI K9n Neo

Anybody have the same specs as mine? I am thinking of OC step by step...

need help.

OC graphic card is easy....

using MSI6800GS OC (550/1400)
See this thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11634502

Just that you have to find out how to set the DDR2 (haven't updated that yet!)

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 16 2007, 04:04 PM
e-jump
post May 17 2007, 08:59 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Whoever is using dual core on epox 9nda3+ and somehow getting issues to run some high load apps/SMP F@H client, check this out
http://www.rebelshavenforum.com/sis-bin/ul...t=000243#000001
*feedback from epox to me
jimmy.soo
post May 21 2007, 07:14 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

harlo, does anyone know whats the best clock for amd3000+ venice?
using amd64 3000+ venice, 2 x 512 kvr ddr400, gigabyte GA-K8NSC939 (latest BIOS), winfast 6600GT AGP.

currently clock at @2.33
HT multiple 3x
HT speed 290Mhz
CPU vol 1.65v
CPU multiple 8x

ram timing i set at auto wor, fsb/ram ratio = 2/1.33 if not mistaken
sifus here pls give some comment

This post has been edited by jimmy.soo: May 21 2007, 07:36 PM
uzairi
post May 21 2007, 07:46 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ May 14 2007, 12:50 PM)
Not much improvement even if you use 5x multi. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(e-jump @ May 17 2007, 08:59 PM)
Whoever is using dual core on epox 9nda3+ and somehow getting issues to run some high load apps/SMP F@H client, check this out
http://www.rebelshavenforum.com/sis-bin/ul...t=000243#000001
*feedback from epox to me
I myself getting this kind of problem. Rock stable with sp2004 at 2.7ghz and when i try to run SMP Client my system restarts.

Added on May 21, 2007, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ May 21 2007, 07:14 PM)
harlo, does anyone know whats the best clock for amd3000+ venice?
using amd64 3000+ venice, 2 x 512 kvr ddr400, gigabyte GA-K8NSC939 (latest BIOS), winfast 6600GT AGP.

currently clock at @2.33
HT multiple 3x
HT speed 290Mhz
CPU vol 1.65v
CPU multiple 8x

ram timing i set at auto wor, fsb/ram ratio = 2/1.33 if not mistaken
sifus here pls give some comment

Your CPU Voltage is too much. Please lower it down to 1.5v and slowly test it.

This post has been edited by uzairi: May 21 2007, 08:37 PM

81 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:56 PM