Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

tailtwist
post Apr 29 2013, 11:02 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 29 2013, 10:49 AM)
Just in case, small update for everyone who want to apply DP. I just got back my marriage Cert in English and the cost is RM10. So anyone next time , can just go to Govt department and ask them to print out in English. If all details are updated, you can get within 10 min.
Why still need to translate the Malaysia marriage cert? The cert itself contains both in english and BM ler?
For example
NAMA
NAME

Tarikh Lahir
Date of Birth

and etc etc

ICA SG still dont accept this?
fongwan
post Apr 29 2013, 11:56 AM

139 posts

haha.. sorry for the confusion.. coz my orginal cert that time only have malay doesn't have malay and English that is why.
megadisc
post Apr 29 2013, 03:00 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 29 2013, 11:56 AM)
haha.. sorry for the confusion.. coz my orginal cert that time only have malay doesn't have malay and English that is why.
no problem

thanks for cliarfication
crazy25kid
post Apr 29 2013, 04:18 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

wrong post sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Apr 29 2013, 04:18 PM
fongwan
post Apr 29 2013, 04:22 PM

139 posts

Hi All the Tailo/TaiJie,

If nothing goes wrong , I should be reporting on Duty in June. Hopefully I can join you all on the TT session. smile.gif Hope you all don't mind i ask all the silly question that time . smile.gif

xtylish
post Apr 29 2013, 04:36 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Apr 28 2013, 02:34 PM)
Any tips guys for me to land a job in sg. sad.gif Been sending off email applications as well as Jobstreet ones for 1-2 months already. But none have replied. I'm applying from Sarawak, but no replies from them.

Is it because i'm applying from sarawak? Or I should opt to start find in SG?
please send your resume to me, my company is hiring.

misslee0316@gmail.com
DoremiMimi
post Apr 29 2013, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Apr 28 2013, 10:19 PM)
How about bishan?common room
Ok ahh...
Can let me know the details smile.gif

almeizer
post Apr 29 2013, 08:55 PM

941 posts

Anyone know where I can do translation for my Cert that in BM to English? Nearby East side.
xenotzu
post Apr 29 2013, 10:06 PM

1,503 posts

I know this a bit off topic but I've been hearing strong rumours going around my Malaysian relatives and friends in Singapore that Singapore registered cars would not be allowed into Malaysia or would be stopped in Malaysia. This is to prevent Malaysians living in Singapore from going home to exercise their right to vote in Malaysia.

Does anybody know if there's any truth in this? I know that it has made some of my relatives and friends in Singapore cautious about driving back to Malaysia to vote. If its true, any suggestions on what to do to be prevented from going home to vote? I understand that most of the coach services have been fully booked by now.
Mackiddo
post Apr 29 2013, 10:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xenotzu @ Apr 29 2013, 10:06 PM)
I know this a bit off topic but I've been hearing strong rumours going around my Malaysian relatives and friends in Singapore that Singapore registered cars would not be allowed into Malaysia or would be stopped in Malaysia.  This is to prevent Malaysians living in Singapore from going home to exercise their right to vote in Malaysia.

Does anybody know if there's any truth in this?  I know that it has made some of my relatives and friends in Singapore cautious about driving back to Malaysia to vote.  If its true, any suggestions on what to do to be prevented from going home to vote?  I understand that most of the coach services have been fully booked by now.
SBS bus 170 from Kranji MRT

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 29 2013, 10:23 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 29 2013, 10:43 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 29 2013, 08:09 AM)
when she apply in jan still fiancee not yet merrid mah so i say fiancee lor
still trying to cover ur tracks like a singaporean.. doh.gif
bobby27ph
post Apr 30 2013, 04:22 AM

15 posts

Anyone coming to Singapore for work, and needing accomodation?

bobby27ph
post Apr 30 2013, 04:24 AM

15 posts

fongwan
post Apr 30 2013, 06:38 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Apr 29 2013, 08:55 PM)
Anyone know where I can do translation for my Cert that in BM to English? Nearby East side.
Try to go to Govt place to do. I did mine and it only cost me RM10 and if all your detail is up to date then less then 30 min you will have your new cert in english print out .

QUOTE(bobby27ph @ Apr 30 2013, 04:24 AM)
I am will be working in North Bridge Road, near your place? More detail please?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 30 2013, 08:14 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i wanna get PR too cry.gif but they say wp cant.. sad.gif

10 things I love about being a Singaporean PR

I recently became a Singaporean PR and to celebrate I thought I would recount the top ten things I love about being a Singaporean PR:

1. Doing business in Singapore. People take you more seriously and appear to give you more respect for committing yourself to the country. Whether they are Singaporean or expat, PR’s are treated like an honorary citizen rather than a fly by night who may leave the country as soon as the next employment opportunity comes along. It does make a difference, especially to Singaporeans who I think feel pride that someone has chosen their country as their home permanently.

2. Being welcomed as a citizen. The difference between being an EP holder and a PR is immense in the eyes of the community. Whereas before it was all rules, regulations and warnings now it’s all “come and meet your local MP”, “come to your community events”, “be part of Singapore and your views are welcome”. I resisted the chance of meeting the former PM who is my local MP to let him know all of my views but maybe in the future! Nonetheless it’s nice to be asked!

3. CPF. CPF is an amazing and ingenious invention, one that every country in the world should follow. It has effectively created property millionaires across the island of people who could never be a millionaire in any other country simply by that old fashioned way, saving. CPF is the main reason why Singapore could buy the UK’s debt many times over and still have change.

The UK has National Insurance but the resident doesn’t get it or get to choose what is done with it. Singapore allows you to be responsible for your own medical bills, education and property investment by insisting that you save. Simple. Not rocket science.

Why should my tax pay for someone who smokes or drinks or takes drugs or those self-inflicted drug/drink fueled fights that fill the hospital wards of the UK every Friday, Saturday, Thursday--in fact every night of the week? If CPF happened in the UK all the thugs, druggies and smokers would pretty soon go bankrupt and the NHS would be making money not costing billions every year.

4. You can start your own business by yourself without aid of anyone else or another Singaporean. Singapore is already a very entrepreneurial environment to start your own company for foreigners and locals alike but being PR makes it even easier. There are less rules and regulations and more advantages of being an entrepreneurial PR over the array of other passes that can be issued to foreigners that enable them to also start their own business. It’s just easier.

5. You only have to wait two years to become a Singaporean citizen. For those of us who have escaped the weather (seasons are overrated in my view, especially when they merge into one and it’s not the sunny one) and economies of the west, Singapore is a dream to live in.

The chance to become a Singaporean by serving time as a PR is a golden opportunity to give more back to the country that has given so much to me is one that I won’t hesitate to give up. Yes even though it means giving up being English. I never felt very English anyway. Newcastle (where I am from) is effectively a separate state of the UK, a bit like Catalunya in Spain but without the great football team.

6. You can buy all kinds of property not just those advertised as “for foreigners” and your kids get allocated more places in state schools than if you were merely an EP holder. You can also gain the same discounts and benefits as Singaporeans when it comes to services such as insurance. Being PR really does save you money and increase your choice of products and services.

7. I have noticed that when I complain now (which I do occasionally) about something to do with poor service, as I have done recently with RWS, I am treated differently when I let them know that I am a PR. I think it’s the fact that you are showing long term commitment to the country and therefore may be back at that restaurant/hotel/retail outlet in the future that makes a commercial difference to the organisation that you’re complaining about.

They may also be worried about you influencing a greater selection of people than you would otherwise have done if you were only an EP holder and had a smaller circle of friends/acquaintances and less long term influence on social networks and in the real world. In the case of RWS I received a full refund for example. Complaining to businesses when you need to does work in Singapore. Reputation is key in such a compact and socially active community. RWS went up in my estimation for doing dealing with my complaint quickly and efficiently.

8. You can get a job easier as effectively you are treated as a Singaporean. All those jobs that say “Singaporean and PR only apply” suddenly become available. Employers in general look more favourably on PR’s due to the perceived commitment to the country and because there is no applying to MOM needed.

In fact MOM becomes a distant memory as the ICA takes over your registration, transferring you from temporary to permanent. Employers like the no hassle employment of people that will be around a long time and are committed to the country rather than having to worry about the length of EP or whether they will in fact get an EP after an exhaustive interview process and have to start again.

9. You never feel like you’re going to have to leave the country! When you’re an EP holder you are always concerned that at some point if you lost your job you would have 30 days to leave the country or find another job double quick. Whereas being PR means you know you’re staying as long as you can afford to!

10. Ultimately being a Singaporean PR makes me feel like Singapore is my home. It may take longer than it did to be accepted as a PR but it’s worth the wait. I am extremely proud of becoming a Singaporean PR. Next step citizenship! hmm.gif

http://sbr.com.sg/media-marketing/commenta...-singaporean-pr
yhoong12
post Apr 30 2013, 08:27 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(bobby27ph @ Apr 30 2013, 04:24 AM)
@DoremiMimi thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
abgkik
post Apr 30 2013, 10:03 AM

2,140 posts

I know this a bit off topic but I've been hearing strong rumours going around my Malaysian relatives and friends in Singapore that Singapore registered cars would not be allowed into Malaysia or would be stopped in Malaysia.  This is to prevent Malaysians living in Singapore from going home to exercise their right to vote in Malaysia.

Does anybody know if there's any truth in this?  I know that it has made some of my relatives and friends in Singapore cautious about driving back to Malaysia to vote.  If its true, any suggestions on what to do to be prevented from going home to vote?  I understand that most of the coach services have been fully booked by now.
ohh.. that's Bull shit... doh.gif
for sure coming Friday afternoon will be jammed at checkpoint..

This post has been edited by abgkik: Apr 30 2013, 10:17 AM
crazy25kid
post Apr 30 2013, 10:43 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

tell that to those PR who stays in johor and drive to work

ken_ng
post Apr 30 2013, 11:47 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 29 2013, 04:22 PM)
Hi All the Tailo/TaiJie,

If nothing goes wrong , I should be reporting on Duty in June. Hopefully I can join you all on the TT session. smile.gif Hope you all don't mind i ask all the silly question that time . smile.gif
yoyo bro, i'm going to start my new job in sg @ June too cheers.gif

but i haven't start to look for accomodation sweat.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 30 2013, 01:50 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Hopefully this saturday morning the custom will not jam. Anyone know what is the first bus from kranji to larkin? saturday morning

125 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:54 AM