Ride from Bkt Jelutong to Sg Buloh and back. The up and down hill really killing me.
There is a group of 50 roadies going quite fast like Letour Langkawi feel.
A total of 36km with average 21kph.
Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons
Aug 26 2013, 07:57 AM
4,808 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Last Saturday join my fren riding with their roadie and me a foldie. Erm, none foldie are seen in Guthrie Highway all the way.
Ride from Bkt Jelutong to Sg Buloh and back. The up and down hill really killing me. There is a group of 50 roadies going quite fast like Letour Langkawi feel. A total of 36km with average 21kph. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Aug 26 2013, 09:19 AM
269 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Meet this guy on my way to work.. Folding bike ftw!
Folding Bike Ftw!! Just that i didnt see his helmet, perhaps it is inside his bag :-) Attached thumbnail(s) |
Aug 26 2013, 09:24 AM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
He might not wear a helmet.., like budgee said- mess up d hair... lol..
Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM
6 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike.
1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike? 2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K. 3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. many thanks! |
Aug 26 2013, 10:58 AM
116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM) Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike. u need a folding to carry into KTM else they will change u RM10 for each trip.1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike? 2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K. 3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. many thanks! |
Aug 26 2013, 11:08 AM
849 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM) Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike. hi, tern c7, khs, Java Fit shall meet your budget...1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike? 2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K. 3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. many thanks! |
Aug 26 2013, 11:16 AM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM) Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike. From what theotheryun told me, if you wish to take your folding bike on the KTM, you must put it inside a bag, otherwise you will be charged RM10. 1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike? 2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K. 3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. many thanks! I use the Kelana Jaya LRT line but this one has no such regulation, so I don't put my bike inside a bag (maybe its becoz there are not many people taking bikes on board as yet) But for KTM, since it goes all over the country, maybe quite a lot of people would want to bring their bikes along. Do make sure that your future folding bike can be easily folded AND put inside a bag. And that you can carry it easily. I have seen how theotheryun does it, he sorts of put the bike halfway inside a bag but such that the wheels are still exposed so that he can just push /wheel the bike around. This way he will avoid the RM10 charge. This post has been edited by budgee: Aug 26 2013, 11:34 AM |
Aug 26 2013, 11:28 AM
49 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Got a question on "drive & cycle": If you take your folding bike to places such as shopping centre to shop/window shopping, where can you park your bike safely? You can't carry it around with the carrying case, can you? Do shopping centre has a storage renting service? So what is the practice in this case. Please share. Cheers
Aug 26 2013, 11:32 AM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM) Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike. Mmmm.... All the great seefus have spoken.. 1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike? 2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K. 3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. many thanks! My take on this: If you have a budget between RM1 - 1.4K, there are decent choices from Dahon, Tern, Oyama and China-made brands like XDS. To lug the bike in and out of a train, you will need a lightweight and small bike. That said, a 16" foldie would do the job. ![]() Here's an XDS 16" foldie under RM1k. I believe its going at RM800 a pop. To board the train, you will need to bag your bike and there are many choices available for bike bags. For short distance commute, 16" bikes are handy to come by. They are also easy to stow away in the train. ![]() My bike of choice is the Dahon Curve D3 and Curve SL.. ![]() That's me, my bike in the bag and luggage, waiting to board a KTM intercity train from KL- Taiping.. ![]() The 16" folding bike is great for middle and short distance excursions.. Sam This post has been edited by samosaurus: Aug 26 2013, 11:33 AM |
Aug 26 2013, 11:41 AM
4,808 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Can we change the chain guard to a better one without having to change the whole crankset? Mine seems to patah and bengkok a bit as it is plastic type. Perhaps a metal one will be better. The chain guard is to prevent the chain to drop out in case of sudden jump.
This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 26 2013, 11:44 AM |
Aug 26 2013, 11:48 AM
386 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Any1 here riding Dahon mup27? Its the original tire is "Impac Streetpac Reflection 20x1.75"?
What do u think about this tire? Need all sifu advice. TQ. |
Aug 26 2013, 01:40 PM
535 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2131554
just sharing since so many going to taobao... someone doing freight... =) |
Aug 26 2013, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(ggMing @ Aug 26 2013, 01:40 PM) https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2131554 bro-- not just 'someone' there are tons of agents here at the service board... just sharing since so many going to taobao... someone doing freight... =) happy shopping... |
Aug 26 2013, 02:19 PM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 26 2013, 01:45 PM) what do these agents do? So if I interested in some item, I just ask these agents to quote me and buy for me and arrange to deliver to me too? All I do is pay them, right? |
Aug 26 2013, 02:26 PM
66 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Aug 26 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 26 2013, 02:19 PM) what do these agents do? So if I interested in some item, I just ask these agents to quote me and buy for me and arrange to deliver to me too? All I do is pay them, right? the link that was posted just now, that is an agent.from the thread,( the agent is the thread starter cos that is his business thread at the service notice board forum) u will find all the instructions given/provided on how to make a purchase.. most TS write very detailed instructions for members to follow... if you don't understand u can make a post there or PM the agent. choose an agent that has been in biz for a long time.. by looking at how many thread they have started and the response given by buyers posted on the thread. yes, u have to first look at the product page at taobao, and send the link to the agent, ask the agent to ask the seller, whether the product, say 20' black colour rim is available... they only u confirm the purchase by paying the agent, and all will be arranged to ship to your doorstep.. This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 26 2013, 02:29 PM |
Aug 26 2013, 03:13 PM
1,985 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Penang Island |
QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 26 2013, 01:31 AM) i saw even more rides by G Club penang, furthermore... less highway in penang, n less drivers ' rushing to reincarnate ' compared to KL... but i wanna try travelling with bike + ktm etc la, sounds very adventurous QUOTE(mbax @ Aug 26 2013, 02:26 PM) when is ur next ride bro?if balik pulau, where do i start? |
Aug 26 2013, 05:12 PM
269 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 26 2013, 02:19 PM) what do these agents do? So if I interested in some item, I just ask these agents to quote me and buy for me and arrange to deliver to me too? All I do is pay them, right? Mind you that bicycle parts will incur extra charges from the customs.. I've bought few items before from USA. And it tends to 'stay' at the customs for at least a day or two.. In my case, 3 freaking days.. |
Aug 26 2013, 05:35 PM
116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
anyone here joining SAM this weekend Putra Jaya ride ?
Aug 26 2013, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(croomaniac @ Aug 26 2013, 05:12 PM) Mind you that bicycle parts will incur extra charges from the customs.. I've bought few items before from USA. And it tends to 'stay' at the customs for at least a day or two.. In my case, 3 freaking days.. It was shipped using usps ? or courier like dhl ups ? If non courier kastam like to kacau.. courier the chances r less esp tru agent cos They all got jalan... unless u bought tons off stuff or ur stuff very expensive.. |
| Change to: | 0.0335sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:11 AM |