196 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2014, 10:03 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Dec 25 2014, 12:37 AM)
or u can check your corporate mobile plans?
with my previous company, i pay S$7 to add 3G data and my monthly quota is 30GB. Cannot use finish one. At most i use 1gb a month only. haha.
my ex company got bargaining power with singtel. thats why can get 30gb.
i used to pay s$7 add-on under corporate but for 50gb. The downside its limited to 1mbps. So gave up on that plan and go for the normal singtel plan with 7.2mbps since home also got fibre broadband.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 25 2014, 10:03 AM
Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2014, 10:07 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Dec 24 2014, 12:57 PM)
Try mobile broadband if don't want the hassle. I survived on mobile broadband for years.
mobile broadband speed is too slow to use at home, can hit probably 10mbps at best? its really really slow. Should be ok for browsing, too slow for clouding. But then again that kinda speed is consider god-like in Marehsia.
seantang
post Dec 25 2014, 10:45 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 24 2014, 09:36 AM)
the contract states my name and passport number, which remains the same, and it didn't mention anything about foreigner/local/PR, and no specific T&C that says the contract will be nullified if the employee becomes PR. The HR did hand me a letter and wanted me to sign on it after i told them my PR application is approved, but i refused. they could've terminated me like some suggested here, but ultimately they gave in after i called MOM numerous times (including a conference call between HR, ME and MOM) to confirm what they wanted me to sign is against the law.

tourist cannot be hired. when one loses his WP/EP, be it cancelled by employer, or revoked by enforcement agencies, then off he go...
You're lucky to have a pretty tolerant employer. They could have simply served you notice that they are terminating your contract. There will be a clause in your contract where either party to the contract can end the contract by serving the specified notice period. You can resign by giving notice to the company and the company can give you the same notice and terminate your employment.
kevin613
post Dec 25 2014, 12:14 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2014, 10:45 AM)
You're lucky to have a pretty tolerant employer. They could have simply served you notice that they are terminating your contract. There will be a clause in your contract where either party to the contract can end the contract by serving the specified notice period. You can resign by giving notice to the company and the company can give you the same notice and terminate your employment.
i left the company a month or 2 after i got my PR, so no harm done if they let me off any earlier, my PR is approved and i intend to leave anyway, besides, they need me at that point of time for a special assignment in japan, so was pretty sure they wont just terminate me. icon_rolleyes.gif
seantang
post Dec 25 2014, 02:05 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 25 2014, 12:14 PM)
i left the company a month or 2 after i got my PR, so no harm done if they let me off any earlier, my PR is approved and i intend to leave anyway, besides, they need me at that point of time for a special assignment in japan, so was pretty sure they wont just terminate me. icon_rolleyes.gif

Good use of leverage. All the best.

kevin613
post Dec 25 2014, 03:08 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2014, 02:05 PM)
Good use of leverage. All the best.
those were stories from 6 years ago.. LOL.. now am in dilemma to apply for citizenship..
TSdeodorant
post Dec 25 2014, 04:13 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 25 2014, 03:08 PM)
those were stories from 6 years ago.. LOL.. now am in dilemma to apply for citizenship..

balance pro & con lo
what pro's do you get from applying citizenship?

Fiona Chin
post Dec 25 2014, 06:21 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 25 2014, 04:13 PM)
balance pro & con lo
Can buy good class bungalow leh people tycoon.
kevin613
post Dec 25 2014, 06:22 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 25 2014, 04:13 PM)
balance pro & con lo
my sole concern is my child's education. Both my child are born here in SG, and both are PR.
the policy here is citizen's first. doesnt matter how near you live to the school, they will give priority to all citizen, then leave PR and foreigner to fight for the remaining space. summore my daughter is born in the year of dragon, which saw a huge spike in birth rate.

not much pros beside that.

cons?
i dont think SG is ideal for retirement.

Fiona Chin
post Dec 25 2014, 08:17 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 25 2014, 06:22 PM)
my sole concern is my child's education. Both my child are born here in SG, and both are PR.
the policy here is citizen's first. doesnt matter how near you live to the school, they will give priority to all citizen, then leave PR and foreigner to fight for the remaining space. summore my daughter is born in the year of dragon, which saw a huge spike in birth rate.

cons?
SG policy always merit come first. If they want to follow what Malaysia is doing, colour come first, there is no point converting. My sis enrolled to Hwa Chong JC, scholarship, PR. I enrolled in NUS, scholarship, PR. If your kids are average and need the privilege of citizenship to secure them a good school, they might face what the average locals are facing now, much worse when the white paper of 6.9mil is fully executed and the coming 10mil population some suggesting.

Some pros I can think of as citizens are the cheaper housing if you need it, cheaper education and healthcare, all of which can be offset by money.

Cons, if your kids don't perform, they join the local herd, with 1 less choice of migrating back to Malaysia.
kevin613
post Dec 25 2014, 08:34 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 25 2014, 08:17 PM)
SG policy always merit come first. If they want to follow what Malaysia is doing, colour come first, there is no point converting. My sis enrolled to Hwa Chong JC, scholarship, PR. I enrolled in NUS, scholarship, PR. If your kids are average and need the privilege of citizenship to secure them a good school, they might face what the average locals are facing now, much worse when the white paper of 6.9mil is fully executed and the coming 10mil population some suggesting.

Some pros I can think of as citizens are the cheaper housing if you need it, cheaper education and healthcare, all of which can be offset by money.

Cons, if your kids don't perform, they join the local herd, with 1 less choice of migrating back to Malaysia.
Hmm.. I'm taking about primary school entry, where there's no merit to evaluate.
I won't benefit much after converting as I already own a hdb. Education and healthcare for pr is not too bad.
Fiona Chin
post Dec 26 2014, 09:20 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 25 2014, 08:34 PM)
Hmm.. I'm taking about primary school entry, where there's no merit to evaluate.
I won't benefit much after converting as I already own a hdb. Education and healthcare for pr is not too bad.
Malaysian citizenship in exchange for a place in good primary school shocking.gif . My dark red passport worth only pink red's passport primary school seat cry.gif . Xmas sale ah? I thought need at least few hundred k sgd saving only people will give up the big country for a small one.

Anyway, your kids' and their future you decide yourself.
rcr
post Dec 26 2014, 09:49 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 26 2014, 09:20 AM)
Malaysian citizenship in exchange for a place in good primary school shocking.gif . My dark red passport worth only pink red's passport primary school seat cry.gif . Xmas sale ah? I thought need at least few hundred k sgd saving only people will give up the big country for a small one.

Anyway, your kids' and their future you decide yourself.
To be frank, a singaporean passport is worth more than a Malaysian passport in international black market as the holder of a singaporean passport is visa free for many countries.
wlcling
post Dec 26 2014, 09:57 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

cons?
I'd say go for it... If got money, sure sg can still retire nicely... Being a citizen will help save money too, taxes, subsidies etc

Lastly my 2 cents, maybe quite a shallow observation but
Also job market favor Singaporeans heavily now.... Won't be surprised if it continuously gets tougher for non citizens here in many areas. it's also tougher to even get citizenship these days, heard of rejection cases already. Maybe 5 years down the road, it'll be as difficult to get citizenship as it is as difficult to get PR now. I know too many people now trying to get citizenship but haven't pass the hurdle of getting PR yet. Meritocracy can be a painful word when you get older and competition gets tougher.

This post has been edited by wlcling: Dec 26 2014, 10:07 AM
keelim
post Dec 26 2014, 10:39 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(rcr @ Dec 26 2014, 09:49 AM)
To be frank, a singaporean passport is worth more than a Malaysian passport in international black market as the holder of a singaporean passport is visa free for many countries.
Wouldn't you be paying more for a passport issued in a country with vast land mass? That would be perfect for exile. SG is too dense for a hideout.

keelim
post Dec 26 2014, 10:50 AM

941 posts

cons?
It's a painful dilemma to decide for your children. Ironically, the mediocre SGreans grew up hating the policies championed by the scholars. Many despised serving the nation to protect the foreigners, and differentiating citizenship, new and true blue. Your children, if mediocre would likely follow the herd mentality.

No clear solution, but the parents building up sizeable cash reserve is one clear risk mitigation strategy.
rcr
post Dec 26 2014, 11:32 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 26 2014, 09:57 AM)
I'd say go for it... If got money, sure sg can still retire nicely... Being a citizen will help save money too, taxes, subsidies etc

Lastly my 2 cents, maybe quite a shallow observation but
Also job market favor Singaporeans heavily now.... Won't be surprised if it continuously gets tougher for non citizens here in many areas. it's also tougher to even get citizenship these days, heard of rejection cases already. Maybe 5 years down the road, it'll be as difficult to get citizenship as it is as difficult to get PR now. I know too many people now trying to get citizenship but haven't pass the hurdle of getting PR yet. Meritocracy can be a painful word when you get older and competition gets tougher.
QUOTE(keelim @ Dec 26 2014, 10:39 AM)
Wouldn't you be paying more for a passport issued in a country with vast land mass? That would be perfect for exile. SG is too dense for a hideout.
+1.

SG is safe and good for education and up-bringing for your family and children. (provided if you have $500K cash for retirement + CPF savings + min 3 rooms HDB at age of 55).

My friend was right. Why earn so much money back and retired in Malaysia where you need to deal with skin colour issues, meaningless Bahasa education, racist society and rising properties issues?

Worse-off, one incident of theft or snatch thieve = whole life paralyze for nothing despite having RM1m cash in your bank.
poor_engineer
post Dec 26 2014, 12:57 PM

96 posts

While we discussing about pros and cons being Singaporean, what is the pros for keeping Msia citizenship?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 26 2014, 02:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Haha I find there is a group of malaysians in singspore who no longer confess or admit to be malaysian, and are so insulted when ppl refer to them as msians. Everything malaysia does is wrong.

Why are people so embarrassed by being born msian?

Strange.
puppyee
post Dec 26 2014, 02:47 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 26 2014, 02:31 PM)
Why are people so embarrassed by being born msian?

Other than the country is governed by a bunch of hooligans-wannabe monkeys and donkeys that obviously lack intellectual properties, I don't see why people are so embarrassed .. I really don't. I also wanna know why. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by puppyee: Dec 26 2014, 02:48 PM

196 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:20 AM