144 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

myak9
post Aug 26 2013, 07:01 PM

where can i get a dahon curve d3...
I can't find any in penang xcept the limited edition kukuxumusu...

myak9
post Aug 26 2013, 07:04 PM

the $$$ for the kukuxumusu is way out of my budget...

ohh...I am new to foldie...and anyone facing any issue with the hinge...

mbax
post Aug 26 2013, 08:11 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 26 2013, 03:13 PM)
but i wanna try travelling with bike + ktm etc la, sounds very adventurous  tongue.gif
when is ur next ride bro?

if balik pulau, where do i start?  blush.gif
normally i park car opposite balik pulau hospital and cycle towards teluk bahang (jln air putih) turn in jalan baru then cycle towards pulau betong and back to the starting point.. sometime stop by to hae laksa... blush.gif

next ride? really dunno bro now a bit susah since my boy got his own ride he dont really want to sit at the child seat want to cycle by himself, so just cycle around apartment only.
theotheryun
post Aug 26 2013, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM)
Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike.

1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike?
2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K.
3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl.

many thanks!
im not a sifu so i can ony answer de ktm question tongue.gif
ktm all u need is a bag
mine cuz i can ony fold into two so its not so compact
like budgee said (thanx budgee tongue.gif )
so i "stroll" it so i just cover it all except the wheels
something like this

or like samo u just pack the whole bicycle into the bag n carry de bag
tongue.gif

QUOTE(Halia @ Aug 26 2013, 11:28 AM)
Got a question on "drive & cycle":  If you take your folding bike to places such as shopping centre to shop/window shopping, where can you park your bike safely? You can't carry it around with the carrying case, can you?  Do shopping centre has a storage renting service?  So what is the practice in this case.  Please share.  Cheers
if shoping centre i dont tink its posible.its either u carry the bag or park at motorcycle area?not so sure but if ur bike is slim like brompton or somting like thers a video of it in the thread b4 but i kinda lazy to search for it (my bad tongue.gif ) u can carry it n make it as a shoping trolley
but i dont tink its posible with normal folding bike
myb if 16" bike is posible
like samos pic n said seems like 16" is de best logistically
hehe tongue.gif

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 26 2013, 11:41 AM)
Can we change the chain guard to a better one without having to change the whole crankset? Mine seems to patah and bengkok a bit as it is plastic type. Perhaps a metal one will be better. The chain guard is to prevent the chain to drop out in case of sudden jump.
mine is plastic
dono if got metal one
usually this thingy i see on dj/dh bike
but then its ony in 30+ teeth crank so its kinda small
if got report here
i kinda want for it too
hehe tongue.gif

QUOTE(Robyn @ Aug 26 2013, 05:35 PM)
anyone here joining SAM this weekend Putra Jaya ride ?
sam can u myb xplain more bout it?
or anybody can xplain bout it or any links or somting?
if kena de time myb i can join oso tongue.gif

dis petang just now i go a light offroad cycling with a friend
just leisure cycling tongue.gif
to make amend for not going to frim yesterday
hehe

cheers
TSearl-ku
post Aug 26 2013, 11:05 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

You people totally forgot bout a lock... find a safe place lock wheels and body to metal railing... remove pedals with quick release if possible..

Get those cable locks bout 1 metre?
samosaurus
post Aug 27 2013, 12:07 AM

where can i get a dahon curve d3...
I can't find any in penang xcept the limited edition kukuxumusu...

That Kukuxumusu is getting really rare.. People buy it just for the frame..

Curve D3 is long gone.. Unless of you can find one listed on bicycle buy & sell in really good condition, you might want to snag it.

Sam
croomaniac
post Aug 27 2013, 06:40 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 26 2013, 06:10 PM)
It was shipped using usps ? or courier like dhl ups ?
If non courier kastam like to kacau.. courier the chances r less esp tru agent cos
They all got jalan... unless u bought tons off stuff or ur stuff very expensive..
DHL with express service (5 working days from US -> MY) whistling.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 07:48 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 26 2013, 11:05 PM)
You people totally forgot bout a lock... find a safe place lock wheels and body to metal railing... remove pedals with quick release if possible..

Get those cable locks bout 1 metre?
Lock not practical for folding bike as everything is QR. hence ppl can steal everything and left frame for only. Haha
H2D
post Aug 27 2013, 08:43 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Aug 27 2013, 06:40 AM)
DHL with express service (5 working days from US -> MY)  whistling.gif
shud buy 4d or toto lor then.... rclxms.gif
H2D
post Aug 27 2013, 08:50 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 27 2013, 07:48 AM)
Lock not practical for folding bike as everything is QR. hence ppl can steal everything and left frame for only. Haha
If u hv afew cable lock which is long enuf, ucan snake it around n oni d handle is not protected or lock aft fold ...biggrin.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 09:26 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Is it worth to upgrade crankset for Raleigh Ugo?
budgee
post Aug 27 2013, 09:41 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 27 2013, 08:50 AM)
If u hv afew cable lock which is long enuf, ucan snake it around n oni d handle is not protected or lock aft fold ...biggrin.gif
Yes, once you folded the bike, the chain or cable lock will go through both wheels and the frame. So all secured.
One more cable lock to go through the rails underneath saddle and the frame, which should also go through your helmet. So now all locked up. Only thing left is your handlebars which can come off via QR, then got risk of this gone, but with brakes and gear cables connected, the thief must have the time to disconnect or cut the cables quickly. Can't see any use unless your handlebars are carbon fibre, or your handlebar grips are high end ones.

If you have the money, then get another high end D-lock to lock the frame to a metal fence or structure. foldies are quite light and can be carried off.

Wah, so many locks, i think will make your bike very heavy but secure lah. Spending money on expensive locks is not silly but practical. If you lose your bike, then you have to buy another one which costs a lot more money than the locks you spend on. If I calculate the locks to be just 20% of the value of the bike, then is RM200 for a RM1,000 bike
Just like buying insurance loh.

Thief see so well locked up also don't want and will want to go for other easier targets.

adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 04:15 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

How much does Dahon Speed 8 second hand unit might cost? I mean reasonable price for second hand unit. Old unit model 2011
etigge
post Aug 27 2013, 04:25 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 27 2013, 04:15 PM)
How much does Dahon Speed 8 second hand unit might cost? I mean reasonable price for second hand unit. Old unit model 2011
If you can find one hmm.gif The old Dahon Speed P8 are sold at over 2K formerly and the newer ones can be had for 1.8K. So how much do you think an old one is worthy? I mean the old ones has better components compared to the new ones, so if the owner wants to sell his for 1.5K, will you buy OR if you offer 1.2K, will he sell? The old Dahons are almost a collector bikes now! Especially the Dahon Dash and Speeds.

This post has been edited by etigge: Aug 27 2013, 04:25 PM
etigge
post Aug 27 2013, 04:26 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 27 2013, 09:41 AM)
Yes, once you folded the bike, the chain or cable lock will go through both wheels and the frame. So all secured.
One more cable lock to go through the rails underneath saddle and the frame, which should also go through your helmet.  So now all locked up.  Only thing left is your handlebars which can come off via QR, then got risk of this gone, but with brakes and gear cables connected, the thief must have the time to disconnect or cut the cables quickly.  Can't see any use unless your handlebars are carbon fibre, or your handlebar grips are high end ones.

If you have the money, then get another high end D-lock to lock the frame to a metal fence or structure.  foldies are quite light and can be carried off.

Wah, so many locks, i think will make your bike very heavy but secure lah.  Spending money on expensive locks is not silly but practical.  If you lose your bike, then you have to buy another one which costs a lot more money than the locks you spend on.  If I calculate the locks to be just 20% of the value of the bike, then is RM200 for a RM1,000 bike
Just like buying insurance loh.

Thief see so well locked up also don't want and will want to go for other easier targets.
It's quite ironic isn't it! I mean we buy a foldie for it's folding capability so the bike is brought along all the time. Why lock it to a post? hmm.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 04:31 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 27 2013, 04:25 PM)
If you can find one hmm.gif  The old Dahon Speed P8 are sold at over 2K formerly and the newer ones can be had for 1.8K. So how much do you think an old one is worthy? I mean the old ones has better components compared to the new ones, so if the owner wants to sell his for 1.5K, will you buy OR if you offer 1.2K, will he sell? The old Dahons are almost a collector bikes now! Especially the Dahon Dash and Speeds.
Somehow my fren said can get the old unit of new Dahon Speed 8 at Toabao and after shipping in will cost about Rm1.5k only. Hmm, maybe could source it from there. drool.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 04:32 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Can anyone identified what this Raleigh Ugo crankset he is using? Think to upgrade my cranset. brows.gif

mbax
post Aug 27 2013, 04:45 PM

66 posts

fsa crank i think..
budgee
post Aug 27 2013, 04:48 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 27 2013, 04:26 PM)
It's quite ironic isn't it! I mean we buy a foldie for it's folding capability so the bike is brought along all the time. Why lock it to a post? hmm.gif
I understand where you are coming from, but foldies are not allowed in certain buildings / secure Office buldings / 5 star hotels / swimming pool facilities / and a quick visit to a public toilet, oh, with a bike in toilet would create quite a scene... etc.. as the original poster wanted to know..

QUOTE(Halia @ Aug 26 2013, 11:28 AM)
Got a question on "drive & cycle":  If you take your folding bike to places such as shopping centre to shop/window shopping, where can you park your bike safely? You can't carry it around with the carrying case, can you?  Do shopping centre has a storage renting service?  So what is the practice in this case.  Please share.  Cheers
adriankhoo153
post Aug 27 2013, 05:16 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Aug 27 2013, 04:45 PM)
fsa crank i think..
How much is FSA 53/39T cost? If I change this crankset but only use single ring, is it ok? Cause Raleigh Ugo cant add FD due to frame issue.
Is it worth only to use it as single ring over the existing stock Prowheel 52T?

144 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:29 AM