128 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

camel_active
post Sep 11 2013, 10:13 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Sep 11 2013, 11:28 AM)
Agree.

The freshies now think that they need a cabinet of paper qualifications.

The best is to join the site and dirty the hands.
Learn more than reading 10 books.
i love this statement.! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
athrun300
post Sep 11 2013, 11:55 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:07 PM)
You may try luck in oil & gas automation/instrumentation field like DCS, transmitters, control valve.
Fresh grad may get around 3k + salary (7 years ago).
Now simply can get more than 5k SG dollar with experience in some Singapore company.
My background is electrical eng but currently working in vendor providing analyzer system plus instruments. Pay is wise and can get extra allowance if travel a lot. The only downside is I has to climb up and down like monkey. sad.gif . Sometimes get fxxx my customers. Guess it's in the package as vendor.

I wonder is there any instrument job that don't require me to work physically. Now seriously considering switching to consultant side.
mhyug
post Sep 12 2013, 12:07 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Sep 11 2013, 06:44 PM)
Hi everyone,

I've been following this post since my 1st year of my degree. I gained a lot of info and knowledge reading your chit chat, it really helpful - helped me in my interview. I'm in my final year now, and I just secured a job with Petrofac under their trainee program. Look forward to join this thread soon smile.gif
good for you. they have some brilliant guys in there.

burning the midnight oil here at one of their oldies rig here tongue.gif . tho 1 of them is set to be cut loose soon
crazeetechcrew
post Sep 12 2013, 12:44 PM

132 posts

anyone working with technip ?a bit regarding benefits and working environment
TSazraeil
post Sep 12 2013, 01:07 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Sep 11 2013, 01:44 PM)
Hi everyone,

I've been following this post since my 1st year of my degree. I gained a lot of info and knowledge reading your chit chat, it really helpful - helped me in my interview. I'm in my final year now, and I just secured a job with Petrofac under their trainee program. Look forward to join this thread soon smile.gif
Congrats! Petrofac is quite a strong O&G player. Make the most of your time there.
wywy2020
post Sep 12 2013, 01:14 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(crazeetechcrew @ Sep 12 2013, 12:44 PM)
anyone working with technip ?a bit regarding benefits and working environment
how bout aker solutions?
Stephen80
post Sep 12 2013, 01:14 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Sep 11 2013, 11:55 PM)
My background is electrical eng but currently working in vendor providing analyzer system plus instruments. Pay is wise and can get extra allowance if travel a lot. The only downside is I has to climb up and down like monkey. sad.gif . Sometimes get fxxx my customers. Guess it's in the package as vendor.

I wonder is there any instrument job that don't require me to work physically. Now seriously considering switching to consultant side.
Seldom got engineer just stay in office do design. Nowadays job requires one person not only do design, but also have site knowledge, able to climb up/down. Even consultant need to go site survey and go to site during commissioning phase.
wywy2020
post Sep 12 2013, 01:17 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Sep 12 2013, 01:14 PM)
Seldom got engineer just stay in office do design. Nowadays job requires one person not only do design, but also have site knowledge, able to climb up/down. Even consultant need to go site survey and go to site during commissioning phase.
how bout aker solutions?
Stephen80
post Sep 12 2013, 01:20 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Sep 12 2013, 01:17 PM)
how bout aker solutions?
Aker Solutions provides Subsea Control System package.
I have worked with Aker Solution Brazil to integrate their packages into ICSS through Modbus and OPC communication. The client is for SBM FPSO
crazeetechcrew
post Sep 12 2013, 01:21 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Sep 12 2013, 01:14 PM)
its depend on which project the invovled, if EPCC project, yes they required us to have site experience
FortNil
post Sep 12 2013, 01:33 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 12 2013, 01:07 PM)
Congrats! Petrofac is quite a strong O&G player. Make the most of your time there.
I'll do my best!

Anyone has any idea how much is the pay I should be expecting?

junolow
post Sep 12 2013, 01:58 PM

204 posts

Anyone know how is the job prospect/salary range etc for Chemical Engineers in Government Sector??

I am currently in a dilemma , im an A-level student .results is AAA , and have applied for this year inake for Bachelor (Chemical Engineering) in Monash University Sunway Campus

I was offered the place and also offered a 25 % scholarhip per year . The original tuiton fee per year is rm 38000 , up to four years , and in addition i can apply PTPTN totalling about rm40k

but , there is now a PIDN scholarhip that i am egligible , the scholarships covers the full tuiton fees for the whole course + yearly allowance about rm9500 , if i choose to take this offer , then i would have to serve a 6- year bond under government after i completed my studies

But i really want to go further my master in australia and work there is possible

Now , my dad is letting me to decide whether to take the governemtn sponshorhip and server for 6 years , OR let my parents self- fund . ( they are ok with self-funding )

I dunno what to do >.<

after i serve the government for 6 years with a low salary , will i be able to jump into a higher pay when i go private sector??? cause about that time my age should be 30 and im scared after 6 years i will be still earning fresh graduate salary TT
wywy2020
post Sep 12 2013, 02:57 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Sep 12 2013, 01:20 PM)
Aker Solutions provides Subsea Control System package.
I have worked with Aker Solution Brazil to integrate their packages into ICSS through Modbus and OPC communication. The client is for SBM FPSO
is aker consider a good company?
how is the salary and benefit?
abgkik
post Sep 12 2013, 03:32 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Sep 11 2013, 06:44 PM)
Hi everyone,

Nice.. I just had a lunch with one of their Drilling Engineer... blush.gif

QUOTE(FortNil @ Sep 12 2013, 01:33 PM)
I'll do my best!
Anyone has any idea how much is the pay I should be expecting?
Trainee Program... Their standard trainee wage is RM 3k/month I think..

This post has been edited by abgkik: Sep 12 2013, 03:35 PM
hanafi_mansor
post Sep 12 2013, 04:00 PM

Hi, anyone has experience attending interview session regarding Asiaflex products engineer apprentice program?mind sharing some tips?
FortNil
post Sep 12 2013, 04:55 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Sep 12 2013, 03:32 PM)
Nice.. I just had a lunch with one of their Drilling Engineer...  blush.gif
Trainee Program... Their standard trainee wage is RM 3k/month I think..
thanks abgkik!
meonkutu11
post Sep 12 2013, 05:47 PM

1,597 posts

If anyone thinking to sit for IADC/IWCF well control course to boost their career (which I dont know it happens or not), I suggest you have/read some basic drilling knowledge and principles and also the well control equipments.

Secondly, please choose the correct training provider. Some instructors will teach you how to answer the exam questions without telling the theory behind it and this will make you struggle. And if you want, I suggest you start with IADC first...

I'm not telling that you will not pass the exam but for your benefit especially for those who are self-sponsored,I hope you dont risk your usd2000 for something that you will just stressed your mind thinking to only pass the exam.

Just sharing...
BaRT
post Sep 12 2013, 06:43 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 12 2013, 01:07 PM)
ye mehh...pesal org ckp petrofac takde projek skang? talk cock je la kot org tuh...hehehe

bro...currently im working with sapurakencana, planning to jump company next year due to some reason,
but a lot people suggest me to stay (permanent position) due to unpredictable economy situation next year.

What do you think bro? Sini bayar ciput.... cry.gif
TSazraeil
post Sep 12 2013, 07:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Sep 12 2013, 01:43 PM)
ye mehh...pesal org ckp petrofac takde projek skang? talk cock je la kot org tuh...hehehe

bro...currently im working with sapurakencana, planning to jump company next year due to some reason,
but a lot people suggest me to stay (permanent position) due to unpredictable economy situation next year.

If you are in technical line, should be no problem jumping ship and getting better pay. O&G industry is a bit immune to economic shocks as long as the oil price stays above USD60. Right now, the oil price is close to USD110, so a lot of room to manage.

Petrofac ada Cendor which is a money maker, and they are also eyeing some of the Newfields asset (the ones they are selling) and they have the Berantai Project (which is JV with your company). As for takde projek, depends on how you see it lah ... new projects maybe but existing one is enough to handle already.
wywy2020
post Sep 12 2013, 07:35 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Sep 12 2013, 06:43 PM)

how much is sapura kencana pay?

128 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:23 AM