4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

civic98
post Sep 3 2006, 11:37 AM

1,255 posts

Can pocket pc (Windows Mobile) be synchronized with Mac?

I'm really tempted to get Macbook, but just wondering if my ppc will work with it. Any Activesync for Mac?
civic98
post Sep 4 2006, 08:49 AM

1,255 posts

Guys, I went to see the Macbook at 1U PJ yesterday but to my disappointment they have no stock, i need to place deposit and wait for about 14 working days. So i didnt get it. Dont enjoy buying something and then need to wait for it sad.gif

Anyone knows anywhere in KL where they have stock of the Macbook (RM5299) version? I'll be in KL for 2 days, hope to get it then. Thanks!
civic98
post Sep 4 2006, 11:05 AM

1,255 posts

Apparently the guy from Macasia (1U) told me its a nationwide shortage of stock. Maybe I should look up the contact for Macstudio and check for stock before I go.

Any other retailers?

Thanks!
civic98
post Sep 4 2006, 04:24 PM

1,255 posts

I managed to book one (2.0 White) at Macstudio Low Yat, but they can only hold till tonight, i got to got there in a while. They told me Apple is short of stock.

Apparently they received 20 units last week, and they are all gone now. Hopefully by this time tomorrow I'll be typing on it already smile.gif
civic98
post Sep 6 2006, 02:46 PM

1,255 posts

GOT MY MACBOOK! Hahaha.. Got my windows installed too, both working great.. rclxm9.gif
civic98
post Sep 10 2006, 09:36 PM

1,255 posts

Wow, pretty neat and clean AND COOL setup u have there..
civic98
post Sep 19 2006, 02:47 PM

1,255 posts

Last time i heard shortage mainly for MB white 2.0 Ghz version. Others should be available..

This post has been edited by civic98: Sep 19 2006, 02:48 PM
civic98
post Oct 1 2006, 12:31 PM

1,255 posts

It says on the download that it would restart twice, the first time taking longer, so it shouldnt be of any worries rite?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304200
civic98
post Oct 5 2006, 07:00 PM

1,255 posts

I just started using the Macbook a month ago, love the thing. No worries about RAM or HDD, its easily upgraded DIY.

Macbook doesnt come with built in modem. It doesnt have express card slot. Mac MSN Messenger doesnt support video chat. AND unless you are really confident about your Mac, you will worry about having the Random Shutdown Syndrome.

But got to love it, terrific design & OS & remote control.
civic98
post Oct 6 2006, 11:24 AM

1,255 posts

Enough cash then 1GB + 1GB lor. Hehe.. Dont see the price of RAM dropping anymore, any clues?
civic98
post Oct 8 2006, 03:16 PM

1,255 posts

Hope the C2D MB dont come out too soon, to save the agony of those who just purchased one. Including myself! Haha..
civic98
post Oct 8 2006, 08:22 PM

1,255 posts

Dont be confused lar, you CAN INSTALL WINDOWS with Bootcamp. Then you'll have both OSX and Windows.

One thing you learn here, the shop that you went to, dont need to go there again.

civic98
post Oct 12 2006, 11:38 PM

1,255 posts

I just realised how heavy the Macbook is. Was carrying it around for few hours and it was really heavy for its size. Any particular reason?
civic98
post Oct 13 2006, 12:17 AM

1,255 posts

Well it is slim and nice but just a little on the heavy side.. Could be better.. Could be better..
civic98
post Oct 13 2006, 10:10 AM

1,255 posts

Haha.. No way, love my Macbook. I've been throwing out things from my bag to lighten it.

One thing about fitting accesories into my bag is the 3 prong plug head. When I need to bring it along, it's a waste of space due to the prongs, if only there were more support for the 2 flat pin plug..
civic98
post Oct 14 2006, 05:21 PM

1,255 posts

Spec to spec, the Macbook's weight on paper is similar to some 15 inch notebooks. Haha.. Of course on the 15 inch its just the starting weight, how much can you add on with upgrades anyway?
civic98
post Oct 30 2006, 04:15 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Oct 28 2006, 06:44 PM)
just to let you guys know (if u didn't know already) that MacBook SMC Firmware update 1.1 is available for installation.
It's supposed to prevent RSD for those suffering from it (I'm not) but reading the Apple discussions, it also raises the volume of the MacBook - something that i haven't detected yet. For more info:

http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/mac...reupdate11.html

I have already installed it into my MacBook smile.gif
I updated the SMC Firmware yesterday, just got back to KL today (was at Genting, dont really notice heat on Macbook up there), usually back in KL the CPU temps are high, 50-60 while browsing outside, but today its just around 30-35. Not sure if its because of the update, but looking good..
civic98
post Nov 1 2006, 02:17 PM

1,255 posts

Hi guys, wondering if any of you are using Speed Download 4, I recently purchased one and it comes with a free second registration. Anyone interested PM me...

That is if you really want to use it lar, dont waste mah..
civic98
post Nov 3 2006, 10:43 AM

1,255 posts

Anyone updated their Boot Camp?

I just got the Boot Camp 1.1.2, did a new driver CD, installed it, only diffrence I could detect was the two finger scrolling ability in Windows (Havent used Windows for quite some time in my Macbook, so dont know much differences). Info:-

http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/
civic98
post Nov 17 2006, 01:50 PM

1,255 posts

I just upgraded my RAM with a Corsair 1GB, no problems. Before i did this, Corsair came highly recommended by most ppl (compatibility and performance).

I also found out that Corsair manufactured RAM are tested one by one, same goes to Mushkin, whereas Kingston are tested randomly.

By the way, RAM prices are all time high now, I just couldnt wait so bought the 1GB for RM405. Could be lower end of the year they say.

This post has been edited by civic98: Nov 19 2006, 08:06 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:18 PM