The Official iOS 8 for iPhone Discussion Thread, Current Version: iOS 8.4

TSC63 AMG
post Jun 3 2014, 02:36 PM, updated 11y ago

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

Keyboard
◾ QuickType keyboard – which enables predictive suggestions inside iOS Messages and other apps
◾ Third party keyboards – iOS 8 supports third party keyboard replacements such as Swype, SwiftKey, and others

Interactive Notifications
◾ Quick reply to messages from anywhere
◾ Accept/decline calendar invitations
◾ Mark an email as read or trash it
◾ Mark reminders as complete
◾ Reply to notifications from third party apps

Mail
◾ Swipe to mark an email as read or flag it, or long-swipe to delete
◾ Now recognizes a reservation, flight confirmation, or phone number

Safari for iPad
◾ New Tab view
◾ New new slide-out sidebar for bookmarks, shared links and Reading List

◾ Enable Do Not Disturb for a group thread to silence alerts
◾ Easily remove yourself from an annoying group thread
◾ Record and send audio notes
◾ Record and send videos
◾ Share your location
◾ Send multiple photos and videos
◾ View all attachments from a thread at once

App Store
◾ New ‘Explore’ tab
◾ New ‘Trending’ searches
◾ New Editor’s Choice label
◾ App previews with short videos

Family Sharing
◾ Up to six people in your family can share purchases from iTunes stores
◾ Parents can track/limit kids’ spending
◾ Easily share photos, videos, calendars and location

Photos
◾ iCloud Photo Library keeps every photo and video in iCloud, accessible from any device
◾ Search for photos by the date, time, location, or album name
◾ Smart composition tools auto-straighten and crop photos
◾ Smart adjustments intelligently adjusts exposure, brightness, contrast, and more
◾ New photo filters
◾ Create time-lapse videos

Siri
◾ Hey, Siri
◾ Shazam song ID
◾ Dictation supports 22 new languages

Health app
◾ Easy to read dashboard for your health and fitness data
◾ HealthKit platform makes it easier for third party apps to integrate with Health app
◾ Emergency card stores important health information

Other
◾ Widgets in Notification Center, third party app support
◾ Contact shortcuts in Multitasking screen
◾ Touch ID gains third party support

===============================================================================================

iOS8 Related Articles:

The 25 Best New Features of iOS 8

Reasons Why It Is Not Advisable to Upgrade Your iPhone 4S to iOS 8

This post has been edited by C63 AMG: Jul 4 2015, 05:49 PM
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 02:47 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

meh

This post has been edited by ajax91: Jun 3 2014, 02:48 PM
Hawaiiii
post Jun 3 2014, 02:52 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 3 2014, 02:36 PM)
So iOS8 was launched by Apple early this morning (Est. 1am) introducing certain new features. Among the major features talked about was:

Keyboard
◾QuickType keyboard – which enables predictive suggestions inside iOS Messages and other apps
◾Third party keyboards – iOS 8 supports third party keyboard replacements such as Swype, SwiftKey, and others

Interactive Notifications
◾quick reply to messages from anywhere
◾accept/decline calendar invitations
◾mark an email as read or trash it
◾mark reminders as complete
◾reply to notifications from third party apps

Mail
◾swipe to mark an email as read or flag it, or long-swipe to delete
◾now recognizes a reservation, flight confirmation, or phone number

Safari for iPad
◾new Tab view
◾new new slide-out sidebar for bookmarks, shared links and Reading List

◾enable Do Not Disturb for a group thread to silence alerts
◾easily remove yourself from an annoying group thread
◾record and send audio notes
◾record and send videos
◾share your location
◾send multiple photos and videos
◾view all attachments from a thread at once

App Store
◾new ‘Explore’ tab
◾new ‘Trending’ searches
◾new Editor’s Choice label
◾app previews with short videos

Family Sharing
◾up to six people in your family can share purchases from iTunes stores
◾parents can track/limit kids’ spending
◾easily share photos, videos, calendars and location

Photos
◾iCloud Photo Library keeps every photo and video in iCloud, accessible from any device
◾search for photos by the date, time, location, or album name
◾smart composition tools auto-straighten and crop photos
◾smart adjustments intelligently adjusts exposure, brightness, contrast, and more
◾new photo filters
◾create time-lapse videos

Siri
◾Hey, Siri
◾Shazam song ID
◾dictation supports 22 new languages

Health app
◾easy to read dashboard for your health and fitness data
◾HealthKit platform makes it easier for third party apps to integrate with Health app
◾emergency card stores important health information

Other
◾widgets in Notification Center, third party app support
◾contact shortcuts in Multitasking screen
◾Touch ID gains third party support

Personally, I can't help but feel that this iOS launch is the most boring one yet. I mean, everything that we expect to be introduced is introduced.
However, there just weren't any amazing surprises. The WOW factor just isn't there this time.
What do you guys think?
I think Tim Cook should name this new ios as ios 7.2 is better. Nothing new for me.

This post has been edited by Hawaiiii: Jun 3 2014, 02:52 PM
l4nc3k
post Jun 3 2014, 02:53 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jun 3 2014, 02:52 PM)
I think Tim Cook should name this new ios as ios 7.2 is better. Nothing new for me.
3rd party apps and interactive notifications are big thing for those who don't jailbreak.. smile.gif
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 02:54 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Jun 3 2014, 02:53 PM)
3rd party apps and interactive notifications are big thing for those who don't jailbreak.. smile.gif
interactive notifications is coming to windows phone too, android can do that or not?
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 3 2014, 02:57 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jun 3 2014, 02:52 PM)
My exact thoughts.
Wonder what is it with Health apps these days. Seems to be the latest craze where 1 manufacturer begins and the rest all follows suit.
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 3 2014, 02:58 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Jun 3 2014, 02:54 PM)
interactive notifications is coming to windows phone too, android can do that or not?
If not mistaken long ago already can lol
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 03:00 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 3 2014, 02:58 PM)
If not mistaken long ago already can lol
custom rom or just rooted mod?
that is a feature that i always wanted on any os
Thrust
post Jun 3 2014, 03:08 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

They still miss out a feature where SMS or imessage is able to display profile photo.
shockk
post Jun 3 2014, 03:22 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Jun 3 2014, 03:00 PM)
custom rom or just rooted mod?
that is a feature that i always wanted on any os
Android can do this on standard unrooted rom since ages ago.
Hawaiiii
post Jun 3 2014, 03:22 PM

687 posts

I think this year would defenitely be the rise of china branded android phone - xiao mi, hua wei, lenovo etc... Soonest by next year will conquer the android market with the imba price/ performance ratio. For me, iPhone 6, is just another bigger screen apple device since i5 in which samsung and other brand smartphone had had it for years... Getting bored. Just my small little thoughs, btw im a loyal iphone user since 3G.
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 03:25 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 3 2014, 03:22 PM)
Android can do this on standard unrooted rom since ages ago.
but only for some apps, most 3rd party apps doesnt support that
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 03:27 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jun 3 2014, 03:22 PM)
I think this year would defenitely be the rise of china branded android phone - xiao mi, hua wei, lenovo etc... Soonest by next year will conquer the android market with the imba price/ performance ratio. For me, iPhone 6, is just another bigger screen apple device since i5 in which samsung and other brand smartphone had had it for years... Getting bored. Just my small little thoughs, btw im a loyal iphone user since 3G.
dont put too much hope in iphone 6
Hawaiiii
post Jun 3 2014, 03:36 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Jun 3 2014, 03:27 PM)
dont put too much hope in iphone 6
God also want to use iPhone, too bad steve jobs had gone sad.gif
EdwinCodec
post Jun 3 2014, 03:37 PM

Anonymous
1,430 posts

The updates are getting bored, why?

Thanks to leakers.
ajax91
post Jun 3 2014, 03:46 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jun 3 2014, 03:36 PM)
God also want to use iPhone, too bad steve jobs had gone sad.gif
my cousin works for apple in united states before, once i heard him say, most of apple's employees doesnt like steve jobs very much. sometimes employees resign in group, this happens during steve era. now he jump ship to microsoft and feel more comfortable there
Archer17
post Jun 3 2014, 03:51 PM

192 posts

not a big thing, boring
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 3 2014, 04:11 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jun 3 2014, 03:22 PM)
Agree with your first sentence.
Wait till those China phones hit international markets on a wider scale.
Now everyone can afford high specced mobile phones.

But then again, can't really compare Apple with Android as both have different followings.
If Nokia/Sony came up with an iOS device at RM1,000-RM1,500 things will definitely be WAY different. Well, one can always dream.
XeactorZ
post Jun 3 2014, 04:11 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

just like can install 3rd party keyboard
and swype is coming rclxm9.gif
Anonymous34
post Jun 3 2014, 04:43 PM

3,176 posts

iOS 8 literally, has got nothing new. Should i update to the beta to test it out? hmm.gif
shaniandras2787
post Jun 3 2014, 05:50 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

every media already expected that iOS8 will not introduce anything revolutionary and they were right.

iOS8 basically gives the iPhone what it should have but with a different interface, that's all.

to me, overall iOS8 should give better user experience.
winkiedilwy
post Jun 3 2014, 06:29 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

still better than using android phone imo
winkiedilwy
post Jun 3 2014, 06:30 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

i think everyone used to iOS 7 which introduces lots of new features

i heard lots of "nothing new" on every single new iOS before iOS 7
kahyeec
post Jun 3 2014, 07:06 PM

1,153 posts

If you use all Apple hardware , "continuity" feature is quite a good concept . Start a imessage in iphone and continue working on it with ipad or mac, answer a call on a macbook air , but you have to get the whole package for it to work, most people just android phone and ipad air.

By the way lol at the eddie cue karaoke photo.

This post has been edited by kahyeec: Jun 3 2014, 07:08 PM
Anonymous34
post Jun 3 2014, 08:04 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Jun 3 2014, 07:06 PM)
If you use all Apple hardware , "continuity" feature is quite a good concept . Start a imessage in iphone and continue working on it with ipad or mac, answer a call on a macbook air , but you have to get the whole package for it to work, most people just android phone and ipad air.

By the way lol at the eddie cue karaoke photo.
That picture were also hinting about beats
See him wearing the headphones?
dino89
post Jun 3 2014, 08:05 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Lol looking at the updates, it should just be ios 7.2
kahyeec
post Jun 3 2014, 08:06 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jun 3 2014, 08:04 PM)
That picture were also hinting about beats
See him wearing the headphones?
Beats acquisition already announced by Apple the week before this , so not a hint already loh. Unless , he is wearing a watch .
theberry
post Jun 3 2014, 09:06 PM

OK!
3,514 posts

was looking to ditch google drive(25GB) but icloud drive 5GB. >.< AWWW
nas
post Jun 4 2014, 12:11 AM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

How does the health app work?
haruyap
post Jun 4 2014, 01:55 AM

275 posts

Very disappointed with how Tim Cook presents everything. He doesn't sound excited nor confident in whatever he's presenting. So sad he's not as charismatic as Steve Jobs. Steve can just stand on the stage, do nothing and smile, and people will clap nonstop for him.

Anyway back to topic. iOS8, what a letdown.

I thought Apple was the revolutionary people who create things that we never thought we needed. Like changing the entire smartphone concept to fully touchscreen or changing the plastic design to sleek glass.

Now after Tim Cook took over it's like a rat chasing mouse game. Just developing things that other people already made - Push To Talk (whatsapp, TalkBox), calling over computer (Skype) and changing keyboards interface (Android). Its nice to have all these, but what's the next big thing? What is the next feature that can put iPhone above other smartphones, besides just hardware upgrade.

But nonetheless they made a breakthrough in Swift, new programming language. Not a programmer myself but I think this is what developers would love, which means they can make new apps faster and perhaps better.

On another note, so sad they killing off support for iPhone 4. I'm currently using that lol.

KIntos
post Jun 4 2014, 07:41 AM

1,132 posts

When will actually apple will release date for ios8?
sai86
post Jun 4 2014, 09:02 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Jun 3 2014, 08:05 PM)
Lol looking at the updates, it should just be ios 7.2
this. for me a new BIG number should hint for alot of changes to the system. if its only add-on features to the existing iOS, its best juz to continue the current number.

else, we will reach iOS 10 in the next 2 years but not much changes. apple need to optimize the iOS more for battery efficiency or come up with larger battery capacity for the next phone.

this aside, i'm more interested in the 'Metal' API for dev later this week.
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 4 2014, 09:30 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jun 4 2014, 07:41 AM)
When will actually apple will release date for ios8?
In fall according to Apple, which should be around Sep-Oct. 2014
Most likely together with the anticipated iPhone 6.
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 4 2014, 09:31 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Jun 4 2014, 12:11 AM)
It is able to pull data from supported health-related apps and consolidate it all into one.
This allows you to view all your health data in one app.
Quite impressive if you're really into health.
ZzZzz...
post Jun 4 2014, 10:18 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,785 posts

giv me bak steve jobs
lazybump_nonsense
post Jun 4 2014, 10:47 AM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

why this looks like an android-like-ios for me? O.O
gengstapo
post Jun 4 2014, 11:19 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

This were still beta correct??
nas
post Jun 4 2014, 12:18 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 4 2014, 09:31 AM)
It is able to pull data from supported health-related apps and consolidate it all into one.
This allows you to view all your health data in one app.
Quite impressive if you're really into health.
I believe the integration is not enabled yet tongue.gif...the app is there but it doesn't do much. I guess we need other apps to be updated to support IOS 8 first before using the health app.
Starscream666
post Jun 4 2014, 03:19 PM

230 posts

wow just when i actually thought of upgrading my iOS they cut the support for iphone 4....sad.gif
Hazeem7
post Jun 4 2014, 03:40 PM

103 posts

Just updated, it's full of bugs but the keyboard is awesome. Most 3rd party apps are crashing
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 4 2014, 04:01 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Jun 4 2014, 12:18 PM)
I believe the integration is not enabled yet tongue.gif...the app is there but it doesn't do much. I guess we need other apps to be updated to support IOS 8 first before using the health app.
Would probably mature off in a few months before the official launch of iOS8 brows.gif
kahyeec
post Jun 4 2014, 08:20 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Jun 4 2014, 12:11 AM)
Actually it is kind of there , idling , waiting for iWatch to drop later this year.
nas
post Jun 4 2014, 09:03 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Jun 4 2014, 08:20 PM)
Actually it is kind of there , idling , waiting for iWatch to drop later this year.
I went into the app thinking it will start aggregating my step count but it didn't. Guess it has to work with other apps eg Nike+ Which are coded with the health app in mind.
ishwarthebest
post Jun 5 2014, 09:37 AM

46 posts

If anyone wants to enrol their device (UDID) in iOS developer program to try out iOS 8, drop me a PM!
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 5 2014, 10:57 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Jun 4 2014, 09:03 PM)
I went into the app thinking it will start aggregating my step count but it didn't. Guess it has to work with other apps eg Nike+ Which are coded with the health app in mind.
Mind sharing some shots of your iOS 8? biggrin.gif
kianwee
post Jun 5 2014, 01:50 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Those who plan to upgrade to iOS 8 beta I suggest you hold first unless you have an extra phone to play with. WhatsApp currently doesn't work. Keeps crashing.
nas
post Jun 5 2014, 02:18 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jun 5 2014, 01:50 PM)
Those who plan to upgrade to iOS 8 beta I suggest you hold first unless you have an extra phone to play with. WhatsApp currently doesn't work. Keeps crashing.
Yeah, WhatsApp crashes when you click on a group to reply message. Funny thing it works the first time right after installation.

So far, some of the apps I use do work e.g.:

1. Pedometer
2. Nike+Move
3. MalaysiaNews
4. HeartRate
5. Battery
6. Flipboard
7. SmartShopper
8. MyAirIndex
9. Hong Leong Connect
10. Convertible
11. iVoice
12. XECurrency
13. Safari
14. OfficeMobile
15. Others still testing....

Those that can't work e.g.:

1. Digi OCS
2. Whatsapp
3. Healthkit (due to not integrated in other apps yet).

Do take note this is to be expected since this is the first beta. But to me, it is still ok. I believe the next beta (most likely in 2 weeks time) will fix some of the app compatability problems.
nas
post Jun 5 2014, 04:35 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

Here's a list of features discovered in IOS 8.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php...82#post19174182

ukiya
post Jun 5 2014, 04:42 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

omygosh...

with this kind of "update" of iOS7 n named it as "iOS8" ...

what a disappointment! gotta jumpship soon >,<
Area51SE
post Jun 5 2014, 07:43 PM

1,001 posts

No changes or improvements on the control centre? Like turning off your cellular network from there or something. Was expecting them to do some improvements on that actually

nas
post Jun 5 2014, 08:30 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Jun 5 2014, 07:43 PM)
No changes or improvements on the control centre? Like turning off your cellular network from there or something. Was expecting them to do some improvements on that actually
Nah, was hoping they allow more customisation of the CC but looks like the same set of icons and layout.
SUSsniperz
post Jun 5 2014, 10:07 PM

2,464 posts

Waiting for more leaks on iPhone 6

iOS 8 for battery management!

This post has been edited by sniperz: Jun 5 2014, 10:10 PM
leechunghan
post Jun 6 2014, 01:24 AM

813 posts

anyone go iOS8 without register udid ???
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 6 2014, 02:10 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Jun 6 2014, 01:24 AM)
anyone go iOS8 without register udid ???
Is that even possible?
Yung_Psyke
post Jun 6 2014, 07:51 PM

286 posts

Got my UDID registered, downloading iOS 8 now brows.gif

Only Rm16/ USD 5 .. got mine in a few hours

This post has been edited by Yung_Psyke: Jun 6 2014, 07:55 PM
leechunghan
post Jun 7 2014, 02:38 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(Yung_Psyke @ Jun 6 2014, 07:51 PM)

Got my UDID registered, downloading iOS 8 now  brows.gif

Only Rm16/ USD 5 .. got mine in a few hours
but i dun have any debit or creadit card... cry.gif cry.gif or u hlp me register it ??? of coz i will pay u
ramz
post Jun 7 2014, 03:31 AM

21,318 posts

High time they open up the keyboard to experts like swiftkey. I curse everytime I use ios keyboard. Coz feels like I'm using an old typewriter while our android counterpart is Swiping and sliding away like as though they creating words from thin air. And where is the innovation? The least they can do is take siri to another level, like into the personal assistant space. After all ios are used by more executives than android.
Yung_Psyke
post Jun 7 2014, 08:25 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Jun 7 2014, 02:38 AM)
but i dun have any debit or creadit card...  cry.gif  cry.gif  or u hlp me register it ??? of coz i will pay u
Paypal can bro, if you have RHB even easier, because even i got mine done thru my sister's acc and i dont have a paypal sweat.gif , its just 3 simple steps, pay, send your udid and wait for confirmation, once done you will get a message with a link and you can download ios 8 beta and install like normal smile.gif , theres a forumer selling if im not mistaken, for rm30
Yung_Psyke
post Jun 7 2014, 08:56 AM

286 posts

Okay i had my phone in iOS 8 for a day now Attached Image
iOS 8 on 16GB iPhone 4s, its my test phone for now,

Here are my thoughts,

1. Performance nearly same as iOS 7.1.1, in iphone 4s every part of the phone feels snappy, only noticable "lag" is while swiping down for spotlight search, i've seen significant improvement in smoothness when opening up control center, previously on 7.1 it lagged , multitasking is super fast now.
has
2. Nothing have changed in the ui, status bar in lockscreen appears slightly smaller, a new health app

3. control center changed a bit, maybe its the new brightness icons, new animation to the background when you adjust the brightness

4. New animation when you swipe down for spotlight, the background blurs up now. It is a little laggy though.

5. Lots of new stuffs in the settings, usage for battery now individually displays battery usage according to apps, Siri has voice activation when plugged in, lots of new stuffs in accessibility like grayscale, nothing removed..

6. Appstore have changed, i guess it might be the color, and some ui changes, nothing major.

8. New keyboard, it predicts what your next word might be, like if you type I , the suggestions will be like "have, am, had" , i turned it off it gets a little annoying just like autocorrect.

there are much more improvements/ changes but these are the ones i've noticed so far, it is very very very buggy for now, everything crashes, especially downloaded apps, its expected as its just beta 1 so lets see whats to come in the next beta smile.gif

leechunghan
post Jun 7 2014, 02:30 PM

813 posts

already register UDiD.. i can flash iOS8 now smile.gif
winkiedilwy
post Jun 7 2014, 05:41 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

I still prefer iOS 6 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Anyway... Will wait till at least Beta 3 only test it hehehe
leechunghan
post Jun 8 2014, 12:19 PM

813 posts

iOS8 when want to post photos at moment become like this Attached Image

google chrome can't loading Attached Image

puteraX2020
post Jun 8 2014, 12:52 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Jun 8 2014, 01:19 PM)
iOS8  when want to post photos at moment become like this Attached Image
google chrome can't loading Attached Image
You should understand that ios 8 is still beta phase.. Of course not all apps are fully compatible .. Just use the big report to report for bugs
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 8 2014, 12:55 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

Will probably only be more stable and good for use in Beta 4 onwards.
leechunghan
post Jun 8 2014, 04:17 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(puteraX2020 @ Jun 8 2014, 12:52 PM)
You should understand that ios 8 is still beta phase.. Of course not all apps are fully compatible .. Just use the big report to report for bugs
i know... tonite restore back iOS7.1.1... and wait for beta 2.. smile.gif
vez
post Jun 8 2014, 08:53 PM

4,622 posts

unless you have extra iDevice, otherwise no reason to try iOS 8 now, is buggy biggrin.gif
madspeed02
post Jun 8 2014, 09:32 PM

1,170 posts

still not yet available ios8. cry.gif
roysun
post Jun 8 2014, 11:54 PM

273 posts

careful when u restore your backup coz is not support with IOS8 to IOS7, i lost my backup when i restore back to iOS 7
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 10 2014, 10:41 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(madspeed02 @ Jun 8 2014, 09:32 PM)
still not yet available ios8.  cry.gif
Around Sept. Few more months to go. Chill.
Just pretend Apple didn't announce it laugh.gif
The iFONE
post Jun 10 2014, 10:47 AM

102 posts

Even if iOS 8 is available this second, I'll just stick to iOS 7 for now... You never know how many bugs will be found in the initial release, which will also cause havoc to your iDevice! sad.gif
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2014, 01:07 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

That's why they release beta version so developers can test it out. Bugs are inevitable even for a stable software. iOS 8 patches most bugs in iOS 7 but in the same time creates other bugs.
NoKusshon
post Jun 10 2014, 01:14 PM

Knowledge is Everything. Well Yeah.
1,391 posts

I think, the biggest update for ios8 is we can link directly into Mac platform ☺️
The iFONE
post Jun 11 2014, 11:11 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Jun 10 2014, 01:14 PM)
I think, the biggest update for ios8 is we can link directly into Mac platform ☺️
Oh yes, that will be such a convenience for us MacBook or Mac users... And is also something I'm looking forward to! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
NoKusshon
post Jun 11 2014, 11:13 AM

Knowledge is Everything. Well Yeah.
1,391 posts

QUOTE(The iFONE @ Jun 11 2014, 11:11 AM)
Oh yes, that will be such a convenience for us MacBook or Mac users... And is also something I'm looking forward to! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
Yeap, agree with you..can't wait till it's official release hihihi rclxms.gif drool.gif
shah_allstyle
post Jun 11 2014, 01:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(roysun @ Jun 8 2014, 11:54 PM)
careful when u restore your backup coz is not support with IOS8 to IOS7, i lost my backup when i restore back to iOS 7
if restore must download the gsm or the gsm+cdma ??
-iphone5s-
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 12 2014, 08:58 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(The iFONE @ Jun 10 2014, 10:47 AM)
Even if iOS 8 is available this second, I'll just stick to iOS 7 for now... You never know how many bugs will be found in the initial release, which will also cause havoc to your iDevice! sad.gif
Lol I think I will.
Am getting bored with iOS7 and hope the iOS7 bugs are killed.
For instance, the bluetooth one whereby the logo at status bar still shows even when turned off bluetooth doh.gif
fluotone
post Jun 12 2014, 09:34 AM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

can't wait to answer calls on ipad tongue.gif
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 13 2014, 10:42 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

There are still many unannounced features launched in iOS8
You guys can head to idownloadblog.com for more info.
Very informative blog smile.gif
nas
post Jun 13 2014, 10:56 AM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

I'm ok using this beta so far. Been using it almost two weeks now. looking forward to beta 2 hopefully on Monday.
winkiedilwy
post Jun 13 2014, 05:17 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

dat continuity thing... really makes me wanna get a mac
Songchien
post Jun 13 2014, 07:43 PM

351 posts

I hope they add turn on 3G in quick setting.
Xirality
post Jun 13 2014, 10:35 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 8 2014, 12:55 PM)
Will probably only be more stable and good for use in Beta 4 onwards.
Yeah, too buggy. Still remember when iOS 7 Beta 1 just out, hardly usable shakehead.gif
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 16 2014, 01:09 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Jun 13 2014, 10:56 AM)
I'm ok using this beta so far. Been using it almost two weeks now. looking forward to beta 2 hopefully on Monday.
Heard some say whatsapp not compatible.
U can survive without W/A? laugh.gif
shah_allstyle
post Jun 17 2014, 12:43 PM

330 posts

Need help .. I already Google it but I still confuse ..
If restore from ios 8 to ios 7 ,, need to download the gsm or gsm+cdma ?? Thx
winkiedilwy
post Jun 17 2014, 10:58 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

QUOTE(shah_allstyle @ Jun 17 2014, 12:43 PM)
Need help .. I already Google it but I still confuse ..
If restore from ios 8 to ios 7 ,, need to download the gsm or gsm+cdma ?? Thx
Should be gsm+CDMA.

Idk I usually download the "global" one from felixbruns.de
sasuke8678
post Jun 17 2014, 11:44 PM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

Cant wait for official release..
EdwinCodec
post Jun 18 2014, 01:47 AM

Anonymous
1,430 posts

Beta 2 is out!
roysun
post Jun 18 2014, 10:10 PM

273 posts

can this beta 2 support for whatapp?
conanlky
post Jun 19 2014, 11:53 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(roysun @ Jun 18 2014, 10:10 PM)
can this beta 2 support for whatapp?
still can't support
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 19 2014, 01:29 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

I wished iOS8 launched a change to the icons to be like those on Windows Phone platform.

Allow us to change the size of the icons and lets have real LIVE information showing on them. That, would have made iOS8 great.
shaniandras
post Jun 19 2014, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 19 2014, 01:29 PM)
I wished iOS8 launched a change to the icons to be like those on Windows Phone platform.

Allow us to change the size of the icons and lets have real LIVE information showing on them. That, would have made iOS8 great.
if Apple adopt that then it would resemble Android too much. Further, no one is complaining about the icons now (i think). Further, don't forget, WP's scrolling is downwards/upwards whereas iOS is left/right.

don't think Apple will ever take that radical change to the orientation.

This post has been edited by shaniandras: Jun 19 2014, 01:58 PM
TSC63 AMG
post Jun 19 2014, 03:53 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras @ Jun 19 2014, 01:56 PM)
if Apple adopt that then it would resemble Android too much. Further, no one is complaining about the icons now (i think). Further, don't forget, WP's scrolling is downwards/upwards whereas iOS is left/right.

don't think Apple will ever take that radical change to the orientation.
Not suggesting any change to the orientation.
Just the icons.
Imagine you being able to decide the size of your icons.
Imagine your icons being able to display more information.
If anything, it would resemble WP more, not Android.
cucubud
post Aug 13 2014, 11:56 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

I understand that iphone 4 cannot install IOS 8.
When IOS 8 is launched, will IOS 7.x.x still available for iphone 4?
winstonst
post Aug 13 2014, 12:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 13 2014, 11:56 AM)
I understand that iphone 4 cannot install IOS 8.
When IOS 8 is launched, will IOS 7.x.x still available for iphone 4?
not sure
but maybe it cant be supported anymore
since they want customer to buy newer phone
gengstapo
post Aug 18 2014, 09:29 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

Cool, awaiting for avail. jailbreak before upgrading lol
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 10 2014, 12:02 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

Anyone using the GM iOS 8 now?
rhoyo
post Sep 10 2014, 04:40 PM

-
2,800 posts

is this same like ios 7 in terms of os ??
belfong
post Sep 10 2014, 06:18 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Sep 10 2014, 12:12 PM)
wow, great new features.... just like my android phone few years ago...
10 of my friends who switched from iPhone to Android, 9 regretted the move and is looking to move back. So - there you go!
SUSsniperz
post Sep 10 2014, 06:21 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 10 2014, 06:18 PM)
10 of my friends who switched from iPhone to Android, 9 regretted the move and is looking to move back. So - there you go!
I am part of it. Currently Xiaomi Redmi 1S / Redmi Note user.

Sold iPhone 5S like a month ago.
belfong
post Sep 10 2014, 09:54 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Sep 10 2014, 06:21 PM)
I am part of it. Currently Xiaomi Redmi 1S / Redmi Note user.

Sold iPhone 5S like a month ago.
means what, you regretted you went with Xiaomi and want to come back to Apple?
SUSsniperz
post Sep 10 2014, 10:00 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 10 2014, 09:54 PM)
means what, you regretted you went with Xiaomi and want to come back to Apple?
Nope. It's the other way round. Super satisfied with Xiaomi.

A bit disappointed or rather BIG towards the release of iPhone 6 / Plus...

You can ask around former Apple fans. I really think they need to go back for the drawing board. The price itself is not even for "rich,poor" to spend.

The specs even lost some few hundred bucks smartphone or phablet. doh.gif
haruyap
post Sep 10 2014, 10:20 PM

275 posts

Off topic:

On topic:

Since iOS 8 can have customizable keyboard, I hope we can have customizable shortcut settings too (so can put 3G toggle there).

And do you guys think there's a way to force iPhone 4 to be on iOS 8? Sad to hear iPhone 4 gets cut off from software update.
decavalera
post Sep 11 2014, 10:54 AM

bloody roots
2,321 posts

QUOTE(haruyap @ Sep 10 2014, 10:20 PM)
On topic:

Since iOS 8 can have customizable keyboard, I hope we can have customizable shortcut settings too (so can put 3G toggle there).

And do you guys think there's a way to force iPhone 4 to be on iOS 8? Sad to hear iPhone 4 gets cut off from software update.
My ip4 dayem lagg in iOS7. Not sure wanna upgrade to iOS8 even it is possible.
deepan84
post Sep 11 2014, 11:16 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(decavalera @ Sep 11 2014, 10:54 AM)
My ip4 dayem lagg in iOS7. Not sure wanna upgrade to iOS8 even it is possible.
ip4 cant upgrade to ios8 la bro... minimum ip4S
onscreen
post Sep 11 2014, 11:16 AM

Nomby
675 posts

iPhone 4 lags badly if use iOS 7 in it. iPhone 4S is the better last phone to fully utilise iOS 7.

On the other hand, I have updated to iOS 8. First impression is that the UI are even friendlier to some degree. Only noticeable thing is that its eating up battery slightly faster than iOS 7.

Whoever is running Yosemite and wanted to restore iOS 8, do make sure you install Xcode 6.1 Beta before doing so, else the phone will be temporary bricked due to iTunes 12 crashes during restore
LegendLee
post Sep 11 2014, 07:31 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

Anyone here experience higher % of facebook app crashing on iOS8?
nas
post Sep 11 2014, 07:34 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Sep 11 2014, 07:31 PM)
Anyone here experience higher % of facebook app crashing on iOS8?
Not sure bout Facebook but whatsapp used to crash a lot on iOS 8 betas. Now running the latest version on GM without problems.
benny888
post Sep 11 2014, 07:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 11 2014, 06:48 PM)
REALLY? My friends must be the odd one out!  cool2.gif
Why you need to bother about this? Different user had different needs on their phones. iPhone is not the best smartphone ( unlike what those Apple P Schiller says) in the world nor is there any best Android phone
Both platform has its own pros and cons
Important is if you feel iPhone meet your needs better , stay with it. Some will find Android better suited for them ( I am a very good example) and I have used all the iphone since first model till iP5. I just "hate" it when Apple fans deem themselves to be smarter because they chose iPhone - if they think so, just let them be. Important is I don't feel dumb as I have given Apple their chances too with me
With the bigger iP6, Apple now wants to pull back those lot of Android fans that are happy with bigger size phones and I believe this strategy of them might work ; how successful it will be only time will tell
Either way personally I couldn't be bother whether Apple or Google will be the winner in this game. Most important I can find a phone that meet my needs and it could be the coming ip6+ ??
I have given up on Blackberry and Windows Phone and basically only left iPhone or Androids. In high probability I will be using both of them - best of both worlds.

lazybump_nonsense
post Sep 11 2014, 08:07 PM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 11 2014, 07:56 PM)
Why you need to bother about this? Different user had different needs on their phones. iPhone is not the best smartphone ( unlike what those Apple P Schiller says) in the world nor is there any best Android phone
Important is if you feel iPhone meet your needs better , stay with it. Some will find Android better suited for them ( I am a very good example) and I have used all the iphone since first model till iP5. I just "hate" it when Apple fans deem themselves to be smarter because they chose iPhone - if they think so, just let them be. Important is I don't feel dumb as I have given Apple their chances too with me
With the bigger iP6, Apple now wants to pull back those lot of Android fans that are happy with bigger size phones and I believe this strategy of them might work ; how successful it will be only time will tell
Either way personally I couldn't be bother whether Apple or Google will be the winner in this game. Most important I can find a phone that meet my needs and it could be the coming ip6+ ??
I have given up on Blackberry and Windows Phone and basically only left iPhone or Androids. In high probability I will be using both of them - best of both worlds.
give you one like thumbup.gif
LegendLee
post Sep 11 2014, 09:48 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Sep 11 2014, 07:34 PM)
Not sure bout Facebook but whatsapp used to crash a lot on iOS 8 betas. Now running the latest version on GM without problems.
Facebook crashes quite a bit on GM for me.
Sometimes it just lags and refuse to open external links.
Reventon
post Sep 11 2014, 10:18 PM

2,921 posts

Having a Z2 now and its quite large and looking to get the 6+ but it going to be a nightmare carrying two brick. doh.gif . Just hope the 6+ battery life can rival Z2 now.
alexlim_88
post Sep 11 2014, 10:31 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Sep 11 2014, 05:21 PM)
50 of my frens switch from iphone to android and never want to look at iphone anymore smile.gif
Good luck to your friends then. Do tell us their thoughts of using Android after a while...
My friends did the same thing, but most of friends regret for such decision and switch back to iOS (waiting for iPhone 6) and some continue on Android phones and they are with neutral feedback, because they're not having "fever" on phones.

My opinion is, finally we have CHOICE on phablets. Most of the "not-so-tech-savvy" people jump into Android phones is because of the screen size, and most of them haven't experience iOS and Apple product. Certainly I think their eyes will go blinking after they experience the Apple products...

This post has been edited by alexlim_88: Sep 11 2014, 10:47 PM
dino89
post Sep 11 2014, 10:32 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 11 2014, 07:56 PM)
Well said rclxms.gif I terbalik, I have used so many Android phones, and still find the iPhone suits me so i still stick to iPhone. Windows and Blackberry also out of the story bcos of their App Stores. Cannot afford to maintain the best of the both worlds sweat.gif
benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 01:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alexlim_88 @ Sep 11 2014, 10:31 PM)
Good luck to your friends then. Do tell us their thoughts of using Android after a while...
My friends did the same thing, but most of friends regret for such decision and switch back to iOS (waiting for iPhone 6) and some continue on Android phones and they are with neutral feedback, because they're not having "fever" on phones.

My opinion is, finally we have CHOICE on phablets. Most of the "not-so-tech-savvy" people jump into Android phones is because of the screen size, and most of them haven't experience iOS and Apple product. Certainly I think their eyes will go blinking after they experience the Apple products...
Sorry my eyes go to sleep on my iphones. Hope the ip6+ will make me blink
Come on different user different needs. Not all will find ip suitable for them. I have also tested most of ipad range but all never stay in my hands more than 2 months as they cannot meet my needs
Aiman131
post Sep 12 2014, 07:14 AM

iFag
1,313 posts

So. Anyone update to ios8 on 5S? Anything diffrent? Im on 7.0.4 jailbroken. Lazy to update.
Aiman131
post Sep 12 2014, 07:14 AM

iFag
1,313 posts

I mean. GM ver
dokidoki
post Sep 12 2014, 09:37 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(alexlim_88 @ Sep 11 2014, 10:31 PM)

your most is how many?...talk is ez smile.gif how you know those people who go for iphone is 'very tech savvy'?
frozzbyte
post Sep 12 2014, 11:40 AM

3,657 posts

The never ending iOS vs Android debate. Pick one and just use it sudah la. No need to belittle the other side. If can afford then get both. Habis cerita. Sheesh.
nanamizuki
post Sep 12 2014, 12:03 PM

~Safe And Sound~
1,152 posts

Gosh doh.gif Is there even a need to fight which platform is better? Pick one that suite yourself and not debating here as you cannot win in this battle as different people got different opinion and preferences, no point doing so shocking.gif
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 12 2014, 12:31 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Sep 12 2014, 12:03 PM)
Gosh  doh.gif Is there even a need to fight which platform is better? Pick one that suite yourself and not debating here as you cannot win in this battle as different people got different opinion and preferences, no point doing so  shocking.gif
Lol true that.
Both has its upsides and downsides.
No one OS is truly perfect.
Pat89
post Sep 15 2014, 01:39 PM

2,092 posts

Hahahaha carry on guys, am loving it!
frozzbyte
post Sep 15 2014, 09:33 PM

3,657 posts

Can't even wait 2 more days, I succumbed and updated my 5s and iPad air to iOS 8 just to try continuity. And it's a cool feature
Pat89
post Sep 16 2014, 12:40 PM

2,092 posts

Hey guys, is it available tomorrow 17th or have to wait until 18th?
SUSkc6012
post Sep 16 2014, 02:28 PM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 16 2014, 12:40 PM)
Hey guys, is it available tomorrow 17th or have to wait until 18th?
I think is after 3pm tomorrow
torreto
post Sep 16 2014, 02:41 PM

659 posts

already on iOS8 GM for a week. battery life seems to be improving for my iPhone 5s compared to previous 7.1.2.

Facebook app seems to be lil jerky when you scroll it fast.
Twitter bug when the new tweet mention notification kept on alert when there's no new mention
Spotify crashed once but the new version was released few days ago
Whatsapp got no icloud backup for iOS 8 at the moment. (until official release of iOS8 tomorrow)

other than that the rest is all good.
Xirality
post Sep 16 2014, 05:13 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 15 2014, 09:33 PM)
Can't even wait 2 more days, I succumbed and updated my 5s and iPad air to iOS 8 just to try continuity. And it's a cool feature
You using Yosemite too?
frozzbyte
post Sep 16 2014, 05:29 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 16 2014, 05:13 PM)
You using Yosemite too?
Don't need to be on Yosemite to try continuity
belfong
post Sep 16 2014, 06:59 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Sep 16 2014, 02:28 PM)
I think is after 3pm tomorrow
Awesome news. I didn't even realise iOS 8 is coming out.

lisahasan
post Sep 16 2014, 10:17 PM

"calm heart, easy mind, cool life" :)
3,911 posts

Tonite or tomorrow ?
dino89
post Sep 16 2014, 10:29 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 15 2014, 09:33 PM)
Haha cant tahan d? I will definitely update my iphone 5 to ios8, but ipad air i will wait for jailbreak only update it. Need to use controller for all for ipad tongue.gif
frozzbyte
post Sep 16 2014, 10:41 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 16 2014, 10:17 PM)
Tonite or tomorrow ?
Should be tomorrow evening
frozzbyte
post Sep 16 2014, 10:43 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Sep 16 2014, 10:29 PM)
Haha cant tahan d? I will definitely update my iphone 5 to ios8, but ipad air i will wait for jailbreak only update it. Need to use controller for all for ipad tongue.gif
I've been living without jailbreak for a year already. With iOS 8, I don't see the need anymore for jailbreaking. You going to miss out continuity/Handoff between iphone and iPad tongue.gif
dino89
post Sep 16 2014, 11:32 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 16 2014, 10:43 PM)
I've been living without jailbreak for a year already. With iOS 8, I don't see the need anymore for jailbreaking. You going to miss out continuity/Handoff between iphone and iPad  tongue.gif
Actually im not really looking forward on the Continuity thing. Im using my iPad to surf internet, CoC and MC5, and thats about it. On my iphone, I only CoC and surf internet and whatsapp/sms so i dun think continuity will change any of my user experience. Plus i dun have a macbook, so technically i dun really bother about the continuity thingie
frozzbyte
post Sep 16 2014, 11:57 PM

3,657 posts

Actually you don't need a mac to use continuity/handoff. It can be used between your phone and ipad, especially when using safari or sms/calling (yup you can even answer calls or reply to sms on your ipad) or even email. I switch between my phone and ipad alot sometime (before iOS8) and this is a welcome update to me. Wait few months when devs release more apps that take advantage this feature.
Nickfury2
post Sep 17 2014, 01:29 AM

103 posts

its 17 sept..what time we can upgrade to IOS8?? any idea??
phyz
post Sep 17 2014, 06:38 AM

334 posts

Please share your review for those who upgrade to iOS8...worried to upgrade to 7.1.2
Pat89
post Sep 17 2014, 06:43 AM

2,092 posts

Haha you guys dream on can download today! It's only available to download 3am 18th septembet. San fransico is 21 hours behind us, so we need apple (HQ) to open the server for everyone.

But again, please correct me if I'm wrong.
dannykhoo17
post Sep 17 2014, 08:54 AM

DnC
893 posts

so its today or tomorrow ? :/
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 17 2014, 08:58 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

So ios 8 coming out on today 3pm onward or 3am 18 sept? Anyone clarify this?
Pat89
post Sep 17 2014, 09:00 AM

2,092 posts

Most probably tomorrow at 3am because at SF it's only 16 for them, 16th September!
dannykhoo17
post Sep 17 2014, 09:03 AM

DnC
893 posts

http://www.phonesreview.co.uk/2014/09/16/i...wn-to-download/

countdown about 15 hours tho
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 17 2014, 09:03 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 17 2014, 09:00 AM)
Most probably tomorrow at 3am because at SF it's only 16 for them, 16th September!
aww ... sad .. our life is faster than them 1 day laugh.gif
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 17 2014, 09:04 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 17 2014, 09:03 AM)
waw ... thanks for the countdown .. look like we had to wait until tomorrow then
Zelz92
post Sep 17 2014, 09:49 AM

366 posts

1 am our time?
Pat89
post Sep 17 2014, 09:51 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:49 AM)
1 am our time?
Yes, around that time because iOS7 was released that time too
rafael11
post Sep 17 2014, 10:25 AM

30 posts

When will iOS 8 be released

Pat89
post Sep 17 2014, 11:15 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(rafael11 @ Sep 17 2014, 11:25 AM)
When will iOS 8 be released

wow...this is a good news indeed if it is true.....just wait and see at 1am then!

This post has been edited by Pat89: Sep 17 2014, 11:16 AM
conanlky
post Sep 17 2014, 11:39 AM

353 posts

tomorrow office broadband will jam up if there are many apple user smile.gif
nas
post Sep 17 2014, 11:48 AM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

Better not rush to update first, if the lines are jammed up, then the OTA update will be slow or almost impossible. Get a good night rest and try to update at night smile.gif.

Been running the GM and loving it. Can't wait for the keyboard and extension updates for the apps.
juruteknikmuda89
post Sep 17 2014, 12:09 PM

64 posts

should or should not update my ipad 3rd gen to ios8?mine still 5.1.1
harryfoo
post Sep 17 2014, 12:49 PM

2,296 posts

Yikes! I thought can update at noon today. Have to wait till midnight. :(
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 17 2014, 01:42 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Sep 17 2014, 12:49 PM)
Yikes! I thought can update at noon today. Have to wait till midnight. sad.gif
Tomorrow noon would be best.
Download would probably be super slow tonight
Pat89
post Sep 17 2014, 01:51 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 17 2014, 02:42 PM)
Tomorrow noon would be best.
Download would probably be super slow tonight
Yes, exactly. Tomorrow noon is the best time.

But for those using Unifi, can start download at morning since the speed is super duper fast. My office is using Unifi 10mbps! haha....
yisien
post Sep 17 2014, 01:54 PM

400 posts

got link to download the ipsw file already?
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 17 2014, 01:54 PM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 17 2014, 01:51 PM)
Yes, exactly. Tomorrow noon is the best time.

But for those using Unifi, can start download at morning since the speed is super duper fast. My office is using Unifi 10mbps! haha....
I will be downloading it once I reach office tomorrow morning. Can explore the phone while lunch hour laugh.gif
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 17 2014, 03:07 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 17 2014, 01:54 PM)
got link to download the ipsw file already?
Not so fast yet.
Earliest also tomorrow 1am.
don391
post Sep 17 2014, 03:12 PM

84 posts

iPhone 4S user here, don't even dare to touch that lol
MichaelJohn
post Sep 17 2014, 03:30 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

Not sure if I should update for my iP5 also
Axel95
post Sep 17 2014, 03:32 PM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

QUOTE(don391 @ Sep 17 2014, 03:12 PM)
iPhone 4S user here, don't even dare to touch that lol
time for a switch bro rclxms.gif

*4s user too. updating to iOS 8 and getting an iPhone 6

This post has been edited by Axel95: Sep 17 2014, 03:33 PM
yisien
post Sep 17 2014, 04:13 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 17 2014, 03:07 PM)
Not so fast yet.
Earliest also tomorrow 1am.
i remembered when last time there are link for you to download the file first so that u wont need to rebut with other when u can update it. blink.gif

maybe i remembered it wrongly also. haha blush.gif
don391
post Sep 17 2014, 05:49 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Sep 17 2014, 06:32 PM)
time for a switch bro  :clap:

*4s user too. updating to iOS 8 and getting an iPhone 6
Yup am switching :P
frozzbyte
post Sep 17 2014, 05:59 PM

3,657 posts

I need to re-restore back tonight once it is released. This GM disabled Siri integration with Shazaam. Who know what else GM disable from the final release.
vez
post Sep 17 2014, 07:23 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 17 2014, 05:59 PM)
I need to re-restore back tonight once it is released. This GM disabled Siri integration with Shazaam. Who know what else GM disable from the final release.
GM should be identical with final release blink.gif is it a bug but not something they do on purpose
frozzbyte
post Sep 17 2014, 08:05 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 17 2014, 07:23 PM)
GM should be identical with final release  blink.gif is it a bug but not something they do on purpose
Should be but this is not the case. You can refer to Macrumors regarding the Siri song identification. This is the only thing we know, there MIGHT be more but it's been fun using it for the past week.
theberry
post Sep 17 2014, 08:48 PM

OK!
3,514 posts

dont know whether ios 8 will take up more space/ram compared to ios 7
andrewtho
post Sep 17 2014, 08:50 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Imagine everyone queuing up at 1am to download, defo take ages to download.

I guess I'll wait until tomorrow until I download it.. avoid 'rush hour' traffic lol
lisahasan
post Sep 17 2014, 10:01 PM

3,911 posts

some more, network connectivity very poor since got cable fibre problem under sea. always disconnect using unifi
gengstapo
post Sep 17 2014, 10:04 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 17 2014, 10:01 PM)
some more, network connectivity very poor since got cable fibre problem under sea. always disconnect using unifi
Is that so? No wonder my Unifi seems little scuks atm lol
lisahasan
post Sep 17 2014, 10:06 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 17 2014, 10:04 PM)
yes bro.

bole baca dekat kopitiam or home page of lowyat forum

it have been 2 days already

macam mana mau update nih cry.gif
harryfoo
post Sep 17 2014, 10:23 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 17 2014, 10:06 PM)
yes bro.

bole baca dekat kopitiam or home page of lowyat forum

it have been 2 days already

macam mana mau update nih  cry.gif
Update tomorrow using office internet. brows.gif

Anyway, what's the feature that you guys will try first after updated to 8?
dannykhoo17
post Sep 17 2014, 10:26 PM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Sep 17 2014, 10:23 PM)
Update tomorrow using office internet.  brows.gif

lock apps tongue.gif
Lynixx
post Sep 17 2014, 10:27 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

swiftkey ofcourse smile.gif
lisahasan
post Sep 17 2014, 10:28 PM

3,911 posts

office internet ?

kenot lah bro

cause using vpn HP UK
dannykhoo17
post Sep 17 2014, 10:28 PM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 17 2014, 10:27 PM)
swiftkey ofcourse smile.gif
the stock keyboard is not good ? :/
yisien
post Sep 17 2014, 10:32 PM

400 posts

reply during using another apps. rclxms.gif
harryfoo
post Sep 17 2014, 10:46 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
the stock keyboard is not good ? :/
I'm kinda adapt to the stock keyboard. I can type very quickly even one handed.
MichaelJohn
post Sep 17 2014, 10:49 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

Manual settings on the camera laugh.gif
xHj09
post Sep 17 2014, 10:49 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

first thing i'd do is multitask youtube for listening to kpops and searching safari for romanization lyrics to sing along tongue.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 17 2014, 10:04 PM)
but then streaming youtube and running man/dailymotion/other video sites are extremely smooth idk why sweat.gif

This post has been edited by xHj09: Sep 17 2014, 10:53 PM
dannykhoo17
post Sep 17 2014, 10:59 PM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Sep 17 2014, 10:46 PM)
I'm kinda adapt to the stock keyboard. I can type very quickly even one handed.
yeah.. simple and nice.
riderz135
post Sep 18 2014, 12:54 AM

150 posts

when release the os ??

phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 12:57 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(riderz135 @ Sep 18 2014, 12:54 AM)
when release the os ??
Another 3 minutes maybe
Lynixx
post Sep 18 2014, 12:59 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

Ios8 is out!!!
laughing_tomato
post Sep 18 2014, 01:02 AM

375 posts

1.1 GB... 1 hour remaining cry.gif

This post has been edited by laughing_tomato: Sep 18 2014, 01:03 AM
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 01:02 AM

334 posts

Yeah....

SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 01:03 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

Start downloading
conanlky
post Sep 18 2014, 01:05 AM

353 posts

Downloading for both iPhone and iPad smile.gif
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:06 AM

3,657 posts

I think they're pushing OTA first. Can't get anything thru itunes
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 01:09 AM

334 posts

Hope everything will be fine...

This post has been edited by phyz: Sep 18 2014, 01:10 AM
SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

QUOTE(phyz @ Sep 18 2014, 01:09 AM)
Hope everything will be fine...
why I can't see any completed time remaining
Lynixx
post Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

Me on ipad air..1.4gb sad.gif
laughing_tomato
post Sep 18 2014, 01:16 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM)
why I can't see any completed time remaining
Probably your download haven't started untill you see the progress bar...
rafael11
post Sep 18 2014, 01:19 AM

30 posts

here you go for the ios8 direct download

http://www.redmondpie.com/ios-8-download-l...d-direct-links/
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 01:20 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM)
Me on ipad air..1.4gb sad.gif
Larger meh

--------

What 2 minute remaining?? ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by phyz: Sep 18 2014, 01:24 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:24 AM

3,657 posts

20 minutes download time at 2.9 MB/s
SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 01:25 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 18 2014, 01:24 AM)
20 minutes download time at 2.9 MB/s
So fast. Mine is f***ing slow
Time to sleep, wake up later to see the installation
gahkin
post Sep 18 2014, 01:26 AM

735 posts

any 4s user pls feedback will be slow after up to 8.0 this time ? i still on 5.1.1
dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 01:26 AM

DnC
893 posts

61 minutes update using itunes lol
mr11
post Sep 18 2014, 01:27 AM

1,017 posts

here we go ~ 1.1gb for iphone5s
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:28 AM

3,657 posts

Downloading concurrently with iPad Air version. Huiyo the tedious process of updating and restore again.
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 01:30 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 18 2014, 01:28 AM)
Downloading concurrently with iPad Air version. Huiyo the tedious process of updating and restore again.
What's wrong?
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:31 AM

3,657 posts

I was using GM so need to restore with the final one. inb4 why restore when already using GM? Siri with Shazaam disabled in GM version
smallghost19
post Sep 18 2014, 01:32 AM

158 posts

Reminder: Always backup your device before begin the update or restore!!

iOS 8 Link to Download

Enjoy! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by smallghost19: Sep 18 2014, 01:33 AM
BroNz-
post Sep 18 2014, 01:33 AM

58 posts

Malaysia iPhone is GSM or CDMA?
smallghost19
post Sep 18 2014, 01:34 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(BroNz- @ Sep 18 2014, 01:33 AM)
Malaysia iPhone is GSM or CDMA?
GSM

BroNz-
post Sep 18 2014, 01:35 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(smallghost19 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:34 AM)
GSM
Thanks bro for the quick reply smile.gif
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:36 AM

3,657 posts

iphone 5s is GSM+CDMA
dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 01:36 AM

DnC
893 posts

guys, if i update using itunes.. i chose download and install automatically. after my phone installed ios8 it will restart right. will my alarm work when i didnt unlock my sim ? going to sleep lol
smallghost19
post Sep 18 2014, 01:40 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:36 AM)
guys, if i update using itunes.. i chose download and install automatically. after my phone installed ios8 it will restart right. will my alarm work when i didnt unlock my sim ? going to sleep lol
No..iPhone does not support this feature

phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 01:40 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:36 AM)
Better standby with other alarm clock or wait until it finish...

------

Preparing to update...see u soon...

This post has been edited by phyz: Sep 18 2014, 01:42 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 01:44 AM

3,657 posts

Done with iPhone. Restoring with iTunes. Now for iPad Air.

Axel95
post Sep 18 2014, 01:59 AM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

just woke up. its 6am now in NZ. 20mins remaining on iPhone 4s and 10 mins on iPad
ahaksz28
post Sep 18 2014, 02:27 AM

174 posts

LOL so fast. Mine is 5 hours. Wth. Probably their server.
xHj09
post Sep 18 2014, 02:37 AM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(ahaksz28 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:27 AM)
LOL so fast. Mine is 5 hours. Wth. Probably their server.
use direct link instead, it's faster. started less than 5 mins ago now 20% already biggrin.gif
rafael11
post Sep 18 2014, 02:46 AM

30 posts

upgrading.. iphone5, iPhone5,2_8.0_12A365_Restore
koba76
post Sep 18 2014, 02:49 AM

411 posts

Not so smooth on ipad mini first gen...tomorrow will try on ip5s...
rafael11
post Sep 18 2014, 02:53 AM

30 posts

upgrade done, restoring my backup now smile.gif
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 02:54 AM

3,911 posts

gsm or cdma ??????
rafael11
post Sep 18 2014, 02:55 AM

30 posts

my maxis iphone5 is this iPhone 5 (CDMA) file : iPhone5,2_8.0_12A365_Restore
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 03:05 AM

3,911 posts

which one (GSM) or (CDMA) ?
ahaksz28
post Sep 18 2014, 03:06 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:37 AM)
use direct link instead, it's faster. started less than 5 mins ago now 20% already  biggrin.gif
Suddenly it was ready to install. Now installing.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 03:05 AM)
which one (GSM) or (CDMA) ?
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3939?viewloc...US&locale=en_US
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 03:08 AM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(ahaksz28 @ Sep 18 2014, 03:06 AM)
Suddenly it was ready to install. Now installing.. biggrin.gif
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3939?viewloc...US&locale=en_US
so which one for iphone 5s ?

ahaksz28
post Sep 18 2014, 03:14 AM

174 posts

^Model number on the back cover:

A1533 or A1457 or A1530: iPhone 5s (GSM model)
A1533 or A1453: iPhone 5s (CDMA model)
A1518 or A1528 or A1530: iPhone 5s (GSM model China)
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 03:18 AM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(ahaksz28 @ Sep 18 2014, 03:14 AM)
^Model number on the back cover:

A1533 or A1457 or A1530: iPhone 5s (GSM model)
A1533 or A1453: iPhone 5s (CDMA model)
A1518 or A1528 or A1530: iPhone 5s (GSM model China)
mine iphone 5s malaysia set
rafael11
post Sep 18 2014, 03:25 AM

30 posts

no worries, if wrong, it wont allow you to ugprade biggrin.gif whistling.gif
chronous
post Sep 18 2014, 04:32 AM

1,145 posts

Updated to IOS 8. Slight slowness noted on my ip5. shakehead.gif
busyman
post Sep 18 2014, 04:53 AM

1,465 posts

anyone using iOS 8 on iPhone 4S ?

Need some update regarding how is the performance smile.gif

TQ
xHj09
post Sep 18 2014, 04:56 AM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Sep 18 2014, 04:32 AM)
Updated to IOS 8. Slight slowness noted on my ip5.  shakehead.gif
no difference for me hmm.gif

tested on 5 and iPad Air, both running smoothly.
loqqis
post Sep 18 2014, 05:26 AM

22 posts

Anyone tried on iphone 5 32gb yet?
yayiyu99
post Sep 18 2014, 05:47 AM

958 posts

Updated to IOS8. From downloading to installing less than 1 hour. Using unifi. Installing takes longer than downloading.
KrankZ
post Sep 18 2014, 06:01 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Sep 18 2014, 06:47 AM)
Updated to IOS8. From downloading to installing less than 1 hour. Using unifi. Installing takes longer than downloading.
Yup me too less than an hour
MichaelJohn
post Sep 18 2014, 07:11 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(loqqis @ Sep 18 2014, 05:26 AM)
Anyone tried on iphone 5 32gb yet?
Updating now as we speak.

Will give you the verdict later icon_rolleyes.gif
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 07:23 AM

2,092 posts

Downloading for my ip 5s 32gb now.....will give you guys the update shortly. Unifi seems fast today haha
loqqis
post Sep 18 2014, 07:35 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Sep 18 2014, 07:11 AM)
Updating now as we speak.

Will give you the verdict later  icon_rolleyes.gif
thumbup.gif nais bro!
ISFJ
post Sep 18 2014, 07:48 AM

258 posts

Updated to iOS8 on iPhone 5. So far so good! smile.gif
MichaelJohn
post Sep 18 2014, 07:54 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(loqqis @ Sep 18 2014, 07:35 AM)
:thumbs: nais bro!
Finished with the update.

Everything looks smooth, some slowness (probably just me) while typing but it's not really that noticeable.
Lynixx
post Sep 18 2014, 07:56 AM

Gooner
1,916 posts

sometimes lag will happen after updating,try restart your device and see.
rhoyo
post Sep 18 2014, 07:57 AM

-
2,800 posts

is it ok to update iphone 4s with this ios 7 .. i sked later all my apps have download back
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 08:02 AM

2,092 posts

My 5s running smoothly with all apps, plus love the wallpaper very much!

took me about 30 minutes to complete all.

Now updating my ipad haha
loqqis
post Sep 18 2014, 08:03 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Sep 18 2014, 07:54 AM)
Finished with the update.

Everything looks smooth, some slowness (probably just me) while typing but it's not really that noticeable.
do u try other apps like whatsapp ?
is it lag?
kelvin
post Sep 18 2014, 08:04 AM

467 posts

Why my 5C and ipad mini no OTA upgrade ti iOS8 ?? Last time when I upgrade to any iOS, I am using OTA to save the trouble of backup/restore. But iOS 8 I can't find the "Download and Install" text. Any one facing the same problem ??

This post has been edited by kelvin: Sep 18 2014, 08:29 AM
hackinz
post Sep 18 2014, 08:09 AM

135 posts

IOS 8 is not a major redesign of the os. But have been updating both apple hardwears and softwares religiously. Damn apple products.

Feeling the excitement of my IPad Air and IPhone 5S Ios 8 update now. 50% to completion.

This post has been edited by hackinz: Sep 18 2014, 08:10 AM
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 08:11 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ Sep 18 2014, 09:09 AM)
IOS 8 is not a major redesign of the os. But have been updating both apple hardwears and softwares religiously. Damn apple products.

Feeling the excitement of my IPad Air and IPhone 5S Ios 8 update now. 50% to completion.
Haha tell me all about it.....doesn't it make you fee so good....
sirzedi
post Sep 18 2014, 08:15 AM

273 posts

meanwhile..Apple also released update for os x mavericks 10.9.5 this morning..
haish..so many to update tongue.gif
-speedz-
post Sep 18 2014, 08:16 AM

169 posts

regional settings got an update too. English can be used in the Malaysia region settings.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 08:28 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Updated liau at 1.05am today. Woke up around 4am and installed.
Then tidur balik and at 7am, sudah settle..
So far like ntg much like tat.. Haha
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 08:31 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Btw, need to clear up at least 4.6GB for IOS 8.
16GB user will be suffering.. brows.gif
Hence backup and delete useless junk dulu sebelum update icon_rolleyes.gif
andcorps
post Sep 18 2014, 08:31 AM

252 posts

downloading the update but still contemplating whether want to update or not...
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 08:32 AM

513 posts

I tried swiftkey. So hard to use la. Haha
facktura
post Sep 18 2014, 08:32 AM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 18 2014, 08:31 AM)
16GB user will be suffering..  brows.gif
Hence backup and delete useless junk dulu sebelum update  icon_rolleyes.gif
just plug in your ipong into computer and update via iTunes.
#ProblemSolved
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 08:33 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:31 AM)
16GB user will be suffering..  brows.gif
Hence backup and delete useless junk dulu sebelum update  icon_rolleyes.gif
That is why you need to buy a bigger space phone to avoid all this issue. Mine is 32 and I still think its not enough for me haha

Better buy Iphone 6 with 64GB
ahaksz28
post Sep 18 2014, 08:40 AM

174 posts

I have two complains. tongue.gif

Sometimes the notification banner can't be dismissed.
Changing between default keyboard to third party keyboard is quite slow.

MichaelJohn
post Sep 18 2014, 08:49 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(loqqis @ Sep 18 2014, 08:03 AM)
do u try other apps like whatsapp ?
is it lag?
Yup, must be me only. WhatsApp seems smooth.
More updates are gettin released for some apps today.
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 08:50 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ahaksz28 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:40 AM)
I have two complains. tongue.gif

Sometimes the notification banner can't be dismissed.
Changing between default keyboard to third party keyboard is quite slow.
Can you please explain more in the banner?
Hahah why at the first place you need a third party keyboard while Apple furnished you with their beautiful keyboard? haha
BroNz-
post Sep 18 2014, 08:53 AM

58 posts

Guys any different between set up as new phone and restore from itunes backup if wanna do a clean install of ios 8?
dino89
post Sep 18 2014, 08:59 AM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 08:50 AM)
Hahah why at the first place you need a third party keyboard while Apple furnished you with their beautiful keyboard? haha
Bcos want to use keyboards like Popkey ma tongue.gif
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 09:02 AM

3,911 posts

I tried iphone 5s GSM kenot work

Need cdma is it?
yisien
post Sep 18 2014, 09:08 AM

400 posts

anyone try Swype already?
wwoosy
post Sep 18 2014, 09:12 AM

508 posts

Will this 8.0 update burden my iPad 2?
Is it worth the update from 7.1.2, coz I feel this version is lagging in the App Store.
Please advise.
ahaksz28
post Sep 18 2014, 09:13 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 08:50 AM)
On the banner, usually you can dismiss it by swipe it up. I can't do that at times. Not sure why. The behaviour is inconsistent.

On the keyboard, I don't really used the third party keyboard. Just want to 'test drive' this new feature. tongue.gif

Gonna test other new features tomorrow. thumbup.gif
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 09:14 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(BroNz- @ Sep 18 2014, 09:53 AM)
Guys any different between set up as new phone and restore from itunes backup if wanna do a clean install of ios 8?
Setup as new phone means it will wipe out everything in the phone and reset to factory setting, in other meaning is a new phone exactly the first day you buy.

Restore from iTunes means put back the backup data into your phone after the installation.

Yes, you can. Backup the data, download and install ios 8, set up as a new phone and later you can restore it back the back up or you can choose not to as well (use it as like a new phone).
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 09:17 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

downloading now~~~ 10 minute left to finish download ... wanted to use swype keyboard badly. My top 1 keyboard on android device
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 09:18 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Anyone can let me know how Icloud drive for window?
It spose to work like dropbox and as I read on apple website it stated: To upload your files to iCloud, simply drag them into the iCloud Drive folder on your Mac running OS X Yosemite or PC running Windows 7 or later.

How and where I can drag my document and drop to icloud drive folder in window? I cant seems to find anywhere
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 09:18 AM

513 posts

Anyone already try the Continuity features to make & received call/sms on iPad?
I cannot make the call, it said have to be in same wifi network. But i already in the same wifi network! rclxub.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 09:19 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 18 2014, 09:08 AM)
anyone try Swype already?
Have to buy apps rite? I saw it cost $1.99 ohmy.gif
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 09:19 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:19 AM)
Have to buy apps rite? I saw it cost $1.99  ohmy.gif
It cost 0.99 .. not 1.99 lol
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 09:22 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Sep 18 2014, 10:18 AM)
Anyone already try the Continuity features to make & received call/sms on iPad?
I cannot make the call, it said have to be in same wifi network. But i already in the same wifi network!  rclxub.gif
Mine work flawlessly ...try restart and try again....and update here
johnny82
post Sep 18 2014, 09:30 AM

831 posts

i just updated my iphone 5 to ios8 this morning
nothing special to be honest
feel that the keyboard autocorrect not working that well
and it has this annoying recent list when u try multitask
other than that.. not much to report yet
i guess this ios they were focusing more on the interaction between iphone,imac,ipad..
llsphinxll
post Sep 18 2014, 09:36 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:30 AM)
i just updated my iphone 5 to ios8  this morning
nothing special to be honest
feel that the keyboard autocorrect not working that well
and it has this annoying recent list when u try multitask
other than that.. not much to report yet
i guess this ios they were focusing more on the interaction between iphone,imac,ipad..
relax. not everything will b obvious instantly. you will slowly start to see the things that they improved.
updating mine now. 15mins to go. icon_rolleyes.gif
yisien
post Sep 18 2014, 09:41 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(BlackKiraEW @ Sep 18 2014, 09:17 AM)
downloading now~~~ 10 minute left to finish download ... wanted to use swype keyboard badly. My top 1 keyboard on android device
you bought the Swype in ios already? how is it? drool.gif
dannygeni
post Sep 18 2014, 09:43 AM

1,804 posts

Wah. iPad. 1.3gb need download
skyfusion
post Sep 18 2014, 09:45 AM

274 posts

any of u try swiftkey? i think same feature like swipe only that its free
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 09:53 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

finish installing...now in apple logo mode....

do we need to reset setting after installing ios8?
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 09:54 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Sep 18 2014, 10:43 AM)
Wah. iPad. 1.3gb need download
Mine is 1.80 haha.....
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 09:54 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:53 AM)
finish installing...now in apple logo mode....

do we need to reset setting after installing ios8?
No setting required to reset after installation.
Xander-G
post Sep 18 2014, 09:55 AM

316 posts

Android clearly have those features long time ago so stop telling Apple fans that. Power is nothing without control and that is iOS is all about. Smartphone OS being used billions of people which also means possible of million OS threats as well. Android famous for launching new features like Widget and all once before. But everything like to be in Beta and unstable while iOS usually come late to the game because of full R&D of certain feature or product have to be made. A real winner is to have a stable OS and not new Beta features everytime. So when ur phone is lag, u know its time to change.
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 09:56 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 18 2014, 09:41 AM)
you bought the Swype in ios already? how is it?  drool.gif
Very good for me, as I already biasa using starting from android.
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 09:56 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:54 AM)
No setting required to reset after installation.
thanks..now still in apple logo .....vy vy slow..5min liao...baru half hmm.gif
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 09:57 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:54 AM)
Mine is 1.80 haha.....
how come mine is only 1.1gb?
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 09:58 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:22 AM)
Mine work flawlessly ...try restart and try again....and update here
Still can't. I think my office wifi got problem.
Cyber_shot8
post Sep 18 2014, 10:01 AM

115 posts

OIS 8 support for Iphone 4 or not??

not fair.... OIS 8 support for Ipad 2 but not for Iphone 4..
cry.gif

This post has been edited by Cyber_shot8: Sep 18 2014, 10:05 AM
wwoosy
post Sep 18 2014, 10:07 AM

508 posts

Is it advisable to upgrade my iPad 2 (32GB / iOS 7.1.2) to iOS 8 ?
adriankhoo153

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Cyber_shot8 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:01 AM)

cry.gif
Nope... Even with Ip5 there is some tiny lag.
I dun think u would want to upgrade if u are able to. shakehead.gif
dannygeni

1,804 posts

now only notice need 6.9gb free space. zzzzz . need delete many songs
fluotone
post Sep 18 2014, 10:14 AM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

QUOTE(wwoosy @ Sep 18 2014, 10:07 AM)
Is it advisable to upgrade my iPad 2 (32GB / iOS 7.1.2) to iOS 8 ?
I am also wondering the same.. will my ipad2 became sluggish on this ios8 update? anyone updated yet? unsure.gif

dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 10:17 AM

DnC
893 posts

why is my old photos now inside any photo album ? i only saw "Recently Added"

*do not have Camera roll album anymore

This post has been edited by dannykhoo17: Sep 18 2014, 10:19 AM
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 10:19 AM

334 posts

Which one better?Upgrade using ipsw or OTA?Does flashing with ipsw will replace existing os version or eat up more storage like OTA does?

So far seems like ok running 8 on Ipad 3 & Ipad Mini...now preparing update for 5s...
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 10:19 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

cry.gif
Only for iphone 4s and above =x
Hawaiiii
post Sep 18 2014, 10:21 AM

687 posts

:cry:
iPhone 4 is only A4 procs single core sure hard to support, like u use pentium 4 run windows 8 lol
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 10:21 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

cry.gif
no support..max is 4s only
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 18 2014, 10:22 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(BlackKiraEW @ Sep 18 2014, 10:19 AM)
Only for iphone 4s and above =x
iPhone 4S upgrade to iOS8 is strictly NOT advisable.

According to reports:

"Think twice before updating your rusty old iPhone 4s to the just-released iOS 8 because Apple’s feature-packed upgrade makes its handset run most tasks about two times (or more) slower.

iOS 8 will slow down common tasks on the handset, including approximately two times slower launching of stock apps, almost three seconds longer booting and more, ArsTechnica reported Wednesday.

In addition to the performance hit, the three-year-old handset is incompatible with certain hardware-dependent iOS 8 features such as Handoff, AirDrop, the OpenGL ES 3.0 and Metal graphics run-time and more."
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 10:22 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

install liao......
so many apps cannot delete?
TIPS apps how to delete ?
podcasts?? what da heck is that?
ibooks? i dun need that
health? i dun need this apps too

the bottom scroll up screen macam abit ugly
the top scroll up screen only got 2....today and notification nia?

can i remove the recent after i double tap my home screen??
why assertive touch there need to put control center when i can easily pull it up...aiseh....dun like this

overall performance seems fast and more responsive compare to ios7
but open up folder macam abit slow??
LeonTan
post Sep 18 2014, 10:24 AM

**SHINE**
2,157 posts

I am using iPhone 5C, hopefully wont lag cry.gif
zuhaili87
post Sep 18 2014, 10:24 AM

2,094 posts

Updated my iPad mini retina OTA, super smooth and lovin the iOS8. I got 11GB free space after updated. Not too bad. (Previously was 11.7GB on 7.1.2 iinm) smile.gif currently still on 7.1.2 on my 5s, still need the jailbreak. biggrin.gif
outsiders_86
post Sep 18 2014, 10:26 AM

198 posts

Upgraded the iOS 8 in my iphone5, the phone become slower. Sigh!
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 10:27 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

many game crash , brave frontier crash
SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 10:37 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:17 AM)
Same here. All previous photos are under collection
dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 10:38 AM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:37 AM)
Same here. All previous photos are under collection
can't send old image to whatsapp already. since old photos not inside any albums.. sigh
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 10:43 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Health ntg much can be done yet.
Need to wait until 3rd party developer to update or wait Apple Watch
SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 10:44 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:38 AM)
can't send old image to whatsapp already. since old photos not inside any albums.. sigh
Hopefully they will fix
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 10:50 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

battery macam not ok aje
MrOne
post Sep 18 2014, 10:51 AM

276 posts

anyone try update on Iphone 4S?? LAg or not ?
yisien
post Sep 18 2014, 10:51 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:17 AM)
very confused with the new photo apps.
matkim
post Sep 18 2014, 10:52 AM

iFag
711 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:50 AM)
battery macam not ok aje
battery drain alot?
blissandecstasy
post Sep 18 2014, 10:53 AM

208 posts

45mins to go. lel.
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 10:57 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

finally both front and back camera got timer!!!!
torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 10:58 AM

659 posts

battery seems better for mine. still on GM version thou
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 11:01 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(matkim @ Sep 18 2014, 10:52 AM)
battery drain alot?
slightly bad compare to previous.....
SUSkc6012
post Sep 18 2014, 11:02 AM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

Anyway to get the photo album just instead just have recently added?
Gabriel Ng
post Sep 18 2014, 11:05 AM

70 posts

I've just updated this morning. biggrin.gif But don't have time to find out the difference and new features. The battery usage seems to be increased.
MichaelJohn
post Sep 18 2014, 11:20 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

I think can confirmed that on iOS 8, battery consumption is slightly worst, normally half a day with no usage at all it would end up around 92-/+ % , now reach 85% edi
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 11:23 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Sep 18 2014, 11:20 AM)
I think can confirmed that on iOS 8, battery consumption is slightly worst, normally half a day with no usage at all it would end up around 92-/+ % , now reach 85% edi
i agree with u

BTW , timer cam is good...finally the wait is over
this is useful

how to get starbuck logo there??
torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 11:28 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:23 AM)
how to get starbuck logo there??
it will appear when you're nearby starbucks
Xefron
post Sep 18 2014, 11:30 AM

2,507 posts

iPad Mini on iOS 8 is smooth... but not sure about my IP4S >< need to do backup and clean install after working later.
Gabriel Ng
post Sep 18 2014, 11:31 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Sep 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
it will appear when you're nearby starbucks
Why? What is its purpose?
Boykidz93
post Sep 18 2014, 11:34 AM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

mad.gif mad.gif
5S become slightly slow mad.gif
dino89
post Sep 18 2014, 11:35 AM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:34 AM)
mad.gif  mad.gif
5S become slightly slow  mad.gif
iP5s bcome slightly slow, then ip5 gg la sweat.gif
torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 11:37 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel Ng @ Sep 18 2014, 11:31 AM)
Why? What is its purpose?
quick access to apps based location
sos
LeonTan
post Sep 18 2014, 11:38 AM

**SHINE**
2,157 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:35 AM)
iP5s bcome slightly slow, then ip5 gg la sweat.gif
ya lo, I am using 5C sure lagi gg doh.gif
neverknowgirl
post Sep 18 2014, 11:38 AM

2,060 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:34 AM)
mad.gif  mad.gif
5S become slightly slow  mad.gif
contrary w mine
even my friend claims my ip5s iOS 8 smoother than her ip5s iOS 7
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 11:39 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

somehow ios 8 do suck battery much more faster than ios 7. One and a half hour standby now already 90% jor
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 11:40 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(BlackKiraEW @ Sep 18 2014, 12:39 PM)
somehow ios 8 do suck battery much more faster than ios 7. One and a half hour standby now already 90% jor
Try to check your notification setting and location.....they might be somehow turned on automatically

fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 11:41 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Sep 18 2014, 11:38 AM)
contrary w mine
even my friend claims my ip5s iOS 8 smoother than her ip5s iOS 7
Yes, my 5s is now slightly faster and smoother than iOS7.
neverknowgirl
post Sep 18 2014, 11:44 AM

2,060 posts

i need to reboot my ip to stop it from overheat and battery drain
after that seems ok
very hot and battery drain from 50 to 25 in less than 10 minutes

try reboot guys
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 11:45 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:40 AM)
Try to check your notification setting and location.....they might be somehow turned on automatically
I guess is the location who doing the job, I try to turn off now and see how later on. hmm.gif
dannygeni
post Sep 18 2014, 11:45 AM

1,804 posts

some apps running in background. let it run all. like updating icloud drive
nanamizuki
post Sep 18 2014, 11:50 AM

~Safe And Sound~
1,152 posts

Actually every iOS update also people tell sucks more battery...but the truth is after updating you keep on use it and discover the new features sweat.gif its not that it drains more battery is you keep on noticing it by waking up ur phone wink.gif Mine still perfect with 5 hours of usage. Get over it people
Xander-G
post Sep 18 2014, 11:54 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 18 2014, 09:41 AM)
you bought the Swype in ios already? how is it?  drool.gif
just feel like swyping the screen left to right and up to down kindda dirty from oily and dirt screen. Dont you think so?
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 11:56 AM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(Xander-G @ Sep 18 2014, 11:54 AM)
just feel like swyping the screen left to right and up to down kindda dirty from oily and dirt screen. Dont you think so?
I don't have this problem tongue.gif It's convenient for me to use in one hand to type.
Gabriel Ng
post Sep 18 2014, 11:56 AM

70 posts

How does the health app work? smile.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 11:57 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel Ng @ Sep 18 2014, 11:56 AM)
Ntg for now. Need to wait 3rd party device etc or apple watch
Gabriel Ng
post Sep 18 2014, 12:01 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:57 PM)
So it won't work for now?
Susuwatari
post Sep 18 2014, 12:05 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel Ng @ Sep 18 2014, 12:01 PM)
Healthkit compatible apps are pulled due to last minute problem on Apple side, will be available only at the end of month.
For those feeling slow, please leave your devices idle for a while after update, every OS needs to do indexing and other stuff at the background on major upgrades.
iAlien
post Sep 18 2014, 12:15 PM

Interior Designer
1,043 posts

guys, i found out inside photo app, we can edit more feature now!!
gengstapo
post Sep 18 2014, 12:19 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

Cn jailbreak the iOS 8??
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 12:27 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 18 2014, 01:19 PM)
Cn jailbreak the iOS 8??
Yes you can but have to wait.
piscesguy
post Sep 18 2014, 12:35 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

it seems no download indicator progress. :(
Hawaiiii
post Sep 18 2014, 12:39 PM

687 posts

Clean restore better? Or ota is better?
keropi88
post Sep 18 2014, 12:39 PM

292 posts

The health app is so disappointing . It's just a health logbook and need third party data input. Why do u need that when the iPhone (including iPhone 6) already got the sophisticated GPS, accelerometer and barometer etc . The phone is capable of recording the distance the steps the speed on itself .
Lynixx
post Sep 18 2014, 12:55 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

why ipad does not have health app? or is just me only?
torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 01:01 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 18 2014, 11:41 AM)
Yes, my 5s is now slightly faster and smoother than iOS7.
same here. but the facebook app when scroll fast thru the timeline seems to be juddering abit.
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 01:03 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 18 2014, 01:55 PM)
why ipad does not have health app? or is just me only?
Mine doesn't have it too....I think it's only for Iphone
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 01:07 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:03 PM)
TIM COOK think that no people in this world will bring IPAD for jogging thumbup.gif
you wank jogging with health app please get an iPhone 4s above then...

This post has been edited by austinchua: Sep 18 2014, 01:08 PM
Gabriel Ng
post Sep 18 2014, 01:08 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 18 2014, 12:03 AM)
It's not weird. Because heath app should be on devices that you can take with you when you're working out. You can use your ipad to track your run. hmm.gif
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 01:21 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(austinchua @ Sep 18 2014, 02:07 PM)
TIM COOK think that no people in this world will bring IPAD for jogging  thumbup.gif
you wank jogging with health app please get an iPhone 4s above then...
Hahah exactly!
Axel95
post Sep 18 2014, 01:21 PM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

my 4s is running fine so far. App startup has noticeable lag, about 1~2s, sometimes a little more depending on the application. feeling kinda disappointed with the missing handoff feature :/ makes me more excited about iPhone 6 biggrin.gif

+ Handoff isn't compatible with MacBooks before mid-2012
koba76
post Sep 18 2014, 01:27 PM

411 posts

Any Whatsapp problem with ios8? Just want to know b4 update..
Axel95
post Sep 18 2014, 01:32 PM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

QUOTE(koba76 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:27 PM)
startup slow on my 4s
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 01:32 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(koba76 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:27 PM)
Nope, whatsapp is just working fine but iOS 8 icloud will not backup your chat data. Is not ready yet....there will be a new release of update from whatsapp
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 01:52 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

Anyone faces problem on their Line app after update to iOS8? Mine is iPhone 4s
red.mosquitos
post Sep 18 2014, 01:54 PM

46 posts

Updated my during early morning. At first its drain my battery, then I checked the location setting it always on for foursquare app. Turned it off than the battery working fine.

IOS 8 feel different in my 5s. I love it in 2 reason, faster response without lagging and more response touch ID. Others such as easy access to reply email and sms are another cool features.
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 01:59 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 18 2014, 10:22 AM)
iPhone 4S upgrade to iOS8 is strictly NOT advisable.

According to reports:

"Think twice before updating your rusty old iPhone 4s to the just-released iOS 8 because Apple’s feature-packed upgrade makes its handset run most tasks about two times (or more) slower.

iOS 8 will slow down common tasks on the handset, including approximately two times slower launching of stock apps, almost three seconds longer booting and more, ArsTechnica reported Wednesday.

In addition to the performance hit, the three-year-old handset is incompatible with certain hardware-dependent iOS 8 features such as Handoff, AirDrop, the OpenGL ES 3.0 and Metal graphics run-time and more."
Me myself using iPhone4s and just upgraded to ios8 this morning. So far everything works fine and no laggy.. Just line app crash

torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 02:07 PM

659 posts

Instagram load pictures way faster too after the new update.
SUSM4A1
post Sep 18 2014, 02:07 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

i love the new still wallpaper
the black background with purple flower....fuuu so cool ~!
Pat89
post Sep 18 2014, 02:08 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:59 PM)
Me myself using iPhone4s and just upgraded to ios8 this morning. So far everything works fine and no laggy.. Just line app crash
well, it's more depends on the space available in the iphone 4s actually.

If let's say your phone is 16GB and you have space about 6GB, 5GB took by iOS8 for installation and you only left with 1GB space. That is what make the phone slow down actually, in this case, you might wanted to remove or delete some of the unuse apps to have a more bigger space.

In your case, I believe you phone still have plenty of space which it can support the operating system to run smoothly, but for the line apps crashing, it might because of the bugs issue. Wait for the update on fixing the bugs so that you can use it like normal apps.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 02:18 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:07 PM)
i love the new still wallpaper
the black background with purple flower....fuuu so cool ~!
I like the space milky star one.. Nice wallpaper drool.gif
I bet it will look even better on my Ip6+ laugh.gif

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 18 2014, 02:19 PM
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 02:23 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:59 PM)
Line app updated just now
matkim
post Sep 18 2014, 02:34 PM

iFag
711 posts

new control center look ugly for me
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 02:53 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(BlackKiraEW @ Sep 18 2014, 09:19 AM)
It cost 0.99 .. not 1.99 lol
why don't download SwiftKey app for free ? why need to pay 0.99 ?
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 02:58 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

IOS 8 hidden new function:

http://www.macrumors.com/roundup/ios-8-features/

adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 02:59 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(matkim @ Sep 18 2014, 02:34 PM)
new control center look ugly for me
Couldn't agreed more. Damn ugly doh.gif
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 03:08 PM

AustinChoo
528 posts

QUOTE(austinchua @ Sep 18 2014, 02:53 PM)
why don't download SwiftKey app for free ? why need to pay 0.99 ?
I like how how swype keyboard work. I have used alot keyboard before when I'm on android devices. Still swype suit me best. thumbup.gif
imiziq
post Sep 18 2014, 03:13 PM

58 posts

Guys,

Minimum storage space is 5.8Gb require by ios8 to install. But the size of the ios itself is around 1.8Gb only. The question is upon completing installation will it take 5.8gb or 1.8gb? I find its hard to clear space for this huge amount on both my ipad mini and iphone 5s 16gb
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 03:18 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(imiziq @ Sep 18 2014, 03:13 PM)
Guys,

Minimum storage space is 5.8Gb require by ios8 to install. But the size of the ios itself is around 1.8Gb only. The question is upon completing installation will it take 5.8gb or 1.8gb? I find its hard to clear space for this huge amount on both my ipad mini and iphone 5s 16gb
bro use itunes to update to ios8, requires around 500MB only. if OTA need 5.8G free space.
imiziq
post Sep 18 2014, 03:20 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(austinchua @ Sep 18 2014, 03:18 PM)
bro use itunes to update to ios8, requires around 500MB only. if OTA need 5.8G free space.
I tried bro, but both device itunes detect can only download 7.0.X ios.. only OTA detect the new ios
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 03:21 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(imiziq @ Sep 18 2014, 03:20 PM)
I tried bro, but both device itunes detect can only download 7.0.X ios.. only OTA detect the new ios
then try to backup your device to itunes ..so no need to delete your app/song/photo to get the 5.8G
The ios not require so much for space smile.gif not worry ...u still can restore back using itunes after upgrade.

This post has been edited by austinchua: Sep 18 2014, 03:22 PM
chewlf
post Sep 18 2014, 03:21 PM

1,217 posts

You itune has latest version?
BlackKiraEW
post Sep 18 2014, 03:33 PM

AustinChoo
528 posts

Update your itune into new version. Mine I only need 1.1gb free space
imiziq
post Sep 18 2014, 03:41 PM

58 posts

Thanks for the tip. I did check I was using the latest, so i try to restart the pc, the the itunes was able to push the ios 8. However, i think my office is blocking any downloads from apple since everytime itunes tried to contact apple server, it stops without any error

QUOTE(chewlf @ Sep 18 2014, 03:21 PM)
You itune has latest version?
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 03:45 PM

3,911 posts

currently im using 7.1.1

itunes prompt update for 7.1.2 only. how ?

just click restore or update to 7.1.2 first ?

i have done the backup
imiziq
post Sep 18 2014, 03:48 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 03:45 PM)
currently im using 7.1.1

itunes prompt update for 7.1.2 only. how ?

just click restore or update to 7.1.2 first ?

i have done the backup
update itunes. If you are using the latest, restart your pc. That was what i did
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 03:52 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(imiziq @ Sep 18 2014, 03:48 PM)
update itunes. If you are using the latest, restart your pc. That was what i did
itunes latest version

iphone 5s firmware 7.1.1

itunes only prompt me for 7.1.2

click UPDATE or RESTORE in itunes ?

dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 03:56 PM

DnC
893 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 03:52 PM)
itunes latest version

iphone 5s firmware 7.1.1

itunes only prompt me for 7.1.2

click UPDATE or RESTORE in itunes ?
update to 7.1.2 first then. then only go for ios 8
futra
post Sep 18 2014, 03:58 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(austinchua @ Sep 18 2014, 03:18 PM)
500mb from 7.1.2 or from 7.0? I recently updated to 7.1.2, so i think should be around that 500mb right?
Mx-ZAi
post Sep 18 2014, 04:02 PM

272 posts

will iphone 5 be laggy after updating?? anyone updated already??
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 04:11 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Sep 18 2014, 03:56 PM)
update to 7.1.2 first then. then only go for ios 8
ok. click UPDATE it will update from 7.1.1 to 7.1.2.

after update then update to 8 ?
fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 04:13 PM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(Mx-ZAi @ Sep 18 2014, 04:02 PM)
will iphone 5 be laggy after updating?? anyone updated already??
GF is using 5 and updated to iOS8, quite smooth.
kw_cheah
post Sep 18 2014, 04:13 PM

54 posts

I can skip the 7.1.2 and upgraded from 7.1.1 to 8 via itune. Mine is on iPhone 5 and it's running smooth.

This post has been edited by kw_cheah: Sep 18 2014, 04:18 PM
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 04:17 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 18 2014, 04:13 PM)
I can skipped the 7.1.2 and upgraded from 7.1.1 to 8.
how ?

click RESTORE ?

or using ipsw file ?
kw_cheah
post Sep 18 2014, 04:21 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:17 PM)
how ?

click RESTORE ?

or using ipsw file ?
I don't know. The iTune just allow me to do that.
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 04:23 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 18 2014, 04:21 PM)
I don't know. The iTune just allow me to do that.
u click UPDATE or RESTORE ?
fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 04:24 PM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:23 PM)
Click the "Check for Update" button.
kw_cheah
post Sep 18 2014, 04:25 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:23 PM)
UPDATE.
vez
post Sep 18 2014, 04:28 PM

4,622 posts

have try swype, with bug

for example, when opening message tap on message box, it will bring up keyboard, at this point the keyboard will cover few recent message, have to use finger scroll to recent message again before start typing...

only happen in third party keyboard sad.gif
kw_cheah
post Sep 18 2014, 04:30 PM

54 posts

For most the case, when itune is launched and iDevice has been plugged in to your computer, the itune will automatically detect you iDevice current version and check if there is any new updated. You will be prompt with "Download and Install" or "Download Only". I always select "Download only" because I have to perform backup for my iDevice. After the new version has been downloaded completely, then only I click the "Update" button.
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 04:35 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 18 2014, 04:24 PM)
Click the "Check for Update" button.
currently, itunes prompt me either download only or download and update for ios 7.1.2

no CHECK FOR UPDATE button. only for UPDATE and RESTORE button.
gengstapo
post Sep 18 2014, 04:38 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 18 2014, 02:58 PM)
Got internal self timer for cams??
kw_cheah
post Sep 18 2014, 04:39 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 18 2014, 04:38 PM)
Got internal self timer for cams??
Yes.
gengstapo
post Sep 18 2014, 04:43 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 18 2014, 04:39 PM)
Yes.
Cool, no need to add 3rd party apps anymore
But I will update till it jailbroken later lol

Thx
fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 04:50 PM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 18 2014, 04:39 PM)
Yes.
Timer with 10 burst photos will be captured, which you can select the best photo(s) and discard the rest.

This post has been edited by fiqqq: Sep 18 2014, 04:50 PM
fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 04:51 PM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:35 PM)
currently, itunes prompt me either download only or download and update for ios 7.1.2

no CHECK FOR UPDATE button. only for UPDATE and RESTORE button.
Then click UPDATE.
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 04:56 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 18 2014, 04:51 PM)
Then click UPDATE.
after done update to 7.1.2, update to 8 ?

update= to latest version
restore= clear iphone to new

am i correct ?
fiqqq
post Sep 18 2014, 05:00 PM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:56 PM)

am i correct ?
If you have downloaded the IPSW file then click Restore with shift button to locate the IPSW file.

If you want to update to the latest version without external IPSW, then click UPDATE.

Keep on update until you get iOS 8.
Mx-ZAi
post Sep 18 2014, 05:03 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 18 2014, 04:13 PM)
GF is using 5 and updated to iOS8, quite smooth.
ok thanks for the reply!
johnny82
post Sep 18 2014, 05:05 PM

831 posts

haiya so many ppl blur here

1) if u dont have enough hdd space on ur phone, just update it using pc via itunes

2) if u wanna use OTA update, make sure u have 4-5gb available, even tho the update itself might be 1gb in size, the file will extract and expand when you install it.

3) ios 8 works fine on iphone 5. no lag

4) if u cant update to ios 8, dont worry. i think they're better off calling it ios 7.2 lol

sekian.
UntilUComeBack
post Sep 18 2014, 05:08 PM

HueHueHue
481 posts

i lazy to scroll 20pages.
5c can update or not.

koba76
post Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM

411 posts

Can la
austinchua
post Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(UntilUComeBack @ Sep 18 2014, 05:08 PM)
5c can update or not.
can bro
adriankhoo153
post Sep 18 2014, 05:11 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(UntilUComeBack @ Sep 18 2014, 05:08 PM)
5c can update or not.
Cannot.. Iphone 5c only can update to Kit Kat Jelly bean
Jizzz, seriously u can check at your phone leh.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 18 2014, 05:11 PM
gahkin
post Sep 18 2014, 05:19 PM

735 posts

i also lazy to scroll too , 4s can perfectly run this ios 8 ?

i still on 5.1.1 , not space already. which method is safe to let me update? by itunes shift-restore mode?
UntilUComeBack
post Sep 18 2014, 05:24 PM

HueHueHue
481 posts

QUOTE(koba76 @ Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM)
Can la
QUOTE(austinchua @ Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM)
can bro
thanks bro. and my 5c is 16gb.. so mcm better wait till 8.1
blstz
post Sep 18 2014, 05:28 PM

832 posts

anybody facing any problems getting weather update for "current location" from the native weather app? mine cant seem to update, just two dashes.

but if i add the weather location manually, i can see the data in for that location.

keropi88
post Sep 18 2014, 05:51 PM

292 posts

Alternatively u can move out all ur photos to ur PC , then upgrade OTA. After just sync back the photos lo. That's how I did it . Coz my itune counldnt get the ios 8 keep saying got problem with server
keropi88
post Sep 18 2014, 05:52 PM

292 posts

Btw I realise the yahoo got nice weather apps for notification widget . Is this one of the new features of iOS 8 ? That now the notification center got widget
TSC63 AMG
post Sep 18 2014, 06:00 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Sep 18 2014, 05:52 PM)
Btw I realise the yahoo got nice weather apps for notification widget . Is this one of the new features of iOS 8 ? That now the notification center got widget
You are right.
Widgets is a new feature to iOS8 which will appear in your NC.
keropi88
post Sep 18 2014, 06:04 PM

292 posts

But when I searxh in AppStore "widget" many many apps got widget shown in NC also. But I'm not sure whether those are updated version for iOS 8. It seems like those widget apps exist some time ady.

I got the yahoo weather apps from the apple recommended apps for iOS 8. Nice app ! Finally can see some thing different new in NC ady
shaniandras2787
post Sep 18 2014, 06:08 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 18 2014, 05:28 PM)
anybody facing any problems getting weather update for "current location" from the native weather app? mine cant seem to update, just two dashes.

but if i add the weather location manually, i can see the data in for that location.
so a soft reset (ie. Power + Home) and then when the phone restarts, run the native weather app. you'll be back to normal but make sure location service for weather is turned on.
frozzbyte
post Sep 18 2014, 06:18 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 04:56 PM)

am i correct ?
So already updated or still stuck?

What I would suggest, download the IPSW (GSM+CDMA for 5s) and then backup your phone. Done with backup, restore the phone. After done, itunes will ask to start new or restore from backup. Chose restore from backup. Wait and then you'll be done. Habis cerita
idoadore
post Sep 18 2014, 06:30 PM

Change for the ios 8...
LeonTan
post Sep 18 2014, 06:42 PM

**SHINE**
2,157 posts

I just update ios 8 for my 5C.

Have a bit lag blush.gif

Oh ya, wanna know the quick reply is for sms only?

Wechat and whatsapp no quick reply? sweat.gif
doolichan
post Sep 18 2014, 06:54 PM

79 posts

Guys off topic a bit
How's the performance for iPad mini on iOS 8?
Good?
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 07:01 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel Ng @ Sep 18 2014, 11:56 AM)
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:57 AM)
QUOTE(Gabriel Ng @ Sep 18 2014, 12:01 PM)
For now Health app can just measure your steps taken and walking/running distance (data taken from M7 co-processor I guess)
I hope apps like Jawbone Up and Strava can integrate their data into Health app, I use this 2 apps often.

This post has been edited by amoxacilin: Sep 18 2014, 07:04 PM
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 07:10 PM

3,911 posts

done update using ipsw file CDMA which i have downloaded this early morning

actually i forgot how to update. same as ios7.

monitoring ios8 performance in progress
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 07:30 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

QUOTE(doolichan @ Sep 18 2014, 06:54 PM)
Guys off topic a bit
How's the performance for iPad mini on iOS 8?
Good?
Updated my iPad mini retina display.. So far so good & smooth!
keropi88
post Sep 18 2014, 07:39 PM

292 posts

How to use the HealthKit ?
doolichan
post Sep 18 2014, 07:51 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Sep 18 2014, 08:30 PM)
Updated my iPad mini retina display.. So far so good & smooth!
yours is the 2nd gen
mine is the 1st gen, slower processor
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 07:55 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

QUOTE(doolichan @ Sep 18 2014, 07:51 PM)
yours is the 2nd gen
mine is the 1st gen, slower processor
Should no problem, bcos even my ip4s also updated.. Also as smooth like ios7
koba76
post Sep 18 2014, 07:56 PM

411 posts

Mine iPad mini first genOso not smooth...lagging😩

This post has been edited by koba76: Sep 18 2014, 07:56 PM
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 07:58 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

QUOTE(koba76 @ Sep 18 2014, 07:56 PM)
Mine iPad mini first genOso not smooth...lagging😩
Hmm.. Did u reboot after upgrade?
phyz
post Sep 18 2014, 08:00 PM

334 posts

my 1st gen ipad mini, seems smooth as well running on 7
blstz
post Sep 18 2014, 08:01 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 18 2014, 06:08 PM)
so a soft reset (ie. Power + Home) and then when the phone restarts, run the native weather app. you'll be back to normal but make sure location service for weather is turned on.
Thanks. I restarted a few times and it started working again. Maybe bad connection in the building.

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Sep 18 2014, 07:01 PM)
For now Health app can just measure your steps taken and walking/running distance (data taken from M7 co-processor I guess)
I hope apps like Jawbone Up and Strava can integrate their data into Health app, I use this 2 apps often.
How do you find these apps in terms of battery life usage? Im using Breeze by Runkeeper and although it says it uses the M7 processor, my battery usage for the app is about 24% (always at the top). Not sure whether it is normal or not.

Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 18 2014, 08:07 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

Tips:

Now u can see what is the apps that using most of the battery on your phone.

Setting - General - Usage - Battery Usage
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 08:10 PM

3,911 posts

msg/imsg can use the notification to reply

same goes to fb.

whatsapp? telegram? line? wechat ?
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 08:11 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 18 2014, 08:01 PM)
How do you find these apps in terms of battery life usage? Im using Breeze by Runkeeper and although it says it uses the M7 processor, my battery usage for the app is about 24% (always at the top). Not sure whether it is normal or not.
24%? That's quite high. My Jawbone app just used 8% as of now, but I think that is because it just use bluetooth to sync data from the band, not using the M7.
Yet to try Strava or Nike Running on iOS8. Will try it out later and see the battery usage.
andrewtho
post Sep 18 2014, 08:17 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I think Apple shouldn't include the Notification Centre and Control Centre option @ Assistive Touch. Why would they add a shortcut when we can just slide up or slide down from the screen.

Seriously hope they will remove it in the next update
me076310
post Sep 18 2014, 08:30 PM

615 posts

Lowyatians,

Did you guys manage to get spotlight suggestions working?
https://www.apple.com/ios/whats-new/spotlight/
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 08:34 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 18 2014, 08:17 PM)
I think Apple shouldn't include the Notification Centre and Control Centre option @ Assistive Touch. Why would they add a shortcut when we can just slide up or slide down from the screen.

Seriously hope they will remove it in the next update
Yeah. But I think Apple made that assistive touch for those who has physical/motor skills disability.
It is easier for them rather than swiping up or down. That's why assitive touch is located in Accesibility menu.
That's what I thought icon_rolleyes.gif
andrewtho
post Sep 18 2014, 08:42 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Sep 18 2014, 08:34 PM)
Yeah. But I think Apple made that assistive touch for those who has physical/motor skills disability.
It is easier for them rather than swiping up or down. That's why assitive touch is located in Accesibility menu.
That's what I thought  icon_rolleyes.gif
True but I believe many are using it to preserve the buttons. Many have phobia of a 'sunk' in power button, although I am using a 5s, I still have phobia of it myself though I know that it rarely happens anymore.
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 08:56 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 18 2014, 08:42 PM)
True but I believe many are using it to preserve the buttons. Many have phobia of a 'sunk' in power button, although I am using a 5s, I still have phobia of it myself though I know that it rarely happens anymore.
Haha. Yup, exactly. Me myself use the assistive touch to reduce the usage of home button.

meghamtaro
post Sep 18 2014, 09:00 PM

433 posts

anyone of you facing problem with your phone heating so of sudden when you're playing with your phone?
mrfarhatadib89
post Sep 18 2014, 09:05 PM

2,414 posts

i wonder how my ipad 2 will prfrm with ios8...
sugen
post Sep 18 2014, 09:14 PM

1,357 posts

List Of Best iOS 8 Keyboards, Including Swype, That You Should Try Right Now !
I personally tried TouchPal (free)

http://www.redmondpie.com/list-of-best-ios...-try-right-now/
lockheed90
post Sep 18 2014, 09:43 PM

272 posts

since update my FB becomes laggy like hell..what happened?already update to latest version
sugen
post Sep 18 2014, 09:49 PM

1,357 posts

yup it happened to me too.. iphone 5.. facebook open up.. waiting nothing happens... Could it be FB is not compatible with IOS 8.. I tried others app no issue..

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:43 PM)
since update my FB becomes laggy like hell..what happened?already update to latest version
psyduck89
post Sep 18 2014, 10:01 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

any idea ipad mini recommended to upgrade or not?
Xirality
post Sep 18 2014, 10:26 PM

12,176 posts

Which iPhone?
dino89
post Sep 18 2014, 10:27 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Mine more hebat. Before update, cant even open my facebook app. Keep crashing sweat.gif
lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 10:34 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:27 PM)
Mine more hebat. Before update, cant even open my facebook app. Keep crashing sweat.gif
update once, crash.

update twice, more crash.

now, the third update which for ios8. a bit better than the second one.

but when the fb apps open it doesnt load anything for few seconds then it will appeared.

now, apps store also the same. slow loading few seconds mad.gif
yisien
post Sep 18 2014, 10:35 PM

400 posts

Anyone of you encounter the something like this with whatsapp? for example you are sending some msg out but the msg show "clock" icon. Then you press home button and leave whatsapp. suddenly your notification tone ring and you dont see any new notification appears. is it the notification tone tell us that the msg change from "clock" to "tick"?
tutuyao
post Sep 18 2014, 10:37 PM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Sep 18 2014, 09:14 PM)
List Of Best iOS 8 Keyboards, Including Swype, That You Should Try Right Now !
I personally tried TouchPal (free)

http://www.redmondpie.com/list-of-best-ios...-try-right-now/
i was so used to Swype before I converted to Apple. Saw it this morning in App Store and I purchase the app straight away tongue.gif
norhisham
post Sep 18 2014, 10:43 PM

27 posts

Guys

Where can I find this file on me phone?
I want to transfer it to a usb pen drive.

lisahasan
post Sep 18 2014, 10:50 PM

3,911 posts

same goes to fb.

any reply ?
amoxacilin
post Sep 18 2014, 10:51 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Sep 18 2014, 10:50 PM)

same goes to fb.

any reply ?
Not yet i think. Have to wait those developers update their apps to support that features
M@r0R!
post Sep 18 2014, 10:53 PM

Like a Sir
1,702 posts

Anyone of you experiencing problem launching fb after updating to the new ios? Mine just doesnt run and the iPhone gets hot.
torreto
post Sep 18 2014, 11:01 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(norhisham @ Sep 18 2014, 10:43 PM)
Guys

You won't be able to find it. Just download the ipsw file and save it into your pen drive
sirzedi
post Sep 18 2014, 11:03 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(norhisham @ Sep 18 2014, 10:43 PM)
Guys

just install it from there..why do you need to transfer to usb drive? hmm.gif
dannykhoo17
post Sep 18 2014, 11:18 PM

DnC
893 posts

so many bugs.. waiting for the next update.
clamp_wl
post Sep 18 2014, 11:19 PM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

For older version, does the interface become smoother? Or still abit laggy similar to iOS 7
blissandecstasy
post Sep 18 2014, 11:27 PM

208 posts

Batt drain like crazy on ip5. Gahh!
koba76
post Sep 18 2014, 11:32 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Sep 18 2014, 07:58 PM)
Hmm.. Did u reboot after upgrade?
Yes i did that but still same..fb lag...safari lag..twitter lag..even after update app..nasib baik i x update my ip5s...i will wait untill ios8 stable..then i update my ip5s..:)
vez
post Sep 18 2014, 11:58 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(koba76 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:32 PM)
Yes i did that but still same..fb lag...safari lag..twitter lag..even after update app..nasib baik i x update my ip5s...i will wait untill ios8 stable..then i update my ip5s..smile.gif
lol, where got so serious, everything smooth in my 5S, looks your might be your phone problem... biggrin.gif
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 12:03 AM

click clacking
864 posts

yawn... 300MB to download... sien sien sien..
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 12:31 AM

click clacking
864 posts

Got it! Installing now!
matkim
post Sep 19 2014, 12:35 AM

iFag
711 posts

QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Sep 18 2014, 11:27 PM)
batt drain and most important, everything are noticeable lag even on phone call

apple shud fix this...

later ppl will call iLag...hahahahah
davidbilly87
post Sep 19 2014, 01:08 AM

513 posts

Ios8 damn lag when i typing on Google chrome ;@
sugen
post Sep 19 2014, 01:13 AM

1,357 posts

For me, the battery last longer compare to 7.1.2 on my iPhone 5
QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Sep 18 2014, 11:27 PM)
koba76
post Sep 19 2014, 02:05 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 18 2014, 11:58 PM)
lol, where got so serious, everything smooth in my 5S, looks your might be your phone problem... :D
I didnt update my ip5s yet..update my ipad mini 1st gen only...and its lag so bad...

This post has been edited by koba76: Sep 19 2014, 02:06 AM
Cabinda
post Sep 19 2014, 02:41 AM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

Its advise to update via PC..
phyz
post Sep 19 2014, 07:56 AM

334 posts

a day with ios 8 on 5s.Serius nothing got crashed by using safari,whatsapp etc and battery can stand up to 20hrs.Now 1% left to charge..

This post has been edited by phyz: Sep 19 2014, 07:57 AM
winkiedilwy
post Sep 19 2014, 08:02 AM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

seriously guys please allow few days to let the new firmware settle down la.

for battery drain try calibrating it.
Axel95
post Sep 19 2014, 08:12 AM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

some apps aren't updated for iOS8 yet. hence the lag for some apps
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 08:52 AM

click clacking
864 posts

5s user here. No lag at all.
But then, I didn't find any big deal with ios 8. Apple claimed its the biggest update but where?
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 09:10 AM

👀
541 posts

Luckily my 5s is running smooth without noticeable lag after its second device restart. The battery usage is slightly improved than iOS 7.1.2
sai86
post Sep 19 2014, 09:11 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 19 2014, 08:52 AM)
5s user here. No lag at all.
But then, I didn't find any big deal with ios 8. Apple claimed its the biggest update but where?
for this, i think it should suit the DEV more. as the metal API is indeed the biggest update in iOS.
for consumer atm, nth much compare to ios 6 jump to ios 7.

This post has been edited by sai86: Sep 19 2014, 09:32 AM
techdybear
post Sep 19 2014, 09:29 AM

209 posts

how much usable storage size after u guys update from ios 7 to 8?

16 gb version :
32 gb version :
64 gb version :
andrewtho
post Sep 19 2014, 09:30 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Sep 19 2014, 09:11 AM)
for this, i think it should suit the DEV more. as the metal API is indeed the biggest update in iOS.
for consumer atm, nth much compare to ios 6 to ios 7.
Yup, especially for 3rd party keyboards and notification centre widgets too
SUSM4A1
post Sep 19 2014, 09:36 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

safari want to open another tab but macam slow 1 second eh compare in ios7?
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 09:55 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 19 2014, 09:36 AM)
Mine is perfectly fine like before.
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 10:06 AM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 19 2014, 09:30 AM)
Yup, especially for 3rd party keyboards and notification centre widgets too
I dunno if I can trust 3rd party keyboard. What if they are also key logger?
Pat89
post Sep 19 2014, 10:11 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:36 AM)
I5 or I5s?

I5s running smoothly
SUSM4A1
post Sep 19 2014, 10:12 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:11 AM)
I5 or I5s?

I5s running smoothly

i wouldnt said it lag but macam slow abit respone after i touch open in new tab
kw_cheah
post Sep 19 2014, 10:13 AM

54 posts

The biggest update is not on the GUI, which has been done on ios7, but it is on the openness to third parties, the closer/tighter interaction between idevice (the handoff, continuity features).
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 10:19 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 19 2014, 10:06 AM)
We have the same thought, but if you get it directly from the App Store, it might be 99% safe. ROFL!

Macam Android we have those patched/pirated APK files.
hakim_radzuan
post Sep 19 2014, 10:21 AM

699 posts

I just update to ios8 yesterday. But one thing makes me feel weird with Photos. Last time it can display all photo but now only 'recently add' appear. How to make it display all photo like previously? A bit leceh to view year by year.

One more, if i wanna select pic in camera360 app also there was no all photo option.
me076310
post Sep 19 2014, 10:25 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Sep 18 2014, 08:30 PM)
Lowyatians,

Did you guys manage to get spotlight suggestions working?
https://www.apple.com/ios/whats-new/spotlight/
Anyone?
Pat89
post Sep 19 2014, 10:30 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Sep 19 2014, 11:12 AM)

i wouldnt said it lag but macam slow abit respone after i touch open in new tab
Try to restart your phone....it might help.....But I should say mine was running flawlessly
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 10:31 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:25 AM)
Anyone?
Mine is not working at all for Internet suggestions.
kw_cheah
post Sep 19 2014, 10:36 AM

54 posts

Me is on iphone 5 and it runs smooth on ios 8. Suggestion to re-check the settings for those who said it's lag or battery drain.

See all photos in Photo app, Recent Added > Photos (bottom left).
-speedz-
post Sep 19 2014, 10:46 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Sep 19 2014, 10:21 AM)
I just update to ios8 yesterday. But one thing makes me feel weird with Photos. Last time it can display all photo but now only 'recently add' appear. How to make it display all photo like previously? A bit leceh to view year by year.

One more, if i wanna select pic in camera360 app also there was no all photo option.
Camera Roll has been renamed to "Recently Added'. The rest of the albums are still there for me.
If you're viewing it year by year, does it mean you're choosing the photo icon at the bottom of the screen? The one which has "Photos", "Shared" and "Albums"?

I think not much changed with Photos. One feature that's good is that now the time and date of when a photo is captured is shown above the picture. Also cool is the category for "favourites" and "recently deleted".

-speedz-
post Sep 19 2014, 10:49 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:25 AM)
Anyone?
Says it's not available here. You mean there's a workaround?
https://www.apple.com/ios/feature-availabil...ght-suggestions
kw_cheah
post Sep 19 2014, 10:58 AM

54 posts

Does anyone know what all the settings in, Settings > Privacy > Location Services > System Services, for?
vez
post Sep 19 2014, 10:59 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 19 2014, 10:06 AM)
it will be remove by Apple if it has key logger lol

unless you use the one from *Cydia* maybe biggrin.gif
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 11:03 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 19 2014, 10:58 AM)
Does anyone know what all the settings in, Settings > Privacy > Location Services > System Services, for?
It's a iPhone location based tracking. More details here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5594
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 11:03 AM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Sep 19 2014, 10:58 AM)
these are Apple system services that require to access your location.
Cabinda
post Sep 19 2014, 11:08 AM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

How is it? Any different?
kw_cheah
post Sep 19 2014, 11:13 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 19 2014, 11:03 AM)
It's a iPhone location based tracking. More details here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5594
thx for the link. I have off all the items in there except Find My iPhone.
mudkipryan94
post Sep 19 2014, 11:24 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

new user reporting :D

and anyone faced Facetime bug ? :cry:

from used 16Gb iPad Mini WiFi :3

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Sep 19 2014, 11:24 AM
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 11:27 AM

click clacking
864 posts

What impressed me is that iOS 8 supports iPad 2(!!)
I have not tried it but damn, my 4 year old iPad 2 can run a new OS!
Pat89
post Sep 19 2014, 11:30 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 19 2014, 12:27 PM)
Hahaha, hope Ipad 2 can run smoothly! Mine Ipad 4 lagging......
fiqqq
post Sep 19 2014, 11:37 AM

👀
541 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Sep 19 2014, 11:24 AM)
new user reporting biggrin.gif

and anyone faced Facetime bug ? cry.gif

from used 16Gb iPad Mini WiFi :3
What is the bug(s) you faced?
SUSNicklly
post Sep 19 2014, 11:52 AM

523 posts

where can I download iOS 8 patch? I don't want download from phone because it require 5.7gb space (what for???!!) and I would like to format my iPhone 5s.. it's possible? I plugged in iTunes I saw got 2.2gb usage for other~_~
kw_cheah
post Sep 19 2014, 11:55 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 19 2014, 11:27 AM)
Handoff feature is not supported in iPad2.
Susuwatari
post Sep 19 2014, 11:57 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Sep 19 2014, 11:52 AM)
where can I download iOS 8 patch? I don't want download from phone because it require 5.7gb space (what for???!!) and I would like to format my iPhone 5s.. it's possible? I plugged in iTunes I saw got 2.2gb usage for other~_~
Update from iTunes. It's a major updates, probably largest ever since, the OTA download itself already 1g+.
mudkipryan94
post Sep 19 2014, 11:58 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(fiqqq @ Sep 19 2014, 11:37 AM)
What is the bug(s) you faced?
can't connect thru my friend :cry:
cry4freedom
post Sep 19 2014, 12:09 PM

The Only Exception
938 posts

I upgraded my iPad 2 to iOS8. Damn laggy and jittery. Upgrade was done over OTA. I'll do a justice by flashing iOS8 via iTunes first and test the performance again.

If it's still unbearable, I'll revert it back to 7.1.2 before Apple stop signing the firmware. And sell it in Garage Sale sad.gif
Sniperwolf1987
post Sep 19 2014, 12:40 PM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

Recommended to download 'Wdgts'' apps in Appstore for FREE.

You can customize below things to Notification Center.
- Photo frame
- Calculator
- Calendar
- Convert Currency
- Other country time-zone

blstz
post Sep 19 2014, 01:21 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Sep 18 2014, 08:11 PM)
24%? That's quite high. My Jawbone app just used 8% as of now, but I think that is because it just use bluetooth to sync data from the band, not using the M7.
Yet to try Strava or Nike Running on iOS8. Will try it out later and see the battery usage.
Are your "Steps" (pedometer) and "Walking + Running Distance" in the new Healthkit collecting data?
Mine was collecting data normally until it suddenly stopped at 5pm yesterday. Until now no new data.
My other pedometer app Breeze is working fine though.

fluotone
post Sep 19 2014, 01:32 PM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

waiting patiently for 8.1 or 8.0.1 once they release those fixes.. don't think I will upgrade soon after reading about all the problems laugh.gif
belfong
post Sep 19 2014, 01:50 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Sep 19 2014, 12:40 PM)
Recommended to download 'Wdgts'' apps in Appstore for FREE.

You can customize below things to Notification Center.
- Photo frame
- Calculator
- Calendar
- Convert Currency
- Other country time-zone
great tip!
hakim_radzuan
post Sep 19 2014, 02:07 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(-speedz- @ Sep 19 2014, 10:46 AM)
Camera Roll has been renamed to "Recently Added'. The rest of the albums are still there for me.
If you're viewing it year by year, does it mean you're choosing the photo icon at the bottom of the screen? The one which has "Photos", "Shared" and "Albums"?

I think not much changed with Photos. One feature that's good is that now the time and date of when a photo is captured is shown above the picture. Also cool is the category for "favourites" and "recently deleted".
Yup but in 'recently added' folder only display 522 pictures instead of 10k in my phone like previously in 'camera rolls' folder.
shinchan5347
post Sep 19 2014, 02:16 PM

1,675 posts

I want to update my 5s by using ipsw..which model should I choose for ipsw file is it gsm or gsm+CDMA?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1633sec    1.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:16 AM