Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

lailaikatong
post May 17 2006, 11:59 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(na21m @ May 17 2006, 11:48 PM)
Is the Macbook able to do Bootcamp?
yeah there shouldn't be any problems running windows thru bootcamp on this little baby... it's intel based, and the specs are about the same as the intel mac mini - which can run windows..
lailaikatong
post Dec 25 2006, 04:02 PM

601 posts

new 2.33GHz C2D 15" MBP user here!!... still exploring the machine... biggrin.gif
lailaikatong
post Apr 28 2007, 10:21 AM

601 posts

New update for MB and MBP users:

http://www.apple.com/support/macbook_macbo.../batteryupdate/
lailaikatong
post May 29 2007, 12:29 PM

601 posts

I think I need to get my battery replaced... Battery performance has been deteriorating really bad after installing battery update 1.2 ... Battery health dropped from 98% -> 91% -> 82% within 2 weeks, i calibrated the battery last night and now it's gone down further to 71%, and this is just after 57 cycles...

attached is a screenshot of coconut battery before and after the calibration.. anyone else facing the same problem?
lailaikatong
post Jun 20 2007, 09:05 AM

601 posts

does anyone happen to know the current market price in malaysia for a single stick 2gb sodimm pc5300 ram for a C2D macbook pro? I've looked through the pricelists from hardwarezone, lowyat.net, and also cgcomputers but i can't seem to find the right one...

cheers smile.gif
lailaikatong
post Jun 20 2007, 10:23 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jun 20 2007, 08:46 PM)
Btw, I got another question. If I am using my MB for long hours, do I:
a) Plug in the power cable with the battery inside
b) Use it with just the battery and recharge when the battery finishes
c) Remove the battery and plug in the power cable?
I think option A would be the best bet... The battery will stop charging when it's full and the MB would run with power from the cable... Option B would lead to increased battery cycles, which will reduce the lifespan... Option C is possible, but make sure the power supply is stable & the power cable is neatly organized... You wouldn't wanna lose your work if there's a sudden power blackout or someone trips on the power cable... With magsafe it's so easy to accidentally detach the power cable, so you'd wanna think about that too smile.gif

lailaikatong
post Jun 21 2007, 01:02 PM

601 posts

yup, installed it this morning... apparently there's a yahoo sync thingy installed together with the update...
lailaikatong
post Jul 16 2007, 01:43 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jun 20 2007, 08:46 PM)
Try to disable all the security features on your airport and see if it makes a difference.

Btw, I got another question. If I am using my MB for long hours, do I:
a) Plug in the power cable with the battery inside
b) Use it with just the battery and recharge when the battery finishes
c) Remove the battery and plug in the power cable?

Oh yea, how may of you with white MB's put a silicon cover over the keyboard?  sweat.gif
QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jul 15 2007, 11:28 PM)
If I want to use my MB for a very very long time, is it advisable for me to remove the battery pack and run it using the power cord or leave the battery pack there and just plug in the cable?
You've asked this question before, less than 1 month ago.... Move back 3 pages and you'll find my response there... I might as well give the direct link, less clicking for you.

Added on July 16, 2007, 2:03 am
QUOTE(torreto @ Jul 11 2007, 03:19 AM)
I'm thinking for getting an external monitor for my macbook,maybe a dell widescreen LCD, craving for the apple's cinema display but i can't afford it so dell is the alternative. An external apple's wireless keyboard as well with a mighty mouse. Can this be done to a macbook? I'm a noob here. And how much cash i have to burn to get all of this done ? Appreciate with all the sifus help here.
Hi torreto... This can definitely be done with the macbook, and a lot of people do it... You can run both monitors simultaneously for more screen space, or you can use just the external screen and run the macbook in closed lid mode. You can find plenty of ideas to plan your setup from flickr... Try take a look at this, this, and this.

Take note that the macbook is capable of running external monitors up to 1920x1200, so if you're looking at Dell widescreens the maximum size you can go is 27". Prices of Apple mice and keyboards can be found here, and prices of dell monitors can be found here.

How much cash you have to burn depends on how big you want the screen to be smile.gif

edit: You'll also need to purchase the mini-dvi to dvi adapter, which will set you back another RM109...

This post has been edited by lailaikatong: Jul 16 2007, 02:07 AM
lailaikatong
post Jul 17 2007, 10:19 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jul 17 2007, 12:11 AM)
another dude in lowyat *coughmacasiacough* told me that the glossy screen is only available on 17 inches spec. is it true?
The glossy option is available on all MBPs... It's the high resolution screen(1920x1200) option that's only available on the 17".. That shop *coughmacasiacough* should train its dudes to get their facts right tongue.gif

0.0354sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:30 AM