98 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

bryanyz
post May 20 2007, 07:00 PM

292 posts

hi all, will it be any mbp launch on this WWDC?
i gonna buy 1 but i worry tat will had new after regret..

kwekeugene
post May 20 2007, 08:05 PM

1,479 posts

bryan,

No idea about the launch date thought rumours have it that it's going to be real soon. You can try asking Steve Jobs for confirmation....
yetieater
post May 20 2007, 08:07 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ May 20 2007, 07:00 PM)
hi all, will it be any mbp launch on this WWDC?
i gonna buy 1 but i worry tat will had new after regret..
General word out on the block is to wait. Expect something on Tuesday. If not, at least hold out until WWDC.
bryanyz
post May 20 2007, 09:45 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ May 20 2007, 08:07 PM)
General word out on the block is to wait.  Expect something on Tuesday.  If not, at least hold out until WWDC.
"Expect something on Tuesday" wat u mean? unsure.gif

yetieater
post May 21 2007, 10:49 AM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

Definitions of expect on the Web:
* look forward to the probable occurrence of; "We were expecting a visit from our relatives"; "She is looking to a promotion"; "he is waiting to be drafted"

I'm almost certain of it.

I have a friend who does retail training for Intel. He was called by his boss while I was hanging at his place yesterday, and was told that Best Buy had received Santa Rosa MacBook Pros in that day.

In other words, Intel was passing the word that new MacBook Pro's were arriving and featured the new chipset. It's a done deal I feel.

civic98
post May 21 2007, 11:26 AM

1,255 posts

Whats the difference between Santa Rosa and the Intel 965 Chipset?
MacDaNife
post May 21 2007, 11:33 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ May 21 2007, 11:26 AM)
Whats the difference between Santa Rosa and the Intel 965 Chipset?
For those who are Google-deficient:

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1558,2127453,00.asp

It does not take a genius to realize that the MacBookPro line is going to be updated. I doubt the timing is this coming Teusday though. I'd expect the announcement at WWDC with availability only in the month after the announcement.
civic98
post May 21 2007, 11:39 AM

1,255 posts

So basically Santa Rosa IS the Intel 965 Chipset, so it has the same problem as this:

http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/notebooks/0,3...62014114,00.htm

The driver for the better graphics processing is not out yet...

Is that it?
allvin
post May 21 2007, 01:18 PM

4,506 posts

Santa Rosa is a platform.. Santa Rosa using that new chipset(of cos), dynamic FSB or whatsoever, intel draft-n wifi.. etc etc.. wink.gif
vandetta
post May 21 2007, 07:59 PM

658 posts

It's has been a long time I watch the Mac product line-ups and I think the MB and MBP differentiation is not worth it.

MBP = nice case/nice tech (illuminate keyboard, magsafe, hdd sensor)/nice graphic
MB = nice case/nice tech (magsafe, slot load, hdd sensor)/not so nice graphic

but the price differentiation is too high. I like and admire PB/MBP since I bought my first Mac, the iBook around 4 years ago, thinking to save for MBP but the RM7k is too high for me, can save RM2k for other things biggrin.gif
And I think the iMac is the most affordable and balanced Mac in price and hardware now.

Just hoping Leopard's new features will make the Mac community forget all this hardware stuff.
I love to see Apple enhance the XGL and Beryl funtion in Open Source Linux and put it in Leopard.

For those who is not Linux user and didn't know what is Beryl and XGL, just go to youtube.com and search for "Beryl"
ed0gawa
post May 25 2007, 06:21 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

meh.. something is wrong with my OSX ... hmmm...
It won't "auto re-fresh" (ok i have no idea what to call it ...)

Situation
For example i downloaded a zip file from the Internet to my Desktop (using FireFox), upon download completion, the file won't show on my Desktop until i "Right Click > Reveal File in Finder" from the Download Window of FIREFOX.

Or another example would be, i extracted the ZIP file, the contain won't show up ...

Any idea what is wrong here?

lokgotz
post May 25 2007, 07:16 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ May 25 2007, 06:21 PM)
meh.. something is wrong with my OSX ... hmmm...
It won't "auto re-fresh" (ok i have no idea what to call it ...)

Situation
For example i downloaded a zip file from the Internet to my Desktop (using FireFox), upon download completion, the file won't show on my Desktop until i "Right Click > Reveal File in Finder" from the Download Window of FIREFOX.

Or another example would be, i extracted the ZIP file, the contain won't show up ...

Any idea what is wrong here?
i've had the same problem long time ago.....after i installed bootcamp and windows XP....

i uninstalled it.....everything is fine.....i still dunno what's the problem...
civic98
post May 25 2007, 07:37 PM

1,255 posts

I experienced the same before, and same as lokgotz, after throwing out Windows, no more problems.
ed0gawa
post May 26 2007, 03:12 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

yeah... i also face this after installing bootcamp

Now i have to manually "relaunch Finder" in order to show those "new" files..

DAMN U WINDOZE..... (oh well, i still need it for my online game... whistling.gif)
lailaikatong
post May 29 2007, 12:29 PM

601 posts

I think I need to get my battery replaced... Battery performance has been deteriorating really bad after installing battery update 1.2 ... Battery health dropped from 98% -> 91% -> 82% within 2 weeks, i calibrated the battery last night and now it's gone down further to 71%, and this is just after 57 cycles...

attached is a screenshot of coconut battery before and after the calibration.. anyone else facing the same problem?
groucho
post May 29 2007, 03:46 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ May 29 2007, 12:29 PM)
I think I need to get my battery replaced... Battery performance has been deteriorating really bad after installing battery update 1.2 ... Battery health dropped from 98% -> 91% -> 82% within 2 weeks, i calibrated the battery last night and now it's gone down further to 71%, and this is just after 57 cycles...

attached is a screenshot of coconut battery before and after the calibration.. anyone else facing the same problem?
try running the battery down to 0%, then charge it while the thing is off until it is "fully charged"

worked for me, got from 91% health to 100%

INFeRNO
post May 30 2007, 05:49 AM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

Hey guys, quick question: Should I buy a macbook now or wait until leopard comes out this October? I've been looking around for a new lappie, and the macbook is the only one that ticks all the boxes, albeit costing £500 more than a similarly spec-ed sony vaio...

Anyways, since I'm commited to taking the plunge, should I wait for leopard to ship with macs, seeing as i'd only have to wait until october anyways? Your views welcome smile.gif
tishaban
post May 30 2007, 07:14 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ May 30 2007, 05:49 AM)
Hey guys, quick question: Should I buy a macbook now or wait until leopard comes out this October? I've been looking around for a new lappie, and the macbook is the only one that ticks all the boxes, albeit costing £500 more than a similarly spec-ed sony vaio...

Anyways, since I'm commited to taking the plunge, should I wait for leopard to ship with macs, seeing as i'd only have to wait until october anyways? Your views welcome smile.gif
If you can wait, then yes wait for Leopard. Heck if you can wait, then better to wait for the Santa Rosa based Macbooks which will probably come early 2008. But then again, that's only around one year from the Mac OS X 10.6 plus the quad-core Intel Penryn processors so why not wait more for that in late 2008/early 2009 period. Then there's the new Intel Nehalem based processors towards the end of 2009 which will be a completely new design, promising faster and better performance...

How long do you want to wait?

kwekeugene
post May 30 2007, 07:27 AM

1,479 posts

Wait till WWDC in June. Looks at the features of Leopard, and then decide if you can still resist the Mac temptation tongue.gif !!
MacDaNife
post May 30 2007, 08:59 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

There'll always be better/cheaper computers down the road. (See Moore's Law )This is not an appreciating investment in terms of improving worth of the asset you aqquire.

It is therefore about the tasks you WILL accomplish in the TIME you have the computer.

If you already have a machine that is doing all that you need to do then by all means wait. But if you have tasks that are idling whilst you wait for the latest and a greatest then do yourself a favor, decide and then don't look back.

I have no sympathy for those post the cry.gif rants whenever an updated computer comes out. Were you expecting your precious machine to stay at the top of the heap forever?

98 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:02 AM