Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

TSazraeil
post Sep 12 2013, 07:48 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Sep 12 2013, 02:35 PM)
how much is sapura kencana pay?
I always say that thinking about pay is a slippery slope .... even here where I work, eventhough most of us are paid a boatload of money, you never want to know that your friend is getting paid higher than you ....
SUSSuper Saiya
post Sep 12 2013, 07:59 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Sep 11 2013, 09:37 PM)
Need advice. What companies to look for and what path should I take to if I want to join as entry level? I have degree in electrical engineering majoring in power (so-so results only). Spent the last three years doing business development for an IT solutions company. Don't mind small players, just want to go back to basics.

Already 28, turning 29 soon. Or is it too late? Thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
same situation with me. how all otai can help us
engrfeez
post Sep 12 2013, 08:29 PM

Ironman
316 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Sep 12 2013, 06:43 PM)
ye mehh...pesal org ckp petrofac takde projek skang? talk cock je la kot org tuh...hehehe

bro...currently im working with sapurakencana, planning to jump company next year due to some reason,
but a lot people suggest me to stay (permanent position) due to unpredictable economy situation next year.

What do you think bro? Sini bayar ciput.... cry.gif
Bart, better to stay with SK. U should know why, the are big EPCIC company know. They targeting all market in Malaysia.
Furthermore they have IBD (International Business Dept) to look potential international projects.

Sometimes we need to choose salary might be less, but long term career path is good. Or some of company will paid high, but the project only have 1 and 2. So you think and decide.

wywy2020
post Sep 12 2013, 08:40 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Sep 12 2013, 08:29 PM)
Bart, better to stay with SK. U should know why, the are big EPCIC company know. They targeting all market in Malaysia.
Furthermore they have IBD (International Business Dept) to look potential international projects.

Sometimes we need to choose salary might be less, but long term career path is good. Or some of company will paid high, but the project only have 1 and 2. So you think and decide.
how about between aker solutions and technip?
engrfeez
post Sep 12 2013, 08:49 PM

Ironman
316 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Sep 12 2013, 08:40 PM)
how about between aker solutions and technip?
if u ask me, i will choose technip...because they are strong in EPCCIC..

For aker i know they have subsea facilities in port klang and also aker engineering at Menara HLA... but according to my friend which working in MMHE and they are team was built a FPSO Cendor told a bit frustrated with design by Aker which is screwed up and effect the delay of EPCC project

This post has been edited by engrfeez: Sep 12 2013, 08:52 PM
nash9701
post Sep 12 2013, 09:00 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

For sharing...

(^__^)
meonkutu11
post Sep 12 2013, 09:43 PM

1,597 posts

They are now not SapuKencang but MopBersih...semua contract semua bussiness lines...
ch_teo
post Sep 12 2013, 09:55 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Sep 12 2013, 08:49 PM)
if u ask me,  i will choose technip...because they are strong in EPCCIC..

For aker i know they have subsea facilities in port klang and also aker engineering at Menara HLA... but according to my friend which working in MMHE and they are team was built a FPSO Cendor told a bit frustrated with design by Aker which is screwed up and effect the delay of EPCC project
they come to learn from us technically. most of them are paper qualifications (theory) but when in practicality of real life....
design something that is on paper workable but in reality maybe ?!?!

ch_teo
post Sep 12 2013, 10:01 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 12 2013, 05:47 PM)
If anyone thinking to sit for IADC/IWCF well control course to boost their career (which I dont know it happens or not), I suggest you have/read some basic drilling knowledge and principles and also the well control equipments.

Secondly, please choose the correct training provider. Some instructors will teach you how to answer the exam questions without telling the theory behind it and this will make you struggle. And if you want, I suggest you start with IADC first...

I'm not telling that you will not pass the exam but for your benefit especially for those who are self-sponsored,I hope you dont risk your usd2000 for something that you will just stressed your mind thinking to only pass the exam.

Just sharing...
people always think take this cert that cert but not evaluating are they suitable mentally and technically before proceed?
IADC/IWCF requires someone with technically strong in engineering/science + basic concept in maths + USC units (in M'sia education system, we are using SI units, take times to adjust to USC) + psychomotor skills for simulations before can take especially for the supervisor level.

the same applies to the NDT and CWSIP and API certifications. i have encountered many NDT Level II which are "doer" instead of "thinker" on what they are doing is correct or ?!?!

sometimes, i have doubts on certain NDT Level II how they pass their certs?!?!

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 12 2013, 10:04 PM
BaRT
post Sep 12 2013, 10:35 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 12 2013, 07:48 PM)
I always say that thinking about pay is a slippery slope .... even here where I work, eventhough most of us are paid a boatload of money, you never want to know that your friend is getting paid higher than you ....
Yep, that's correct. But when you know actually your company was underpay you, another different feeling of frustration...

Yep...this another thing which I consider too. Now thinking to jump within the sister company. Probably there will some salary adjustment for me.
mhyug
post Sep 12 2013, 10:43 PM

1,551 posts

huisshh who said Petrofac no project/job.

just finished a bunch of wells for them and 2/3 is on paper for the next 10 days, and none of them are at completion stage at the current location im in(CDW - 9 slots in total).

completion is scheduled for next year by the way.

and on top of that to the port side is JP Bussel and to the starboard side is Trident9. all 3 rigs also drilling steadfast tho one of em is shown the door by end of sept.

plenty of job/projects for Petrofac.
RootOfJesse
post Sep 13 2013, 12:25 AM

241 posts

Guys' I've been offered to work with kencana marine as fresh grad in lumut..what do you think of this career path. I heard the job is for project management for epcc of wheatstone project modules (70% site and 30% desk) and have to wear coveralls and stay in the yard. (I've always wanted to go offshore) My background is construction and what are my chances of going offshore? the HR from SK said there will be chance to go offshore, subject to operation requirement of SK ( I don't know what probability).

I'm currently working in a multidisciplinary consulting firm(mainly construction) and the pay is freaking good, permanent,good benefits, very nice working environment, good training and colleagues.

I'm having a hard time to decide now, since for now, SK is the only Oil and Gas company that called me. I have applied about 7 oil and gas companies.

My job now requires a lot of thinking and design structures, which is real engineering. My current boss is also an ir.

what is the income of an ir compared to a project manager in downstream oil and gas?
wywy2020
post Sep 13 2013, 07:23 AM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 13 2013, 12:25 AM)
Guys' I've been offered to work with kencana marine as fresh grad in lumut..what do you think of this career path. I heard the job is for project management for epcc of wheatstone project modules (70% site and 30% desk) and have to wear coveralls and stay in the yard. (I've always wanted to go offshore) My background is construction and what are my chances of going offshore? the HR from SK said there will be chance to go offshore, subject to operation requirement of SK ( I don't know what probability).

I'm currently working in a multidisciplinary consulting firm(mainly construction) and the pay is freaking good, permanent,good benefits, very nice working environment, good training and colleagues.

I'm having a hard time to decide now, since for now, SK is the only Oil and Gas company that called me. I have applied about 7 oil and gas companies.

My job now requires a lot of thinking and design structures, which is real engineering. My current boss is also an ir.

what is the income of an ir compared to a project manager in downstream oil and gas?
mind to share ur pay? PM me maybe....
temuai
post Sep 13 2013, 02:05 PM

hello, any one here know how to apply as a drilling fluids specialists (entry level) at MI Swaco Malaysia? any hr email?
TSazraeil
post Sep 13 2013, 06:25 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Sep 12 2013, 05:35 PM)
Yep, that's correct. But when you know actually your company was underpay you, another different feeling of frustration...
Yep...this another thing which I consider too. Now thinking to jump within the sister company. Probably there will some salary adjustment for me.
I totally agree with your statement that if you know the company underpays you, then it's time to move on. New recruits/expats to my company is also being paid exorbitantly higher than most of us and it's creating some friction. One of the reason that a lot of the existing staff are looking for other opportunities.
mangoman
post Sep 13 2013, 06:52 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

galaxyy
post Sep 13 2013, 11:12 PM

Hi, i'm 3rd year electrical student looking for oil & gas internship. Would like to get some advice and comments from all the sifu here...
>Which O&G company should i apply for internship?
>Usually when can i start to send my resume to the company?
>Any O&G companies recommendation?
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
meonkutu11
post Sep 14 2013, 08:50 AM

1,597 posts

Guys,

Golden opportunity for those who are really want to get their hands DIRTY AND LEARN! Dont expect to earn an easy money but end of the day you will be proud to be the one who make the hole (when you are driller)...I'm not working here so do not ask me about the SALARY!!

Practical Driller Trainee
Maersk Drilling Malaysia Sdn Bhd - Malaysia
Our Driller Trainee Programme is a rare opportunity to gain a fast track international career in the offshore industry. The aim of the Programme is to train future leaders for our drilling units. During this period you will receive theoretical training at our Maersk Training facilities, as well as practical training on our offshore unit. You will work your way up from Roustabout, and at the end of the Programme you should be able to take up an Assistant Driller’s role on our rig where you will continue your training and career.

Candidates for the position should meet following requirements:

Malaysian nationality (Work location is in Brunei) with good verbal & written English
Preferably with more than 3 years of Mandatory offshore experience, minimum as floorhands
Holding a B Eng / BSc in Marine, Mechanical or Civil Engineering, or equivalent

We offer you a challenging & international working environment, if you meet the above requirements please send your application with complete resume to: ELY009@maersk.com .

Closing date: 22nd Sept, 2013

www.maerskdrilling.com

camel_active
post Sep 14 2013, 11:32 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 13 2013, 12:25 AM)

Good for you.! i still seeking opportunity to join back construction. biggrin.gif
mrsbrightside
post Sep 14 2013, 11:57 AM

104 posts

Hello guys,

Have anyone heard of Prime Sourcing International under Petronas? What does it do besides procurement?

128 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0336sec    1.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:21 PM