AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

ktek
post Oct 5 2006, 12:07 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 4 2006, 12:26 PM)
here's my screenie on my first OC attempt
[image was here]
OF course, i do have some question as noob always do
1) I cant get it running at more than 245Mhz bus speed...what's holding me back rite now
2) It's freakin hot ... i'm thingking of lowering down the VCore but the lowest posible option was 1.40. I've seen some people lowering it to 1.36 ... how is this possible
3) anything wrong in those screenie ??
i'm sorry to bug in, mod did this icon_rolleyes.gif
perhaps your superpi result is quite slow ?
ktek
post Oct 7 2006, 12:02 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

almost forgotten to ask , anyone got other than "assembly in malaysia" athlon64 ?
well , i'm using "assembly in china" one shakehead.gif .

ADA3000DAA4BW
NBBWE 0613BAD
X025767C60384

ktek
post Dec 20 2006, 10:20 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Dec 20 2006, 04:04 PM)
I tried overclocking my rig yest with core centre i'm using nf4 ultra plat together with x2 4600 939 and 2gb value ram.
it is ok ah? My temp will go highest up 50. My core i have increase to 1.75 Anything less than that, it will restart itself.
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=148100
very high voltage sweat.gif

btw , i'm trying to get A64 ES icon_idea.gif . any opnion ?
ktek
post Dec 26 2006, 09:36 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Dec 26 2006, 07:59 PM)
Still no hope, tried 3-4-4-8 still cant pass memtest, even tried to raise vdimm to 3.0v, bt couldnt boot, could it be this aeneon ram is limiting?
Btw, i set the ram at ddr433 in bios, bt in everest cpuid it shows ddr490, izzit ok?
RAM above 3V need active cooling , so watch out .
i guess you use 245MHz X 9 multi to get 2205MHZ .
your divider not working ? or it lowered itself when cannot boot ?

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Dec 26 2006, 08:38 PM)
hey all sifus,
i'm having a problem of not bring able to overclock my proc fully.
rig specs:
AMD Athlon64 3000+ Venice E3 Skt939
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
1024mb (512mb x2) Kingston Value Ram (Hynix DT-D43)
Enermax Noisetaker 470W
i can only max out at 239mhz * 9 (multiplier). if i set it at 240mhz, it won't boot Windows. anyone can teach me how to overcome this problem?
thanks in advance.
most D43 need little voltage boost to get DDR500 with loose timing
DT can do better than BT
ktek
post Dec 30 2006, 08:54 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

for K8 family , processor speed is everything laugh.gif
if your speed is high enough can overtake others' with slower speed and tight timing icon_rolleyes.gif
ktek
post Jan 18 2007, 11:21 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

long time didn't play already icon_idea.gif
now playing last/final OC before next week exam
[attachmentid=183111]
ktek
post Jan 20 2007, 11:24 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(noobianz @ Jan 20 2007, 10:30 AM)
Anyone else using A64 3000+ here?..i just wanna make a survey regarding SuperPI...Try this setting with any value ram:HTT 279,HTL x3,ram timing 2.5-3-3-7 1T,divider:166mhz....i just wanna noe wut value did u guys get for the setting i stated above
my RAM can't stand that high speed (KVR only cry.gif ) so i use 133MHz divider instead . Attached Image

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 20 2007, 11:24 AM
ktek
post Jan 23 2007, 08:15 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 23 2007, 07:21 PM)
Hi guys, after reading through the ram test, sp2004, i have one strange situation with my ram test, well my ram test always fail after about 10 minutes, but my sp2004 is ok, and playing game like LOTR, company of hero for 5 to 6 hours it stable. any comment about the ram test. Before that i have the reverse when i am using 2*512, now 1*1g. tq
what memory testing software you're using ?
speak out at least we can know more .
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 23 2007, 10:31 AM)
btw, nVIDIA High End RAMS? i never knew nVIDIA got RAM also...hmm.gif
high-end nvidia display card kut whistling.gif
he already have g.skill laugh.gif
ktek
post Jan 27 2007, 09:38 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Mcrae @ Jan 27 2007, 03:36 AM)
guys i need your help this time. After i reseted my bios , i configure up everthing properly and i try to push my cpu to 2400mhz... fine.. bios can detect me booting at 2400mhz.
But the problem is after start windows, windows detect i am using max at 2000mhz which is still at my default speed.
Any suggestion pls ?
thanks.
BTW my rig :
AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+ E6
DFI NF4 Ultra Infinity
Corsair 1 X 256 MB DDR400 CL2.5
Corsair 1 X 512 MB DDR400 CL2.5
try turn off CnQ in BIOS
use CPU-Z to confirm the speed
venice should can push higher than 2.4GHz smile.gif
ktek
post Jan 31 2007, 07:39 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Jan 31 2007, 06:48 PM)
May i know how much i can OC my athlon 64 3200+ winchester core? coz i just bought this proc from my friend and didn't oced it yet..btw,i am eager to do it so..huhu.. my mobo is asus an8-e... can i just rise the FSB and let the RAM speed at auto so the ram will run at stock speed?
bought from your friend ? ask him loo whistling.gif
alright , you need reading :

Fundamentals of Overclocking

RAM speed set to AUTO doesn't mean it will run at stock speed depend on mobo and BIOS
ktek
post Feb 2 2007, 03:32 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Feb 1 2007, 07:38 PM)
btw,venice produce more heat than winnie rite? i am too lazy to read those thread in Lowyat.Net Overclocking Database...huhu..
yeah,i wanna OC this winnie,but need suggestion from u guys.. hmm.gif
hey brother , you shouldn't just post and wait us to spoon-feed sleep.gif .
we don't even see your processor before . CPU stepping , production week ... etc makes the different of all chips . i cannot say my venice can go 3GHz means the whole world also can go 3GHz , even from the same shop , same date , same wafer . that's why you have to try yourself ( pc is just by your side , not us laugh.gif ) .
if you worry your chip will die , then go up a little by little let's say 100MHz until not stable when PRIME / SUPERPI . as long as you don't add voltage i don't think it will hurt your CPU .
good luck on trying .

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Feb 2 2007, 02:07 PM)
hey bro, i tried both warm and cold booting while holding the "Insert" key. until now, no prevail. and i think it somehow screwed up by HDD, cuz..
[img was here]
as you can see from the pic, my 120gb Barracuda is shown as a 470gb HDD in my BIOS. sweat.gif
free hdd space ! thumbup.gif
still able to boot into windows ?
ktek
post Mar 13 2007, 09:39 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 13 2007, 03:49 PM)
what is hypertransport voltage?
i just manage to OC my amd 3000+ from 1.8 to 2.0Ghz only (9x X 221)
on the BIOS screen, i can see hypertransport voltage (2%,4%,6%)
default is 0%, can i up it a bit? ...like 2% or 4%?
and i go up the clock again?

up voltage only when instable occurs
remember to lower HTT multiplier to 4X / 3X icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 13 2007, 09:17 PM)
Just wanted to know, is it we can determine how good a processor in OC by what stepping it use?
I have an Athlon64 3000 lying around and maybe use it to learn how to OC with it. The stepping is LBBWE and E6 Venice.Around how much it can be OCed?

i hate this kind of question actually shakehead.gif
http://www.amdgeeks.net/steppings/ADA3000DAA4BW
google yourself
ktek
post Mar 14 2007, 11:41 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 11:30 AM)
hmm, if i lower HTT multiplier to 4X, then i must do the clock from 200 to 500 right? in order to get 2GHz.
default for my proc is 200 and 9x=1.8Ghz
i can only do it to 220 and 9x which makes up to 2Ghz
last night i tried to lower it to 8x and increase the clock to 250 to get same result of 2Ghz but the system hang at boots up. so i need to reset the CMOS.
QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 03:19 PM)
i dun understand....
u use 1x? then how much is ur processor speed? how much is ur clock?
i mean i lower the HTT, then why i cant get 2Ghz and better?
you miss-understood , a lot doh.gif

ok , HTT multiplier is got nothing to do with processor speed .
HTT multiplier (1X to 5X) is different from processor multiplier ( for A64 3000+ , 1X to 9X )
as far as i know , HTT is the internal connection between chipset components and the processor

example :
your HTT speed can be as low as 300MHz when CPU speed at 2700MHz
( HTT : 300 X 1 ) / ( CPU : 300 X 9 )
ktek
post Mar 27 2007, 09:16 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

one of my friend says ALL "Venice"s boot into windows very fast .
i was like sweat.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

anyone can proof this is true (if compare to other fresh format system) ?
ktek
post Mar 29 2007, 10:20 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Mar 29 2007, 06:45 AM)
got the same prob with Faint...amd athlon 3000+ venice S939...GA k8nf-9 mobo..value ram corsair 400 1gbx2...but won't get past 1.9ghz(211 fsb)..so.. my next step is changing RAM multiplier? elaborate a bit? i need to OC to match my gfx i can say icon_question.gif
or my mobo and ram not suitable for ocing?
read read read Fundamentals of Overclocking shakehead.gif
your mobo use NF4-4X chip , maximum HTT value is 1600 instead of 2000 for NF4 standard and onwards .
however , it should be good in clocking ( personal opinion hmm.gif ) because when doing OC , normally HTT-multiplier is lowered for stability and low HTT doesn't affect system much .
1GB stick RAM normally don't go high frrequency with tight timing , loose it up .

ktek
post Apr 26 2007, 01:40 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(dj2004 @ Apr 26 2007, 09:03 AM)
hey guys i wanna overclock my amd can u guys teach me how?..what to raise up? in the mobo bios.my amd is shown in the signature..im using venice smile.gif
read read read shakehead.gif
Fundamentals of Overclocking

also
DFI Overclocking Guide - PDF download since you're usinng NF4 chip mobo
ktek
post May 10 2007, 11:14 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(InLove @ May 9 2007, 08:55 PM)
Hi guys
I have AMD 64 3000+
[image was here]
Anyone could teach me how to O/C this? i tried 233 FDB but my mobo dont boot up
i have abit kn8 ultra rclxms.gif

you might want to read this one , easy to understand .
suitable for all nF4 mobo thumbup.gif
click here

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ May 9 2007, 09:39 PM)
Hi all..i have a weird problem here. My OC is not working. Im using a64 3000+ s939, 2 gb value rams.
I tried to raise my HTT to 220mhz and kept my rams in default mode - 3-3-3-8. Divider is 1:1.
I'm able to boot up my pc but then when i checked in cpuz my core speed and bus speed is still the same 1800 and 201. My rams still clocked at 201mhz.
Whats wrong with it? do i missed some crucial steps?
When i restart pc and went into bios again to check. it written my current speed is 1980 (220x9). Any advise? thx alot
p.s : im using dfi nf4 ultra infinity.

did the screen says it's safemode , press F? to continue when POST (black screen white text) ?
you can try using 166MHz(5:6) first and see how far your CPU can push nod.gif
ktek
post May 14 2007, 12:38 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

your mobo spelling wrong whistling.gif
GA-K8NF-9
NVIDIA nForce4 (4X) : max HTT 1600
Gigabyte board need to press CTRL + F1 in BIOS to unlock all the options

make the RAM to run 166MHz/DDR333
try differnt RAM slot
how about give it a direct shoot to 250MHz hmm.gif ?

off topic ...
QUOTE(amyhs99 @ May 13 2007, 08:15 PM)
wat happened? why i can open this thread back? sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
no kidding bro, i really opened the thread again sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
but nvm, i already post at the correct thread.
here the prob, DaRkSyThE...
actually what is happening? i tot i become the mod... drool.gif
===Thread Closed===

because Thread Starter can open/close his/her own thread
ktek
post Jun 12 2007, 03:01 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

haha , K8 still alive rolleyes.gif
recently upgraded to Opty 144
hard to find X2 s939 in nowadays ...
ktek
post Aug 5 2007, 09:58 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ Aug 5 2007, 03:01 PM)
Hi everyone here... i juz got my AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 65W
I've check the processor... it come with something like Intel Speed Step tech...
I wonder... if i overclock my processor... the 'Speed step' stuff still function?

it's called the " Cool 'n Quite "
as long as you enable (in BIOS) , it will work always (low multi when idle) .
some may encounter unstable when overclock + CNQ while some don't .
try it out yourself .

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Aug 5 2007, 03:39 PM)
oo, i just bought a hd2600 graphic card in this pc fair, mid end graphic card, but still feel the lagness of the game, hmmm, any recommendation

give some time to AMD/ATi for newr driver

0.0387sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:22 AM