Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

DuFfz
post Jul 16 2013, 10:18 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jul 12 2013, 08:30 PM)
Just want to share this info from my friend. DO NOT PM ME ABOUT DETAILS. TQ
Thanks for the info bro.. icon_rolleyes.gif
DuFfz
post Jul 18 2013, 10:29 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(ymixt05 @ Jul 18 2013, 06:46 AM)
hi all..anyone care to share their experiences in JGC corp? (eg working environment, benefits, increment, career prospect)

I heard that they have got a huge project in bintulu.
Train 9...saw the drawings...quite big
DuFfz
post Aug 14 2013, 09:33 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Beckupp @ Aug 14 2013, 05:54 AM)
he he he...  for some reason I do not miss going offshore...

mujur tak pernah kena naik support vessel or naik basket....  sweat.gif
Tak ada heli... me no go...   nod.gif
Working offshore really that lucrative? i heard that local topside maintenance contractors pays daily allowance of <100 to field engineers. So far i observe those well services related work pays more in term of allowance

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Aug 14 2013, 09:33 AM
DuFfz
post Aug 14 2013, 11:08 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(MUFTW @ Aug 14 2013, 09:51 AM)
Actually I have a question here, which side actually pay the most for offshore allowance ?
Operator ? Field Services ? Contractor ? Equipment/Instrument supplier ? generally I mean
Should as the otai here..im interested to know also
DuFfz
post Aug 18 2013, 06:02 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(belacansedap @ Aug 17 2013, 12:13 AM)
Nope...not really, I'm a east Malaysian...keje kat Brunei...maybe a bit difficult kot nak terjumpa dgn korg...since most of you guys stay dkt Pen.Mlysia...
Any open vacancy in brunei bro?
DuFfz
post Aug 19 2013, 06:26 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(belacansedap @ Aug 19 2013, 09:15 AM)
Vacancy always have...tp dkt sini dorg prefered yang dah more than 6 years experience.
for me, I am just lucky, sbb company Transfer ke sini...
I see...im hitting 3rd year in live plant maintenance..mostly on civil / structural maintenance side. Kinda maxed out already in this environment..looking for offshore experience.
DuFfz
post Aug 22 2013, 01:51 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Aug 22 2013, 11:42 AM)
my first salary is RM 12k, during that time, i worked as construction engineer at site and i have 0 experience.

now, i only have 1 year and 3 months experience in this industry.

looking forward to jump to another company.

anyone have any vacancy? smile.gif
Fresh construction engr 12k?? wow...which co. offer that much for a freshie?
DuFfz
post Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(belacansedap @ Aug 21 2013, 01:25 AM)
hehehe..same goes to me..looking for offshore work...especially in SBO region..
plan to go back to Malaysia...coz here is kind a bored..
Do share if got info on any openings yea... nod.gif

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM
DuFfz
post Aug 22 2013, 06:22 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Aug 22 2013, 06:00 PM)
Which company and which site that gives you this much??
Local or client? That's a lot for a beginner... I really envy u... You need to pay tax for that big chunk?
That is why..i want to know also tongue.gif IMO that kind of pay is for a super experienced ir. level if we're talking about normal construction industry

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Aug 22 2013, 06:23 PM
DuFfz
post Aug 28 2013, 09:18 PM

429 posts

anyone know how's the environment in innovative oilfield services s/b formerly known as corro-shield?

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Aug 28 2013, 09:18 PM
DuFfz
post Sep 16 2013, 11:48 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 15 2013, 09:17 PM)
I'm wondering how good is the job prospect if I continue to work with Sapura kencana in lumut. Also I'm very worried if I join projects line and leave my current technical line, I will basically be earning less and have to do roughneck's work with low pay  cry.gif

What is your experience bro.. and why would you want to join back construction line?

I have very little time left to decide  icon_question.gif
judging from your respond, shows that you're not a site guy i.e. why thinking going offshore if you're not a site guy for a start? If you're good designing on papers, how good are you managing people? cos that is by far the most difficult thing to manage on a daily basis.

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Sep 16 2013, 11:49 PM
DuFfz
post Oct 6 2013, 10:22 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 1 2013, 03:52 PM)
nowadays young generation are very easy to get fed up with their own works...when their friends tell the HUC got a lof of money..enjoys life at offshore/site everybody wants to jump ship join HUC team...then meet another friend tell Engineering/Design working in air conditional with lucrative wages then everybody wants jump ship join Engineering/Design team..

for me, once you join oil n gas field, better to focus and develop more skills and knowledge so that you can have niche and Subject Matter Expert for the position but for those in offshore, it is different story and end of the day of course everybody would like to stay in onshore
IMO being diverse is an added advantage rather than being SME...worst case...let say O&G industry going downhill, u still have the knowledge & skills doing other stuff which is useful in other industry i.e. construction, manufacturing etc. rather than being niche in 1 area.
DuFfz
post Nov 25 2013, 11:24 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(mybanana @ Nov 25 2013, 11:22 AM)
DESB tu apa?
Dayang enterprise sdn bhd..some say its related to taib...dont know true o not

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Nov 25 2013, 11:25 AM
DuFfz
post Feb 6 2014, 11:29 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Feb 6 2014, 06:49 AM)
Received this from my friend. I believe this is the first fatal incident for 2014.

Work safe guys.
I dont think so..there was an incident where a worker was struck dead by a forklift in labuan
DuFfz
post Feb 6 2014, 11:34 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 31 2014, 01:31 PM)
i assisted my ex-GM in renewing the license for our m'sia 3 plants years ago. the thing is that sometimes, getting the correct person with correct qualifications and experience is difficult. if get fresh, require some time to train, maybe months, maybe years. sometimes, the responsibilities require just plug-and-play which customers require qualified and experience personnels only in tenders within such a short period of time.

as for Bumi, last year, i was rejected for a post based in KL as 1 of the requirements was this when communicating with a UK recruiter. so local talents?
not intend to cause anything about this but that is the true fact. so instead of go for those big names operators/contractors/consultants, sometimes, certain MNC underdogs which serve those big names will pay better and rewarding more diverse experience. so sometimes, the big names with new people fresh experience in o&g just know zero thing about practicality and only as pen-pusher or talk-demand this that.

as for expat in some MNC companies, some of them may play the "politics" pushing to their vendors in order to extend their contracts...
In our national oil company have alot of these pen pusher
DuFfz
post Feb 6 2014, 05:39 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Feb 6 2014, 04:16 PM)
In ASB? One fatality per month... sad.gif
I think so....
DuFfz
post May 2 2014, 07:49 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(Pisanggoreng @ Apr 30 2014, 11:24 PM)
Anyone from civil engineering background here?? Boring..what's the latest news on tapis topside on black marlin ah? Haha

Saw tuan yakup at KL convention center during OTC... Too many ppl didn't manage to say hi... Lol
Civil guy here..ada kilijia kosong kah? tongue.gif

0.0254sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:58 PM