128 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

mhyug
post Sep 14 2013, 03:27 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 14 2013, 08:50 AM)
Guys,

Golden opportunity for those who are really want to get their hands DIRTY AND LEARN! Dont expect to earn an easy money but end of the day you will be proud to be the one who make the hole (when you are driller)...I'm not working here so do not ask me about the SALARY!!

Practical Driller Trainee
Maersk Drilling Malaysia Sdn Bhd - Malaysia
Our Driller Trainee Programme is a rare opportunity to gain a fast track international career in the offshore industry. The aim of the Programme is to train future leaders for our drilling units. During this period you will receive theoretical training at our Maersk Training facilities, as well as practical training on our offshore unit. You will work your way up from Roustabout, and at the end of the Programme you should be able to take up an Assistant Driller’s role on our rig where you will continue your training and career.

Candidates for the position should meet following requirements:

Malaysian nationality (Work location is in Brunei) with good verbal & written English
Preferably with more than 3 years of Mandatory offshore experience, minimum as floorhands
Holding a B Eng / BSc in Marine, Mechanical or Civil Engineering, or equivalent

We offer you a challenging & international working environment, if you meet the above requirements please send your application with complete resume to: ELY009@maersk.com .

Closing date: 22nd Sept, 2013

www.maerskdrilling.com
fuhh good opportunity this. too bad ada age cap. wink.gif
meonkutu11
post Sep 14 2013, 04:34 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 14 2013, 03:27 PM)
Ye boh..as stated, it is rare opportunity especially for malaysian. They have one rig here but the placement will be on their rig in Brunei. Maybe something to show to petronas for next coming rig contracts or extension...
RootOfJesse
post Sep 14 2013, 05:31 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Sep 14 2013, 11:32 AM)
Good for you.! i still seeking opportunity to join back construction. biggrin.gif
haha...u mean, construction for oil rig or construction of building? biggrin.gif
camel_active
post Sep 14 2013, 08:49 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 14 2013, 05:31 PM)
haha...u mean, construction for oil rig or construction of building?  biggrin.gif
of course oil rig.! its okay either onshore or offshore..just feel bored when ur actual routine is sit in front desktop from 8 am till 6 pm everyday..
BillySteel
post Sep 14 2013, 11:06 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 13 2013, 01:25 AM)
Guys' I've been offered to work with kencana marine as fresh grad in lumut..what do you think of this career path. I heard the job is for project management for epcc of wheatstone project modules (70% site and 30% desk) and have to wear coveralls and stay in the yard. (I've always wanted to go offshore) My background is construction and what are my chances of going offshore? the HR from SK said there will be chance to go offshore, subject to operation requirement of SK ( I don't know what probability).

I'm currently working in a multidisciplinary consulting firm(mainly construction) and the pay is freaking good, permanent,good benefits, very nice working environment, good training and colleagues.

I'm having a hard time to decide now, since for now, SK is the only Oil and Gas company that called me. I have applied about 7 oil and gas companies.

My job now requires a lot of thinking and design structures, which is real engineering. My current boss is also an ir.

what is the income of an ir compared to a project manager in downstream oil and gas?
Firstly SK is a sub-con for the Wheatstone LNG project as the main EPCC is Bechtel.

And no you will never go offshore if you are placed in Wheatstone LNG plant(something like pengerang) project well thats somewhere around 4-5 years the project is expected to be done. You might go to australia being in the project team for interfacing but I highly doubt thats going to happen.

RootOfJesse
post Sep 14 2013, 11:29 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Sep 14 2013, 11:06 PM)
Firstly SK is a sub-con for the Wheatstone LNG project as the main EPCC is Bechtel.

And no you will never go offshore if you are placed in Wheatstone LNG plant(something like pengerang) project well thats somewhere around 4-5 years the project is expected to be done. You might go to australia being in the project team  for interfacing but I highly doubt thats going to happen.
So SK is just a subcon..haha

The main con is Bechtel, I think it's fine to work with SK for the experience.. then there will be opportunities later in other epcc like o&m or jurong. What are your thoughts? what chances for civil engineers to be in the midstream/upstream industry, in engineering position, not as safety officer etc.
freshie_newbie
post Sep 14 2013, 11:34 PM

13 posts

Hi and hello to all Otai2 O&G

I'm new here pardon for my foolishness lol. Fuhhh took me a while to read from first post until latest in this v5 thread. Gain a lot of useful information regarding o&g in malaysia. Got 4 more thread to khatam haha.

I just graduate as Mechanical Engineer last july at not so-popular-uni in uk. My result is 2-1 and I spent most of my summer time either travel or doing part time in uk and now I regret because I dont have any internship experiece sad.gif . My question is where should I start my career as i would like to join o&g industry very much? I plan to join small service provider to gain basic knowledge/skills and I dont mind the salary too since I got zero knowledge in o&g yet. I already apply and send my resumes to random hr email i got and I dunno what is the correct way to apply. Should be thru the main website or phone call or hand in resume at office?

Sorry for the long post
tl:dr Im a newbie need some help :<
mhyug
post Sep 15 2013, 01:35 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 14 2013, 04:34 PM)
Ye boh..as stated, it is rare opportunity especially for malaysian. They have one rig here but the placement will be on their rig in Brunei. Maybe something to show to petronas for next coming rig contracts or extension...
yep, maersk convincer tuh. good rig, not too old and some nice facilities tongue.gif
BillySteel
post Sep 15 2013, 02:38 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 15 2013, 12:29 AM)
So SK is just a subcon..haha

The main con is Bechtel, I think it's fine to work with SK for the experience.. then there will be opportunities later in other epcc like o&m or jurong. What are your thoughts? what chances for civil engineers to be in the midstream/upstream industry, in engineering position, not as safety officer etc.
For experience yes I believe that kencana is good. But job prospect depends on position. Btw structural engineers are very much in demand at the moment.

Kencana does do EPC/C projects with its subsidiaries.

But fabrication and construction are basically downstream I am not sure where commissioning is clasified under.
christ14
post Sep 15 2013, 07:46 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 14 2013, 08:50 AM)
Guys,

Golden opportunity for those who are really want to get their hands DIRTY AND LEARN! Dont expect to earn an easy money but end of the day you will be proud to be the one who make the hole (when you are driller)...I'm not working here so do not ask me about the SALARY!!

Practical Driller Trainee
Maersk Drilling Malaysia Sdn Bhd - Malaysia
Our Driller Trainee Programme is a rare opportunity to gain a fast track international career in the offshore industry. The aim of the Programme is to train future leaders for our drilling units. During this period you will receive theoretical training at our Maersk Training facilities, as well as practical training on our offshore unit. You will work your way up from Roustabout, and at the end of the Programme you should be able to take up an Assistant Driller’s role on our rig where you will continue your training and career.

Candidates for the position should meet following requirements:

Malaysian nationality (Work location is in Brunei) with good verbal & written English
Preferably with more than 3 years of Mandatory offshore experience, minimum as floorhands
Holding a B Eng / BSc in Marine, Mechanical or Civil Engineering, or equivalent

We offer you a challenging & international working environment, if you meet the above requirements please send your application with complete resume to: ELY009@maersk.com .

Closing date: 22nd Sept, 2013

www.maerskdrilling.com
minimum as floorhand. aku floorhand pun tak jadi. apuh..aku cuma diploma e&e je. nak try pon tak boleh

QUOTE(camel_active @ Sep 14 2013, 08:49 PM)
of course oil rig.! its okay either onshore or offshore..just feel bored when ur actual routine is sit in front desktop from 8 am till 6 pm everyday..
draughtsman for shipbuilding. really will get bored after 2 years.

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 13 2013, 12:25 AM)
Guys' I've been offered to work with kencana marine as fresh grad in lumut..what do you think of this career path. I heard the job is for project management for epcc of wheatstone project modules (70% site and 30% desk) and have to wear coveralls and stay in the yard. (I've always wanted to go offshore) My background is construction and what are my chances of going offshore? the HR from SK said there will be chance to go offshore, subject to operation requirement of SK ( I don't know what probability).

I'm currently working in a multidisciplinary consulting firm(mainly construction) and the pay is freaking good, permanent,good benefits, very nice working environment, good training and colleagues.

I'm having a hard time to decide now, since for now, SK is the only Oil and Gas company that called me. I have applied about 7 oil and gas companies.

My job now requires a lot of thinking and design structures, which is real engineering. My current boss is also an ir.

what is the income of an ir compared to a project manager in downstream oil and gas?
what firm u working at? i want try tongue.gif
RootOfJesse
post Sep 15 2013, 09:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Sep 14 2013, 08:49 PM)
I'm wondering how good is the job prospect if I continue to work with Sapura kencana in lumut. Also I'm very worried if I join projects line and leave my current technical line, I will basically be earning less and have to do roughneck's work with low pay cry.gif

What is your experience bro.. and why would you want to join back construction line?

I have very little time left to decide icon_question.gif
RootOfJesse
post Sep 15 2013, 09:26 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Sep 15 2013, 02:38 AM)
For experience yes I believe that kencana is good. But job prospect depends on position.  Btw structural engineers are very much in demand at the moment.

Kencana does do EPC/C projects with its subsidiaries.

But fabrication and construction are basically downstream I am not sure where commissioning is clasified under.
I believe Commissioning could be considered downstream and installation is considered subsea/midstream. Would be a great opportunity even to travel midstream.

Btw, any idea how difficult is it to be transferred to KL from assistant project engineer to structural engineer? If it's possible to hop back to technical line then i'll be very happy.

Currently my position is civil and structural engineer (building construction industry). If i managed to get my Ir title in 5 years, would you think hopping back to oil and gas industry as senior structural engineer/manager will be possible?

I think it would be unwise to lose this chance to work in oil and gas industry rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Sep 16 2013, 12:47 AM
RootOfJesse
post Sep 15 2013, 09:36 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(freshie_newbie @ Sep 14 2013, 11:34 PM)
Hi and hello to all Otai2 O&G

I'm new here pardon for my foolishness lol. Fuhhh  took me a while to read from first post until latest in this v5 thread. Gain a lot of useful information regarding o&g in malaysia. Got 4 more thread to khatam haha.

I just graduate as Mechanical Engineer last july at not so-popular-uni in uk. My result is 2-1 and I spent most of my summer time either travel or doing part time in uk and now I regret because I dont have any internship experiece sad.gif . My question is where should I start my career as i would like to join o&g industry very much? I plan to join small service provider to gain basic knowledge/skills and I dont mind the salary too since I got zero knowledge in o&g yet. I already apply and send my resumes to random hr email i got and I dunno what is the correct way to apply. Should be thru the main website or phone call or hand in resume at office?

Sorry for the long post
tl:dr Im a newbie need some help :<
Try to apply online as graduate/fresh engineer. Try to also start big and apply schlumberger or baker hughes as your starting salary can be higher. It's even better if you have contacts (very important in oil and gas industry) to your advantage. Online application or fresh graduate training programs is also a form of "contacts".

Always better to call the company after you have email them your resume, at least you know your status.

hope this helps! icon_rolleyes.gif
Thepazlie
post Sep 15 2013, 11:04 PM

salam and hi to all

Saya perlukan sedikit informasi tentang peluang kerja dalam OnG. Saya akan grad next year, dalam bidang Material Engineering and Production management. Ada tak cara untuk saya masuk ke dalam sektor OnG (terutama offshore, construction, field)? Semoga otai² dapat membantu smile.gif

ps : hope you guys don't mind me using BM...
freshie_newbie
post Sep 15 2013, 11:23 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 15 2013, 09:36 PM)
Try to apply online as graduate/fresh engineer. Try to also start big and apply schlumberger or baker hughes as your starting salary can be higher. It's even better if you have contacts (very important in oil and gas industry) to your advantage. Online application or fresh graduate training programs is also a form of "contacts".

Always better to call the company after you have email them your resume, at least you know your status.

hope this helps!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you for the advice! I applied to schlumberger before but no respond from them. Should I call the slb office in malaysia just to follow up? Yeah thats the disadvantage right now as I dont have any contact within company atm. I'm going to spend next week at selangor/kl to hand in my resume to few o&g offices. wish me luck guys! biggrin.gif
Thepazlie
post Sep 16 2013, 01:37 AM

ops, sorry. i'm still new here.

ok, as i stated above, i will be graduating next year in material engineering and production management (it's a double major program). i know that it's still early, but i was wondering about the best way to get into OnG industry (especially exploration, drilling, field etc). maybe the chance wont be as big as those who doing mecha, chemi, civil etc, or i'll have to start from bottom, but it doesnt really bother me. as long as i can get onto the right track, i would be really thankful.

So guys, do you have any suggestion? Please please please.

(^^)Y
abgkik
post Sep 16 2013, 02:59 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(mrsbrightside @ Sep 14 2013, 11:57 AM)
Hello guys,

Have anyone heard of Prime Sourcing International under Petronas? What does it do besides procurement?
It is trading company..
temuai
post Sep 16 2013, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 14 2013, 03:27 PM)
vacancy ini ada age limit ke? hmm.gif
DuFfz
post Sep 16 2013, 11:48 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 15 2013, 09:17 PM)
I'm wondering how good is the job prospect if I continue to work with Sapura kencana in lumut. Also I'm very worried if I join projects line and leave my current technical line, I will basically be earning less and have to do roughneck's work with low pay  cry.gif

What is your experience bro.. and why would you want to join back construction line?

I have very little time left to decide  icon_question.gif
judging from your respond, shows that you're not a site guy i.e. why thinking going offshore if you're not a site guy for a start? If you're good designing on papers, how good are you managing people? cos that is by far the most difficult thing to manage on a daily basis.

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Sep 16 2013, 11:49 PM
RootOfJesse
post Sep 16 2013, 11:56 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Sep 16 2013, 11:48 PM)
judging from your respond, shows that you're not a site guy i.e. why thinking going offshore if you're not a site guy for a start? If you're good designing on papers, how good are you managing people? cos that is by far the most difficult thing to manage on a daily basis.
I was a project engineer in my previous contracting company and have been to site countless times. In fact I love to be at site. Managing people is not a problem as I will liaise with the project coordinator etc, not the labourer..

128 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:00 PM