talk about IT HELPDESK industry, lets share!

TSini
post May 13 2006, 02:23 AM, updated 20y ago

85 posts

hi, everybody out there, since the IT opportunity in M'sia nowaday is "helpdesk" which is outsource by the MNC or local company to third party human resource to take care, y dun v (work as helpdesk) share our experience/opinion/info here to form a shared center to provide better/thorough information regards this industry.

just respond as below:

job title: technical consultant
agent: E?er?o
work to: HP
project team/support team: HRS
job description: L2 support for asia pacific region, windows based server, 24*7, ......... etc
language support: english, minor in mandarin
schedule: 12 hr shift, 4 days work, 3 days rest, then 3 days work, 4 days rest
tenure: permanent
basic salary: RM 2200 - RM 2500
allowance: shift-RM200, transport-NIL, meal-NIL
years spent with this job: 2nd year
other benefit: no OT, work on public holiday get RM 175, medical, ........ etc

This post has been edited by ini: May 23 2006, 12:38 PM
hueyseng84
post May 13 2006, 02:35 AM

880 posts

the medium of communication is in english?
siowgirl
post May 13 2006, 02:51 AM

295 posts

ini, only IT helpdesk ah? other types of helpdesk leh?
laugh.gif i got few details on helpdesk position actually but not really IT

TSini
post May 13 2006, 02:53 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ May 13 2006, 02:35 AM)
the medium of communication is in english?
yes, english

QUOTE(siowgirl @ May 13 2006, 02:51 AM)
ini, only IT helpdesk ah? other types of helpdesk leh?
laugh.gif i got few details on helpdesk position actually but not really IT
no problem, u may post it up wink.gif

siowgirl
post May 13 2006, 02:57 AM

295 posts

ah but it's not really an insider's view, more like wat those interviewers tell me la...so still no problem?
badtz_mark
post May 13 2006, 10:37 AM

800 posts

got any more IT helpdesk jobs i can look up or try.currentyl looking ofr a it helpdesk job
SUSb3rnard7
post May 13 2006, 04:07 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

I'm working as technical helpdesk,which is a call center jobs.Help customers to solve IT problems. smile.gif
puliamo
post May 13 2006, 06:07 PM

261 posts

Hmm...maybe this a chance to get to know fellow IT people of the same industry... rclxms.gif

*Job title:Helpdesk specialist
*Company: IBM
*Project team/support team: IBM internal helpdesk, some other project teams as well...
*Job description: L1 support for ASEAN region
*Language support: Mainly English, alternate languages are Thai/Indo/Philipino/Japanese, depending on project supported...
schedule: 5 days week, alternate weekends...no crazy shifts for ASEAN region supp, some projects might require 24x7 supp...
*Tenure: contract
*Basic salary: RM 1800- RM 2500
*Allowance: shift-NIL--> unless 24x7 supp required, transport-300, meal-NIL
*Additional benefits: 14 days medical leaves, 14 days annual leaves, medical claims...not much, but considered good as it is a contract position...oh, and they normally have a 1 month contractual annual bonus as well, yearly increment depending on performance...

*Job title:L1 support
*Company: Shell IT
*Project team/support team: Internal helpdesk consists of multiple teams, including standard helpdesk, password team, etc etc...
*Job description: L1-L3 global support
*Language support: Mainly English, depending on region supported
*Schedule: 12 hr shift, 4 days work, 3 days rest, then 3 days work, 4 days rest...but might have changed
*Tenure: contract, might have chances to get converted to permanent staff though
*Basic salary: RM 125- more than RM 300 per day, depending on level supported
*Allowance: shift-450, transport-NIL, meal-NIL
*Additional benefits: NOTHING, u only get cash from this, no leaves, no medicals, no nothing...increment of salary is seldom heard among contractors sad.gif

*Job title:Technical support
*Company: Dell
*Project team/support team: ANZ Client support
*Job description: Home based/small business customer support
*Language support: English
*Schedule: 5 days week, alternate weekend/sunday support, 24x7 support required according to schedule
*Tenure: Permanent
*Basic salary: Above RM2200
*Allowance: shift-depending on shift, counts by day, transport-NIL, meal-canteen allowance available, but will last u maximum 2 weeks normally...
*Additional benefits: annual/medical leaves, vehicle interest subsidiary, OT rates, yearly/performance based bonuses, etc....
TSini
post May 15 2006, 12:34 AM

85 posts

hhmm... looks like nobody hav interest on this thread..... common.... let shared together!! no forumer work as helpdesk?? or worry the post will "jeopadise" u guy job??
sad.gif cry.gif icon_question.gif yawn.gif blink.gif ohmy.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif flex.gif unsure.gif
TSini
post May 15 2006, 04:56 PM

85 posts

common....

helpdesk analyst
IT administrator
security analyst
technical support
technical specialist
network engineer
network specialist
technical consultant
operation support
global service delivery analyst/specialist

ibm
hp
shell it
bmw
f secure
csa
bat
kellyit
adecco
manpower
emerio
xcellink
eps

nobody reply...... doh.gif

soulmate
post May 15 2006, 05:42 PM

..your girlfriend said im a good kisser
1,276 posts

let's share our experience as IT Helpdesk
i manage to work as IT helpdesk few year back, mainly provide 1st level support via phone/online
but since i'm located in my customer office (consider as my working site), most cust. prefer me to provide 2nd level
which mean, they just call "Hey I got problem" and I have to face them and fix the problem on-site... tired lor..

got few but many of them really stup*d bout computers

Me: Hello, sir How may I help you today
Cust: My PC got problem, it cannot start
Me: May I know what Operating System are u using sir
Cust: I'm using PC lah

really fedup but sometimes, I hold down 'mute' button and LMAO smile.gif

share ur's too
soulmate
post May 15 2006, 05:46 PM

1,276 posts

forgot to mention u there got better salary than me
I'm only getting RM1800 basic + RM300 transportation allowance + RM350 phone allowance (woot...)
basic working hour: 8 hours/5 day a week, No OT (usually work more than 9 hours per day la... since cust. really likes me and need me to do all the thing for them) sadly cant claim OT lor...
just regard them as a helping hand from welfare boy tongue.gif
LeChuCk
post May 15 2006, 05:48 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(ini @ May 15 2006, 04:56 PM)
common....

helpdesk analyst
IT administrator
security analyst
technical support
technical specialist
network engineer
network specialist
technical consultant
operation support
global service delivery analyst/specialist

ibm
hp
shell it
bmw
f secure
csa
bat
kellyit
adecco
manpower
emerio
xcellink
eps

nobody reply......  doh.gif
me...intel...system support analyst thumbup.gif

soulmate
post May 15 2006, 05:54 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(LeChuCk @ May 15 2006, 05:48 PM)
me...intel...system support analyst thumbup.gif
more info then please...
it is interesting to share our experience handling this kind of job
TSini
post May 16 2006, 01:33 PM

85 posts

yes, v unite together .......

hhmm.. i m sound like the thread of lets talk salary

tongue.gif
SUSb3rnard7
post May 16 2006, 02:20 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

QUOTE(soulmate @ May 15 2006, 05:46 PM)
forgot to mention u there got better salary than me
I'm only getting RM1800 basic + RM300 transportation allowance + RM350 phone allowance (woot...)
basic working hour: 8 hours/5 day a week, No OT (usually work more than 9 hours per day la... since cust. really likes me and need me to do all the thing for them) sadly cant claim OT lor...
just regard them as a helping hand from welfare boy tongue.gif
WAh! I think urs is better than me ler....my Basic pay is RM2K,...incentive is 2-10% for every 3 months (it depends on ur performance for every 3months).But now I just work 3 months only,still in probation (which means I only got RM2K) sad.gif
soulmate
post May 16 2006, 03:51 PM

1,276 posts

I'm now eeying new career with HP or Dell

woe.com
post May 16 2006, 05:13 PM

438 posts

job title: System Support
agent: A?$?#n
work to: JVC
job description: 1 man show, support over 300 Unit PC in the factory, networking, server, hardware & software..
language support: english, malay, mandarin, cantonese, hokkien
schedule: 5 days working, 8am-5.40pm
tenure: 2 yrs contract
basic salary: RM 1200 (1st year) - RM 1300 (2nd year)
allowance: None
other benefit: no OT (Other than this, cant think of any other!)

Well.. this was the amazing contract i've been working for 2 yrs, still has 4 more months to go, after this, i not sure my second job will be better or not. Boss kinda different minded, dislike Technical ppl, but Programmer.

Anyone, any company need to hire Technical Support (with 2yrs experience) in September 06? Coz i'll b leaving... sad.gif
TSini
post May 17 2006, 04:18 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(woe.com @ May 16 2006, 05:13 PM)
job title: System Support
agent: A?$?#n
work to: JVC
job description: 1 man show, support over 300 Unit PC in the factory, networking, server, hardware & software..
language support: english, malay, mandarin, cantonese, hokkien
schedule: 5 days working, 8am-5.40pm
tenure: 2 yrs contract
basic salary: RM 1200 (1st year) - RM 1300 (2nd year)
allowance: None
other benefit: no OT (Other than this, cant think of any other!)

Well.. this was the amazing contract i've been working for 2 yrs, still has 4 more months to go, after this, i not sure my second job will be better or not. Boss kinda different minded, dislike Technical ppl, but Programmer.

Anyone, any company need to hire Technical Support (with 2yrs experience) in September 06? Coz i'll b leaving...  sad.gif
rm1200?? ohmy.gif OMG OMG OMG!!!!!! u still can work them for 2 years.....

SPRINTA
post May 17 2006, 07:20 PM

366 posts

Job title:IT Technician
Company: Pan Malaysian Pools Sdn Bhd (Da Ma Cai)
Job description: OA Support, Betting Terminal Maintenance, PC Support
Schedule: 5 days week (alternate), according to schedule (including weekends and public holidays).
Tenure: Permanent.
Basic salary: Above RM1500++
Allowance: RM 7 meal allowance for first 2 hours of OT and RM 7 of transportation allowance for additional 2 hours claimed.
Additional benefits: annual/medical leaves, OT rates, 2 months contractual bonus, yearly performance bonus.
jane98209
post May 17 2006, 07:23 PM

112 posts

just gone for IBM interview IT helpdesk....
i hope to get the job

jane98209
post May 17 2006, 07:38 PM

112 posts

is that any career advancement for IT helpdesk?
LoneRanger
post May 17 2006, 07:49 PM

461 posts

Anyone work as Network engineer or any network related field? i'm looking for carreer advancement in this field. Current job is IT helpdesk Specialist in EPS. Do u think taking this position as a MCSE holder is a waste? I have very much interested in Networking, hopefully some seniors here can offer me an opportunity.
TSini
post May 18 2006, 02:37 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(jane98209 @ May 17 2006, 07:38 PM)
yes, u may promote to be a team leader, handle project, coordinate the procedure.....blah.....
TSini
post May 18 2006, 02:43 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(LoneRanger @ May 17 2006, 07:49 PM)
Anyone work as Network engineer or any network related field? i'm looking for carreer advancement in this field. Current job is IT helpdesk Specialist in EPS. Do u think taking this position as a MCSE holder is a waste? I have very much interested in Networking, hopefully some seniors here can offer me an opportunity.
well, is depends, some helpdesk need this cert, some don't.
perhaps some advertise the requirement need MCP/MCSE, but actually it do not. if u have full of xperience, some company dun need the paper.
the cert n exam, depends on each individual, i bliv lot of ppl out there hav MCSE/CCNA cert, but do they really hav hands on eperience?
but again, dun think is a waste even u do not apply the knowledge on ur real job, coz who knows one day, the cert might help u to get a really value job in future?
just keep ourselve up to date
TSini
post May 18 2006, 02:44 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(jane98209 @ May 17 2006, 07:23 PM)
just gone for IBM interview IT helpdesk....
i hope to get the job
which project team u apply? what is their offer? smile.gif
TSini
post May 18 2006, 02:46 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ May 17 2006, 07:20 PM)
Additional benefits: annual/medical leaves, OT rates, 2 months contractual bonus, yearly performance bonus.
2 months contractual bonus, good, i hav been work for 6 year, n i never hav any bonus cool.gif
soulmate
post May 19 2006, 09:22 PM

1,276 posts

We have previously communicated through email/phone regarding a walk-in
interview for our client Dell for the position of Technical Support
Specialist (based in Penang). Kindly take note of the following details:

Date:                            20 May 2006, Saturday
Time:                            10am to 2pm
Venue:                          Ground Floor Function Rooms 1 to 4
                              Renaissance Hotel Kuala Lumpur Convention
Centre
                              Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan
Ampang
                              50450 Kuala Lumpur
Things to bring:              Pen, updated resume,
                                  Original and photocopy of certificates
and testimonials
Contact Person:            Melissa (tel: 02-9688 4264)

There will be a multiple choice questions test to test your technical
knowledge. In order to prepare yourself for the written test, please read
through some technical materials of the following topics:
*        Windows operating system minimum technical requirements for 2000
Professional, XP Home and XP Professional
*        Common PC hardware troubleshooting issues such as 5 common causes
of no display, no sound, system not able to power up, etc
*        Common software problems such as invalid system disk, NTLDR file
missing, OS not able to boot up, system auto shutdown or restart, etc
*        Network problems such as no network connection, Page cannot be
displayed in the web browser, etc

After the written test, there will be a face-to-face interview. For this
interview, Dell will be testing on the fluency of your spoken English
communication. Please do not use words like 'la', 'lor', 'leh' or even 'hmm'
when you are answering the interviewers. Be prepared to answer questions on
why you are leaving your current job, when will you be available to start on
this new job, are you willing to work shift, what is your expected salary.
The salary offer for this Technical Support Specialist position is up to RM
2,500 while the maximum salary for Enterprise Support Specialist is RM 3,500
depending on each individual's technical expertise. During this interview,
Dell may also give you scenario-based questions to see how you handle
customers and diagnose computer problems over the phone.  This may require
some customer service skills on your side.

Do drop us an email to update on your status after the written test.  This
is so that we can take note of your attendance and also to keep track of
your status for the walk-in interview.

If you are successfully hired, you will be given a one-time re-location fee
for re-locating to work in Penang.  The re-location fee is one month of the
new salary plus transportation cost to Penang.

Meanwhile good luck for your preparation and see you at Renaissance Hotel!

Best Regards

EPS Computer Systems Pte Ltd
just received this invitation from EPS (jobstreet)
whoever wanted to make it, (technical specialist or whatever they called it... some kind as Helpdesk also as u need to answer phone-call) please proceed to the above mentioned location tomorrow
it's walk-in interview...
please prepared yourself
Resume and Cover Letter Guide

Preparation for Job Interview

Standard Question During Interview

Good Luck!
soulmate
post May 19 2006, 09:26 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(jane98209 @ May 17 2006, 07:38 PM)
Career advancement...?
for me it's depends on ur performance, how good u are
then maybe u can try the above offer (Technical Specialist) and gain over 2500-3500 every month

some said it's boring job, some said excite
get recommendation/testimonial from ur superior and do job hopping smile.gif
cockerish
post May 19 2006, 09:30 PM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

if i got mcse, i straight become system administrator
anyone working as helpdesk for Nokia in IBM?
soulmate
post May 19 2006, 09:33 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ May 19 2006, 09:30 PM)
if i got mcse, i straight become system administrator
MCSE became SA?
go ahead if u got Bach. in IT field
but to apply for SA alone with ur MCSE it will depend on ur working eperience and good knowledge

usually they became Service Engineer maintaining desktop users and 1st entry level server
cockerish
post May 19 2006, 09:38 PM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

1st level is nothing la
u just assign tickets follow your process. this is what helpdesk people do.

unless you are in 2nd level /3rd leve/ deep level support, helpdesk is nothing if u want to have a future in IT.

every helpdesk advertisement u see will have this , solve request and bla bla bla via fax/email/phone calls. you will know already what kind of job is this.

they wont give you access to machine just like that. helpdesk is where u gain contacts to widen your job landing chances when you start seeking for another job...

btw if u want real good paying heldesk jobs, try looking up Atos Origin or shell it.

atos i believe is hiring massively now for thier new project and they are offering rm 2.8 - rm3.2 basic and 400 bucks allowance to work Uk Timing. which is 3pm to 2am if im not mistaken.

dont ask me for details or who to contact as i dont know. go search jobstreet or something. my friend got an interview and succeded already. his getting aorund 2.9k with 1 year experience in standard chartered it365 helpdesk.
Ido
post May 20 2006, 10:22 AM

325 posts

IT specialist, name only..actually spm graduate also can do.
soulmate
post May 20 2006, 08:43 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Ido @ May 20 2006, 10:22 AM)
IT specialist, name only..actually spm graduate also can do.
yea.. as long as u got brain!
puliamo
post May 20 2006, 09:24 PM

261 posts

The helpdesk industry is not as simple as people look at it... it's not just another call center job... tongue.gif
soulmate
post May 20 2006, 09:33 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(puliamo @ May 20 2006, 09:24 PM)
The helpdesk industry is not as simple as people look at it... it's not just another call center job... tongue.gif
so... u r one of them oso biggrin.gif
olman
post May 20 2006, 09:34 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ May 19 2006, 09:38 PM)
1st level is nothing la
u just assign tickets follow your process. this is what helpdesk people do.

unless you are in 2nd level /3rd leve/ deep level support, helpdesk is nothing if u want to have a future in IT.

every helpdesk advertisement u see will have this , solve request and bla bla bla via fax/email/phone calls. you will know already what kind of job is this.

they wont give you access to machine just like that. helpdesk is where u gain contacts to widen your job landing chances when you start seeking for another job...
btw if u want real good paying heldesk jobs, try looking up Atos Origin or shell it.

atos i believe is hiring massively now for thier new project and they are offering rm 2.8 - rm3.2 basic and 400 bucks allowance to work Uk Timing. which is 3pm to 2am if im not mistaken.
dont ask me for details or who to contact as i dont know. go search jobstreet or something. my friend got an interview and succeded already. his getting aorund 2.9k with 1 year experience in standard chartered it365 helpdesk.
Is your friend working as a contractor or employee? icon_rolleyes.gif

guest19
post May 20 2006, 09:40 PM

Validating
500 posts

actually helpdesk is doing what?Isnt it help consumer to solve the problem?
olman
post May 20 2006, 09:44 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(guest19 @ May 20 2006, 09:40 PM)
actually helpdesk is doing what?Isnt it help consumer to solve the problem?
It depends,
1st level = Treat the phone as your extra limb laugh.gif , troubleshoot via phone on basic problems. If cannot solve then escalate to 2nd level or other respective teams.

2nd level = Check for ticketing flooding by 1st level laugh.gif ,More hands on, support onsite or via remote control.

3rd level = specialist in solutioning <--not too sure

This post has been edited by AMDs-PoOp: May 20 2006, 10:59 PM
guest19
post May 20 2006, 09:47 PM

Validating
500 posts

QUOTE(AMDs-PoOp @ May 20 2006, 09:44 PM)
It depends,
1st level = Treat the phone as your extra limb  laugh.gif , troubleshoot via phone on basic problems. If cannot solve then escalate to 2nd level or other respective teams.

2nd = Check for ticketing flooding by 1st level  laugh.gif ,More hands on, support onsite or via remote control.

oic thanks
soulmate
post May 20 2006, 11:11 PM

1,276 posts

3rd level is final! If u cant solve the probs at this level then wheter u or ur co. is going down wink.gif
usually they handle really big problem that engineer cant solve
3rd level support is well known among hardware/software manufacturer
at this level u r the expert!
olman
post May 20 2006, 11:16 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(soulmate @ May 20 2006, 11:11 PM)
3rd level is final! If u cant solve the probs at this level then wheter u or ur co. is going down wink.gif
usually they handle really big problem that engineer cant solve
3rd level support is well known among hardware/software manufacturer
at this level u r the expert!
Most of them are experts in different ways, either through research or worked for many years. But i have encountered 1 whom asked how to do a simple task, judging from the time spent with that person ( a 3rd lvl), not really the expert i was expecting:lol:

This post has been edited by AMDs-PoOp: May 20 2006, 11:19 PM
Assassin
post May 20 2006, 11:55 PM

772 posts

Job title: Solution Analyst
Level : Junior Exec
Duration : 2 years
Company: Outsource IT Company
Job description: PC and server support, user request, network support, handle project, PABX support
Schedule: 5 days weekly (also on-call basis)
Basic salary: Above RM2300++
Allowance: 10% east m'sia, meal, mileage, travel
Benefit : 15 days annual leave, yearly performance bonus and increment, medical, dental and insurance covered and lots more

GiNgEr^fIsH
post May 21 2006, 01:13 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

i was once offer a job in nokia as a technical support.. they offered 2.5k plus allowance and all <-- i didnt ask in detail cause i wanted a job i could learn.. not a routine job. if u get what i mean.. cheers.

TSini
post May 21 2006, 11:13 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ May 20 2006, 11:55 PM)
Job title: Solution Analyst
Level : Junior Exec
Duration : 2 years
Company: Outsource IT Company
Job description: PC and server support, user request, network support, handle project, PABX support
Schedule: 5 days weekly (also on-call basis)
Basic salary: Above RM2300++
Allowance: 10% east m'sia, meal, mileage, travel
Benefit : 15 days annual leave, yearly performance bonus and increment, medical, dental and insurance covered and lots more
at labuan get 2300++, not bad, the benefit oso good ler, better than me drool.gif
jane98209
post May 21 2006, 08:12 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ May 19 2006, 09:30 PM)

can i know why ask for these???
Nokia team so good ah?
I am just gone for a interview for helpdesk for Nokia in IBM
but i think i cant to get the job,
they promise to call me yesterday,
but they didn't ... i think the job was gone

can i know why u ask for these?
is it that good?
if , i am really feel sad lar,
unable to get the job ,
cause of not performance well during the interview session
soulmate
post May 21 2006, 09:10 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ May 21 2006, 01:13 AM)
i was once offer a job in nokia as a technical support.. they offered 2.5k plus allowance and all <-- i didnt ask in detail cause i wanted a job i could learn.. not a routine job. if u get what i mean.. cheers.
i got whut u mean... rolleyes.gif
it's very important to younger generation to have this value added in working environment...
as in technical field i beleive u can gain more knowledge everyday
areankim
post May 21 2006, 11:21 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

i'm a IT faculty majoring in software engeneering. can i take up this job? looking for salary around RM2500+-
soulmate
post May 22 2006, 12:16 AM

1,276 posts

depends on what helpdesk support u'd like and have more knowledge in
jane98209
post May 22 2006, 07:11 PM

112 posts

normally helpdesk is how much salary ah?
aori
post May 22 2006, 07:27 PM

111 posts

hmm....just wondering if those 1st level kept on escalate the ticket to 2nd level...then how the 1st level going to learn??
Futura
post May 22 2006, 08:26 PM

1,896 posts

As cockerish said, look for Atos Origin in TPM. rclxms.gif
I have 2 friends work there who just got sent to HK last month for training and maintain server stuff or sth...details not sure sweat.gif. They are freshgrads like me and the salary package is way attractive than mine. drool.gif
nyprinz83
post May 22 2006, 09:23 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(aori @ May 22 2006, 07:27 PM)
hmm....just wondering if those 1st level kept on escalate the ticket to 2nd level...then how the 1st level going to learn??
i always wanted to know the answer to that question as well. biggrin.gif Or is the only way is you need to be proactive and try to ask questions from those level 2 people?

imisu29
post May 22 2006, 09:30 PM

853 posts

QUOTE(AMDs-PoOp @ May 20 2006, 09:44 PM)
It depends,
1st level = Treat the phone as your extra limb  laugh.gif , troubleshoot via phone on basic problems. If cannot solve then escalate to 2nd level or other respective teams.

2nd level = Check for ticketing flooding by 1st level  laugh.gif ,More hands on, support onsite or via remote control.

then i am a 2nd level helpdesk lo ? I use pcanywhere and vnc to solve end user problem thousand times everyday sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by imisu29: May 22 2006, 09:31 PM
soulmate
post May 22 2006, 11:19 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(aori @ May 22 2006, 07:27 PM)
Not really... depends on ur job description and pressure level u have... as for me I will keep it clean, trying to close the trouble tickets by myself... usually we only need 2nd level if there's something on hardware issue, which u cant solve via the phone / online
It's in my job description

QUOTE(imisu29 @ May 22 2006, 09:30 PM)
then i am a 2nd level helpdesk lo ? I use pcanywhere and vnc to solve end user problem thousand times everyday sweat.gif  sweat.gif
2nd level usually go on-site

-edit-
to threadstarter: ini

could you please change the title coz we're not only talking bout salary here.. as one of similar thread exist outthere...

This post has been edited by soulmate: May 22 2006, 11:32 PM
jane98209
post May 23 2006, 05:43 PM

112 posts

some one can share what's the opinion for helpdesk career ah?
Haza_izzz
post May 23 2006, 07:31 PM

Haters gonna hate, potatoes gonna potate
1,269 posts

hi

I just register at IBM site. Im trying to is thre any IT helpdesk job still vacancy still on....
TSini
post May 24 2006, 02:36 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(jane98209 @ May 23 2006, 05:43 PM)
some one can share what's the opinion for helpdesk career ah?
jane98209, hw is ur ibm interview?

QUOTE(Haza_izzz @ May 23 2006, 07:31 PM)
hi
I just register at IBM site. Im trying to is thre any IT helpdesk job still vacancy still on....
so u r in ibm now? whicj team u join n wht position is it?

This post has been edited by ini: May 24 2006, 02:37 PM
jane98209
post May 24 2006, 10:20 PM

112 posts

Nokia team so good ah?

is it that good?
unable to get the job ,
soulmate
post May 24 2006, 10:34 PM

1,276 posts

did anyone of you in this industry provide so called support without having a single access to the Internet???
i mean u cant access website to gain more information on problem that u are trying to solve...

and found myself with this situation before and i found it's tough when u are only depending on ur experience and good memory of course
soulmate
post May 24 2006, 10:36 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(jane98209 @ May 24 2006, 10:20 PM)
Nokia team so good ah?

is it that good?
unable to get the job ,
dont really feel sad...
everything happen is for a good cause
think of that and u will feel relief

btw. y just jump into conclusion... i think u just need to give em ample time to analyze ur application
one good day they will call u if u really wish for it icon_rolleyes.gif
krulz
post May 25 2006, 02:30 AM

54 posts

soulmate, which project are u in?
cockerish
post May 25 2006, 12:14 PM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

Nokia team . good la
coz most of them dono how to do work one.

all the ibm nokia supported sd in all region sarks.
but very polite. scold them also, they dont make noise... brows.gif
TSini
post May 25 2006, 02:13 PM

85 posts

blush.gif
QUOTE(cockerish @ May 25 2006, 12:14 PM)
Nokia team . good la
coz most of them dono how to do work one.
all the ibm nokia supported sd in all region sarks.
but very polite. scold them also, they dont make noise... brows.gif
what is mean 'all the ibm nokia supported sd in all region sarks.'?
can elaborate more? u happen to scold them? blush.gif
soulmate
post May 25 2006, 09:16 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(krulz @ May 25 2006, 02:30 AM)
soulmate, which project are u in?
may i know why u asking... icon_idea.gif
christ_0205
post May 26 2006, 04:55 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(LoneRanger @ May 17 2006, 07:49 PM)
hi there lone hei HP and IBM is looking for people in netwrok but they want those to have CCNA at lest so if can u free take a ccna test and move on this position is paying rm 3k rm200++ , medical card and the normal.

icon_idea.gif
christ_0205
post May 26 2006, 04:59 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ May 22 2006, 08:26 PM)
As cockerish said, look for Atos Origin in TPM. rclxms.gif
I have 2 friends work there who just got sent to HK last month for training and maintain server stuff or sth...details not sure sweat.gif. They are freshgrads like me and the salary package is way attractive than mine. drool.gif
you friend is very lucky icon_idea.gif
christ_0205
post May 26 2006, 05:01 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(imisu29 @ May 22 2006, 09:30 PM)
then i am a 2nd level helpdesk lo ? I use pcanywhere and vnc to solve end user problem thousand times everyday sweat.gif  sweat.gif
same loh like my job now everyday citirx pc anywhere remote eheheh

Like i am playing from a cd the same song again and again rclxms.gif
krulz
post May 26 2006, 11:27 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(soulmate @ May 25 2006, 09:16 PM)
may i know why u asking... icon_idea.gif
hehe juz asking....
coz im in one of the projects here
TSini
post May 29 2006, 01:18 PM

85 posts

anyone work in atos origin?
rb26rxh
post May 31 2006, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(ini @ May 29 2006, 01:18 PM)
I got a fren jus join AO as a helpdesk support german based company,with 1.5 yrs of experience in helpdesk,his current pay in AO is RM4.4K basic
In fact,my fren jus 24 yrs old wt qualification of Bachelor in Comp Science.. A Lucky boy ya thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rb26rxh: May 31 2006, 11:45 AM
TSini
post May 31 2006, 02:27 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rb26rxh @ May 31 2006, 11:43 AM)
I got a fren jus join AO as a helpdesk support german based company,with 1.5 yrs of experience in helpdesk,his current pay in AO is RM4.4K basic
In fact,my fren jus 24 yrs old wt qualification of Bachelor in Comp Science..  A Lucky boy ya thumbup.gif
wow.......... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif basic already 4.4k, does he work on shift? which level he support?

olman
post May 31 2006, 03:01 PM

1,998 posts

In fact,my fren jus 24 yrs old wt qualification of Bachelor in Comp Science..  A Lucky boy ya thumbup.gif
Wow 4.4k a month thats a very good deal, he earned it because how many locals can speak german laugh.gif
rb26rxh
post May 31 2006, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(AMDs-PoOp @ May 31 2006, 03:01 PM)
Wow 4.4k a month thats  a very good deal, he earned it because how many locals can speak german  laugh.gif
Haha,the only language he support is ENGLISH lar,1st level support,work office hour n 5 days week neh....... rclxms.gif
his previous pay is RM3.4K in CSA..kekekek.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rb26rxh: May 31 2006, 05:27 PM
TSini
post May 31 2006, 06:09 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rb26rxh @ May 31 2006, 05:24 PM)
Haha,the only language he support is ENGLISH lar,1st level support,work office hour n 5 days week neh....... rclxms.gif
his previous pay is RM3.4K in CSA..kekekek.... tongue.gif
any vacancy? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
DarkWan
post Jun 1 2006, 12:08 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(nyprinz83 @ May 22 2006, 09:23 PM)
i always wanted to know the answer to that question as well.  biggrin.gif Or is the only way is you need to be proactive and try to ask questions from those level 2 people?
It depends on the process also. In my environment, L1 after this will working on account management (account creation/deletion/update), homedirectory in UNIX NIS. I am L2 of myself. If I am having a free time, I sometimes teach L1 but only when the issue arise even they don't ask. Honestly speaking, I don't know if they need my guidance or not. tongue.gif

On another occasion, it is such a waste of time if I have to troubleshoot unnecessary thing/false alarm raised by them so the better way is teach them sweat.gif . Win-Win situation rclxms.gif
socratesman
post Jun 1 2006, 12:14 PM

1,807 posts

Is your friend based in TPM or Cyberjaya?

soulmate
post Jun 3 2006, 04:16 PM

1,276 posts

i would recommend someone who have ability to handle pressure and well experienced for this kind of job
of course this job provide u with a high starting salary equals to work pressure you'll have
yesterday my fellow frens said one of her employee are leaving after working for only 3 days sad.gif
it is sad coz she did pay him over 2.5k as a starting salary plus medical/dentist and insurance coverage as well as good allowances
and i think since he is a newly grad. job seeker it's kinda hard to get employed so he'd better think twice before leaving
since then she said she will never hired a newly grads or a jobseeker without enuff experience in call centre/helpdesk to work with her
anyone interested in?
amir_iskandar
post Jun 3 2006, 07:40 PM

723 posts

soulmate,
im interested
rb26rxh
post Jun 6 2006, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(soulmate @ Jun 3 2006, 04:16 PM)
i would recommend someone who have ability to handle pressure and well experienced for this kind of job
of course this job provide u with a high starting salary equals to work pressure you'll have
yesterday my fellow frens said one of her employee are leaving after working for only 3 days sad.gif
it is sad coz she did pay him over 2.5k as a starting salary plus medical/dentist and insurance coverage as well as good allowances
and i think since he is a newly grad. job seeker it's kinda hard to get employed so he'd better think twice before leaving
since then she said she will never hired a newly grads or a jobseeker without enuff experience in call centre/helpdesk to work with her
anyone interested in?
freshy can get more than RM2.5K,if that freshy is 1st class class honour.tat's da mkt rate,else wat i can say he's damn lucky!
soulmate
post Jun 8 2006, 12:11 PM

1,276 posts

wut damn lucky... it's industry rate for Bach. holder
i will only recommend one with experience in call-center/helpdesk industry
else i wont bother
Lowyat
post Jun 8 2006, 01:42 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

What kind of software is using for the helpdesk? Any example helpdesk system ?
TSini
post Jun 8 2006, 05:38 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ Jun 8 2006, 01:42 PM)
What kind of software is using for the helpdesk? Any example helpdesk system ?
remedy, openview, n few more, cannt remember
paint9
post Jun 8 2006, 05:57 PM

28 posts

anyone know what is the job scope and career path to work as customer Support Exec in AO ?
vivaldi
post Jun 8 2006, 06:46 PM

240 posts

I'm a helpdesk in Fujitsu... we based in Fujitsu, Cyberjaya. All our tag displayed "Fujitsu"...but......it doesn't means that we are supporting Fujitsu's products... We are supporting McDonald's POS system... blink.gif ... both Malaysia and Singapore... which means all the store's manager will call our helpline if they are facing problems with their counters and sales....network issues...computer hardware and software... but not the ice-cream machine la... with 1st level support including solving some software problems through PC-Anywhere...

Besides of that we are supporting server batch jobs and incidents problems request for 1 insurance company for 7 countries where Malaysia not in the list...
And..........salary onli got 1900+200 shift allowance... anyway it is a 4 days work 3 days off format with 9 hours working time....

Sounds good??......... listen to this......imagine... there are only 2-3 fellas in 1 shift supporting.....DIE ah i tell u!!!!
sinoffire
post Jun 8 2006, 07:14 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(ini @ May 29 2006, 01:18 PM)
i'm going for an interview tmw in cyberjaya as customer service officer. any words of wisdom?? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
vivaldi
post Jun 9 2006, 01:13 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jun 8 2006, 08:14 PM)
i'm going for an interview tmw in cyberjaya as customer service officer. any words of wisdom??  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
One of my fren work in ATOS... quite well paid.... but colleagues not good... they don teach u anything... havin some attitutes problems... and seems like they have some management problems... but i don know whether is my fren's problem or realli the company problem... blush.gif

The BEST in Cyberjaya is DHL i think.... they juz extend their office to a new building... PM was there oso tat day on the opening ceremony...

Anyway... Good Luck!!! thumbup.gif
paint9
post Jun 10 2006, 03:22 AM

28 posts

Dear Sinoffire
how is ur intereview ?

sinoffire
post Jun 10 2006, 03:31 AM

3,557 posts

erm...actually hor...i'm not there for the IT helpdesk int'w. ( dun tarok me, listen 1st sweat.gif ). initially i thot i was there bcos of the IT helpdesk post, so fine. i fill in those forms etc etc.

den wen interviewer came in, she told me that i'm here as a customer service officer/exec. huh? doh.gif myself oso blur liaw. den the interviewer further explain that ATOS origin got a client is a company that issued card ( kinda like our Shell card, to be used in petrol station onli.) to corporate public. it's called 'Flik Card' ( spelling?)..she further added that bcos of my experience in card business, so i might b familiar with this field. (uh, ok.)

den she told me to wait for 2nd int'w call lor. whereby i'm gonna talk to their GM from s'pore to talk about $$$ & other stuff about $$. soli if i hijacked tis thread. tongue.gif

mark0411
post Jun 10 2006, 10:00 AM

32 posts

Hi guys,

I actually went for the interview at IBM cyberjaya last week, I interviewed for technical helpdesk position,i believe to support IBM client from Netherland called ASML or something, I was given an apptitude test and the same day they called me, saying that the manager want to offer the position to me, but i said to the recruitment agent (Manpower) that i want some time think about it as i need to sort something out..but she insisted that i gave the answer on the spot, I ended up rejecting the offer...

the thing is, i'm a certified HP system engineer, i need to clarify with HP whether i could work for IBM ,as i actually signed an agreement with HP that being a certified HP system engineer i could not work for their rival without their consent...

if only she give me some time and space to enquire about this matter to HP, i might have accepted the position already...too bad
limweekoon
post Jun 10 2006, 10:11 AM

372 posts

i was with fujitsu helpdesk in 2000 when they are still in damansara, but only worked for 8 months. that time we are working 5 days, rest 2 days only. sometimes only 1 person in a shift. you consider more lucky now. anyway, did they changed their working hour now? it was 7am-3:30pm (morning shift) and 3:30pm-12pm (evening shift)

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Jun 8 2006, 06:46 PM)
I'm a helpdesk in Fujitsu... we based in Fujitsu, Cyberjaya. All our tag displayed "Fujitsu"...but......it doesn't means that we are supporting Fujitsu's products... We are supporting McDonald's POS system...  blink.gif  ... both Malaysia and Singapore... which means all the store's manager will call our helpline if they are facing problems with their counters and sales....network issues...computer hardware and software... but not the ice-cream machine la... with 1st level support including solving some software problems through PC-Anywhere...

Besides of that we are supporting server batch jobs and incidents problems request for 1 insurance company for 7 countries where Malaysia not in the list...
And..........salary onli got 1900+200 shift allowance... anyway it is a 4 days work 3 days off format with 9 hours working time....

Sounds good??......... listen to this......imagine... there are only 2-3 fellas in 1 shift supporting.....DIE ah i tell u!!!!
soulmate
post Jun 10 2006, 11:14 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(ini @ Jun 8 2006, 05:38 PM)
openview is for HP rite...
and I can tell you it sucks... a lot!
---
Does anyone here come from DELL?
i think DELL helpdesk is good icon_rolleyes.gif
mind to share something here?
swlong
post Jun 10 2006, 01:13 PM

548 posts

---DELETE---

This post has been edited by swlong: Jun 27 2006, 10:12 PM
Lowyat
post Jun 11 2006, 07:04 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

QUOTE(ini @ Jun 8 2006, 05:38 PM)
Any webite can provide the type and the software name of the help desk system? thanks for helping.

This post has been edited by Lowyat: Jun 11 2006, 07:04 PM
LoneRanger
post Jun 12 2006, 01:54 AM

461 posts

For interviewer asking to confirm on spot i would suggest u to think about it, i was conned by this type of interviewer. Actually if they really interested to hire u, they shouldnt be pushing you. My case is i noticed that i was underpaid, and the worst thing is the first letter i signed wasnt just an offer letter, is an agreement and it state once signed u considered a permanent staff and any engagement in a year you would need to compensate the company 1 month salary.
I never had a chance to discuss about salary during the interview. In the offer letter they never mention about allowance and other eligible benefit, so i thought that would be in the employment letter, but too bad the employment letter state, salary (allowance included).

One more thing i would like to find out, if we work shift we should get allowance seperately rite!? is this part of the labour law? i did not get any allowance for that, because they put salary (allowance included).
limweekoon
post Jun 12 2006, 08:16 AM

372 posts

normally it will separate out the item in your payslip.
basic salary RMxxx
shift allowance RMxxx

This post has been edited by limweekoon: Jun 12 2006, 08:21 AM
TSini
post Jun 13 2006, 11:33 AM

85 posts

does anyone go to the Dell walk in interview last Saturday?
investor
post Jun 13 2006, 05:00 PM

125 posts

Just got a call from Manpower, asking me interested work in IBM HelpDesk Technical Support in Cyberjaya.

Is it good to work there? They ask me what is your basic salary. As I don't know the market salary for helpdesk i just said from RM2000-RM2300. Is it alright?

I haven't accept the offer yet, as I said I have transportation problem to go there. But they said got transportation allowance of RM300. Ehhhh let me think about it. smile.gif

swlong
post Jun 13 2006, 08:52 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(investor @ Jun 13 2006, 05:00 PM)
Just got a call from Manpower, asking me interested work in IBM HelpDesk Technical  Support in Cyberjaya.

Is it good to work there? They ask me what is your basic salary. As I don't know the market salary for helpdesk i just said from RM2000-RM2300. Is it alright?

I haven't accept the offer yet, as I said I have transportation problem to go there. But they said got transportation allowance of RM300. Ehhhh let me think about it. smile.gif
If they pay u around 1.8k n above(providing u r degree holder)...u should go for it.
paint9
post Jun 14 2006, 01:45 PM

28 posts

Man Power ? which branch of Man poweR?
olman
post Jun 14 2006, 02:26 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(paint9 @ Jun 14 2006, 01:45 PM)
Man Power ? which branch of Man poweR?
Manpower is a recruitment agency.
vivaldi
post Jun 14 2006, 03:19 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(limweekoon @ Jun 10 2006, 11:11 AM)
i was with fujitsu helpdesk in 2000 when they are still in damansara, but only worked for 8 months. that time we are working 5 days, rest 2 days only. sometimes only 1 person in a shift. you consider more lucky now. anyway, did they changed their working hour now? it was 7am-3:30pm (morning shift) and 3:30pm-12pm (evening shift)
Oh..then u must be my senior la.. laugh.gif ...
nowdays we have 3 shifts... 7am - 4pm... 3pm - 12am... 10.30pm - 7am...

I planned to ciao la after my contract ends... any good recommend ah?? tongue.gif
limweekoon
post Jun 14 2006, 11:30 PM

372 posts

Ex-staff la, not senior. I'm not sure do they still send engineers for training courses. Last time they send engineers (take turns) for MCSE & MS Office trainings. I was the unlucky one, only get to attend ms office training. Fundamentals somemore. Told the manager I want to attend MCSE coz MS Office waste money only for us, he ask me learn from basic. MS Office I oredi know coz using it mostly everyday when study uni. End up I cabut and study myself for MCSE. but until now didnt went for any exams tongue.gif

Jobs are harder & harder to get nowadays. Either you have to work low pay & normal hours. Or you can earn more but work long hours + On Call. This kind of jobs normally provided with pager + Handphone. No freedom

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Jun 14 2006, 03:19 PM)
Oh..then u must be my senior la..  laugh.gif ...
nowdays we have 3 shifts... 7am - 4pm... 3pm - 12am... 10.30pm - 7am...

I planned to ciao la after my contract ends... any good recommend ah??  tongue.gif
soulmate
post Jun 15 2006, 07:45 PM

1,276 posts

Helpdesk for MNC company should have 2200 - 3500 based on experience
i dunnot if not MNC, the basic pay may vary
thefryingfox
post Jun 20 2006, 12:46 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

anyone want to work with ATOS Origin can submit your resume to me. i got lubang with one of the job agency's smile.gif
sinoffire
post Jun 22 2006, 08:04 PM

3,557 posts

hi all, anyone working in inter-touch?? HERE i just went for an int'w tis noon & they stret away confirm me come to work on 03/07/06. is there something fishy?? but they sounds pro lar. how ar??

they are wholy owned by NTT Do-Co-Mo which is a popular brand in Japan. IINM, i'm gonna be assigned to work as IT helpdesk 1st level. bcos the int'wer said i'm gonna answer calls from hotels' guests from all over the world whenever they cant connect their notebooks/pc/laptop to the internet. so i guess this shud be an IT helpdesk job.

working hours: 12hr per day. work 4 days a week, 3 days off.
shift allowance: RM400

anyone ?? comments?? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
patrickyeo21
post Jun 22 2006, 08:25 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

how about this? Im a contract worker in infineon. IT Support level 2
Basic pay : 1700k
Working hrs : 8.00am - 5.30pm
OT : paid x 1.5 per hour
Sunday : paid x 2.0 per hour
meal allowance : RM 10 for those who work Fixed OT
fixed OT : 2-3 days have to work til 9.30
24 hrs standby
once in a month have to work from mon-sun
what do u think ?
sinoffire
post Jun 22 2006, 08:28 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(patrickyeo21 @ Jun 22 2006, 08:25 PM)
how about this? Im a contract worker in infineon. IT Support level 2
Basic pay : 1700k
Working hrs : 8.00am - 5.30pm
OT : paid x 1.5 per hour
Sunday : paid x 2.0 per hour
meal allowance : RM 10 for those who work Fixed OT
fixed OT : 2-3 days have to work til 9.30
24 hrs standby
once in a month have to work from mon-sun
what do u think ?
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif if work liddat, i mati lono for wat reason liaw lor.
patrickyeo21
post Jun 22 2006, 08:41 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

but still my colleague works range from 2 - 4 yrs
what do u think of them ? Ironman ?
ironrashid_2k2
post Jun 27 2006, 01:30 AM

491 posts

job title: technical support
Agent: Kelly services
work to: Tmnet Streamyx
job description: l1 support in streamyx prob. ppoe and ppoa
language support: english, malay, and some other
schedule: 8 hours shift, 2 days off
tenure: contract
basic salary: RM 1300
allowance: cant remember
years spent with this job: less then 6 month
other benefit: cant remember

sinoffire
post Jun 27 2006, 01:54 AM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(patrickyeo21 @ Jun 22 2006, 08:41 PM)
but still my colleague works range from 2 - 4 yrs
what do u think of them ? Ironman ?
but then if got promotion opportunities, it's worth staying there lor.

just my op.
nurulhidayah
post Jun 30 2006, 04:09 PM

fryingfox...

please check PM.i need your email add.

tq.
KeNNy
post Jun 30 2006, 06:13 PM

Hello
1,558 posts

What is the basic range for Multinational Corporation an IT line with a First Class Honours?

This post has been edited by KeNNy: Jun 30 2006, 06:17 PM
Espionage
post Jul 4 2006, 10:27 AM

539 posts

about 2.0 - 2.5
leslie_julius
post Aug 10 2006, 08:38 AM

113 posts

here's mine.

*Job title: Helpdesk Coordinator (was) untill da system engineers resign.Nw i dont even knw wats my title...for any course or conference i go i can choose wat i want to be printed on da freakin card.
*Company: Partners of Oracle
*Job description: Home based/small business customer support (L1, L2)
*Language support: English
*Schedule: 5 days week
*Tenure: Permanent
*Basic salary: Above RM1800
*Allowance:if i take a cab, yeah sure y not....
*Additional benefits: annual/medical leaves, bonus(havent heard it for a long time)

Doin my MCSE nw...2 more modules and then sit for exams.

0.0446sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:33 PM