Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

ch_teo
post Jul 19 2013, 08:21 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(gsdfan @ Jul 18 2013, 03:03 PM)
May I know are there opportunities that I could pursue in this field? I'm willing to start from the bottom. Probably an entry level mud engineer, where I checked from wiki that a degree may not be necessary in this position. Besides that I'm started to read more on oil and gas production ebooks online.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mud_engineer

user posted image.
one of the instruments that is needed to learn. to measure fluid density, remember 8.33 ppg, calibrate with water, the mud equipments, the types of drilling fluid, etc, pls go through the previous versions of this thread. willing to learn and comparing to actual working environment may not for one's mentality & physically to adapt.
with your degree, to reconsider to stick to your core and try opportunities in our neighbour country?

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jul 19 2013, 08:25 AM
ch_teo
post Jul 23 2013, 12:22 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(trololol @ Jul 23 2013, 01:14 AM)
Need advice here,
Should I go for NDT/NIOSH or just is it okay with my degree in mechanical to work in this field?
My lecturer to do this 2 courses to secure job in oil &gas
refer back to previous versions of this thread. and the following:
Inspection Engineer
ch_teo
post Jul 25 2013, 05:10 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 25 2013, 04:03 AM)
Be careful friends...For those who are working on the rigs/platforms please keep focus on the job even though you have to work during Hari Raya...hehehe...

Recent Accident:

http://www.upstreamonline.com/live/article1332936.ece

"Global Hunter also said Walter Oil & Gas reported that the blind shear rams on the rig's blowout preventer failed to close"
it is a warning news for those who always think want to go offshore --> they (especially those who want to be cook at the rig or those fresh grads or not from petroleum engineering background wanna turn to grey side without strong technical in petroleum engineering) have no idea how dangerous the kicks can become if not detected earlier and the hydrostatic pressure of the well and BOP fail.
there are better opportunities instead of go offshore.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jul 25 2013, 05:11 PM
ch_teo
post Aug 14 2013, 09:24 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 14 2013, 05:27 PM)
Batam is like u work in oversea, company pay their worker in USD or SGD in Batam..
it is also a place where the employer will place 4 or 5 persons for a job/workstation which requires only 1 or 2 persons in actual.
it is also a place where can hire 4 or 5 pretties at the reception desk which requires only 1 or 2 persons in actual.

earn and spend in USD/SGD.

also a place where if there is a hot shot situation and require the equipments, they don't care, you wait until we senang/relax later, then only we layan.
ch_teo
post Aug 26 2013, 01:17 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Sin7 @ Aug 26 2013, 01:03 PM)
hi, i'm new here.

currently im working in of the O&G vendor as technical engineer for supplying variety of pumps for onshore and offshore usage (but more suitable as kuli only  sweat.gif )

I'm really lack of exposure in this field and actually i was aiming for services or operation kind of job. I'm joining this discussion to get more networking and knowledge with all brother and taiko2 here if possible  notworthy.gif

Any idea on how to enter services company? starting with local company also ok. Gain experience first, salary second.
you can explore subsea processing pumps industry, especially multiphase boosting which was proven in increased RF in some overseas subsea field projects.
http://www.onesubsea.com/products_and_serv...ng_systems.aspx

another is centrifuge decanter which separate the drilling fluids from the solid cuttings.
http://www.scomigroup.com.my/core/dwm_solid.asp

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 26 2013, 01:25 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 12 2013, 09:55 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Sep 12 2013, 08:49 PM)
if u ask me,  i will choose technip...because they are strong in EPCCIC..

For aker i know they have subsea facilities in port klang and also aker engineering at Menara HLA... but according to my friend which working in MMHE and they are team was built a FPSO Cendor told a bit frustrated with design by Aker which is screwed up and effect the delay of EPCC project
they come to learn from us technically. most of them are paper qualifications (theory) but when in practicality of real life....
design something that is on paper workable but in reality maybe ?!?!

ch_teo
post Sep 12 2013, 10:01 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 12 2013, 05:47 PM)
If anyone thinking to sit for IADC/IWCF well control course to boost their career (which I dont know it happens or not), I suggest you have/read some basic drilling knowledge and principles and also the well control equipments.

Secondly, please choose the correct training provider. Some instructors will teach you how to answer the exam questions without telling the theory behind it and this will make you struggle. And if you want, I suggest you start with IADC first...

I'm not telling that you will not pass the exam but for your benefit especially for those who are self-sponsored,I hope you dont risk your usd2000 for something that you will just stressed your mind thinking to only pass the exam.

Just sharing...
people always think take this cert that cert but not evaluating are they suitable mentally and technically before proceed?
IADC/IWCF requires someone with technically strong in engineering/science + basic concept in maths + USC units (in M'sia education system, we are using SI units, take times to adjust to USC) + psychomotor skills for simulations before can take especially for the supervisor level.

the same applies to the NDT and CWSIP and API certifications. i have encountered many NDT Level II which are "doer" instead of "thinker" on what they are doing is correct or ?!?!

sometimes, i have doubts on certain NDT Level II how they pass their certs?!?!

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 12 2013, 10:04 PM
ch_teo
post Oct 22 2013, 12:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Oct 22 2013, 12:20 PM)
Hi guys! Been quite some time since i last post something here. smile.gif

Wanna ask if anyone here is working in weatherford singapore..
1 of our minor customers (am not sure which are you referring to, the Penjuru Road or the Loyang location).
We provide fabrication services for their completion equipments. Tubing, casing, plugs, hanger, coupling, pup joint, etc.

ch_teo
post Oct 24 2013, 12:15 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Oct 22 2013, 02:15 PM)
Oh...this one at loyang.
with the Penjuru.
what are your questions? if about their system and culture details, someone who has/is working in maybe can answer for you.
ch_teo
post Oct 24 2013, 03:00 PM

809 posts

Aker is 1 of our minor customers.
They do have Subsurface section.

Subsurface Geo
ch_teo
post Oct 25 2013, 10:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(orangminyak2013 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:45 AM)
13.3/8”, K55, 68 lb/ft casing is to be landed and cemented to surface inside 17.1/2” hole.
The planned casing shoe is at 5,000 ft TVD below the cementing head.
The shoe track is 80 ft long.
On bumping the plug at the top of the shoetrack, the casing is to be pressure tested.
Take the nominal wall thickness of 68 lb/ft casing as 0.480”.
Following the test, pressure inside the casing is bled off at the cement unit.
Assuming the casing has been cemented with 16 ppg cement and displaced with 10.0 ppg mud,
What collapse pressure is applied to the casing 80 ft above the casing shoe? 
Assume cementing head elevation is equal to the top of cement (TOC) in the 13.3/8” x 17.1/2” annulus. (1,535 psi)
i suggest you put a source instead of....
Drilling Ahead

Basic Design:
For API Casing Design, Collapse Pressure is using design factor 1.125.

Pc= 0.052 x mud weight x depth x design factor.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 25 2013, 10:51 PM
ch_teo
post Oct 29 2013, 10:06 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Oct 29 2013, 09:43 PM)
mud loggers usually have much more sensor in the surface than mlwd system surface sensor. mlwd surface sensor is mainly for signal detection and depth tracking while mud loggers also have the same set of sensor as the mlwd system but also have additional sensor to monitor mud pit level, the trip tank level, H2S and combustible gas sensor, pump stroke counter, surface torque, surface rpm and so much more.

but what mud logging system does not have is downhole sensor for formation evaluation. mud logging system is based purely on surface sensors.

mlwd does not care about trip in sheet, running casing or cementing while mud loggers still need to monitor the well during this operation.
"while mud loggers still need to monitor the well during this operation" if there is any lost circulation, gas-cut fluid, water-cut fluid, etc to mitigate kick and prevent blow out by triggering driller to adjust the choke.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 29 2013, 10:13 PM
ch_teo
post Nov 5 2013, 10:26 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Nov 4 2013, 11:56 AM)
fresh graduates nowadays aiming for big companies only, and never paid attention to other so-called small companies. Some of them even reject offers from this small companies, and wait for big companies to call and etc.

i'm working with vendor/supplier in ong currently, and of course the pay is not as big as the client. but in term of career advancement, i believe you'll learn more in this side, rather than the another. that's good for you experience and knowledge. you can jump ships after 3-4 years, and maybe at the end, you'll end up at client side too, who knows?

my advice is work your way up. dont just jump straightaway. yes, you can do that but dont ever underestimates the other companies as well..
that is the issues come when they are lacking the field and practical feasible field experience and start to be "paperworks". change this design to another design and vice versa based on paper knowledge.
the design "paperworks" is causing troubles in real life application to fabricate onshore and to be used offshore.
ch_teo
post Nov 19 2013, 12:21 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(sugarbun @ Nov 18 2013, 08:38 PM)
Hello, I have my geology degree in 2011.  I applied for mud logger position in Schlumberger and was interviewed in April. Unfortunately, I did not succeed in the interview. Does anyone know what other companies also have mudlogger position in Malaysia?

Right now, I am desperate to get in the field I studied in. It has been 2 years since graduation and still zero experience in geology. It seems like a waste of time and money with this degree. I am taking other unrelated jobs just to survive.
pls look for construction geology engineering firms. does not necessary o&g.
also opportunities in certification bodies but require extensive experience and certain certifications.

it is needed to the extend to spoon feed if you just looking for 1 Schlumberger only or/and other a few only, as a degree holder.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Nov 19 2013, 12:22 PM
ch_teo
post Dec 2 2013, 07:02 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Dec 1 2013, 08:45 PM)
Dear all sifus,

I got an offer from UTP to study degree in petroleum geoscience and it will be starting in January 2014.
I need advise from all sifus whether should I go or not because i am from diploma mechanical engineering..I am confused  sad.gif  sad.gif
is this 2 course related to each other and is it suitable for a mechanical engineering student to do petroleum geoscience ? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
please give me some idea..
thank you guys in advance
thermodynamics and fluid mechanics from mech background will aid in reservoir engineering.
ch_teo
post Dec 16 2013, 11:29 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Dec 16 2013, 08:49 PM)
Petronas hire a lot for downstream, preparation for Pengerang...sum more, depend on your experience etc. if you can perform well during interview...no issue into getting upstream or downstream...

(^___^)
because certain niche certificates/skills/experience are interchangeable down and up when the demand is there.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Dec 16 2013, 11:31 PM
ch_teo
post Jan 7 2014, 09:18 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(SFF @ Jan 7 2014, 05:01 PM)
Hi...

Is it safe for female engineer works on offshore?
do not understand your definition of "safe".
have a watch on the video and figure out yourself if you can withstand those oily/muddy/etc environment. a female friend of mine who is chemical engineering background goes offshore on and off.
Female in rig

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jan 7 2014, 09:23 PM
ch_teo
post Jan 7 2014, 09:21 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jan 7 2014, 04:18 PM)

with all that being said, we've all still seen overweight people offshore too wink.gif hehe
my current colleague is currently 1 of them until a time need to wait for another chopper schedule in Indonesia due to this weight & the chopper has full.
while standby and waiting, he was enjoying in the hotel and shopping around.
ch_teo
post Jan 22 2014, 08:02 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(vult2res @ Jan 21 2014, 05:11 PM)
Hi OnG'ians,
Just a thought, what are the chances of an M&E Engineer in the building construction to join OnG? Currently I'm having a 5 years plus of experience in the construction industry. Appreciate any feedback. Thanks
you can keep trying.
i was 3 years plus as ME consultant in high-rise building and infra works before switch to OCTG. coming 6 years in OCTG industry now. since last year have been able to get 4 offers with 2-3 times of my present basic but just rejected. 2 of these 4 were head hunted. 2 of these were through phone interview multiples times and succeeded with offer letters.
2 more coming after CNY.

it is about how an individual adapt to the new industry and churn out what have been learnt in previous roles to contribute to the new environments.
with a degree in mechanical, i topped up with drilling engineering, well control cert, some professional certs by company and self along these 6 years. currently, in progress top up with subsea engineering.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jan 22 2014, 08:03 AM
ch_teo
post Jan 22 2014, 08:59 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Jan 22 2014, 08:08 PM)
2-3 times of present salary but reject the offer? wow
in fact 1 Manager post was 3.3 times but rejected 2 weeks ago, the offer letter was prepared from Doha but position based in KL office with SEA travel.
am looking some thing much bigger and wider at present.

lot of fresh/other industry enthusiasts wanna join o&g but require people to spoon feed.
if one wanna earn it, pls go explore yourself your own strengths, weaknesses, the market demand in qualifications and experience, put in your own efforts, etc and find out how to proceed. that was how i was taught via US distance learning compared to my degree from malaysia.

try to work out professional certs that will match equivalent to your experience as building up your CV.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jan 22 2014, 09:04 PM

0.0574sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:41 PM